We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Inverness Youth Hostel

Hostel | Victoria Drive, Inverness, Scotland IV2 3QB

80.8% Overall Rating

148 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

"The showers are superb, plenty of bathrooms for the number of rooms and they're not poky little bathrooms either plenty of room to change. Also have basins in the rooms which is handy for brushing teeth etc. The whole…"

Read all Inverness Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

The reception is open from 7am to 11pm daily. Check in from 3pm -11pm Check out by 10am

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

The Highlander B & B
40.57 USD

Hostel 86.5% 89 reviews
The Royal Highland Hotel
68.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.7% 90 reviews
Highlander Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 57.1% 450 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 88.1% 478 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 87.4% 401 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 83.9% 1126 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 85.9% 72 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

148 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Inverness Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 121 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single rooms.

Disliked: is located far from city center.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mar Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Mar would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. Breakfast (not included in price) is really good.

Disliked: The beds are not very confortable and it is not close to the city center.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Artur Takacs

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Low value for this money

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kuang-Hsun Lee

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Kuang-Hsun would recommend this property

Liked: bedding is good

Disliked: shower drain not very good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcome and local advice from staff on duty, in spite of being very busy because the hostel was fully booked. Spacious self catering kitchen. Very surprised to find that Millburn is SYHA run - not mentioned in the info anywhere! Staff were equally surprised that we had booked through Hostelbookers. But booking and paying the balance was quite straightforward; rate was the same.

Disliked: We didn't find a quiet room for reading/looking at maps after dinner - ended up in a large, comfortable but dimly lit TV room with youngsters watching TV. Girls had festooned our room with wet washing. Bumped my head on the ceiling tiles each time I clambered up onto the very high top bunk!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Andreas Hennes

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 August 2011

Liked: friendly staff, matresses

Disliked: dirty bathrooms, totally overprized, ripped us off, offer single room with child bed as double room, bad inventory (if ever), worst value for money ever

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large rooms

Disliked: bad mattress

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had all the facilities we needed, large self catering kitchen and eating area, and a safe space for car parking. A little out of the centre of town, but not as far as I thought it would be after looking at other reviews.

Disliked: It was noisy in the corridor, and also through the walls of the room- a very excited school party, so not likely to happen all the time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chenoa Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Chenoa would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were good, and the staff were super nice and helpful!

Disliked: It was 15-20 minute walk from town, but otherwise it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the heater, the bathroom

Disliked: i can only use wifi in the lobby, no signals in my room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent helpful staff, I arrived in the middle of a crisis--daughter in hospital after bike accident--and the reception staff were very helpful eg putting case in store outside reception hours, advice on printing out emails, selling a padlock for reasonable sum etc I had the continental breakfast, WHICH WAS PROBABLY NOT VERY GOOD vALUE, but it worked for me, very nice coffee, and the yogurt not full of sugar.

Disliked: Not very much, The hostel should change thier arrival insturctions (Safeway is now Morrisons, and has been for some time!). And a family was sent by mistake to our all-female dorm, thought that was soon sorted out

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super!

Disliked: Super

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean - the shower, toilet & the room itself too. Covers too. The view from the room was nice too.

Disliked: 1. Rooms have walls and ceiling like paper, so everyone can hear everything from the surrounding rooms and in my case the youngsters above us (probably being on a school trip) were very loud till late night. 2. had very old furniture. 3. There were no lockers in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and clean facilities - the walk from city center is not bad at all!

Disliked: Somewhat removed from the city center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: _

Disliked: you have to pay for the WiFi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness of rooms was impressive. It was our first time staying in a hostel and we were very impressed. The neighborhood that the hostel is in was upscale and comfortable to be in. The staff were helpful when we needed to store our bags while we explored.

Disliked: I liked it all!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fabio Ghirardi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: clean room

Disliked: no internet free

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeff Higbie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: I was traveling alone, so I chose a single room, and that's exactly what I got - a room that had a twin bed. The room was about 3 feet (1 m for you brits!) wider than the footprint of the bed - no closet or TV - just a bed. Bed was comfortable. Overall, facility was clean and the shared bathroom and shower was clean with good water pressure and hot water. I would recommend staying here - just know going in what to expect - simplicity.

Disliked: Overall, I have only 1 substantial complaint and a couple of secondary complaints. The substantial complaint is the staircase to go to the "west wing" had a very bad odor. I had read about the odor in another review and the reviewer was 150% right. Wow! The secondary complaints is in real life the building needs a little more maintenance compared to the picture - nothing big, but not bad. And the driving directions I got off of the website were completely wrong - I got completely lost and nowhere near the hostel. I ended up having to stop at another hostel to get a map of Inverness so I could find the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, good facilities for self catering.

Disliked: The radiator in our room didn't work, so it was freezing when we arrived. When we asked to be moved to a different room they could only do so by splitting up our group. The TV in one of the TV rooms also didn't work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious self-catering facilities and the availability of a double room

Disliked: Didn't particularly dislike anything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

gonzalo naranjo

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010

Liked: Clean and with big common areas

Disliked: Uf, lets start: really uncomfortable matress, tiny single room, no sound insulation at all (every single sound or step in rooms, halls or stairs was amplified), completly impersonal and lack of character, internet ridiculously expensive, reception available only a few hours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the big kitchen, the nice staff ,the good facilities

Disliked: the location ,a bit far from the centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Lai

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel.

Disliked: Eleanor left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a huge hostel with good facilities (equiped kitchen, laundry, tv room), possibility to buy breakfast, lunch

Disliked: walls are thin and it's quite noisy