We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of ServiceWorld Chinatown Hostel

Hostel | Block 52 Chin Swee Road, #02-33, Singapore, Singapore 160052

75.7% Overall Rating

48 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

"Location, the owner is friendly but the only staff saw was this guy on day checked in. Clean. Cheap. Good WiFi and laundry facility."

Read all ServiceWorld Chinatown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.57

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Manhanttan Inn
23.53 USD

Hostel 60.0% 3 reviews
Wink Hostel
39.22 USD

Hostel 88.0% 47 reviews
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
17.26 USD

Hostel 83.0% 174 reviews
Rucksack Inn@Temple Street
16.97 USD

Hostel 92.9% 29 reviews
A Beary Good Hostel
17.26 USD

Hostel 89.8% 232 reviews
Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel
18.83 USD

Hostel 93.1% 167 reviews
Pillows & Toast
23.53 USD

Hostel 85.5% 11 reviews
Beary Best! by a beary good hostel
21.96 USD

Hostel 86.8% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.7%

Overall Rating

48 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ServiceWorld Chinatown Hostel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2014

Liked: Safe

Disliked: Staff barely acknowledged my existence, Tiny sink, no real kitchen facitities. Changed hostel for return leg of the trip.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the owner is friendly but the only staff saw was this guy on day checked in. Clean. Cheap. Good WiFi and laundry facility.

Disliked: One bathroom is definitely not enough, its very cramped but fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD LOCATION

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hospitility and friendliness of the people in charge and also people who stayed in the hostel.

Disliked: Nil.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Chris Balmforth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a very good location close by to the Buddah Tooth Relic Temple. The hostel owner was happy to change our dates (we arrived earlier than expected) with no charge. The hostel owner can also arrange tickets to local attraction at a slightly discounted rate.

Disliked: The rooms are very small and there is only one toilet which means its always full and in need of a very good clean (the smell of urine was pretty rife). The hostel owner is very nice but can be a bit eccentric and slightly alarming at times.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Guillaume Bourlès

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 June 2013 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: We were (me and my girl friend) at the hostel during the low season. Then we were alone in the hostel, wich was nice actually for showering and quiet after visit this big city! Staff are friednly and helpfull, its clean for me (for her not perfect) The manager speak french (pour vous chers compatriotes)

Disliked: It is hard to find, except if you are use to asiat city. But if you ask the right personn it will lead to the hostel. That's what happened to us! =)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cléo Thomás Gabriel Vilela Menegaz Texeira Pires

Alone

Business / conference

25 February 2013 Cléo Thomás Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: A bit dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mbetobong Umoefik

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Mbetobong would recommend this property

Liked: The property is centralized so one can easily access areas of interest including MRT and is close to the popular Orchard road (about 15min. walking distance).

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpfull staff and owner. The hostel is small and clean. We liked the very fast internet and cool aircon. Very good location, in Chinatown with cheap and good food nearby. Also close to the metro and busses.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not bad

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed here for about a week. The location is good. It is close to the Chinatown MRT, malls and chinatown area. About 15 minutes or 20 to Marina Bay Sands area. The building has an elevator. Tess (the lady in charge) was ready to give us more blankets upon request and is not pushy or aggressive. Hot water all the time. You need a code to enter the place so it is pretty secure. It is overpriced, but then most accomodation in Singapore is.. so it seems to be one of the cheapest.

Disliked: It is not marked on the building or anything so if you dont know where you are going you may get lost on the way. The place is tiny so it can get crowded. There are two rooms but the seperation between them is not from ground to ceiling. So if you sleep on the top bunk and you sit up on your bed you can see everything in the other room. This applies to sound as well... so there is basically no difference getting an 8 bed or 6 bed dorm because you will hear EVERYONE eitherway. Only difference is the 6 bed dorm has the windows while the 8 bed doesnt. The "free breakfast:" is toast and two kinds of processed jams (and tea or coffee). There is only one computer there but free wifi. The bathrooms are tiny and not goodlooking but seem to be 'clean'.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FERDINAND LAUREL

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2011 FERDINAND would recommend this property

Liked: the place is perfect for tourist near china town, marina bay sands and clarke quay. The room is very clean..u will b assisted with a friendly & very hard working filipina tenant, TEss. Its like living in a nice and clean filipino home.. no awful smell.

Disliked: none so far.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

samantha fairley

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 October 2011 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, comfy beds, pleasant staff.

Disliked: bit hard to find,(up 3 flights of stairs around a corner) though reasonably central

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 August 2011

Liked: very clean

Disliked: no hot water, no sitting room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010

Liked: It's a closet with as many beds as can fit. There are no "rooms". Areas are divided by curtains. While I was there it wasn't even full but was still a difficult place to sleep because of all the lights being left on. Breakfast is a loaf of bread and a toaster, don't be fooled. It is clean and well located, but I feel like you should be able to get more for your money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfredo B. Silao III

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

25 September 2010 Alfredo B. would recommend this property

Liked: It was quaint, cozy and clean. It was my first time to book a hostel and i have to say i met very interesting people here who've now become my friends. The rooms are small and kind of cramped, but it's cheap, and for a solo traveler like me, that's important. Helpful hint: bring your own earplugs, just in case your roommate snores.

Disliked: The size. But you just get what you pay for, so that's okay.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Retno Wulan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

15 September 2010

Liked: Location : near to the People's Park Complex

Disliked: just 1 (one) AC for 2 rooms (13 people). The restroom is too small. We have to clean up by ourselves (ex. mug, spoon, etc --that we used).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff there to greet us and in a safe location.

Disliked: Very small and only 1 shower.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and place was tidy.

Disliked: There was no atmosphere and the dorms were so cramp. Breakfast was very very limited.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2010

Liked: Avoid. SMALL rooms. Bathroom, kitchen & common room are all the same room!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jess sharman

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

23 August 2010 jess would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had the sweetest owners and they did everything they could do to help us. The location is great and we had a lovely time. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Very small hostel with no real common area (there's no room). It was fine for us as we were out all day, so only wanted to sleep there, but this hostel wouldn't be good for people wanting to chill out in their hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very kind and helpful! Excellent place to stay!

Disliked: A little crowded, but it wasn't a big deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Andrew is really friendly and goes out of his way to help!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 June 2010

Liked: very narrow tiny small no eating space or faciiity. 1 toilet 1 shower. some beds upp stairs in hallway. Think asian longstayers mostly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael webb

13 May 2010 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed staying there first hostel I had stayed at ---close to a great food hall convenient for transport good atmosphere

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.