We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Highlander Hostel

Hostel | 23A High Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1HY

57.0% Overall Rating

284 out of 469 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

"Great location on the main street - perfect to soak in the atmosphere of the independence rallies!"

Read all Highlander Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.54
  • Towel USD 3.08

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: If no arrangement has been made for late check-in the Reception will be closed at 23:00 h. Please, do not forget to arrange your time of arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

The Royal Highland Hotel
72.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.3% 98 reviews
The Highlander B & B
38.50 USD

Hostel 86.5% 89 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
26.18 USD

Hostel 84.3% 1157 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 87.8% 497 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
23.87 USD

Hostel 89.3% 417 reviews
Inverness Youth Hostel
30.80 USD

Hostel 81.6% 183 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
23.10 USD

Hostel 84.8% 81 reviews
Struy Guesthouse
21.56 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 95 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.0%

Overall Rating

284 out of 469 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Highlander Hostel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
33.6%
Staff
66.4%
Value
55.2%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 314 of 362 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2015

Liked: location

Disliked: The Highlander Hostel was by far the worst property I've ever been to. Entering the hostel, I though the smelly staircase would be the worst of it - but boy was I wrong. The rooms as well as the kitchen and breakfast area were dirty, there were plastic mattresses (which didn't prevent them from being all ugly and dirty) and the staff wasn't helpful at all. Event if there were non-smoking signs everywhere you could clearly smell cigarette smoke in the corridors. Although the location is kind of okay, it is far too expensive. I have been to cheaper hostels with much more comfort than this place. If you want to have a nice stay in Inverness and don't like to argue with staff, go to an other hostel!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 August 2015

Liked: That we only booked for one night ---> nothing!

Disliked: Full shit toilets, puddles in front of the shower and toilet, moth-eaten and dirty blankets, dirty kitchen.... Tokio Bad for this expensive price!!! No service, only take the money, no parking!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2015

Liked: I was able to leave

Disliked: The door to the dorm wouldn't close without force. This meant the dorm was accessible by everyone. Every time I returned to the hostel, someone had taken my bed regardless on wether I had made it or left items on the bed. The shower had been stolen sometime prior to my arrival. With a nightclub only 30 meters away I personally heard the current "now that's what I call" Music selection and even one arrest due to domestic violence. The managers played loud music into the early morning so I was barely able to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vanessa breeschoten

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 August 2015 vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness and and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: the steps to climb

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of facilities.

Disliked: Definitely needs some cleaning

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jesper Grahndin

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 August 2015

Liked: Nothing at all!

Disliked: This hostel is a worn out hostel! It's dirty and greasy. The beds are terrible - noisy and the mattresses is covered with plastic and you feel every single spring in it. We decided not to use the kitchen for foodmaking since it was unbeliveable messy and greasy. We would not even dare to put food in the fridge! The doors are making a lot of noise making it hard to sleep. One of the showers was okay the other wasen't. The common room is not at all cosy and nice. The television is central placed and very loud and when it's closed the employes plays very loud music while they're playing billiard. It seems like they are trying to start up a party. I was shocked when we saw this hostel and when I told the reception boy that this is a very worn out hostel he replied that they had never had complains. I doubt...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 August 2015

Liked: Just the location.

Disliked: The property was dirty and smelly. The staff were unprofessional and one of the made improper comments. The kitchen and bathroom were equally disgusting

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jerry Luty

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty, no toilet rolls, noisy, dangerous

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 May 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: The hostel manager was playing very loud obnoxious music until 0545am!! Outrageous! The plastic mattresses where so slippy the bed sheet wouldn't even stay on properly. The windows wouldn't open. There wasn't even a bin in the room?! I thought when I read other reviews saying that it was dirty that it couldn't possibly be that bad, and I'm not a particularly fussy person, but it was worse than I imagined it possibly could be. the shower was so dirty and mouldy that I chose not use it, the floor was covered in hair, the toilet obviously hadn't been cleaned for days, the mirror was broken and there were bits of glass in the sink and on the floor. I have stayed in many many hostels, this place was horrendous.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 May 2015

Liked: in the middle of the city

Disliked: no bins or other facilities in the bathrooms, the rooms were dirty, at the Weekends it can be really noisy outside

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Excellent location.

Disliked: Cleanliness of the en-suite toilets in dorm rooms.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2014

Liked: Great location on the main street - perfect to soak in the atmosphere of the independence rallies!

Disliked: This is by far the dirtiest hostel we have ever stayed in... kitchen was a mess, floors were filthy, couldn't comment on the showers as we couldn't bring ourselves to use them given the state of the rest of the hostel. A real shame as it certainly has potential... but just so unclean! We booked for two nights and only stayed for one... not caring about what we had paid which says a lot!! Fellow travellers we met at the next hostel had just come from there also and said exactly the same thing. You have been warned!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

14 September 2014

Liked: staff very friendly and welcoming, location was ideal, town on the doorstep

Disliked: cleanliness of bathrooms, bedrooms very dusty, dirty floors. requires updating and a cleaner. staff not available early in morning to offer towel service which stated was provided.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: inside the city centre

Disliked: the beds always making noise

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and always someone to talk to in the common area

Disliked: bathrooms need cleaning

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2014

Liked: The only good thing about it is the location

Disliked: Disgusting place!!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Rhona Maclachlan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 September 2014

Liked: It was any easy location, not expensive. Staff member was good as they moved us from a room thatwe would have had to share with strangers, too a room of our own. Good price.

Disliked: The cleanliness was shocking! There was a huge bogey on one of the walls. Went into the shared bathroom and there was a dirty towel lying on the floor with blood on it. Brown stains around toilet seat and pan. Floors outside the toilet were dirty. Duvets had stains on them. Floor in room was dirty. The whole of the bathroom was dirty. The fact that we were booked in the same room as strangers. How could we have felt safe, our belongings safe. Hunted website and nowhere did it say that you would be put in with strangers. Other guests just sitting on the stairs like its their house. Made myself and 2 other females feel very uncomfortable.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anja Josties

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 August 2014

Liked: to leave it in the morning

Disliked: was very dirty no clean dishes at all in the kitchen no toilet paper in the toilets showers dirty and full of mold - didn't want to shower in there... partly no light in the showers/toilets kitchen was really disgusting

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: This property was filthy and the bathrooms didn't have toilet paper the second morning. I felt dirty after touching anything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 August 2014

Liked: I didn't feel scared.

Disliked: The room smelt of stale tobacco and clearly not been cleaned for sometime the bathrooms where filthy, the kitchen didn't feel clean, the window frame was rotten and we where worried that the glass may fall out if we opened it. it was noisy and the whole property and linen tired and warn out.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Amanda Kiefer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: it was really dirty and no kind atmosphere. i would never go there again. showers didn't work and bathroom was just disgusting.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

karan jain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Not clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Luis Feldman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: We had the best of times here. The staff is great! If you want to know inverness this is the place to come, it is right in the centre of the city. The kitchen is very well provided and big. The best thing is the staff, really nice and welcoming people!

Disliked: It could be cleaner, that is all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is ideal for travelers that want to explore the Inverness nightlife as well as have a look at the city and the areas aroun. The location is brilliant. It is right in the city centre. This means however that it can be a little bit noisy at weekends but if you take earplugs this is no problem. It has a big open common room with a pool table in it. You can meet all sorts of peple there and the staff is very helpful and nice. It is a great place for young adventurous travelers. It is a great place to see the beautiful Highlands. The Wifi is free and very qick.

Disliked: It is not clean! It looks like the toilets and showers are cleaned only once a week and there is never any toilet paper. I would advise travelers to bring tisues or buy toilet paper before coming here. Also the kitchen is very discusting. I didn't use it. But apart from the cleaniness there is no negative thing about it. So if you can see through that you will have a great time.