We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mercury Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 57 Lavender Street, Singapore, Singapore 338714

76.5% Overall Rating

89 out of 94 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2014)

"Room and bathroom are clean, good price and not too far from station.. We enjoy staying in here.."

Read all Mercury Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.79

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Coziee Lodge
17.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
17.43 USD

Hostel 91.2% 11 reviews
Backpackers@SG
12.68 USD

Hostel 91.0% 182 reviews
Hostel Lah
22.18 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel
19.01 USD

Hostel 83.9% 32 reviews
Backpacker's Hostel @ The Little Red Dot
11.09 USD

Hostel 80.7% 206 reviews
Sleep Delight
15.85 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Blanc Inn
29.31 USD

Hostel 86.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

89 out of 94 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mercury Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
65.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

tony cheng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 tony would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice amenities

Disliked: indifferent staff, hard to meet other travelers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room and bathroom are clean, good price and not too far from station.. We enjoy staying in here..

Disliked: They dont provide a towel, we must rent for it

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top HotTub was nice and always empty. Everything was very clean and there were plenty of good showers and toilets for each floor.

Disliked: The staff were not friendly or openly helpful. Extracting useful information about the surrounding area etc was painful. The Aircon didn't really work and so the room became too hot at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014

Liked: Walking distance to main sights - though the staff said otherwise

Disliked: Size of the room, whichwas so small that it was difficukt to fit backpacks in

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception is great, fairly friendly staff, close to MRT station (but the directions to the place from the MRT station are much more complicated than necessary - instead, exit Lavender station, turn right and walk up Kallang, then turn left on Lavender road... none of this left right left right weirdness). The safety cupboards in the room were appreciated.

Disliked: The air-con in the room barely worked and although it is supposed to have hot water showers, our 4th floor showers weren't always hot (some people wouldn't mind this; since it's so freaking hot and humid in Singapore, a cold shower can be nice...). If I'm paying for hot showers and air-con, I'd like hot showers and air-con. The room was also TINY. But I imagine it would be hard to find a similar or better hostel or guesthouse in Singapore for anything less than what we paid.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jette roselle domingo

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2013 jette roselle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms & the place is easy to locate because it's near MRT Station

Disliked: Bathrooms & Comfort Rooms needs more cleaning

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dmitry Baranov

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 May 2013 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: I had one-night stopover in Singapore, arriving late afternoon from Jakarta and departing late next morning to Hanoi, and I chose this hostel because of it's location near the MRT line going to the airport. It was a perfect idea. I spent less time on the way from the airport, finally still had a couple of hours to go to the city center while MRT was still open. When back at 11.30pm, I had a walk in the neigborhood - the area near Lavender MRT is very nice and safe, and the hostel is just 3-4 minutes walk from it. In the hostel, the room are nice, clean, not too cramped (for a hostel) and felt a bit like you're in a cozy & spacious 4-berth sleeper train compartment (I like trains btw, but normally use not so luxurious cabin classes :D ). There was a large TV on the floor with dozens of channels, which I watched for more than half an hour before sleeping. In the morning, my way back to the airport was very quick and easy.

Disliked: Not that I didn't like something, but there's a suggestion: as there's no breakfast provided (I'm not a big fan of "complimentary" breakfasts anyway, if these finally make the price higher), please put some tea and coffee for the customers on the floors. It's really easy and will cost almost nothing, as the kettle is already provided.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe

Disliked: no breakfast, staff could be more helpful

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to airport, secure lockers, roof garden

Disliked: No atmosphere very antisocial hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Close to MRT station for easy access to marina and airport.

Disliked: My room was very, very small and had no windows.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vignesh prabu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

12 February 2013 vignesh would recommend this property

Liked: Value for Money

Disliked: No Lift

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its full of amenities and facilities are all working nicely.

Disliked: The receptionist wasn't all that nice and polite.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Everette Ingram

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Everette would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to the MRT (subway/train). Only 5 minutes walk.

Disliked: No elevator. In a mixed room rather than an all male room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is fine, good location, comfortable quarters.

Disliked: The rooms have no windows though (even with four people sharing a room, gets a bit stuffy) The staff is very unfriendly and unhelpful. Not very open at giving tips about the city. There are no hairdryers or washing machines. I wouldn't stay longer than max 3 nights.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bornok Rumata

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Bornok would recommend this property

Liked: The jacuzi at roof top

Disliked: The stairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and nice rooftop

Disliked: small room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joyce Rucel Domer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Joyce Rucel would recommend this property

Liked: It's near the train station. Our stay is relatively good and comfortable. The staff is nice and answer questions.

Disliked: The only problem is that there is no lift. Our room is on the 4th floor. Its hard to carry luggage up and down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christina Kee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are exactly what was described on the website. They are cheap and affordable. Location is very near the Lavender MRT Station. Staffs are friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: None.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nur Nadia Abd Rahim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Nur Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop pool and the private room was nice.

Disliked: Nur Nadia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was easy to find. The directions given were precise which is why looking for the hostel is not a problem at all. Overall, the hostel is clean and cozy. The cabinet for each guest also makes your belongings secure and safe.

Disliked: The receptionists are not that friendly except from the lady who prepares the breakfast everyday. There is a refrigerator in the lobby and during our second night stay, they allowed us to place something in it and asked us to get it the day after. On our third night, we would like to place the bak kwa we bought but they refused because according to the lady in the reception area, we are only allowed to use the refrigerator once which was not a clear guideline.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is on good location and free breakfast on the rooftop floor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Tancock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

24 October 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Secure Lockers, Close to Singapore City Centre (either on foot or by MRT which was excellent), Air-Conditioning, Helpful Staff

Disliked: No windows in bedroom. That's about it!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Greg westwood

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 October 2012 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing! The only reason we stayed there is we were only staying one night couldn't get into our last hotel and for a family of 5, it was the only thing that accommodated us for the money we wanted to pay. Singapore is expensive for what you get.

Disliked: Rooms smelt, they were very dark. Felt dirty, especially the toilet and shower. Breakfast was very average. Things were broken around the place. There was one staff member on that night who helped us with the spa, he was very nice and welcoming. Spa felt dirty!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, within 5-minute walk from Lavender metro station. The shower rooms are sufficient. Breakfast is included which is convenient for tourist although it's simple. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Sound insulation is not good. We heard people kept talking in other rooms until midnight. The Wi-fi in room is hardly be logged in, in reception area is good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jiao Mo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Jiao would recommend this property

Liked: It is near Lavender MRT.

Disliked: No lift but have 4 floors, so you need to leave your heavy luggage at the receptionist. No luggage room.

The property's response is...