HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lomond Hotel

Hostel | 6 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow, Scotland G12 8EB

42.9% Overall Rating

13 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/11/2013)

Claire Noone thinks…

"Location was great. Bed was comfy, ideal if you just need somewhere to get your head down. Certainly wouldn't recommend it for a romantic break though!!!"

Read all Lomond Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Lomond hotel check-in time is from 12noon until 7pm, no check-in allows after 7pm and room will not be available after 7pm, but the total amount of booking will be charge, and it will be non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Kelvin Hotel West End
30.10 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.9% 8 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
22.81 USD

Hostel 77.1% 181 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
30.10 USD

Hostel 87.1% 301 reviews
devoncove hotel
30.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
33.44 USD

Hostel 82.3% 207 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
20.06 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1347 reviews
McLays Guest House
29.26 USD

Hostel 80.2% 1178 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
22.91 USD

Hotel 81.8% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
42.9%

Overall Rating

13 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lomond Hotel'

Atmosphere
33.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
31.2%
Cleanliness
30.4%
Staff
35.2%
Value
42.4%
Safety
50.4%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

mike craine

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 November 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the staff (one woman ) was extremely unwelcoming, and was never available during our two day stay when we needed to point out the following...the central heating in the room and hotel didn't work/was switched off. The sink in our room had no plug and was blocked. The bed remained unmade. The towels were not changed on day two. The shared bathroom was dirty and had no light. When we eventually spoke to the woman as we checked out she accuse3d us of making these complaints up as we were one hour late checking out. She also claimed that she had been present on the 26 Nov and we should have complained then, but twice that day we rang the main doorbell and twice we knocked on the staff office door on both occasions she refused to answer or respond.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 November 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing

Disliked: Just about everything, it was beyond tired, wrecked furniture, filth everywhere, both the common areas and the bedroom was dirty and unkempt. The electrics were dodgy in Room 11 and the whole place was freezing cold. The bed was so uncomfortable and the bottom sheet was torn. When I looked at the mattress (no protector) it was gaggingly awful, so I slept on top of the duvet in my clothes.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Claire Noone

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 November 2013

Liked: Location was great. Bed was comfy, ideal if you just need somewhere to get your head down. Certainly wouldn't recommend it for a romantic break though!!!

Disliked: Could have been a lot cleaner!! Shared bathroom wasn't too bad but the tiny little shower room was minging!! My bedroom was just above the main entrance so it was quite noisy (no double glazing!!) (or heating!!), main road seemed noisy all night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Barrie McCourt

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 November 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Only seen a member of staff on check in, our bathroom light broke on the 2nd night but we couldn't find anyone to get it fixed so had to just make use of the bathroom in the dark. Couldn't leave the door open when having a shower as the smoke alarm was cited right outside the door which is a poor location as the steam would have set it off.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2013

Liked: convenient location, cheap price

Disliked: awfully dirty, unfriendly, cold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Marsh

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Easily accessible from the town centre, 5 minutes in a taxi, 15 minutes walk perhaps, out of the way enough to ensure a decent nights sleep but close enough to not feel in the middle of nowhere, next to a good range of shops, including a spar with cash machine and a takeaway so if you're coming back from town at night the option is there, near the botanical gardens which were nice to look round

Disliked: Purely cosmetic this so did not affect the quality of my nights sleep, but there had been a leak at somepoint which had left some visible water damage, but other than that, no complaints

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alberto Rabaneda

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 September 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty, mainly the shower and bath. Also the furniture seems near to collapse.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Most of the things that are described in my comments above.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2013

Liked: Dirty, rude and unfriendly staff, place falling apart.

Disliked: Everything!!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 August 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms are filthy. blood on the window sill in the bathroom very doubtful that the beds had been changed, mold growing on the curtains, worse place I have ever stayed!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

19 August 2013

Liked: Location was perfect for us

Disliked: Staff were a little cold.rooms in poor condition.tv didnt work and took some DIY to fix it.fag burns in the carpet.curtain hanging off.spoon for coffee dirty.sink didnt drain.breakfast was awful and couldn't eat it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and a bed

Disliked: Seriously need to work on the water. Hardly warm and barely any coming out

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Horrible staff attitude - unwelcoming & unhelpful. Tense atmosphere. You will not get help if you needed it. Offers competitive prices but I personally would not stay there again even at no charge. When I desperately needed help, the staff ignored me on purpose. I felt so humiliated by staff's attitude and the standard that I actually left half way through my stay even though it meant loosing the rest of what I payed. I STRONGLY advice, especially if you are staying there for a long time, that you book night by night so that you can leave without loosing money if you had to.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hi, we booked a double in Lomond and got a double in the next hostel, just in front of Lomond. We cant complain, everything was fine, the staff was friendly (we have heard terrible things about the staff from Lomond, jaja) great value for your money, but I repeat It wasnt the Lomond... good luck

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 June 2013

Liked: It was located in a very good area

Disliked: Everything else. Also it was freezing and the extra blanket provided was filthy

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 June 2013

Liked: Nothing in the short time I was there.

Disliked: Staff seemed disinterested and unhelpful. I was given keys to the room with no mention that the window was jammed open, and when I complained was told by the member of staff that she could not give me a timescale for when it would be fixed, and that she had emailed her manager. She offered no apology and just walked away and left me standing in the reception with no further explanation.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Muhammad Mashood

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 May 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: very rude staff, no one to speak at reception when hot water run out.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Luca Bartoli detto Beghella

Alone

City break

27 May 2013

Liked: Good location, it is near the botanic garden and there is a subway entrance near, like 5 min by foot.

Disliked: A smile is free, so just do it. A hot shower or hot water in general is considered an optional.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a cheap hotel in a decent location.

Disliked: No card payments accepted, was asked to pay up front and in cash. Television didnt work also had to put batteries in the remote control. No coffee in the room only tea bags and sugar on a tray. The sink blocked after running the tap for thirty seconds. No working showers on my floor, the one upstairs only ran cold. The walls are paper thin.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013

Liked: cheap pizzas next to the hotel. Bus stop right in front of.

Disliked: The receptionist wasnt friendly. The staff wasn't helpfull at all. Light of bathroom didn't work. No common room. Room was quite dirty and walls are VERY thin.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous location.

Disliked: Cleanliness

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Michael Todd

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2013

Liked: Good location, on GWR, just round from Byres. Thankfully plenty of OTHER options in this area.

Disliked: Staff who greeted was very unfriendly and seemed like we were an inconvevniance. First room, none of the lights worked, but looked ok. Second room, was a smaller and worse bathroom, but I just dumped my bags as I had to go to dinner, when I came back I just crashed cos i had driven for 6 hours. On closer inspection in the morning, the shower curtain was filthy, really mouldy. The windowsill was also really mouldy. Noticed that the lights were very flickery in this room so I would be concerned at the electrical safety of this place. Went before checkout time but no staff other than a cleaner who couldnt sort anything. On speaking to the lady from checkin later on, I said I was not happy and was considering going somewhere else. I dedcided I would leave as I did not like her attitude, requested my 2 remaining nights money back but would only be given 1. NEVER STAY HERE.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Harry Hattan

Alone

City break

03 January 2013

Liked: After some thought I can't think of anything to write here.

Disliked: I regularly stay in budget accommodation in Glasgow and this is the worst place I have stayed in. It was CLARTY. When I arrived it was obvious that the entrance hall carpet needed vacuumed. Three days later it still needed vacuumed. A window on the front door was broken and was taped up with cardboard. Surfaces in my room (even the top of the TV) were covered in dust, the towel was frayed, the carpet was dirty and the shower room floor was filthy. I stayed over New Year and the radiator in my room was never on. Luckily the room was just cold. I dread to think what it would have been like if the temperature dropped below zero. No breakfast was available. For 2 of my 3 nights it was cheap and I suppose you get what you pay for but on one of the nights I stayed it was not cheap and a total rip off. In my opinion Hostelbookers could do their customers a favour and by removing this place from their website.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Calum MacKinnon

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 January 2013 Calum would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy. Location.

Disliked: Damp bathroom.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012

Liked: Leak in the ceiling soaked my bed. Put me up in a private single though.

Disliked: No atmosphere. Reception poor. Been in better dorm rooms