HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mercury Backpackers Hostel Singapore Hostel

57 Lavender Street, Singapore, Singapore

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 70%

Location 83%

Safety 88%

Staff 66%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.48USD

Important Information

- All rates are inclusive of taxes - Check in time: 1400hrs - Check out time: 1200hrs - Our reception runs round the clock, 24 hours. You may check in early if the room that you booked is available. - If you required checking out late, please inform our friendly reception in advance. We will make arrangement if your room is not taken. - Mode of Payment : CASH or Credit Cards - Visa/Master.-Cancellation policy 3 days before arrival after that full amount will be charged.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 70%

Location 83%

Safety 88%

Staff 66%

Value 78%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: 24 hour reception, close to little India.

Disliked: Cramped, uncomfortable, no proper cooking facilities. airless rooms.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms are nice and clean with AC.

Disliked: There are people living here for a long period of time which makes it awkward sometimes. The staff is a little grumpy at times. They close the "breakfast" place at 10 but when I came down at 9.50, they had already closed.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Room and bathroom are clean, good price and not too far from station..We enjoy staying in here..

Disliked: They dont provide a towel, we must rent for it

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Walking distance to main sights - though the staff said otherwise

Disliked: Size of the room, whichwas so small that it was difficukt to fit backpacks in

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The roof top HotTub was nice and always empty. Everything was very clean and there were plenty of good showers and toilets for each floor.

Disliked: The staff were not friendly or openly helpful. Extracting useful information about the surrounding area etc was painful. The Aircon didn't really work and so the room became too hot at night.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: 24 hour reception is great, fairly friendly staff, close to MRT station (but the directions to the place from the MRT station are much more complicated than necessary - instead, exit Lavender station, turn right and walk up Kallang, then turn left on Lavender road... none of this left right left right weirdness).The safety cupboards in the room were appreciated.

Disliked: The air-con in the room barely worked and although it is supposed to have hot water showers, our 4th floor showers weren't always hot (some people wouldn't mind this; since it's so freaking hot and humid in Singapore, a cold shower can be nice...). If I'm paying for hot showers and air-con, I'd like hot showers and air-con. The room was also TINY. But I imagine it would be hard to find a similar or better hostel or guesthouse in Singapore for anything less than what we paid.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice rooms & the place is easy to locate because it's near MRT Station

Disliked: Bathrooms & Comfort Rooms needs more cleaning

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I had one-night stopover in Singapore, arriving late afternoon from Jakarta and departing late next morning to Hanoi, and I chose this hostel because of it's location near the MRT line going to the airport. It was a perfect idea. I spent less time on the way from the airport, finally still had a couple of hours to go to the city center while MRT was still open. When back at 11.30pm, I had a walk in the neigborhood - the area near Lavender MRT is very nice and safe, and the hostel is just 3-4 minutes walk from it. In the hostel, the room are nice, clean, not too cramped (for a hostel) and felt a bit like you're in a cozy & spacious 4-berth sleeper train compartment (I like trains btw, but normally use not so luxurious cabin classes :D ). There was a large TV on the floor with dozens of channels, which I watched for more than half an hour before sleeping. In the morning, my way back to the airport was very quick and easy.

Disliked: Not that I didn't like something, but there's a suggestion: as there's no breakfast provided (I'm not a big fan of "complimentary" breakfasts anyway, if these finally make the price higher), please put some tea and coffee for the customers on the floors. It's really easy and will cost almost nothing, as the kettle is already provided.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location to airport, secure lockers, roof garden

Disliked: No atmosphere very antisocial hostel

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very Close to MRT station for easy access to marina and airport.

Disliked: My room was very, very small and had no windows.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability