HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hillview House Hostel

Hostel | 26 Merlewood Road, Inverness, Scotland IV2 4NL

88.0% Overall Rating

53 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2014)

"It's a beautiful place to stay, clean, confortable and with all the facilities you need :) And the owner is a realy nice lady! If i'll come back to Inverness in the future definitely i'll stay there again!"

Read all Hillview House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Inverness Student Hostel
28.02 USD

Hostel 89.9% 392 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
28.87 USD

Hostel 85.0% 1106 reviews
The Highlander B & B
42.45 USD

Hostel 82.2% 79 reviews
Highlander Hostel
25.47 USD

Hostel 53.0% 431 reviews
The Royal Highland Hotel
93.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 85 reviews
Struy Guesthouse
30.57 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 67 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
33.96 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
24.62 USD

Hostel 83.9% 470 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

53 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hillview House Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great kithen and nice clean rooms.

Disliked: the location, its 30 min. walk to the city centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Anderson

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 June 2014 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great kitchen, quiet and in a nice part of town.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful place to stay, clean, confortable and with all the facilities you need :) And the owner is a realy nice lady! If i'll come back to Inverness in the future definitely i'll stay there again!

Disliked: It. was all perfect

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jack Hine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: The main house is very nice, the staff were lovely

Disliked: The five bed dorm is in a separate tiny building in the backyard. The beds in it are very uncomfortable and there's no windows that open so it gets very hot. Not worth the money

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Yetunde Abdul

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014

Liked: N/A

Disliked: Floors squeaky, Could use the bath (plug not working so forced to take a shower). Bit soulless

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Longmuir

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 June 2014 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious kitchen, clean, nice TV lounge, free cereal/toast, friendly staff, price.

Disliked: If you are booking a bed in the 5 bed mixed dorm you should be aware that it is a Hobbit house in the garden. I loved it but it could come as a shock to some people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jackie Turnbull

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: Convivial host. Good sized bedroom and bathroom. Lovely kitchen

Disliked: Nothing. Minor things could have made it even better. Smaller milk and marg containers for ease of pouring and sharing. Another sink as it can get congested. An outside sitting area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krunoslav Podobnik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2014 Krunoslav would recommend this property

Liked: Great location a little bit of the city center. Near the bus stop for the city The beds are comfortable, spacious rooms, reception staff is friendly. Clean and neat. The kitchen is spacious, modern and equipped with everything you need for cooking.Svakako recommend.

Disliked: Not just in the city center but close to the bus stations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic above average hostel. Best by far ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Glenn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic Doreen made my stay a joy; great beds; clean, clean, and pleasant

Disliked: Needs phone service for guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Johnston

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2014 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful kitchen and accommodation superior to most B&B's I have stayed in. A very helpful, interesting and friendly warden.

Disliked: My companion said the shower water was too hot .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matt Pipan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, amazing kitchen.

Disliked: Owner was barely there, didnt get a key for the entire trip.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from the centre but very quiet and comfortable. Super-helpful staff and very clean.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 October 2013

Liked: The main house was excellent - clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Purely the fact that the property was not as described. In future, I would go there only and only if I had received the owner's assurance that I would be accommodated within the main house.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Brown

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, modern, great facilities, very relaxed & easy going atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefan Salo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was very friendly, the place was very clean and tidy. The first night we stayed indoors and the room and the beds where really good. A light self-service breakfast was included, which was not advertised. Very well-equipped kitchen and nice common areas, made our Inverness stay very pleasant.

Disliked: We stayed two nights and the second we had to sleep in a small movable cabin called the hobbit, which was a lot less comfortable than the standard rooms. the manager wasn't very happy about it and said it would hopefully be moved away soon. It was really a big drop in standard from the rest of the premises. Would give the hostel top points if not for this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

debbie kitchen

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 September 2013 debbie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything I could not fault it in any way

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brand new house, with lot of space. Everything was brand new, the kitchen was really nice.

Disliked: Please do not turn on the cloths dryer at night... We could not sleep because of the noise against the wall.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

han yin

Alone

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

02 July 2013 han would recommend this property

Liked: good place, very quiet outside at night, but some noise made by other travelers== fair value~

Disliked: some noise made by other travelers lived next door or downstairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Gibb

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Good communication and help in the first instance by the owner for advice and transport information. A warm welome by Catherine who did everything to make you feel genuinely welcomed. A quick tour around the facilities showed a well kept, clean large kitchen with fresh milk and breakfast goodies to hand. The toilet was also clean and the same goes for the bedded area. The sheets, pillows and duvets were like new and freshly laundered. A 15 minute stoll along the tree lined 'Islands' of the River Ness leads to the castle and the centre of Inverness.

Disliked: As the name suggests 'Hillview', I would keep that in mind as both means of getting there requires a little effort. Thats is easily solved however as for £4.50 the local taxi service on rank at the Station will get you there in 7 minutes (dated 17th June 2013)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very basic, only 2 beds, one small table and a table lamp. We were supposed to have more in the room, according to reservations - but basically we only spent nights there so we got all we really needed. Kitchen is great for self catering, hostel provides only cereal, milk, toast and butter. Owner of the place was very helpful and nice, gave us restaurant recommendation etc.! Nice and very peaceful location, aprx 15 minutes walk to city center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brendan Dickson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: It was like staying at a house and not a dirty hostile.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had to pay in cash and not with a credit card.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Athanasios Alexakis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Athanasios would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, very modern, clean and tidy! One of the best I ve ever been!

Disliked: You need a car or taxi to access it from city center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne Candlish

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2013 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, spacious, clean and not too far from Town.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities were great. Everything was very clean and the staff were more than helpful.

Disliked: The photo online showed towels so I thought these were included in the room. Also, there were no hand towels in the en-suite rooms which I thought was strange.