HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Feel At Home Backpackers

Hostel | 7A Jalan Pinang, Singapore, Singapore 199139

73.0% Overall Rating

197 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Steven Versluis thinks…

"private rooms for budget price in very nice area and close to Bugis metro station and Johor Bus station (for bus to Malaysia). Clean hot showers, books to read, free internet, breakfast and friendly…"

Read all Feel At Home Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

The Sleepy Kiwi
15.69 USD

Hostel 77.7% 81 reviews
Shophouse The Social Hostel
15.69 USD

Hostel 83.4% 38 reviews
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
36.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
5footway.inn Project Bugis
17.26 USD

Hostel 71.4% 39 reviews
b88 hostel
21.96 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bunc@Radius Little India
18.83 USD

Hostel 87.9% 46 reviews
Plush Pods
18.04 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
Kawan Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel 82.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.0%

Overall Rating

197 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Feel At Home Backpackers'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 231 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014

Liked: good location, cheap

Disliked: Mouldy smelly room, rough bathroom & shower. No windows. Cramped. Many facilities listed aren't available: Kitchen is not accessible to guests, no TV room, no lounge/common room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

arvin zeinullah

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 arvin would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect.

Disliked: Need more public space for interaction with another backpacker.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Versluis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: private rooms for budget price in very nice area and close to Bugis metro station and Johor Bus station (for bus to Malaysia). Clean hot showers, books to read, free internet, breakfast and friendly staff. Nice decorated clean rooms with aircon and fan. Best choice in Singapore.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 June 2014

Liked: staff

Disliked: uncleanness of washrooms and showers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: friendly staff/owner

Disliked: no windows, cockroaches

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best staff ever, central location, so comfy beds, whatever a traveler need they will get nearby only. Satisfactory facilities as per the price is really cheap. so as per the amount i paid it was perfect.

Disliked: no windows, small rooms, rest all good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william saucy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 william would recommend this property

Liked: A safe place with very good and friendly staff, nice environment, pleasant stay location, so much great value of the paid amount. Not possible to get all the provided facilities in such a low price in Singapore. The best part : a good start of the day with good breakfast.

Disliked: No windows in the rooms but nice air corn.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, cozy rooms, clean, very good value for our money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: Nice and close to public transport and the staff were very friendly. Wifi worked well.

Disliked: Bedroom was extremely small (just a bed with no space down either side and we hardly fit our 2 backpacks there) and the bathroom needed lots if repair work ! Didn't feel like it was good value for money. I also got lots of bites from something and was awoken early by someone drilling above the room causing it to shake. Something was also leaking from the ceiling onto the bed.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Christopher Lees

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014

Liked: Not very much, the ladies were friendly but promised a new room which never materialised.

Disliked: My mother was forced out of her promised room at 9pm. They refused to give us a twin room then offered is a new room free of charge which they took back. If we were told no twin room was available when we get there we would've left. Also there was work going on at 2 in the morning, very disappointing actually.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2014

Liked: The location was pretty good, but not worth the price

Disliked: We had booked this place after seeing some good reviews and have never been so disappointed. After 8 months of travel this has been one of the worst hostels of our trip. We booked months ago wanting to get something with a double and twin room for a family reunion and turned up to hear they only had queen rooms. We were assured this would be rectified before that night but got back to see nothing had been done and mother and son were forced to share a room. It was the same story the next day and then after a spare room was found for the third night it was sold again on the fourth night. Disgraceful! And no one was aware until right before bed time. There is lots of maintenance going on at the hostel so the bathrooms are disgusting and it is noisy all night. One night there was drilling going on inside the hostel after midnight. How are you meant to sleep in that? No reduction was given on the price, the bedrooms are tiny and breakfast is not worth the high accommodation charge. Plus laundry costs $15 a load!!! This was by far the worst and most expensive place we stayed out of 3 months in Asia. The only thing going for it is the location, but even that isn't worth the price. DON'T STAY HERE!!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Nuraini Abdul Malik

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 March 2014

Liked: Location hostel near from mrt

Disliked: Dirty, bad fasility, staf not friendly

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Guerra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Walking distance to many places. If you plan to go to JB, you can walk to the bus station. It's within 5 minutes. Room was good. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: For some strange reason, the staff decided to tell me to pay a different rate both nights I was there. I believe they have access to our reservations on this site, therefore they should know how much we all have to pay. Both nights, I had to clarify the rate and let them know I was not going to pay the amount they asked me to. I disliked this given that it occurred twice and I am sure this site (Hostelbookers.com) emails hostels when a reservation occurs. Lastly, I reserved 48 hours before, and not 5 minutes before I arrived at the hostel.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and the family that run the guesthouse are incredibly friendly and helpful - they even changed the mattress when I asked if they had a firmer one :). Great wifi. Aircon

Disliked: Tiny windowless room, but the location is wonderful and it is difficult to find rooms in this price range

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value and great location within a few minutes walk from Bugis MRT station. Our double room was a little small, but it was clean with comfy bed and aircon. Run by a friendly helpful family. Very fast WiFi too.

Disliked: Lots of building work going on nearby at the time we stayed so it was quite noisy, but normally the rooms would be very quiet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013

Liked: The lady who owns the hostel is very helpful and friendly. It's only a 500m walk to Bugis MRT. Walking distance to little India

Disliked: This place has very thin walls so you here everything outside. The blanket on the bed is more of a throw rug, which doesn't cover you if youre tall (I'm 189cm).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. About 5 minute walk to the Bugis MRT station or bus stop. Seemed very clean to me, didn't see any roaches or bedbugs that some earlier reviewers saw. Maybe the problem was only in the dorm rooms. Not noisy. The TV is only for watching DVD's, and is not hooked up to any antenna or satellite in case you wanted to watch TV news for example. The wifi worked great inside the room and the PC available also worked well. The 24 hour reception means someone sleeps on a cot at the desk just inside the door. The mattress was firm and the AC worked well in room two.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viviane Ehret

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Viviane would recommend this property

Liked: As a backpacker I was lookin for a budget hostel to stay at durin my time in singapore and luckily ended up at Feel At Home! Its a great place to stay, very clean and made with love!! :) my dorm room was airconditioned and very clean, they changed the beding every day!! there is all u can eat breakkie, free internet and computer, books, guitar, really everything u need! The location is great as it is very central- I could walk to many attractions, and MRT and busses to malaysia are round the corner as well as a cheap malaysian restaurant. And the stuff is awesome!! The owning family is very welcoming and invited me several times to join their very yummi meals :D And they know everything about Singapore- I didnt need to go to an information Centre a single time as they told me everything I needed to know. I can only recommend this hostel to everyone, I ended up stayin in Singapore longer than I had planned! :)

Disliked: Viviane left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lynn brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Lynn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and owners are very friendly and made sure we were happy at all times

Disliked: .

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hanna Lehtovaara

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bedbugs

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bastian Bertulies-Esposito

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Bastian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. Also, it was very much appreciated to have some Indian potatoes at breakfast. The hostel is nicely located and we loved being able to walk for all our excursions.

Disliked: The room was noisy, since it was next to the reception desk. This didn't matter much during the day, since we were always out, but even if the volume of the music or the television was lowered for the night, it could still be heard at times. We unfortunately had some noisy guests as neighbours for a night, which was disturbing until late at night. If the hostel generally is well kept, it seems like all the maintenance is done as cheap as possible, which gives it somewhat of a run down feel. Finally, we learnt the hard way that breakfast starts at 8:30, which is inconvenient if you must leave earlier.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull and nice staff, clean and not noisy

Disliked: nothing;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathalie Brandmeyr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of this hostel is absolutly friendly. She will try to help you in everything you need. You can also get good tips in sightseeing from her!

Disliked: Nathalie left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 June 2013

Liked: good location friendly staff strong wifi

Disliked: cockroaches in the washroom!!! bad smell of bed sheets blankets uncomfortable air con in room 5 not working

The property's response is...