HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Inverness Youth Hostel

Hostel | Victoria Drive, Inverness, Scotland IV2 3QB

80.8% Overall Rating

148 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

"The showers are superb, plenty of bathrooms for the number of rooms and they're not poky little bathrooms either plenty of room to change. Also have basins in the rooms which is handy for brushing teeth etc. The whole…"

Read all Inverness Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

The Highlander B & B
40.57 USD

Hostel 86.5% 89 reviews
The Royal Highland Hotel
89.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.7% 89 reviews
Highlander Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 57.1% 450 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 87.5% 477 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 87.8% 400 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 82.2% 1124 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
27.59 USD

Hostel 85.9% 72 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

148 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Inverness Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 121 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Birss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Location

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nasja Lindner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2014

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: Feels like staying in a Bible camp, no atmosphere, they charge you for Wifi (hello, it´s 2014?!), I didn´t like my stay there at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Armit

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and in good order.

Disliked: Cross party sharing....We booked a 10 bunk room for 9 people and got 3 x 4 bunk rooms and 2 of the rooms we're shared !

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are superb, plenty of bathrooms for the number of rooms and they're not poky little bathrooms either plenty of room to change. Also have basins in the rooms which is handy for brushing teeth etc. The whole place is very clean, kitchen large and well stocked.

Disliked: My biggest dislike is value for money. I paid £24 for a 10 dorm room. I ended up in a 4 which was nice, but when I booked it it was definitely a 10 dorm, that combined with the fact that there is no wifi, makes it not very good value. I find it hard to believe that they can't get wifi too, as I went to a cafe about 7min walk away that had a good connection and free. Also, I found the atmosphere to be rather dull. Its a big hostel, so I guess to be expected, but I prefer smaller, homy-er ones. I guess it depends what you're looking for.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

katherine cameron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The manager, Alison, treated me and the other guests, like family. She is very efficient and very personable and thanks to her going the extra mile she made my stay that much more enjoyable

Disliked: Where it is situated, unfortunately 15-20 minutes from train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Audrey Dunnett

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 September 2013 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the space, the cleanliness, the location, the facilites, the room sizes, the price, the parking, the shower and toilet areas. Wish there was an 'Excellent' button for rating this property, can't praise it highly enough and I have stayed in a lot of hostels!

Disliked: Squeaky beds and expensive wifi but a small price to pay

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and quite close to town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alessandra Cesari

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: big and organized

Disliked: not very characteristic

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice showers, nice big dorms with comfortable beds. Close to large Morrison's store so easy to buy food, and also close to the train station. Safe and secure.

Disliked: Annoying that wifi costs £3 an hour to use, although this is the case at all Scottish Youth Hostel Association hostels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, facilities, kitchen, ...

Disliked: /

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Tripp

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it all. Nice staff, very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Towels a bit over priced at 2 pounds as well as Internet service. I ended up on top bunk which was very uncomfortable for me, being a bit older than the others. Staff should reserve bottom bunks for guest over 50....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013

Liked: The place is quiet. Foot walk distance to bus station.

Disliked: Both bathrooms next to our room have water on the floor which comes probalby from the ceilng! In one it smells strongly. Internet only at their terminals at which the sites like citylink, travelline cannot be used probably: scolling to the Enter-button impossible! Probably because of too low resolution of the screen for modern websites. At a rate of 3 pounds the hour, that is too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Sherratt

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 February 2013 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: the staff where extremely friendly and helpful and managed a difficult customer before me with professionalism and promptness, property was clean and warm and reception area nicely fitted.

Disliked: mattresses in budget rooms are getting a little warn

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chye Hing Siaw

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2012 Chye Hing would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean throughout, from the dormitory room and beds to the toilet. There is also a sink and tap in the dormitory room, which is very convenient as it reduces the queue in the morning. The staff were very friendly. The hostel is located in a residential area less than 10 minutes walk away from a huge Morrisons (for groceries/toiletries), and less than 15 minutes walk from city centre.

Disliked: There was a group in a room a couple of door next to our dorm room, who were blasting music extremely loud for hours in the late evening. The staff did not do anything about it until someone actually complained.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and a lot of space

Disliked: not cheap! litle walk from the station

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark fleming

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 March 2012 mark would recommend this property

Liked: Freindly staff, clean and well priced.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william grant

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2011 william would recommend this property

Liked: its location not far from town centre only a 6 minute walk,the staff was very friendly and welcoming,rooms were fine and warm to ile be back i ken that

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 November 2011

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: Bed was the most uncomfortable i have ever slept in, very, very poor quality and funny smell in room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ivy Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Ivy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean bathroom, fully equipped kitchen

Disliked: wifi is not free, the room is not very clean many little insects on the ceiling and I dare not sleep on the upper bunk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr bequeme Better!

Disliked: Etwas wenig Duschen/WC's vorhanden.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrea Bisoni

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 September 2011

Liked: Bagni comodi e puliti. Bella sala comune. Staff gentile.

Disliked: Materassi molto scomodi. Cuscini e coperta di qualità piuttosto bassa

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are the best

Disliked: over priced rooms

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: everything. dirty beds, rooms, toiltes with pieces of shit not cleared. rooms very ugly, cold, and unconfortable. so bad experience that we paid the room but did not passed the night and went away.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Aitor Zandueta

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 August 2011

Liked: Just 10 min walk from the city centre.

Disliked: Everything is old. Furnitures are damaged, lights do not work but are not replaced. Everything looks like decaying, like a hostel from 10 years ago which has not been properly mantained. Internet is expensive, instead of free (the way it hould be nowadays). Everything must be paid (e.g. linen, shampoo....). Not comming back. Really not worth the money for families.