HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of River City Inn Singapore Hostel

33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore, Singapore

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 93%

Location 96%

Safety 98%

Staff 90%

Value 94%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Adaptors
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

• Booking made is non-refundable in the event of cancellation or modification. Payment will be charged to your card prior to arrival.

• In the event that the credit card is invalid to charge full balance due, the hostel have the right to cancel the booking and inform guest via Email.

• All rates in Singapore Dollars are inclusive of taxes, breakfast, free wi-fi, internet access, lockers, clean toilets, bathrooms, clean sheets and clean rooms.
• All prices include breakfast, free WiFi, internet access, lockers (with locks), clean toilets, bathrooms, clean linen and clean rooms.

• Check-in time: 14:00-23:00. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 23:00. Please respect our check-in time after 14:00 as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12:00-14:00) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 09:00 to 23:00. Late check in 23:00 to 01:30 is chargeable at S$8 per booking. Prior arrangement required.
• Check-out time: 12:00. One night's stay will be chargeable for late check out past 12:00.
• If you have an early flight, you may leave your luggage with us(after 7am on the check-in date) and use our facilities before heading out to explore the city. A booking for the previous night is required should you need a bed to rest immediately upon arrival from 07:00 to 14:00 on your check-in day.
• If you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your check-out, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost until 22:00.
• The air-con in the dorms are turned on continuously for 12 hours throughout the night (21:00 to 09:00). The dorms are ventilated with fans in the day. The common area is fully air-conditioned during the day.
• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and above can be accommodated either in private rooms or in dormitories.
• Due to limited capacity, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.
• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse WITHOUT a lift.
• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.
• We will hold all bookings up to 3 hours of your scheduled arrival time. Kindly inform us if you have any changes to your arrival time.
• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us prior to booking for large group bookings.
• Please note that not all our rooms/dormitories have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking.

• Refundable Key Deposit S$20 per pax is applicable
• By booking with us, you agree with the above stated terms and conditions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 93%

Location 96%

Safety 98%

Staff 90%

Value 94%

Showing 31-40 of 268 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: safety and clean

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, And staff

Disliked: Bad number 25 not cold.. :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. We will look into it.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The communal area was spacious and computers available for use were very good. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Location is very good as it is right next to Clarke Quay and a short walk to Chinatown.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - Good location, walking distance to chinatown, clarke quay and MRT station- Clean rooms and toilets- Lockers, bed light and curtain- Free luggage storage and usage of facilities before check in and after check out

Disliked: - Located on 3rd floor without lift but it is stated in the terms and conditions so I was aware of it. Good exercise!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, very easy to get around. Walking distance to Marina Bay, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, with Orchard and beyond just a few bus stops or a few MRT stations away.The hostel is clean, seems well maintained. The management enforce the rules regarding noise and security strictly and that's a good thing, because it's all for the occupant's benefit. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Climbing 3 flights of stairs to reach this hostel can be pretty tiring, although this is clearly stated in their information page on HostelBookers. The wifi connection is a bit wonky, with me (and others) keeps getting disconnected when trying to access it with a smartphone or a tablet. I didn't experience this kind of conenction when I was staying here last year. Perhaps it's time to upgrade the router.The bed is ok, but not the kind of "orthopedic" mattresses that you'll find advertised these days in newer hostels. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but perhaps something to consider for the management.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our router has been upgraded 2 months ago by the major Singtel provider in Singapore. The disruption could be due the recent fire in one of their distribution stations which they are doing repair maintenance progressively.

As for the mattress, we shall look into it during the next mattress replacement.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Personal lockers, individual bed lights and curtains

Disliked: not enough showers when the hostel is full

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location, you can walk to both Chinatown and Clarke quay. Excellent water presison for the showers.

Disliked: Small common room and small rooms. I stayed only for one night, but social life looked non existent.


The property's response is

Our cosy common area provides for more opportunities for guests to interact. The atmosphere in the hostel really depends on the nature of in-house guests.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice and clean place, with good facilities, friendly staff and a good location.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Overall it is quite good and very close to the MRT and convenient to get to other places. Some attractions n famous food are just there or nearby within walking distance. Besides, a bus stop there can take you to katong district for chicken rice and lasagne.

Disliked: Don't have a lift, so, you have to carry your lugguage upstairs to reach the hostel. but, the hostel lady helped me to move the heavy luggage downstairs when the time I check out n leave the hostel! Thanks a lot ! :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean n comfortable

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability