HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Five Stones Hostel

Hostel | 61 South Bridge Road, Levels 2 and 3, Singapore, Singapore 058691

92.0% Overall Rating

82 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Marius Novak thinks…

"An excellent place to stay. I can really recommend this clean and nice hostel. The stuff is very kind. The hostel is very good located you can reach easily the MRT."

Read all Five Stones Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Important Things to Note Check in time is from 3pm to 10pm. Our reception opening hours are between 8am to 10pm. If you are checking in later than 10pm, please ensure that it is indicated in your booking details, else please inform us in advance so that we can make special arrangements. Upon check in, full payment for the bed has to be made in Singapore dollars. A S$20 refundable deposit per key card will be collected. For credit card payments, a 5% surcharge will be applicable. No other taxes will be levied. Terms and Conditions of Booking To preserve the backpacker hostel's atmosphere, we do not accept children below the age of 12 years old. Each teenage guest below 18 years old will need to be accompanied by at least one adult. We do not allow sharing of beds and all guests will have to produce a valid foreign passport upon check-in. Guests who do not observe the terms and conditions of booking will be turned away without refunds. Cancellation policy Cancellations received and confirmed less than 48 hours from time of check-in will incur the first night’s charge. Deposits are non-refundable. You need to receive a reply from us via email to confirm your cancellation. Five Stones Hostel is not responsible for cancellations or altered reservations due to guest input error or force majeure circumstances and will charge the first night in case of a late cancellation or a no-show.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Woke Home Hostel
19.29 USD

Hostel 80.8% 14 reviews
Bunc@Radius Clarke Quay
24.12 USD

Hostel 83.3% 6 reviews
Rucksack Inn@Hongkong Street
25.73 USD

Hostel 92.6% 48 reviews
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
22.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
River City Inn
20.90 USD

Hostel 91.3% 421 reviews
City Backpackers
18.33 USD

Hostel 73.1% 19 reviews
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
25.73 USD

Hostel 85.7% 19 reviews
Beary Best! by a beary good hostel
20.10 USD

Hostel 86.9% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

82 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Five Stones Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marius Novak

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 July 2014 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent place to stay. I can really recommend this clean and nice hostel. The stuff is very kind. The hostel is very good located you can reach easily the MRT.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Iain Ferguson

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure, great location, staff are very helpful (we forgot about our key deposit and they gave it to us later when we returned to get the bags - they could have just kept it...)

Disliked: When we stayed (I think it was fully booked) it was pretty dirty. I saw the lady cleaning all the time and its not so much the hostels fault but the people that stayed there! Especially the bathrooms were not great and got worse as the day went on (compared to other hostels around the world). Three showers and two sinks for all the women are def not enough when the place is full - you are queuing just to wash your hands after going to the bathroom in the morning!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabrina Littig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the sitting and sleeping area.

Disliked: It seemed that the staff was not too caring about bags. In case you need to leave your luggage for some more hours after checking out it Will be not protected by the hostel staff. You can just leave it in the hostel without any locker! So for me that is a security issue. They could provide some lockers for the guests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome, kind and nice.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Bradley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice, clean and modern. However my room mates were very rowdy and though this is obviously no fault of the hostel, I feel that they should perhaps discourage noise and drinking after 10pm, as other hostels do. Otherwise great hostel and would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aaron Walters

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014

Liked: This property is very well located. Mostly all sights are within walking distance from the front door. Clean rooms, although slightly small. Breakfast was a bonus

Disliked: We stayed over a weekend at this property and it is situated next to a night club. Our room was at the front of the property and from 11pm - 5am our whole room vibrated with noise!! This was very disappointing as the rest of the property is fine, however because of the noise sleep is non existant and I could not recommend this property.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to Clarke Quay.

Disliked: We had a private room and there was some kind of night club (?) downstairs and we were able to hear the music though there are free ear plugs available. Breakfast area is also pretty small so be early to avoid the crowds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VIJAY KUMAR JEYAKUMAR JACOB

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 March 2014 VIJAY KUMAR would recommend this property

Liked: The way there hostel staff addressing the clients is wonderful.

Disliked: NONE

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

VIKRAM PANSARE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 VIKRAM would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spotless, excellent facilities, secure, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Not much in the way of people mixing though that depends somewhat on you as well! A little costly but this is Singapore so that's to be expected (I paid about 30 SGD per day).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stefanie Rofner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The Stufe is very friends and helpfull The rooms are Not so big but very clean The hostel is near the MRT and the sightseeing stuff My next stay in singapor i will return to this friendly place

Disliked: Stefanie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, with a bus stop right outside and close to two MRT stations. However, a lot of places of interest are well within walking distance. The staff were super efficient and the other guests were really friendly. I ended up meeting a lot of great people and sharing outings with them.

Disliked: The nearby clubs made a lot of noise until about 5am from the night before.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendy staff

Disliked: Not enough showers / toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. 3 minute walk to the mrt, 10 minutes into the centre of singapore

Disliked: Didnt feel there was that much atmosphere but served the purpose of my visit well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

minjung lim

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 minjung would recommend this property

Liked: kind stapp

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Buckley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were nice and comfortable, relatively secure premises. Good location near Clarke Quay.

Disliked: The shoes off policy leads to slight odour in the main common area, but I suppose it's better than having the same odour in your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alvin Shrestha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Alvin would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and cute hostel, much like the girls that work at reception ;) Staff are very helpful and friendly Great location in clarke quay The staff took us out one night to sample singapore/asian dishes in chinatown whihc was excellent free laundry (although there is a cost for powder)

Disliked: Alvin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, Great Location, Free Breakfast, Washing Machine.

Disliked: Lack of cooking facilities, only got microwave. Bathroom door always being left open and can hear the notice in bedroom. Very small room, not the one we booked, which was slightly bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing. Comportable beds and very helpful and friendly staff. I would def stay here again! This hostel is easy to find and walking distance to china town, boat quay, raffles, circular key, bugis and even little India! I would recommend this hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hugo Sa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

09 March 2013 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Great environment! Great Staff! Keep the good work!

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really feels like home.....nice layout and decoration simple n nice

Disliked: so far so good...well its hostel... can make me feels like home allready great....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Safety lockers not large enough for a standard suitcase or larger backpack. Light remains turned on in all dormitories during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOANNE BENNETT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 JOANNE would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like being at home in a modern apartment!! Stay here!

Disliked: JOANNE left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nova Kartika Sari

Alone

City break

20 November 2012 Nova would recommend this property

Liked: It's near everywhere. Great wifi connection. Free flow of hot milo in the morning. And they have nuttela. Never seen this in another hostel.

Disliked: My female dorm is right across the female bathroom. Sound of hairdyer in the morning is really bugging me.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

BUDSARIN LUEANGAKHADET

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2012 BUDSARIN would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and Nice staff !!! Good location due to this is my First trip in Singapore in few years ago. between Clarke quay and China town. There are bus stop and MRT station not far from this hostel.

Disliked: Hair dryer isn't good.