HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Hostel | 39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore, Singapore 069716

87.4% Overall Rating

45 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

Muthia Ismauliyani thinks…

"located in Ann Siang Hill, modern concept, clean pod & sheet, so many bean bags, super helpful staff, and i love the common area in the attic."

Read all Matchbox The Concept Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Fernloft Chinatown
12.55 USD

Hostel 81.1% 23 reviews
Adler Hostel
43.14 USD

Hostel 94.1% 19 reviews
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
17.26 USD

Hostel 78.9% 38 reviews
Royal Hostel Singapore
14.90 USD

Hostel 83.2% 56 reviews
Service World Backpackers Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel 81.4% 168 reviews
Backpackers Inn Chinatown
15.69 USD

Hostel 69.1% 29 reviews
Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel
17.26 USD

Hostel 93.0% 166 reviews
Pillows & Toast
21.96 USD

Hostel 85.5% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

45 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Matchbox The Concept Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Muthia Ismauliyani

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

10 August 2014 Muthia would recommend this property

Liked: located in Ann Siang Hill, modern concept, clean pod & sheet, so many bean bags, super helpful staff, and i love the common area in the attic.

Disliked: nothing.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: no aircon, poor security, lowsy breakfast (stale bread and jam)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sabina Strence

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect - in the middle of China Town, easy to get everywhere. Staff members were really nice and helpful. I got answers to all of my questions even at 2am check in. Thanks guys!

Disliked: Sabina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Todd Raetzke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: Matchbox is a very clean hostel in a very convenient location. It has a great lounge and movie selection. The "pod" concept provides great privacy within a hostel atmosphere.

Disliked: It's a very quiet hostel, without much atmosphere/socializing because of the layout/pod concept.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tony Shearer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff, clean comfy beds

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Ralf Weber

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Max Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, clean and the massage chair :)

Disliked: no complains

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, bed concept

Disliked: Small room, little space to place stuff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan McClellan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly, we arrived late at night and they were up for us and even gave us some money on lend to buy some food. Great atmosphere and not a far walk to a station and they let us stay all afternoon on the day we were leaving and use the showers. I would reccomend this as a great place to stay!

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vincci Salim

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2013 Vincci would recommend this property

Liked: It was near Tanjong Pagar and Chinatown MRT. You can get souvenirs from Chinatown and there were also lots of eatery places nearby. There was one Fry Bistro rooftop restaurant which is just right at the other end of the street. Worthed going for a bite or two

Disliked: The building was very small and almost difficult to locate if I hadn't seen the map

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karin Venverloo

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

17 March 2013 Karin would recommend this property

Liked: It's a lovely place. Boxes to sleep in. Nice and clean.

Disliked: The airco didn't work well the second night. Since there are no windows in the room, that was a tough night. But that's the only negative point!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2013

Liked: Hostel is safe, breakfast is through day, although only cereals and bread. Location is ok. Sleeping roomis relatively quiet. Linen and beds were ok.

Disliked: The worst problem is information. We have been sent twice to wrong station. Can you imagine, that were sent on the wrong side of town and have to take taxi. Guy at reception knows nothink. He wants to help but simply does not know how. Putting a person on reception without information is at least irresponsible. In a room, airconditioning blows directly on bed, caught is guarantied. Overall, i will not come back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Choe

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Matchbox was a very clean and stylish hostel. It was actually an incredible experience. I couldn't list just one thing that made my stay great but rather everything culminated in my stay being fantastic.

Disliked: The one thing I disliked about the property was its location. But that was no bother as the train station was very close by.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The last on the front counter who does night shift was very helpful, Location is pretty good, pod style set up is a good idea.

Disliked: The guy on the day shift was very unhelpful and unwilling to help us also Becareful because when you arrive you have to pay $20 deposit for the key and when me and my girlfriend checked out with the guy in the morning he said Ok you are all checked out goodbye I then had to ask for my deposit back which was $40 for both of us. We think he might try this on most people so make sure you don't leave without getting your deposit. Also there are no single toilets they are all in with a shower so if you ever need to go to the toilet 90% of the time the floor is wet would be good to have at least one dry toilet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nur Nadia Abd Rahim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2012 Nur Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: I love the character of this hostel. The huge and awesome common area is the best part of the hostel. Oh yes, did i mention there's a 'relaxation room' where there are massage machines there? The things they provided for the female dorm gave this hostel a nice touch...ie. the hairdryer. The beds were awesome and the staffs were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nur Nadia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

YI LING HU

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 YI LING would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff even we arrived at midnight (sorry for keeping you waiting) n we could still have our cereal even we woke up at 10, this is pretty awesome!

Disliked: YI LING left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Capsule concept is good, gives privacy. The foot massager was a fantastic idea, especially after a day out walking around.

Disliked: Breakfast options were dismal, no place to sit and eat. We also thought the towels were free from the way it was advertised, but they cost $1 +$2 deposit each.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcellus Larsen

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 September 2012 Marcellus would recommend this property

Liked: great place! lovely staff - knowledgeable, always smiling. spotless bathrooms, fantastic concept. highly recommend

Disliked: Marcellus left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012

Liked: the little reading area was nice, as shown in the picture. but thats about it.

Disliked: Oh my. This must have been my worst choice of hostel in Singapore! It was quite a walk from the nearest MRT station (Tanjong Pagar). No staff at night so its quite hard to ask questions. Not regularly cleaned I think. And they give lousy breakfast so that they can charge you for the extras. And quite high price for the bed, which really didnt offer much privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carmen Boon

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2012 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Strategic Location with few minutes walk to MRT Station, Special Concept with private bed for sleeping, Big living room, Air-Condition is working good, Clean & Safe. Will definitely stay here again for my next visit.

Disliked: Carmen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, staff was helpfull, location was great, bathrooms always avaiable, free shampoo and shower gel, privacy, light at the bed, very new hostel!

Disliked: Little warm in the cabins/ beds, dorm with 16 had people come in and leave (and pack) all the time).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhonda Baliica

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Rhonda would recommend this property

Liked: bedlinen was clean and fresh, room smelt nice scent. staff was very helpful with places to see and hostel is near 2 metros. recommend.

Disliked: Rhonda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janice Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: such a friendly, dedicated place love the walls between beds, blocks out noise, light so clean very nice place to social nice neigbourhood, good food nearby

Disliked: closer to subway would be good but not far

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great concept and staff, had the best sleep on the final leg of my travels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WAN NING TEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 WAN NING would recommend this property

Liked: Though a bit pricey compare to other hostel. However Near clubs, Chinatown just few minutes walk. Its the midpoint of Tanjong Pagar and Chinatown MRT. I loved the complimentary whole day food and drinks. Clean Toilet, Cool Air-cond and very secure room system.

Disliked: WAN NING left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nightlife in the area is good.

Disliked: If Matchbox is a concept, then Bunc Hostel is how it should have been executed. For a few dollars more, Bunc offers much better and cleaner facility, 24 hrs reception and secure luggage room.