HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hillview House Hostel

Hostel | 26 Merlewood Road, Inverness, Scotland IV2 4NL

86.2% Overall Rating

41 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Rose Johnston thinks…

"A beautiful kitchen and accommodation superior to most B&B's I have stayed in. A very helpful, interesting and friendly warden."

Read all Hillview House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Inverness Student Hostel
26.01 USD

Hostel 94.3% 382 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 88.3% 1085 reviews
The Highlander B & B
41.95 USD

Hostel 81.6% 73 reviews
Highlander Hostel
18.46 USD

Hostel 53.4% 422 reviews
The Royal Highland Hotel
65.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.5% 78 reviews
Struy Guesthouse
25.17 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 56 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
53.69 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
18.46 USD

Hostel 80.8% 454 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

41 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hillview House Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Glenn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic Doreen made my stay a joy; great beds; clean, clean, and pleasant

Disliked: Needs phone service for guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Johnston

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2014 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful kitchen and accommodation superior to most B&B's I have stayed in. A very helpful, interesting and friendly warden.

Disliked: My companion said the shower water was too hot .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matt Pipan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, amazing kitchen.

Disliked: Owner was barely there, didnt get a key for the entire trip.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from the centre but very quiet and comfortable. Super-helpful staff and very clean.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 October 2013

Liked: The main house was excellent - clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Purely the fact that the property was not as described. In future, I would go there only and only if I had received the owner's assurance that I would be accommodated within the main house.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Brown

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, modern, great facilities, very relaxed & easy going atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefan Salo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was very friendly, the place was very clean and tidy. The first night we stayed indoors and the room and the beds where really good. A light self-service breakfast was included, which was not advertised. Very well-equipped kitchen and nice common areas, made our Inverness stay very pleasant.

Disliked: We stayed two nights and the second we had to sleep in a small movable cabin called the hobbit, which was a lot less comfortable than the standard rooms. the manager wasn't very happy about it and said it would hopefully be moved away soon. It was really a big drop in standard from the rest of the premises. Would give the hostel top points if not for this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

debbie kitchen

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 September 2013 debbie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything I could not fault it in any way

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brand new house, with lot of space. Everything was brand new, the kitchen was really nice.

Disliked: Please do not turn on the cloths dryer at night... We could not sleep because of the noise against the wall.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

han yin

Alone

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

02 July 2013 han would recommend this property

Liked: good place, very quiet outside at night, but some noise made by other travelers== fair value~

Disliked: some noise made by other travelers lived next door or downstairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Gibb

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Good communication and help in the first instance by the owner for advice and transport information. A warm welome by Catherine who did everything to make you feel genuinely welcomed. A quick tour around the facilities showed a well kept, clean large kitchen with fresh milk and breakfast goodies to hand. The toilet was also clean and the same goes for the bedded area. The sheets, pillows and duvets were like new and freshly laundered. A 15 minute stoll along the tree lined 'Islands' of the River Ness leads to the castle and the centre of Inverness.

Disliked: As the name suggests 'Hillview', I would keep that in mind as both means of getting there requires a little effort. Thats is easily solved however as for £4.50 the local taxi service on rank at the Station will get you there in 7 minutes (dated 17th June 2013)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very basic, only 2 beds, one small table and a table lamp. We were supposed to have more in the room, according to reservations - but basically we only spent nights there so we got all we really needed. Kitchen is great for self catering, hostel provides only cereal, milk, toast and butter. Owner of the place was very helpful and nice, gave us restaurant recommendation etc.! Nice and very peaceful location, aprx 15 minutes walk to city center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brendan Dickson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: It was like staying at a house and not a dirty hostile.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had to pay in cash and not with a credit card.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Athanasios Alexakis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Athanasios would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, very modern, clean and tidy! One of the best I ve ever been!

Disliked: You need a car or taxi to access it from city center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne Candlish

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2013 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, spacious, clean and not too far from Town.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities were great. Everything was very clean and the staff were more than helpful.

Disliked: The photo online showed towels so I thought these were included in the room. Also, there were no hand towels in the en-suite rooms which I thought was strange.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isaac Leo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

06 January 2013 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, well maintained, good furnishings. Excellent service, friendly, helpful. Breakfast of cereals and bread was included.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nishakar Nick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2012 Nishakar would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean worth money

Disliked: Everything good...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very large and spacious, the kitchen was immaculate. everything was spotless. The staff were lovely

Disliked: A few minor details. There was no hanging rail in our room and no socket near the mirror A little rearranging could have sorted this out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Traxel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely Hostel in the heart of Inverness. The city center is reachable in a beautiful 15-minutes-walk through a park near the river. The staff is as lovely and great as the hostel itself. who searches a quiet, beautiful hostel with ensuite bathroom in Inverness has to stay there!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

george crawford

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 October 2012 george would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay. The staff was exceptionally helpful when we were given a room without a bathroom after our reservation said a private bathroom. Niketa(not sure of the spelling) was a very graciouse hostess, always making herself available to any of our needs. She really make our stay the best.

Disliked: george left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Illes Hurkecz

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 October 2012 Illes would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcoming, nice and clean room, shower-room and kitchen, wide choice of breakfast, comfortable bed, liked it very much!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing I could complain about.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very very nice and new house, everything is extremely clean and the girl working/living in the b&b is great and very friendly.

Disliked: The fact that they didn't emphasise that the dorm is outside of the house. The hobbit room is nice, but people should know that it is not part of the house and doesn't have bathorrom near but you have to go outside to go to the house.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relatively cheap accomodation

Disliked: a little bit noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New property, very clean. Located in a nice and quiet area of the town.

Disliked: Walls to thin: from our bedroom, we could hear everything in every rooms even from the kitchen. Self catering could be better: not enough pans and no indication where to find what...

The property's response is...