We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Moni Gallery Hostel

Hostel | 263 Lavender Street, Singapore, Singapore 338795

85.7% Overall Rating

24 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

"The hostel is modern and very clean, the staff are very friendly and the beds comfortable. Location is right by an MRT station and it is easy walking distance to Little India."

Read all Moni Gallery Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Gap Year Hostel
14.20 USD

Hostel 82.6% 37 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
18.14 USD

Hostel 86.1% 14 reviews
Mitraa Backpackers Inn
19.72 USD

Hostel 85.6% 164 reviews
Mori Hostel
18.93 USD

Hostel 85.7% 19 reviews
Green Kiwi Backpackers Lavender
17.35 USD

Hostel 89.5% 79 reviews
Rucksack Inn@Lavender Street
15.77 USD

Hostel 91.2% 15 reviews
The Mitraa
18.14 USD

Hostel 85.6% 411 reviews
Pine Hostel
20.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

24 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Moni Gallery Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 28 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kim Ngoc Pham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Kim Ngoc would recommend this property

Liked: Room is clean. The backyard is lovely. Location is convenient to take MRT.

Disliked: We were late check-in at about 1am and we had no way to contact with the receptionist. Fortunately, a guest living here opened door and introduced us to her family room to sleep for that night. The next morning, we finally contacted with the receptionist to check in :(

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014

Liked: It is fairly well located (10 mins to mrt)

Disliked: The toilets were often disgusting and there are not even nearly enough. The hostel must have space for around 40 guests and there are only 3 toilets and 2 hot showers and one cold (The cold one is also one of the toilets). They often ran out of toilet paper and were never clean. The food is available all the day but it is just some value bread which is left out in the singapore heat all day (the kitchen is outdoors- also means you get wet if it rains!). One of the members of staff was very rude and not at all helpful. The room was very overcrowded with 6 beds and should not have had more than 4, there was only one working plug in the room and only the one main light which is not great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is modern and very clean, the staff are very friendly and the beds comfortable. Location is right by an MRT station and it is easy walking distance to Little India.

Disliked: The rooms are on the small side with beds squeezed in but I think this is the case in most hostels in Singapore. No airport shuttle so with an early flight to catch our only option was a taxi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thi Ngoc Hoa Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Thi Ngoc Hoa would recommend this property

Liked: I like the decoration and arrangement of this hostel. Besides, the hostel offers the laptop with internet for free for the tenants, it is very useful and convinient.

Disliked: The check in and check out time are not 24/24.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I left my phone on the sofa by accident, and the owners were so kind to help get it back to me by driving to the airport and meeting me before my flight. Thank you so so much again. That was above and beyond any expectations.

Disliked: No lounge since the place was overbooked and they turned it into another dorm - although for all the people in that temporary dorm it was probably the nicest thing. Happy to share even have a place during such a busy weekend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guru Khalsa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 December 2012 Guru would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot in the city, neat and colourful decoration, extremely helpful staff. Overall, the location, cleanliness and atmosphere of the hostel is very good.

Disliked: Guru left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Amarelo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, well organise, clean and safe. Value for money.

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

clair taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012

Liked: The design & layout, kitchen area outdoor areas

Disliked: Luke warm shower, no door to dorm anothe dorm leading off it so basically sleep in a hallway, absolutely no atmosphere very regimental 'mandatory lights off time' few mice in reception and kitchen area, turn lights off to save energy... Annoying when your actually using an area and staff turn light off! Annoying Sri Lankan couple in my 'hallway' that came in late turned lights on and had loud conversations so no sleep there!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerard Paul Wilkie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Quality hostel at a reasonable price.Lovely open air garden/pantry area. Staff were kind and helpful.Overall...great place for a hostel.

Disliked: Gerard left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common space. Very comfortable and open to the green.

Disliked: Little space in bedroom. No social atmosphere

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Don Nguyen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

05 November 2012 Don would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Design and clean, i like the recreation room. Very spacious and have a table tennis table to play too. Lots of games and books for us to relax. Very nice environment, the room is a little small but its very clean. After talking to the boss than i realise that, the rental is very high in singapore. For the price i pay, its a very good deal because this hostel got a lot of greenery and space for you to hang around, anyway i don stay in the room most of the time. I really like this place. hehehehe

Disliked: Don left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Kirk

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

24 October 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: I like the laptop they provide, its all very fast top end machine. Seldom see such generous machine for hostel. The internet speed is great too, very fast. Of coarse the design is fantastic, no wonder they call themself "Art hostel", heard that the owner runs a art gallery too. Good design and value for money.

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

naline chong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 October 2012 naline would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the location is the best. Just directly opposite the MRT subway station. Really like it very much, real convenient to go anywhere in singapore. chinatown, little india, clark quay, sentosa and all the other attraction is all on the same line. Good price too for such a nice environment. Comfortable and clean. Security is good too, with access card for every individual guests and camera everywhere.

Disliked: naline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phuong Quyen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Phuong would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and homely, i like the bed and pillow. It is really very comfortable and its much bigger than other hostel i stay before. I think they used super single bed instead of normal 3 ft bed. Staff is not talkative but very helpful, they will not bother u but when you need help. They can tell you clearly where to go and what to do. Very nice working people there.

Disliked: Its fine actually

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chan John

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Chan would recommend this property

Liked: Very Beautiful Hostel, its also very clean and neat. Staff is very friendly and helpful too. Have free wifi and a large recreation room. I have a really good time over there. Usage of laptop and wifi is free, and they allowed us to eat the breakfast anytime we want. Very generous hostel with good facilities. I would gave them a thumbs up, keep it up MONI. Well done, good job.

Disliked: No, Perfect Place To Stay. Good price, nice place.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

robert Fry

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: Not too far from airport. When staff realised this was not what we expected they did try to help but not much they could do. They did help us to book a taxi for early morning departure.

Disliked: Our bunk room could only be acessed through other guests bedroom. The staff offerred an alternative room, bare floor with matress, no window, up very steep flghts of stairs, a fire trap with no other exit, so we declined. The bunk room fire safety light stayed on all night right next to top bunk sleepers head.Other guests loud activities all night. When we left early next morning we had to walk through room where people were undressing. Moni Gallery sounded cute in the advertising but was just pokey and overpriced even for a hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lim Li Chuan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

20 June 2012 Lim would recommend this property

Liked: Nice garden kitchen at the back with open air, feel so good when having breakfast in the morning. Especially the balcony deck. I like it so much. Will definitely stay here again if i come singapore. I gave this hostel a thumbs up, everythings is arrange nicely properly here.

Disliked: Lim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rohani yusof

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 rohani would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, its next to the 24 hour mustafa center, and 5 min to subway (MRT). Its very clean, well designed and friendly staff. I like everything about this hostel, especially the atmosphere of a art gallery. The art are very beatiful too.

Disliked: The room is slightly small, same like hong kong, but i guess its normal in singapore.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sim Ming Chai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Sim would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and value for money. The hostel is nicely decorated and very well plan. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pantry backyard is very nice with open air concept. Its feel very good to take breakfast in the morning over there.

Disliked: Sim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel! The owner, and the staff Ross were absolutely fantastic. Convenient location just 5 min walk from boon keng mrt, this hostel is really clean and very secure.Looks very new and everything works. Shared bathrooms were clean and small communal area.

Disliked: Downside the rooms a lil bit small. Overall excellent!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christine jonna

Alone

Relaxation/spa

03 May 2012 christine would recommend this property

Liked: Its very well design and organised, the staff is very helpful and friendly too. There always gave me the direction and teach me the most economical ways to get there, they even draw a map to show me around the hostel. Really appreciate the service they provide. Thank you very much.

Disliked: Nothing, perfect place and value for money

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, good atmosphere. Cool art, and easy to make contact with other guests. The recreational room was very cool, with lots of movies for times when I was waiting for my friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice environment and clean, value for money. The place is very well taken care and the staff are very helpful. Everything is already provided except towel need to rent thats all. Will definitely recommend to all my friends.

Disliked: no

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012

Liked: decoration

Disliked: unfriendly staff misrepresentation on free items deposit of $50 for stay

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful decor and sitting areas. extremely clean.

Disliked: rooms a little crammed