HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Skye Backpackers

Hostel | Kyleakin, Isle of Skye, Scotland IV41 8PH

85.6% Overall Rating

359 out of 393 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

Julia Boechat Machado thinks…

"Lovely place, I really liked the suggestions on the wall of things to do in the island. The staff is brilliant. Comfortable rooms and beds, good breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hostel.…"

Read all Skye Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.39
  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

You must have suitable photographic identification to stay at our hostel. If any guest within your booking is under the age of 17 you MUST contact us before making the reservation online. Please note that the 10 Bed are offered in a Caravans in our charming hostel garden.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Isle of Skye?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Isle of Skye

Saucy Mary's Lodge
27.58 USD

Hostel 72.2% 292 reviews
Broadford Youth Hostel
20.37 USD

Hostel 81.4% 136 reviews
Broadford Backpackers Hostel
31.91 USD

Apartment 79.4% 100 reviews
Flora Macdonald Hostel
27.16 USD

Hostel 71.5% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

359 out of 393 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Skye Backpackers'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 289 of 344 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Boechat Machado

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, I really liked the suggestions on the wall of things to do in the island. The staff is brilliant. Comfortable rooms and beds, good breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hostel. Thank you all for sending us the sweater my friends forgot in the dorm.

Disliked: When we arrived, there was nobody at the reception desk and we had to wait almost two hours to check in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jemima Dowie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Jemima would recommend this property

Liked: Location: its right there when you cross over the bridge into Skye. Very cheap (we stayed in the caravan/ dorm out the back).

Disliked: Need another shower or two.. especially when the hostel is full.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

ceane horne

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014

Liked: Starwars theme was vaguely amusing. Cheap bar nearby.

Disliked: Smell was awful inside but could not open the windows as there were midgies which bite and no fly screen on the windows. Ceiling was incredibly low for top bunkers and mattresses were very thin. Bathroom facilities where very limited and people staying in the caravan were expected to use the outhouse which was unlit. We could not pay by card when we got there as their machine was not working "probably due to everyone using the internet" so were told to go to the pub and buy a pint and we might be able to get cash out there as there are no atms in the town. If this is a regular occurance, why not just put on your website to pay by cash???

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kate Gymer

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Great location Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Cheap breakfast. Self catering facilities

Disliked: Building very jaded now. Claen but rather run down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Bushell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of both staff and other travellers. Fabulous Views.

Disliked: We got what was advertised. No Dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kuang Yong Lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Kuang Yong would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, easy to find, good kitchen facilities. Fantastic view of the skye bridge

Disliked: Slow internet, but that applies throughout Scotland

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry van Zyl

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 May 2014 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and value for money

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Megan Woolf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel- it was so homey and a wonderful place to meet new people in a comfortable setting! It's in a gorgeous spot and I can't wait to go back!

Disliked: The WiFi was a little spotty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: coloful decolation, friendly stuff.

Disliked: super market is far.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, helpful and efficient. nice groovy atmosphere. easy to access.

Disliked: one very poor shower installation. Both the other ones were good. But 3 showers for few small rooms in the main building, 2 caravans of 8 and additional tents in the garden are not enough !!! Could get few more showers. Overall experience average because on top of the shower, we had 3 massive snoring guys in the caravan, not the property's fault, but this reduces my rating.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014

Liked: the breakfast was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel

Disliked: It is in the very end of Skye

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, free wifi

Disliked: Nithing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, nice place. Very friendly and helpful. And free hot chocolate!!

Disliked: Front desk wasn't always open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Dalle Carbonare

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: The livingroom with the fire place is perfect to chill out after a busy day

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Mathew

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013

Liked: Very very impressed with the hostel, the receptionist (I think Sarah it was) was super nice and she gave us all the information we needed right during checkin, everything from information about the hostel to great tips for having a good time in Skye. The rooms and bathrooms were super clean. Ditto for the kitchen as well. The breakfast was value for money. Excellent location I should add, its on the main road right next to convenience store, pub and a bus stop. Overall the place had a very positive vibe. All in all definitely the best hostel I stayed in so far.

Disliked: Would have been great if they had a locker for keeping valuables under lock and key

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Faul

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hostel, stayed in the caravan was quiet fun!

Disliked: Only a 3 showers and One of them out of order :-(

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Everything works, dorm, shower and toilet all very clean. Super friendly staff. Mostly young people at hostel. Mattress exceptionally comfy. Village shop next door and a 40 mins beautiful walk to co-operative food. Very easy to find with great views in front.

Disliked: You pay for breakfast.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really something special. We were staying outside in the garden in the caravan so it was really something different and wonderful experience. The staff is soooooo helpful, friendly and positive and the location is also great for the first stop on the island.

Disliked: The negative side of staying outside is that you have to always go inside to the bathroom - but this it is not such a problem.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: In fact, not much! The staff is nice, but is the worst hostel I've ever been. Stayed in a thematic caravan (Startrek) that could be funny but in fact, is only cheesy. You have internet (only in the house but not in the caravans) and free coffee, tea or chocolat.

Disliked: The pillow was dirty, the bathroom to take a shower was inside the house (I stayed in a caravan with 9 other people) and after 9 pm you had to use a code to enter the house. Each night, outside the house, we're sleeping around 20/25 people. No breakfast included. You had to rental the towel (1 £). I would recomend it only if you're in a very, very tight budget and don't care much about a lot of things.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, really friendly and lively atmosphere and so easy to make new friends, lovely location, easy to book day tours from the hostel, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Perhaps a little too noisy at times, can get a little cramped when very busy, but these are only minor issues.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Darby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, really helpful staff

Disliked: Beds aren't very comfy

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013

Liked: Breakfast was good

Disliked: Beds were really bad and our window was attached with duct tape. We could close the window because it was broken. There was plenty of duct tape around the window, but as it was very windy it was not very effective.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: kitchen too small, shower was cold

The property's response is...