HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Alba Hostel Glasgow Glasgow Hostel

6 Fifth Avuenue, Glasgow, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 76%

Location 65%

Safety 84%

Staff 76%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2.64USD
  • Towel 1.32USD

Important Information

Please let us know your estimated time of arrival to ensure someone will be there to welcome you. If you don't let us know your arrival time there might be nobody there to welcome you. Thanks.

please note that our normal check in time 4pm-10pm

We have a 3 day cancellation policy.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 76%

Location 65%

Safety 84%

Staff 76%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Everything was just fine.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Very accommodating host, great bathroom facilities and a no brainer if you need a car park!

Disliked: The common room curfew at 11 wasn't ideal but I couldn't complain about anything else!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Building and rooms were nice, with each room having its own bathroom. Everything is cleaned daily, so cleanliness is great.

Disliked: Beds were very worn and uncomfortable. The staff were initially unhelpful and unwelcoming when we first arrived, though this improved later on. Additionally a 4pm check-in time is very late and makes it difficult if you arrive early in the day. Its about a ten minute train ride to the city and the cost of going back and forth can add up quickly.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and quiet place. Free parking spaces

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Dear

Greetings from Alba Hostel Glasgow.

Thank you if you like our hostel and we wish to welcome you again. Sorry to listen that you feel uncomfortable about beds. I am happy to inform that we have replaced all beds with branded high quality matteresses.

Regards
Arshad Mehmood
Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: everything

Disliked: I enjoyed everything

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was clean. Few steps away from Amniesland station.

Disliked: Check in time is strictly after 4pm, luggage storage cost me £2. Location was not as I expected.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Big kitchen, big lounge

Disliked: This place is too big for me. No free breakfast, staff are not smiling.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bed was comfortable good kitchen

Disliked: Was nort very clean and the shower/toilet was always in use!!!

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The dorm rooms are quite spacious and comfortable and the showers are really good.

Disliked: This hostel could be a great experience but unfortunately it's not. The problem is it's not efficiently run and it's been set up to be convenient to the owners not the customer. You can only check in after 4pm which can be a nuisance if you arrive earlier as you have to sit around waiting. Some parts of the hostel are clean but key areas are often very dirty ie. bathrooms and kitchen. My room the first night hadn't been cleaned at all - there were hairs in the sink from where someone had shaved and full waste baskets. The sink wasn't cleaned the whole time I was there which was one week, in fact I cleaned it myself in the end. Generally management doesn't want to help you unless they absolutely have to or you make a fuss. For example I got help with one problem and was impressed by the service. But another problem I had while here the owner wasn't helpful at all and didn't do anything to assist me. It doesn't help that the main staff member left in charge hardly speaks a word of english which makes communicating difficult. Not good if you need travel assistance or advice on the city. It's also quite far from the city centre - at least an hour's walk or a bus (4 pounds return).The hostel internet connection is TERRIBLE vacillating between good, incredibly slow and sometimes no connection at all. This was a real issue for me as I had come to do some work here and needed the internet and had chosen this hostel as it had advertised an internet connection. When I brought this problem up the owner argued with me, said he didn't have to supply internet at all, denied there was a problem and refused to refund the extra nights I had already paid for in advance so I could move somewhere else with better internet so I could do my work. I heard from someone the router is broken and they haven't fixed it. If you do come I'd suggest not paying for anything in advance as there will be no motivation for anyone to assist you if you have a problem.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: a very clean and welcoming place, friendly helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability