HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Highlander Hostel

Hostel | 23A High Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1HY

53.4% Overall Rating

271 out of 422 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

"One of the cheapest hostels I ever stayed at. Great location, kitchen, friendly staff/guests"

Read all Highlander Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: If no arrangement has been made for late check-in the Reception will be closed at 23:00 h. Please, do not forget to arrange your time of arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

The Royal Highland Hotel
65.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.5% 78 reviews
The Highlander B & B
41.95 USD

Hostel 81.6% 73 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 88.3% 1085 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
18.46 USD

Hostel 80.8% 454 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
26.01 USD

Hostel 94.3% 382 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
53.69 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Millburn Hostel
20.13 USD

Hostel 83.0% 175 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
26.85 USD

Hostel 86.2% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.4%

Overall Rating

271 out of 422 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Highlander Hostel'

Atmosphere
37.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
45.6%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
57.6%
Value
50.4%
Safety
55.2%
Refine your results Showing 282 of 318 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Francesco Benoni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There are no young people. Most hosts are middle aged foreigners who work in Inverness for a while.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There are no young people, only foreigners who work in Inverness for a while.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cheapest hostels I ever stayed at. Great location, kitchen, friendly staff/guests

Disliked: Lacked a little atmosphere, not a 'party hostel'

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

hannah rotherfield

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014

Liked: It was in Inverness

Disliked: We were sent from the hostel that was not open for staying in (even though we had pre-booked) to a b&b that turned out to be someones spare room that had not been cleaned, then they tried to charge us double our hostel booking and it took over 20mins to clear up that we would not pay anything more than we had been expecting, they were very rude and i would never go back.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Lyons

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: It is filthy and unsafe.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Situated next to a nightclub was impossible to sleep due to noise level.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcin Lorenc

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: No hot water in the shower, no lockers in the room. When we arrived at 12 midday, nobody was on the reception so we waited in front of the entrance for ages, till somebody would open the door. General appeal - rather shabby

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samuel Lintern

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a perfect location on the mall. All the doors have codes which is fundametally less safe than I would like. Some beds have lockable cages underneath which is great if you have dont want to hire storage. Other reviews mention bad beds (plastic covers on a poor mattress) in which you make your bed on, were not so comfortable but not necissarily bad. Pillows were thin and mostly uselss. Kitchen was good but not in it's prime - very capable nonetheless.

Disliked: Beds were poor, bathrooms were not great either.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2013

Liked: The location - it is in the straight center of Inverness.

Disliked: Toilet/Bathroom - it is awful! First, it is not really clean. Then second there is only ONE (1!) wc/shower (all in the same small room) for aprox. 30-40 travelers. Imagine that. In the evening or in the morning we were constantly waiting for about an hour to finally go to the toilets or take a shower. If I had one more chance, I would rather pay a few pounds more and have normal conditions for basic human needs (toilet).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

YENJONE CHAN

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013

Liked: it is not suitable for family with children.

Disliked: Beds, room, toilet, noisy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the bus/rail stations, in the center of the town

Disliked: Not very friendly, you have to pay for everything outside bed/shower

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pawel Lichtarski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Pawel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the city centre, and a short walk to the bus station. Staff are very helpful, I checked in at 1130 at night, as that was when my bus arrived, and the attendant waited for me. There is storage available for bicycles, however it can be difficult to get your bike in there as it involves carrying it down a spiraling staircase, but I did it all by myself. I was lucky to choose a bed that was next to a wall socket so I was able to charge my phone while I slept. Overall, it is what you can expect from a good hostel.

Disliked: None

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cecile Larue

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Cecile left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juani O'Reilly

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 Juani would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Friendly andfriendly staff. Within an easy walk of train and bus station.

Disliked: It was cold

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ricardo Augusto Freire Maia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Ricardo Augusto Freire would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: there is a big filipine group living there and they think and do like a hostel´s owner!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013

Liked: Perfect location - right in the middle of Inverness, so very easy to pop in and out.

Disliked: Exceptionally uncomfortable mattresses, and I don't say that lightly. A noisy hostel - lots of sound from the street outside on a Friday and Saturday night. The showers seemed to have two temperatures: freezing cold or scalding hot, and switch between the two as they please. Cold rooms with inadequate bedding. The pillows were so thin that they needn't have bothered with them at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a good quality for the price

Disliked: front door security wasn't working

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

adam heaven

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: loved the location, and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, cheap rates & friendly staff.

Disliked: They advertised that you could purchase Breakfast from them, but they didn't provide it!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pradeep Kumar

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everthing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda tomison

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Caitlin Curtis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was its best attribute.

Disliked: It would have been nice if it were cleaner especially in the kitchen although I realize that this is more due to the traveling occupants at the time of my stay rather than the hostel staff.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Murtuza Matiwala

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013

Liked: If you want to stay for cheap then the place is good

Disliked: The cleanliness and the atmosphere

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: Location, Price and Nice Owner

Disliked: Cleanliness (both kitchen and bathrooms), Lack of lockers, not enough bathrooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: - good location

Disliked: - owner/ staff was most of the time absent - bathrooms/ rooms/etc not clean - kitchen untidy - general condition of hostel not good