We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tresor Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 243 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208916, Singapore, Singapore 208916

78.1% Overall Rating

114 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2014)

Emily O'Kane thinks…

"They gave our money back for the last two nights when we decided to go somewhere else. It's very close to the station."

Read all Tresor Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.78

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Fernloft (City) Hostel Singapore
12.55 USD

Hostel 74.2% 71 reviews
Society Backpackers Hotel
14.12 USD

Hostel 82.1% 76 reviews
Travellers Inn
18.83 USD

Hostel 85.8% 66 reviews
Fisher BnB
23.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpackers@SG
14.12 USD

Hostel 92.5% 185 reviews
Sleep Delight
15.69 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Blanc Inn
29.02 USD

Hostel 86.9% 7 reviews
Pine Hostel
20.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

114 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tresor Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 128 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Emily O'Kane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014

Liked: They gave our money back for the last two nights when we decided to go somewhere else. It's very close to the station.

Disliked: The sheets were dirty. There seemed to be ppl living there. The bathrooms were not very user friendly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alun Hutoyo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 Alun would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs are welcome and helpful. The place is clean and the breakfast is good.

Disliked: Alun left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Chanyeol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Hi, we're BUFS! Thank u for your friendliness!! Especially Joel,staff, you're one of the best person last 5days. U maybe in Malaysia(because we also met in JB Sentral in Malaysia *^^*. If I have a chance to travel in Singapore, I WILL! visit your Hostel!!! We're really thank ur kind!!!!!!

Disliked: Lee left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Levente Bodo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Levente would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that every dorm bed was fitted with a curtain for privacy. Comfortable beds, helpful staff, free breakfast. Good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hendry Yanuar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Hendry would recommend this property

Liked: it is cheap.

Disliked: distance, for the low price, it think I can walk a little further.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ramona Nagy

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 November 2012 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: Customer service was amazing. I really like the place!!!

Disliked: They got 5% credit card surcharge that was a little bit shocking!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2012

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful -- we were a large group of 22 travellers.

Disliked: A number of us has been bitten by bed bugs but the owner did assure us that they will rectify the problem as soon as possible.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located on the fringe of lil India

Disliked: bed bugs in their room no 301 kept me awake the other rooms are fine

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Duc Duy Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2012 Duc Duy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly

Disliked: The place is a bit off the center and not so clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

johnny abreu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 johnny would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, free breakfast, very close to little india. One of the cheapest hostels in SG

Disliked: I woke uo with some bites. Cant say it was bed bugs but something bit me for sure.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ma. Patricia Yulo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Ma. Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Well, you will get what you pay for. I have no problems with the dorm room because it was fine. It includes a locker but you have to pay a $5 SG deposit (which is fine because the want the customers to return the key). Some of the staff members were really friendly and approachable. Don't expect a super clean and organized hostel. As I've said, you'll get what you pay for.

Disliked: I wanted to use the internet and they pointed me to a guy--I Forgot his name--who's supposed to fix it at 6pm. When I came back around 630, I saw the guy and I asked him if I can use the internet. He replied by saying, "I'll try to fix it, but I'm not sure because I'm really busy." I just said ok and did not complain anymore because I was too tired. The other staff members are ok but this Filipino guy who's in charge of the internet...I thought his response was not appropriate. He didn't even bother to check it for me. It was obvious that he was too lazy to do it. The bathroom was also dirty. I just think most of the Filipino staff there are too lazy. I'm a Filipina by the way, and I don't really like lazy people. I think they have to be more strict with their staff because everybody there seemed to laid back.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lisa Vine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The receptionsists were so rude and you had to pay for internet (not as advertised) yeah its cheap but for an extra pound you can go to Fernloft up the road (where I stayed the night before) have unlimited coffee and trea at breakfast and have free internet with truly lovely staff!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DOMINGO MADARANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 DOMINGO would recommend this property

Liked: Neat & tidy Staff were very cheerful & helpful Close for transportation (MRT) & malls

Disliked: Off Lights should be 2400 hrs. not 0200 hrs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Muhammad Yusuf Rochmad Basuki

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Muhammad Yusuf would recommend this property

Liked: Location of Tresor Travern is great

Disliked: Muhammad Yusuf left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mustaqim Mustaqim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Mustaqim would recommend this property

Liked: 1. The bathroom and dorms are clean. 2. Friendly staff because they will explain anything we ask. 3. The location is nearby Farrer Park MRT Station and Mustafa Dept Store

Disliked: 1. The AC was so cold. Even though I changed the mode or temperature, the Ac still fierce. 2. We had to move at 6 mix dorms whereas I already booked for 12 mix dorms. Actually it is okay for me, but i started to love 12 mix dorms because it`s wider.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012

Liked: The location is near from mustafa centre 24 hours market and one city square. Its easy to find food on there. On level 1 they have its own bar while by night its sorrounded by local ppl and also tourist. Overall yhe staff, mostly filipino, were really helpfull

Disliked: A little bit difficult to reach the place since we have to walk by 10 mnts from green line (airport line) mrt, i have to ask for local resident for jalan besar location, its better for u to alight at farrer park but u have to change line by 2 times, also the lady ( i dont know, maybe its the owner), yelling at me cos i was lean on the wall whre the put vals decoration, she said if i make it broke i have to repair it, for i was there charging my phone ( the electricity only availble at thr lower bed and my cable cant reach it). They charged water refill by 0.5 to 1 dollar deppend on ur bottle size

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: facilities like iron, hair-dryer, place to dry the clothes, breakfast (chocolate cream) free shower gel and shampoo in the showers

Disliked: the dorm room was tiny, too many beds and no space to keep our stuff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and great roommates

Disliked: No window

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aris Munandar Rahmatullah

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Aris Munandar would recommend this property

Liked: The advantage of this hostel is near from MRT and Mustafa Centre and also moslem food corner...and there is lift in this hostel.

Disliked: I do not like the hallway that leads back to the room

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

nataporn sriviset

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2011

Liked: Only location

Disliked: Dislike many things, especailly cleaness, not same bearygoodhostel at chinatown, there is clean and have breakfast also

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Simone Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff were on the whole very helpful (see my dislike comment re when they were not). There was a bar area where you could relax. Wifi (although most of the time it did not work). AC as opposed to fan, although extremely cold. Close proximity to SMRT (when you worked out where it was......not easy to find)

Disliked: I was overcharged!!!!!! They charged me again for the deposit I had already paid through hostelbookers. When I spoke to someone about it, I was informed that the manager would be spoken to about it.....was never resolved or reimbursed. The staff could be very unhelpful at times e.g. I had booked for 3 nights but was moved after the first night to a "mixed" dorm which consisted of all males. As well as the inconvenience of having to move all my stuff to an adjacent room, although there were plenty of free beds (prior to check in for those arriving) they allocated me a top bunk and refused to allow me to go to a free bottom bunk instead (where as the only female in the dorm, I could use a privacy sheet). Would not budge on this as had already worked out on their spreadsheet who would go where, despite the fact that nobody had checked in, so wouldn't know what bunk they were in!!! They said it was irrelevant that I was already a guest and yet others had not arrived. Therefore without bottom bunk/privacy sheet, there was no privacy to change etc as an only female.....couldn't easily change in showers either (see comment below) There were no windows in the room so it was pitch black and a nuisance when trying to pack up for check out or get things ready to take out for the day as had to either do this by phone light or turn the strip light on and disturb late sleepers. The staff served/dealt with you after a) dealing with their administration (which they were constantly doing) b) chatting with colleagues. Even when you were stood there waiting to be seen, they would ignore you and disappear. One lady was the exception. AC was fierce BUT I did ask for an extra blanket so as not to get cold and was given one without question. Showers were clean but considering the amount of people per floor (prob about 30) there were only 3 shower/toilet cubicles, of which one lock was broken. There was an additional shower cubicle on its own. They did supply shower foam but the cubicle was so small, the entire floor area flooded, so your trousers/shorts etc got wet when trying to put them on.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk from mtr and working showers with hot water.

Disliked: Its so cold in the dorms coz of the ac..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: airconditioning, friendliness of staff

Disliked: no kitchen, no water boiler, maps of singapore not displayed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Georgina Hopkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: There was toilet paper and didn't have to wait for the toilet.

Disliked: It was so cold in the rooms. Internet wasn't working. Menus weren't clear for how much you had spent. Staff weren't helpful

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get discounted food and the staff are really friendly!

Disliked: People came into the dorm in the middle of the night to stay the night...and they looked like locals, which could be a bit scary if you're a girl on your own.