We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers@SG

Hostel | 111J King George's Avenue, Singapore, Singapore 208559

85.0% Overall Rating

193 out of 204 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2015)

LIN HAI YING thinks…

"It have free breakfast, good layouts and we can sit down to talk with new friends. I like the feelings friends gathering together. Nice place."

Read all Backpackers@SG reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

1) Check in time: from 2pm (early check-in is subject to availability). 2) Normal reception runs from 8:30am to 11:30pm. Self check-in facility will be provided for late arrivals. 3) Any cancellation received within 2 days prior to arrival date will incur the first night charge. No-show without making cancellation online or through email will incur full amount charge. 4) Group bookings with more than 20pax will be subject to the hostel's confirmation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Sleep Delight
14.16 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 32 reviews
Fisher BnB
19.83 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Blanc Inn
26.20 USD

Hostel 84.9% 10 reviews
Pine Hostel
18.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Lah
19.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Coziee Lodge
18.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker's Hostel @ The Little Red Dot
15.58 USD

Hostel 79.2% 213 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

193 out of 204 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers@SG'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 203 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Hynes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, safe

Disliked: No complaints

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

mariana prado

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2015

Liked: location.

Disliked: Everything Really dirty! The bathrooms are a disaster, Just 2 bathrooms with no space for your things. The only person of the staff Was rude. Do not go to this hostel!!!!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015

Liked: Location to metro.

Disliked: Rude and unhelpful staff at night. We asked multiple questions and got one word answers because Facebook was more important to her! We booked a 4 person does room and got an 8! No backpackers! There were little children there!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LIN HAI YING

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2015 LIN would recommend this property

Liked: It have free breakfast, good layouts and we can sit down to talk with new friends. I like the feelings friends gathering together. Nice place.

Disliked: no

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good air con and safety. Well organised staff, quick check in and comfortable beds.

Disliked: The hostel is a bit neglected. Showers accessible from the kitchen area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yudha wibawa

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 yudha would recommend this property

Liked: t's good :) stayed here for 5 nights as it was the most reasonable price I could find for singapore. It's close to the MRT, supermarket and hot food stalls, and the breakfast is good as you can have lots of toast! I found te beds really comfortable and the rooms are lit with natural light.

Disliked: yudha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vilko maroti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 vilko would recommend this property

Liked: Two lads on reception were so much help! They knew everything about Singapore, from interesting things to see to the ins and outs of getting to Malaysia. Rooms were basic but perfect for backpackers. You have to go up three flights of stairs so make you're fit and able to do so as there is no lift. 5 minute walk to Lavender MRT. Trains are very reasonable. Not the prettiest of places but good value for money.

Disliked: vilko left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ching Wai Mo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Ching Wai would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff. the location is good.

Disliked: the room is a little bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yumeng chan

As a family with children

Shopping

14 May 2015 yumeng would recommend this property

Liked: Backpackers@SG was actually better than what I expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful and very professional and made me feel comfortable from the start. I would like to thank both of them for their professionalism and help. The place was clean, the showers worked and the internet connection was good so overall very happy with my stay. The only down for me was the other guests I stayed with who all snored so I was unable to sleep but that is not there fault.

Disliked: yumeng left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jean baptiste

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 jean would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, very near to public transport and around the corner from Little India. Beds were very comfortable, bathrooms clean and lots of hot water. The staff were very helpful and welcoming whenever I walked in the door or passed reception.

Disliked: jean left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chan yuu cen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2015 chan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and value for money. Breakfast was great. Simple to easy to start the day.

Disliked: no lift

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

setiawan salim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2015 setiawan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, very helpful friendly staff and good commn area, nice room and comfortable bed and new bathrooms which you dont find in many hostels! The hostel is absolute cheaply priced for the area. all in all a great stay and would come back!

Disliked: setiawan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, comfortable beds. Good working wifi and aircon. And enough and very good showers. Hostel is very close to metro station.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DOHYUN LEE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2015 DOHYUN would recommend this property

Liked: clean but not big

Disliked: DOHYUN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeo Wei Tak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2015 Yeo would recommend this property

Liked: clean, and comfortable, helpful staff, good location 2 mins to mrt station and 1 mins to food court and hypermarket.,

Disliked: Yeo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

iszaid mohsin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 iszaid would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and facilities. Staff was very nice and helpful!

Disliked: iszaid left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, helpful staff. AC in the room.

Disliked: Both, toilet and shower in the same room.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014

Liked: Good location near lavender mrt

Disliked: Safe nots in room, mine was not even on the sane floor. Felt safer carrying my valuables around with me rather than leave them at the hostel where the door is always open and there's not always someone on reception checking who goes in and out. Toilets and shower were always dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tracey Pedersen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great staff who are very honest. We've stayed here more than once. i love that bunk beds are wood so they don't squeak!

Disliked: Can be a little noisy if you stay in the room near reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and did their most to help. Very close to train station and straight into town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hajime kurata

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 hajime would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cute hostel, I really enjoyed my stay there and surely will go there again.

Disliked: hajime left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff that can help you with wherever you wanna go or what ever ypu wanna do!

Disliked: Showers and toilets are not as clean as I wish they would have been - but still alright, have seen worse!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pei-Hsin Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2014 Pei-Hsin would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff and other backpackers:)

Disliked: Pei-Hsin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

grace chang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 grace would recommend this property

Liked: I had a good stay there with my friends... the staff was very friendly, location was excellent

Disliked: grace left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sophia garcia

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 July 2014 sophia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and value for money, free breakfast, good wifi, nice common area. The staff is also very friendly.

Disliked: none