HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Society Backpackers Hotel

Hostel | 259A Jalan Besar, Singapore, Singapore 208934

82.1% Overall Rating

54 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2013)

"Very cheap for Singapore. Good value if all you require is simply accommodation i.e. a place to sleep on a budget."

Read all Society Backpackers Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.57

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Fernloft (City) Hostel Singapore
11.77 USD

Hostel 74.2% 71 reviews
Travellers Inn
18.04 USD

Hostel 85.8% 66 reviews
Tresor Tavern Hostel
19.61 USD

Hostel 78.1% 136 reviews
Fisher BnB
23.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Blanc Inn
29.02 USD

Hostel 86.9% 7 reviews
Sleep Delight
15.69 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Pine Hostel
20.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpackers@SG
13.33 USD

Hostel 92.5% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

54 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Society Backpackers Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014

Liked: nice lounge/common area

Disliked: bathroom and toilettes were really smelly and disgusting, facilitites seemed really old and used (no door lock for the shower, broken mirror etc...), matresses are worn out and not really comfortable, the towels for rent are really only a disgusting and smelly piece of cloth

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014

Liked: good location, ok breakfast, alright value

Disliked: too many of the other people in the dorms were old snoring people, one walked around shirtless, smelled like he hadn't showered in weeks and scratched himself down below allllll night while making noises. it looked like he had been at the hostel for a while also....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i think facilities in society are good...microwave to bake the bread,water etc

Disliked: maybe next time there must be lift in society hotel...so that we don't need to carry our bagage heavily...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Margaret kilpatrick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: good location air con during night

Disliked: Margaret left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap for Singapore. Good value if all you require is simply accommodation i.e. a place to sleep on a budget.

Disliked: Was rather warm at night - aircon is on but didn't seem to effective.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful friendly staff, good facilities, very security concious

Disliked: not very sociable, full of asian people who dont talk to anyone else so made socialising difficult, mattress a little thin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florence Cattin

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

10 April 2013 Florence would recommend this property

Liked: An island of rest in the middle of a busy city! The owner is himself a former backpaper and so understands the basic necessary to make you feel welcomed back 'home' when you arrive. The front area of the hostel could benefit from a few plants barrier from the road, but that is really a minor detail. It has all necessary amenities and is really a pleasure to come back to after a long day.

Disliked: Nothing really ...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My bed was super comfortable, and the room had AC. That was all I really needed.

Disliked: The showers were slightly disfunctional. They got the job done, but the heads weren't fixed well and kept slipping.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, large communal area, easy to locate off the street. Arrived in the wee hours and there was an attendant to let us in

Disliked: Noticed the smell of mothballs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good services,and friendly.

Disliked: Too cold for air con.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think its the cheapest place in singapore, no complaints , a good location, cheap food near by - larger than I thought it would be.

Disliked: Large open rooms so it hard to start have a conversation with out being over heard, most of the people there were quiet

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are friendly and eager to help you find your way to your desired destinations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. The common area is huge with lots of places for people to sit and socialize. They are plugs for those who want to use their laptop or charge things. The staff was friendly and helped me order delivery food for my dinner. A big locker is included for no additional charge. They give you key cards for entry and the place seems secure. Toilets and shower are decent. I like the location as it's accesible from two MRT lines and it's in a good area with lots of food, entertainment, and shopping options. The a/c was really cold and they provided a nice warm blanket which made it cozy.

Disliked: Boring breakfast -- should add peanut butter for the toast! Slices of cheese and meat would be great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This guest house has the ideal location for those who wish to explore on foot the Bugis junction and the Civic District. It's also just at the back of Mustafa and there are a lot of places to eat nearby. The dormitory is pleasant with space for your luggage and free lockers.

Disliked: The female dormitory is facing Jalan Besar and is noisy during the night but I suppose you get used to it. This guest house should offer cooking facilities to be perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agnes Jessika

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Agnes would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very clean room and bathroom

Disliked: they automatically turn the light off at 11 pm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niken Puspitasari

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Niken would recommend this property

Liked: I really happy to stay in Society Backpackers Hotel because the staffs are very friendly & helpful.The toilet also clean (i really like it)

Disliked: I must go down and up to 4nd floors and it makes me tired.maybe lift will be a good idea

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location

Disliked: That there was no lift-however, staff did help with the suitcases.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dustin Brett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012

Liked: Location was nice but besides that it's a very average and boring hostel.

Disliked: No people in dorms to meet, A/C was very cold, staff is not great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty spacious room for 3 pax. in terms of security we were given a key and also access card to enter the floor. walking distance to little india.

Disliked: no wifi in the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The thing I liked the most was that there was nothing that I didin't like, good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing, to be honest.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Khairul Idzwan Kamarudzaman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Khairul Idzwan would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very good hostel where we can have a good rest and a decent sleep at night. I slept here 2 nights with my friend and overall, we like it. We were given a 20-bed dorm and it is divided into 2 i.e. 10 beds and 10 beds by a curtain in the middle. The location is nice as it is near the Farrer Park station where you can just enter the City Square Mall to go to the station. The cleanliness is also good and the toilets are fine. You will be given a locker with key [no need to bring own padlocks] and the toilet is attached to the dorm which make it convenient to go to the toilet and/or bathroom. Hot shower is available and to enter the room, you will have a key card which means, security is also good. The staff is also friendly and the best part is it has free breakfast and you can have plain water at any time of the day. There is also a place for you to chill and relax in the front balcony which is also a smoking area. Overall, this hostel is good and you can have a good sleep and/or rest with a cheap price.

Disliked: Overall, I liked this hostel. But several things that I want to comment are: 1. There is no individual reading lamp at your bed. However, this is not a big problem as at night, I am only here to sleep and have a rest. 2. The aircond is not 24-H. It is on from 7.00 pm to 10.00 am. I am fine with this, but I think an alternative such as fan should be provided so that travellers who need rest in the afternoon will have a breeze. 3. My mattress is quite old and thin. On my last day, I sat at the bed beside me and it feels that the mattress is so comfortable as compared to mine. But this is no big issue as I still have a decent and good night sleep.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice stay for budget traveler, free wi-fi,

Disliked: no lift or elevator

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012

Liked: It is very close to Little India, just a short walk from City Square Mall, and best of all just opposite a bus stop that can get you all around the city. 857 bus gets you to Suntec city and the 65 gets you to Vivo City so that it is really easy to get to Sentosa for the day if you wish!! There is an ATM about 2 mins away and a small 24 hour shop about the same distance. The staff were very helpful and informative about how to get around.

Disliked: Umm, let me see.... the mouse, overflowing bins in the bathroom, smell of the bed linen and room. This is also a place where not many travellers go, All of the other residents were long stay residents. The breakfast was pretty disgusting (white bread, gooey margarine and jam that was foul) , but a quick trip to a supermarket to get some cereal solved that problem. The staff kindly let us put milk in the fridge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emanoel Bastos

Alone

Shopping
Work / volunteering

31 December 2011 Emanoel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff of the hostel is very friendly, always ready to help you in case you need it. The rates charged by the hostel are very cheap (especially considering how expensive accomodations are in Singapore) but it includes extras such as internet and breakfast and the hostel is located in downtown Singapore within walking distance of an underground station.

Disliked: Emanoel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emanoel Bastos

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Emanoel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff of the hostel is very friendly, always ready to help you in case you need it. The rates charged by the hostel are very cheap (especially considering how expensive accomodations are in Singapore) but it includes extras such as internet and breakfast and the hostel is located in downtown Singapore within walking distance of an underground station.

Disliked: Emanoel left no negative feedback.