HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Alba Hostel Glasgow Glasgow Hostel

6 Fifth Avuenue, Glasgow, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 74%

Location 63%

Safety 82%

Staff 72%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2.53USD
  • Towel 1.26USD

Important Information

Please let us know your estimated time of arrival to ensure someone will be there to welcome you. If you don't let us know your arrival time there might be nobody there to welcome you. Thanks.

please note that our normal check in time 4pm-10pm

We have a 3 day cancellation policy.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 74%

Location 63%

Safety 82%

Staff 72%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Pretty clean.

Disliked: Location isn't ideal. Far from city center.

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: Nothing good there, full of homeless people and location is in the middle of nowhere. Dirty place and really unfriendly staff. In our room there was a guest stacked there for weeks, with very aggressive character, smelling really bad and smoking weed into the room. Bed clothes weren´t clean at all, (we couldn´t use them, They had hairs, stains and smelled horrible).

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Everything was just fine.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Very accommodating host, great bathroom facilities and a no brainer if you need a car park!

Disliked: The common room curfew at 11 wasn't ideal but I couldn't complain about anything else!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Building and rooms were nice, with each room having its own bathroom. Everything is cleaned daily, so cleanliness is great.

Disliked: Beds were very worn and uncomfortable. The staff were initially unhelpful and unwelcoming when we first arrived, though this improved later on. Additionally a 4pm check-in time is very late and makes it difficult if you arrive early in the day. Its about a ten minute train ride to the city and the cost of going back and forth can add up quickly.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and quiet place. Free parking spaces

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Dear

Greetings from Alba Hostel Glasgow.

Thank you if you like our hostel and we wish to welcome you again. Sorry to listen that you feel uncomfortable about beds. I am happy to inform that we have replaced all beds with branded high quality matteresses.

Regards
Arshad Mehmood
Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: everything

Disliked: I enjoyed everything

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was clean. Few steps away from Amniesland station.

Disliked: Check in time is strictly after 4pm, luggage storage cost me £2. Location was not as I expected.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Big kitchen, big lounge

Disliked: This place is too big for me. No free breakfast, staff are not smiling.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bed was comfortable good kitchen

Disliked: Was nort very clean and the shower/toilet was always in use!!!

Check Availability