HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Highlander B & B

Hostel | 28 Ardconnel Street, Inverness, Scotland IV2 3EU

82.2% Overall Rating

52 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Stephanie McNeil thinks…

"We chose the Highlander B&B based on it's low price, proximity to the station, and the fact that there were no private rooms left at the nearby hostels. We needed it literally as a bed for the night…"

Read all The Highlander B & B reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Highlander Hostel
25.28 USD

Hostel 53.4% 433 reviews
The Royal Highland Hotel
163.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.4% 85 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
28.65 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1108 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
27.81 USD

Hostel 89.9% 392 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
26.13 USD

Hostel 85.4% 471 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
33.71 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Youth Hostel
33.71 USD

Hostel 81.8% 176 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
30.34 USD

Hostel 87.5% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

52 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Highlander B & B'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 61 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephanie McNeil

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: We chose the Highlander B&B based on it's low price, proximity to the station, and the fact that there were no private rooms left at the nearby hostels. We needed it literally as a bed for the night (arrived after 5pm and had an 8am train). Based on it's price, we did not have very high expectations, but were pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the room. Though simple, it had everything we could hope for in a brief stay.

Disliked: The welcome was a little chilly to begin with, until she discovered we were Australian, oddly enough. There was also some confusion, as a house further up the road has a big 'Highlander B&B' sign but asks guests to go to a different number to check-in. My husband waited with the bags while I went a few houses up to find out what was happening. As it turns out, they apparently haven't used that place for 5 years (according to the check-in staff). Why there is still a big sign is anyone's guess. It is also worth noting that there are a lot of stairs or a steep hill between this and the station, so although Google maps indicates it should be a less than 10 minute walk, with heavy bags it takes both more time and energy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and wifi

Disliked: Breakfast was good but very basic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Wnuk

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Lady really helped us how to get to the places we wanted to visit. Both of them were really kind and funny, ready to help and give advice. Breakfasts were delicious. Fresh and healthy. Room was better than we expected. Small but very cosy and comfortable. Perfect to take a rest. Neighbourhood very calm. If you want to visit Inverness, and run away from big city we can totally recommend Highlander. Amazing people and place.

Disliked: Everything was perfect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: basic but homely and very friendly - everything you need for an overnight or a couple of nights stay.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and interested in the guests.

Disliked: A bit noisy. If somebody closed a door in a different room you could hear it really loudly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Twin room all in basement and very small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff members were kind and smiley. Good location. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: You need to pay to park your car btw 9am and 6pm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Straightforward

Disliked: I didn't notice anything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Wendy Griffiths

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: that a room was eventually found after we threatened them with court.

Disliked: It seemed to us either some scam is operating to make people desperate to have somewhere to stay transfer to the b and b ad pay more or it is totally incompetant.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Spooner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2013

Liked: A nice place in a good location. Friendly staff, good continental breakfast

Disliked: 2 single beds that could not be put together as a double. Room was underground, but had a window.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 June 2013

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Basic- was booked as a late break bargain but I would not have spent the full price on this hotel. Cheap cheerful but basic.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Our room was very nice.

Disliked: Our room - in the back on the first floor - was very nice - clean, bright, etc. However, there seemed to be other rooms - in the basement, etc. that may not have been so great. Also, although our room was clean and neat, the shared areas were kind of messy - stuff laying around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cheryl Diamond

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

14 June 2011 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff great location

Disliked: Had to pay extra for a full breakfast!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was very friendly and always did her best to help us out despite never having a day off!! Room was lovely, we even had access to the garden. Convenient location for the town centre. Comfy bed, towels and soap provided.

Disliked: Ok although this is a nice B&B, during our stay we did encounter a few problems: Bathroom ceiling leaked, the milk in the room had gone off and there's no where to park, however I don't want to complain too much because the manager was so helpful. Also there wasn't much variety to eat and breakfast, no cooked option either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comment

Disliked: no comment

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Constance Gaind

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 September 2010

Liked: very central, good location

Disliked: very small cramped rooms, no service, unfriendly staff; our room was in the basement.. Overpriced for what was offered.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andy McGowan

09 June 2010 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, just a few minutes from town centre. Fairly basic, but clean and modern. Room was quite small, ensuite had only a shower, no bath. Ideal for short stay, but for longer stays, I'd be looking for something a bit less basic. Also breakfast is self serve continental, no cooked option, but eat as much as you like!

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE MANAGER IS FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING. HE IS ALWAYS READY TO HELP. I WOULD LIKE TO THANK HIM FOR WHAT HE MANAGED WITH TRAFFIC WARDENS TO PERMIT OUR COACH DRIVER TO WAIT FOR US IN THE STREET. ONLY ONE THING TO IMPROVE CLEANING THE ROOMS AND THE KITCHEN MORE OFTEN. ALSO MASTRESS MUST BE CHANGED :TOO HARD TO SLEEP ON

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the 2nd time I've been to this place, and I like everything about it. Would reccomend it to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, handy for the town, good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 October 2009

Liked: It's location to the city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: short walk to town centre. quiet location. good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In centre of Inverness, nice staff & good vale for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great view from our window, very nice hostelmanager

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

27 August 2009

Liked: Good location. Acceptance of Mastercard and co.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.