HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mitraa Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 531 Serangoon Road, Corner Lavender Street, Singapore, Singapore 218163

87.0% Overall Rating

153 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Alphonse A thinks…

"Excellent place to stay, friendly staff, good facilities, clean & well maintained, wonderful location."

Read all Mitraa Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 39.89
  • Towel USD 0.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Mori Hostel
17.55 USD

Hostel 85.0% 15 reviews
The Mitraa
15.95 USD

Hostel 86.2% 409 reviews
Gap Year Hostel
13.56 USD

Hostel 84.2% 29 reviews
The Hive Backpackers' Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 88.4% 13 reviews
Moni Gallery Hostel
17.55 USD

Hostel 88.8% 27 reviews
Rucksack Inn@Lavender Street
17.55 USD

Hostel 91.2% 15 reviews
Pine Hostel
20.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Blanc Inn
29.52 USD

Hostel 84.8% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

153 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mitraa Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 154 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alphonse A

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Alphonse would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay, friendly staff, good facilities, clean & well maintained, wonderful location.

Disliked: Alphonse left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kunarso Pramono

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 March 2014 Kunarso would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staffs, location, cleanliness and comfort.

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 5 mins walk to metro station Nice breakfast with perfect milk tea!!!! New Samsung security door lock in my family room .

Disliked: Night clubs around the hostel. Not prefer single woman to stay alone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dien Novita

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Dien would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are kindly and helpful. The room is clean.

Disliked: Didn't find a sign to go to location, because I'm going with a friend who already stayed here, I can find this hostel directly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dung Thuy Maria Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Dung Thuy Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The hospitality and service

Disliked: The walls are very thin so you can hear whats going on in the other rooms or out in the corridor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Adrienne Lee

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly. They were always willing to help you and go out of their way to do so.

Disliked: The common room and washrooms are very small. Also they do not provide handsoap in the washrooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ---

Disliked: ---

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rutger Roodt

Alone

City break

19 July 2013 Rutger would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, large lockers, value for money, location

Disliked: the wet rooms were not all as clean but overall good enough

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

John Delaney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 June 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and helpful staff

Disliked: Not a great atmosphere to the place, just kind of dead. It was the most expensive accomodation of our trip, and probably one of our least favorites... but I guess that was with everything in Singapore. Location isn't great, and it's kind of hidden. I'd still reccomend it though.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

FU SHAN SUNG

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 June 2013 FU SHAN would recommend this property

Liked: 接待人員很親切 早餐雖然簡單但可以吃很飽

Disliked: 房間很小 雙架床的樓梯很難爬

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kasan Bhay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Kasan would recommend this property

Liked: The place is good and the staff is overall genuinely helpful.

Disliked: Kasan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernadette Adeyileka

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Bernadette would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely fantastic; patient and very helpful! The hostel was very clean and modern. Free wifi internet, cheap computer use and cheap emergencies on sale. Also a very handy location.

Disliked: No windows in the room and no comfy/relaxing common room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location - 5 minutes to the metro station, the staff was helpful and friendly, when we arrived first day very early, too early for check in, and we were offered a breakfast and we could leave our backpacks in luggage room

Disliked: Everyday the same breakfast (egg, toast, chocolate butter and banana), it wasn't typical backpackers hostel as there were many older people coming to Singapore for work. It could be cleaner, there were many hairs everywhere and shower looked as it was never cleaned.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Frank Burton

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very well run, even had an elevator, top pressure in shower, plenty of hot / cold water and adjustable a/c in dorms

Disliked: Location - eating places a fair walk away, not too attractive surrounding areas

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josefina AMIGO

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Josefina would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly reception

Disliked: Great place to stay....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: MRT station is not far away, lots of possibilities to get something to eat, quiet place

Disliked: it would make things easier if they had a shower curtain, because having the shower and the toilet in the same room meant that everything was always wet.... And they wanted 10 Singapore Dollars for using the washing machine which is far too expensive. I don't even have enough clothes to fill it on my own.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Benjamin Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013

Liked: Rooms secure and lockers provided.

Disliked: Atmosphere wasn't very nice. Bed was rickety and unsafe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan collin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Very big ensuite bathroom, extremely clean. Very clean hostel, confortable beds. Lovely staff, my husband and i loved the place.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Arniza Pranoto

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 Arniza would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Right in the middle of the city nearby Mustafa centre, a few stop to Orchard Road and Bugis Junction, one line to harbour front.

Disliked: My room is too squeezy with 4 bedroom and the ceiling is too low from the top of the bed. Should put AC with size smaller due to the tiny room otherwise the AC wind will blow directly to your face and body which is very unconvenience for me. Lots of hair on the floor when we checking in and inside the bed locker.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staffs.

Disliked: the elevator only reached the 2nd floor n our room was in the 3rd floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sampath Uyanwatte

With a large group / tour

City break
Shopping

28 February 2013 sampath would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place...very clean and tidy...

Disliked: bit more safety with the luggage room would be great....We didnt loose any thing or no bad reviews but just as a little advice...I have seen some luggage room in Amsterdam and lock only works for our secure card and got a CCVT...which can give lots of freedom in mind our stuff are really safe...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff made us more comfortable in our 2 nights stay, room rate is fare enough very affordable.. We love the spacious comfort room and bed room. The overflowing food - free breakfast!

Disliked: To have disposable coffee cups during breakfast..for hygienic purposes!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anantha Mucundh

Alone

Family Holiday

10 February 2013 Anantha would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Free breakfast!

Disliked: The bathroom/s could be cleaner. There should be a few clothes hanging hooks to hang our towel and clothes. I am not sure about the answer to Q7 below. I just clicked on - No. There should be a 3rd option - Not Sure - for Q7 below.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yucel adil sahinbeyoglu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 yucel adil would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpfull. Best on Earth :) Rooms and everyhing can not be cleaner than this. FEEL FREE TO STAY AT MITRAA. YOU WILL ENJOY :)

Disliked: There is no social atmosphere they must work over this. - Better quality toilet papers, please. Cheap is always more expensive. -Soap containers for private bathroom dorms are necessary. -Something on the wall to keep toilet papers dry. I wrote those as my advices to owners. FEEL FREE TO STAY AT MITRAA. YOU WILL ENJOY :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yolanda Yolanda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Yolanda would recommend this property

Liked: - near bus stop, food stall, mini market and Mustafa Center. - it takes 5-10 minutes by walk to MRT station, - simple breakfast, but satisfied - friendly frontliner and had a sweet smile (Jonahs, keep that smiling face when we comeback there) - comfortable mattress - clean bed room - clean bathroom - good bedroom interior (butterfly's wallpaper) I will recommend Mitraa Inn to all my friends and pray to God to make an other trip soon to stay there o:-)

Disliked: - no room service every day - front liner and staffs need to speak for another language beside English. such as Bahasa, Malay, Chinese, etc/ - need bigger dining room for breakfast