HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Inverness Youth Hostel Inverness Hostel

Victoria Drive, Inverness, Scotland

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 80%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.63USD

Important Information

The reception is open from 7am to 11pm daily.

Check in from 3pm -11pm

Check out by 10am

***Please note our Group booking policy:

• When booking for more than 9 persons, different policies and additional supplements will apply
• Please note that no stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel.
• Full payment will be required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled
• Full SYHA Hostelling Scotland Terms and Conditions will apply and be issued to all group bookings.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 80%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 77%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Centrally located, good kitchen facilities

Disliked: Looks a bit worn in places. Needs a revamp

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: N/a

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: kitchen was nice, rooms were okay. we spent a night, everything was alright.

Disliked: average hostel, was a bit pricey.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were very helpful and polite. They had a lot of information readily available and all in all it was a very friendly atmosphere.The rooms were also well maintained and clean.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Peaceful and multi cultural

Disliked: Not as competitive as other hostels in the lovcality

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and in good order.

Disliked: Cross party sharing....We booked a 10 bunk room for 9 people and got 3 x 4 bunk rooms and 2 of the rooms we're shared !

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: Feels like staying in a Bible camp, no atmosphere, they charge you for Wifi (hello, it´s 2014?!), I didn´t like my stay there at all.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The showers are superb, plenty of bathrooms for the number of rooms and they're not poky little bathrooms either plenty of room to change. Also have basins in the rooms which is handy for brushing teeth etc. The whole place is very clean, kitchen large and well stocked.

Disliked: My biggest dislike is value for money. I paid £24 for a 10 dorm room. I ended up in a 4 which was nice, but when I booked it it was definitely a 10 dorm, that combined with the fact that there is no wifi, makes it not very good value. I find it hard to believe that they can't get wifi too, as I went to a cafe about 7min walk away that had a good connection and free. Also, I found the atmosphere to be rather dull. Its a big hostel, so I guess to be expected, but I prefer smaller, homy-er ones. I guess it depends what you're looking for.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The manager, Alison, treated me and the other guests, like family. She is very efficient and very personable and thanks to her going the extra mile she made my stay that much more enjoyable

Disliked: Where it is situated, unfortunately 15-20 minutes from train station.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability