HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Podbara

Hostel | Djordja Rajkovica 28, Novi Sad, Serbia 21000

96.5% Overall Rating

59 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

Emily Denny thinks…

"The woman running the hostel was incredibly nice and was really flexible when I showed up with another traveler that hadn't booked in advance. The place was clean and we really enjoyed ourselves.…"

Read all Hostel Podbara reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Novi Sad?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Novi Sad

CitiHotel Veliki
25.46 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Zenit Hotel
38.72 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Nikola's Place
14.28 USD

Guesthouse 96.4% 20 reviews
Putnik hotel
44.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel Friends021
12.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Downtown Hostel
11.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Sova
13.40 USD

Hostel 93.1% 35 reviews
Hotel Garni Rimski
26.80 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

59 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Podbara'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Denny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The woman running the hostel was incredibly nice and was really flexible when I showed up with another traveler that hadn't booked in advance. The place was clean and we really enjoyed ourselves. Wish we had had more time there!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alberto riva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2013 alberto would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, near the river and old town. The area is really quiet. Mrs is wonderful and her daughter Ivana is so nice and helpful. I got a private room because there was a group in dormitory.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Smagowicz

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Maciej left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful stay here. Novi Sad is a very relaxed and charming place and Hostel Podbara was the perfect place to explore it from. Ivana and her mum were really lovely hosts. Extra friendly, good recommendations and even brought slices of cake to our room! We got upgraded to a private room, which was really clean and comfortable. The kitchen and bathrooms were great- clean and modern.

Disliked: We didn't mind it at all, but there is very much a family feel here- the family who run it and their kids hang out a lot. It doesn't have a very party atmosphere, if that is what you're looking for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ben wheatley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfortable and welcoming hostel. Excellent value for money and very short walk to town centre and castle. Great kitchen if you fancy cooking yourself and very relaxed garden. The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly. Thank you!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very beautiful rooms, very friendly staff. felt like home!

Disliked: ---

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ivana, the owner, is so wonderful and informative about the whole city - and makes amazing Turkish coffee. The hostel is really nice and clean, we felt very at home. One of the best value hostels we've stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ivana is so helpful and accommodating. She gives you a map at the beginning and explains everything you need to know. The hostel is so clean and comfortable. Excellent cooking facilities. A really safe and homelike atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerome CID

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2012 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is definitely in my top five list! There is simply othing wrong to say about Podbara!

Disliked: Jerome left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david duerre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and quiet, the beds were nice and the the facilities are top notch, the kitchen was first rate and I was able to cook like I was at home. Eva the owner was willing to help with any information, it was a great place for me to get some rest and recharge, If you want clean and comfortable this is it.

Disliked: I disliked nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of staff and cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lidia Kowalczyk

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 October 2011 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: very friend atmosphere helpful staff; we even get very tasty domestic jam to eat as a gift

Disliked: not any problems...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful young owner, huge room, beautiful bathroom - probably the best place to stay in Novi Sad.

Disliked: The hostel was a little hard to find, as you would not expect it in that area..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful manageress, very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Podbara consists essentially of several guest rooms in a family home. The house is beautiful and my hosts there were extremely helpful and accommodating. The hostel is located only a few minutes' walk from the main pedestrian street in Novi Sad.

Disliked: I disliked nothing about the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margot Möller

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Margot would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful. The breakfast wasn't included, but they made us pies and pancakes anyway. There was a large kitchen with all the equipment you could need, plus a nice terrace to chill at. If you are worried about the location of the hostel, you shouldn't be. It's only a short walk to the city center.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Shultz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Overall one of the best hostels we have stayed at. Having 2 bathrooms was great, the kitchen was huge and well equipped and getting laundry done was reasonably priced. The bed was more comfortable than average and it was not that far of a walk from the train and bus station. Ivana was super helpful with giving us information about the city, places to see, directions to restaurants, bus information and even called to book massage appointments for us!

Disliked: I think we were the only non smokers in all of Serbia and in the evening, the kitchen and common areas were pretty smoky.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Lagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel owner was very friendly and helpful. It was also very cleand and good value for money. If you want a hostel that is owned by a local and has a nice quiet character to it then I would recommend this place. Also nice that it is in a neighbourhood and not the centre.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice and helpful. There is secure parking. nice Raki

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owner. Made cakes for the guests

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura McCurrach

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homey and welcoming with personal touches that made the stay great. Free internet came in very handy too.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angel Hadzhiyski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Angel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and comfortable beds!

Disliked: Everything was ok!