We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Highlander Hostel

Hostel | 23A High Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1HY

56.3% Overall Rating

279 out of 449 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Rhona Maclachlan thinks…

"It was any easy location, not expensive. Staff member was good as they moved us from a room thatwe would have had to share with strangers, too a room of our own. Good price."

Read all Highlander Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: If no arrangement has been made for late check-in the Reception will be closed at 23:00 h. Please, do not forget to arrange your time of arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

The Royal Highland Hotel
92.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.7% 89 reviews
The Highlander B & B
40.60 USD

Hostel 86.5% 88 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
27.61 USD

Hostel 83.5% 1122 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 85.9% 475 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 87.4% 399 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
32.48 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Youth Hostel
32.48 USD

Hostel 81.3% 178 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
25.99 USD

Hostel 84.0% 71 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.3%

Overall Rating

279 out of 449 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Highlander Hostel'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
42.4%
Cleanliness
28.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
52.0%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 299 of 340 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and always someone to talk to in the common area

Disliked: bathrooms need cleaning

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Rhona Maclachlan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 September 2014

Liked: It was any easy location, not expensive. Staff member was good as they moved us from a room thatwe would have had to share with strangers, too a room of our own. Good price.

Disliked: The cleanliness was shocking! There was a huge bogey on one of the walls. Went into the shared bathroom and there was a dirty towel lying on the floor with blood on it. Brown stains around toilet seat and pan. Floors outside the toilet were dirty. Duvets had stains on them. Floor in room was dirty. The whole of the bathroom was dirty. The fact that we were booked in the same room as strangers. How could we have felt safe, our belongings safe. Hunted website and nowhere did it say that you would be put in with strangers. Other guests just sitting on the stairs like its their house. Made myself and 2 other females feel very uncomfortable.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anja Josties

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 August 2014

Liked: to leave it in the morning

Disliked: was very dirty no clean dishes at all in the kitchen no toilet paper in the toilets showers dirty and full of mold - didn't want to shower in there... partly no light in the showers/toilets kitchen was really disgusting

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: This property was filthy and the bathrooms didn't have toilet paper the second morning. I felt dirty after touching anything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 August 2014

Liked: I didn't feel scared.

Disliked: The room smelt of stale tobacco and clearly not been cleaned for sometime the bathrooms where filthy, the kitchen didn't feel clean, the window frame was rotten and we where worried that the glass may fall out if we opened it. it was noisy and the whole property and linen tired and warn out.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Amanda Kiefer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: it was really dirty and no kind atmosphere. i would never go there again. showers didn't work and bathroom was just disgusting.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

karan jain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Not clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Luis Feldman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: We had the best of times here. The staff is great! If you want to know inverness this is the place to come, it is right in the centre of the city. The kitchen is very well provided and big. The best thing is the staff, really nice and welcoming people!

Disliked: It could be cleaner, that is all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is ideal for travelers that want to explore the Inverness nightlife as well as have a look at the city and the areas aroun. The location is brilliant. It is right in the city centre. This means however that it can be a little bit noisy at weekends but if you take earplugs this is no problem. It has a big open common room with a pool table in it. You can meet all sorts of peple there and the staff is very helpful and nice. It is a great place for young adventurous travelers. It is a great place to see the beautiful Highlands. The Wifi is free and very qick.

Disliked: It is not clean! It looks like the toilets and showers are cleaned only once a week and there is never any toilet paper. I would advise travelers to bring tisues or buy toilet paper before coming here. Also the kitchen is very discusting. I didn't use it. But apart from the cleaniness there is no negative thing about it. So if you can see through that you will have a great time.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 June 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: all the rest

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good central location, friendly atmosphere with a big sociallising area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014

Liked: Wifi

Disliked: This is the worst place I've ever stayed in. Our room was gross there was dust and hair everywhere. The kitchen smelt distgusting and there was mess everywhere. We didn't feel safe at all ! The toilets never had toilet paper. It's located in the l centre of inverness so there is lots of street noise .

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Joanna Denysiak

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Dirty. Dirty bedding and bathrooms. No toilet paper. Also close to bars aka above the main club street so loud till 4am... Ill never stay here again.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

enrica aurora cominetti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: We weren't given the room that we'd already booked (a 5 bed dorm) as there was a problem with its ceiling, so we were given a place in a 12 bed dorm with no discount

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very friendly staff and lots of board games, snooker etc. Good value for money

Disliked: the rooms are very basic and beds are not very comfortable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roxsan Rohrlach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Roxsan would recommend this property

Liked: The people were amazing and friendly.

Disliked: Roxsan left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Francesco Benoni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There are no young people. Most hosts are middle aged foreigners who work in Inverness for a while.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There are no young people, only foreigners who work in Inverness for a while.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cheapest hostels I ever stayed at. Great location, kitchen, friendly staff/guests

Disliked: Lacked a little atmosphere, not a 'party hostel'

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

hannah rotherfield

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014

Liked: It was in Inverness

Disliked: We were sent from the hostel that was not open for staying in (even though we had pre-booked) to a b&b that turned out to be someones spare room that had not been cleaned, then they tried to charge us double our hostel booking and it took over 20mins to clear up that we would not pay anything more than we had been expecting, they were very rude and i would never go back.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Lyons

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: It is filthy and unsafe.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Situated next to a nightclub was impossible to sleep due to noise level.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcin Lorenc

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: No hot water in the shower, no lockers in the room. When we arrived at 12 midday, nobody was on the reception so we waited in front of the entrance for ages, till somebody would open the door. General appeal - rather shabby

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samuel Lintern

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a perfect location on the mall. All the doors have codes which is fundametally less safe than I would like. Some beds have lockable cages underneath which is great if you have dont want to hire storage. Other reviews mention bad beds (plastic covers on a poor mattress) in which you make your bed on, were not so comfortable but not necissarily bad. Pillows were thin and mostly uselss. Kitchen was good but not in it's prime - very capable nonetheless.

Disliked: Beds were poor, bathrooms were not great either.