HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alba Hostel Glasgow

Hostel | 6 Fifth Avenue, Anniesland, Glasgow, Scotland G12 0AT

67.8% Overall Rating

93 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2014)

Laura Branitsch thinks…

"The rooms are spacious and the en-suite bathroom was luxurious compared to normal hostel standards. The beds were probably one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in. There is free Wifi in…"

Read all Alba Hostel Glasgow reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.39
  • Towel USD 1.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please let us know your estimated time of arrival to ensure someone will be there to welcome you. If you don't let us know your arrival time there might be nobody there to welcome you. Thanks. please note that our normal check in time 4pm-10pm

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Clifton Hotel
42.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 6 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
48.10 USD

Hostel 76.6% 189 reviews
devoncove hotel
42.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Smiths Hotel
32.17 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beersbridge Lodge
33.86 USD

Hostel 78.7% 212 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
42.32 USD

Hostel 88.0% 307 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
33.86 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
20.31 USD

Hotel 81.7% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

93 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alba Hostel Glasgow'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
69.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean, with lots of showers and toilets available.

Disliked: I know it was a busy period but the staff didn't seem to know which bed had been allocated to whom. I was asked if I would mind moving to a room in the owners house down the road. Luckly this never happend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the bus stop from Glasgow to Edinburg, very easy to find.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. It was nicely maintained, great security, and a central location.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

denise morrow

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2014

Liked: Close to train line and bus routes

Disliked: In Glasgow for the commonwealth games. Upon arrival the manager mahamud Malik was rude and disinterested. He charged us to leave our cases as we were not allowed to check in until 4pm!! So had to leave and hang around city for 3 hours to return to "check in" which consisted of us getting a code for our dorm on a post it note. Totally inconvenienced our stay as had a 1hour return trip just to check in when it was not necessary. We did explain we had games events to attend but we're basically told not his problem and reception closed at 11pm so if we weren't back by then it's our fault. Totally unnecessary way to look after guests who had paid in full, in advance at double the normal rate. Unfriendly from the off set, which dampened our experience of Glasgow. Did not help with our cases either. 2 girls had to struggle up and down stairs while he and a staff member stood and watched. Rude and disrespectful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: quite far from city centre

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location near a bus stop.

Disliked: No towel in the kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erin Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Large locker space for storage. Not the best or worst stay, average hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Branitsch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014

Liked: The rooms are spacious and the en-suite bathroom was luxurious compared to normal hostel standards. The beds were probably one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in. There is free Wifi in the rooms and a really cozy tv room downstairs.

Disliked: When we arrived at the hostel, our first impression was that it was unnaturally quiet. There are not a lot of people staying there, we hardly met anyone in the kitchen or common room. No breakfast (and tea/coffee) is included in the price, although you can purchase it extra. The hostel is about an hour's walk away from the city centre, so you'd have to take the bus or train to get there (train station is right across the street).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Blythe

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and its proximity to a very nice Wetherspoons pub

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old world charm

Disliked: One long-term tennant which would not sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 jason would recommend this property

Liked: considering the hostel was very busy, it was actually still very quiet, i think a lot of people stayed here because of the city hostels were full due to a concert, but it was still nice and relaxed, I have been constantly moving hostels currently due to travelling around and it was nice to get one to stay for a few days for some much needed R&R, so i have booked an extra nights stay, also showers were very good with lots of hot water and good pressure, breakfast is extra but its only £2 and is the standard continental stuff, which is fine.

Disliked: the check in is very late, i think in 14 years of traveling i have never seen anywhere with check in times from 4PM onwards, I even called in advance to check about early arrival as advised on the web page only to be told no! considering check out is 10AM that is a very long turn around time, for me it was not really a problem, but if i had been traveling a lot before hand and had to wait around in the city it could be a pain, so this is not a so much a complaint but rather a warning to check times :-)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is a residential area, so peaceful. The shower was good with lots of hot water.

Disliked: Odd/musty smell in the corridors. Only 3 lockers between 6 beds.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013

Liked: the owner was friendly

Disliked: no heating, cold and freezing all night.. dirty bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: Staffs are nice

Disliked: No hoter from chicken tap and mold dishes were everywhere in cabord

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012

Liked: My dorm was spacious and had a very nice ensuite. The lounge was spacious and attractive. All of the hostel that I saw had quality decor and was in excellent condition. Hostellers told me the wifi was available everywhere in the hostel - my computer wouldn't connect to it, probably my computer's fault. There is free parking. I was told there was a good bus service into town - didn't use it.

Disliked: When I arrived the receptionist tried to charge me the full amount avertised on Hostelbookers although I owed only 90% of it. His English improved tremendously and he backed down when I pulled out my computer to show him my Hostelbookers receipt. If you stay there be prepared to haggle for your rights. The hostel is quite a walk from the city centre, took me over an hour, ok if you want to get fit.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

olga nadyeina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012

Liked: Small cosy house, close to train station, just 3 stops to citycenter

Disliked: too limited space in a room, pure facilities for breakfast (no real coffe, just powdered "coffe", spread instead of butter, not-natural jam...)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find from the station,all shops and ATMs nearby,quiet area.Comfortable lounge.Carparking ample.Owner/manager is good guy.

Disliked: Kitchens a little dirty,depressing.No locks on the dormitory doors.Could do with better,less gloomy lighting.Especially now that rainy Autumn approaches.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Georg Hinterecker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Georg would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ive ever been to. Really comfortable beds, nice and helpful stuff and nice rooms.

Disliked: kitchen wasnt clean

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice House, good matresses, clean!

Disliked: Further outside, but did not bother as bus runs every couple minutes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well-equipped, tidy and clean. And, most importantly, the stuffs are friendly! Secure and home-feel like.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely accomodation! Transport links are great with a train station just across the road and bus stops within 100 yds. The owner and staff is very welcoming and helpful. I noticed receiption open for almost all the day till late night. Rooms been clean everyday. Next door is Weatherspoon pub and restaurant which offer meals and drinks at cheaper rates compare to city centre. Also open till 11pm which is great. Great victorian Building, although a bit away from city centre.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessica Daviot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Calm and friendly atmosphere. Kitchen to cook. Big lockers. Clean bathrooms. Warm rooms.

Disliked: Kitchen was left in a bit of a state by some guests and was not tended to as promptly as desirable. Was a bit out of town, but station is VERY close and it's only a 5-10 mins train ride in. Anything that made my stay in any way unpleasant was caused by other guests, not the actual property.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and excellent kitchen area. Comfortable beds, quiet neighborhood. Free wi-fi.

Disliked: Staff not on duty 24/7. Nearby pub stops serving drinks around 11pm each day. Lack of fun activities to do in the hostel when pub is closed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

10 March 2012

Liked: POSITION, NEXT TO WETHERSPOONS BRILLIANT........ OFF ROAD PARKING

Disliked: LACK OF HYGEINE IN KITCHEN AREA AND 1ST ROOM WE HAD, PILLOW AND BED COVERED IN HUMAN HAIR.....................

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Van Weersel

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff. Quiet and relaxing location and environment. Comfortable. Warm

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elisha Friedman

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011

Liked: The train is across the street and there is a friendly pub next door

Disliked: Too far from town, but might be a nice base of operations for those touring the country by car