We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alba Hostel Glasgow

Hostel | 6 Fifth Avenue, Anniesland, Glasgow, Scotland G12 0AT

71.8% Overall Rating

99 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

"The dorm rooms are quite spacious and comfortable and the showers are really good."

Read all Alba Hostel Glasgow reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please let us know your estimated time of arrival to ensure someone will be there to welcome you. If you don't let us know your arrival time there might be nobody there to welcome you. Thanks. please note that our normal check in time 4pm-10pm We have a 3 day cancellation policy.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Clifton Hotel
32.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 6 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
25.82 USD

Hostel 76.0% 196 reviews
devoncove hotel
29.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
22.72 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beersbridge Lodge
28.40 USD

Hostel 79.1% 217 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
26.52 USD

Hostel 89.9% 309 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 63.8% 1397 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
28.40 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

99 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alba Hostel Glasgow'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
68.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: vv

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014

Liked: Bed was comfortable good kitchen

Disliked: Was nort very clean and the shower/toilet was always in use!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 September 2014

Liked: The dorm rooms are quite spacious and comfortable and the showers are really good.

Disliked: This hostel could be a great experience but unfortunately it's not. The problem is it's not efficiently run and it's been set up to be convenient to the owners not the customer. You can only check in after 4pm which can be a nuisance if you arrive earlier as you have to sit around waiting. Some parts of the hostel are clean but key areas are often very dirty ie. bathrooms and kitchen. My room the first night hadn't been cleaned at all - there were hairs in the sink from where someone had shaved and full waste baskets. The sink wasn't cleaned the whole time I was there which was one week, in fact I cleaned it myself in the end. Generally management doesn't want to help you unless they absolutely have to or you make a fuss. For example I got help with one problem and was impressed by the service. But another problem I had while here the owner wasn't helpful at all and didn't do anything to assist me. It doesn't help that the main staff member left in charge hardly speaks a word of english which makes communicating difficult. Not good if you need travel assistance or advice on the city. It's also quite far from the city centre - at least an hour's walk or a bus (4 pounds return). The hostel internet connection is TERRIBLE vacillating between good, incredibly slow and sometimes no connection at all. This was a real issue for me as I had come to do some work here and needed the internet and had chosen this hostel as it had advertised an internet connection. When I brought this problem up the owner argued with me, said he didn't have to supply internet at all, denied there was a problem and refused to refund the extra nights I had already paid for in advance so I could move somewhere else with better internet so I could do my work. I heard from someone the router is broken and they haven't fixed it. If you do come I'd suggest not paying for anything in advance as there will be no motivation for anyone to assist you if you have a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very clean and welcoming place, friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: communal area; room and ensuite appeared recently renovated (new carpet, fresh paint and tiles)

Disliked: Booked for Commonwealth Games and when confirming the booking, they said they had cancelled it because they never received full payment following an email they claimed to have sent (it worked out in the end, but it was very worrying). Fire Alarm went off one night and when asking the staff if we needed to evacuate, they didn't know and then couldn't turn it off for a good 20mins.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ziyang xie

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 ziyang would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is quite good , and the wifi in this hostel is fast and free. Everything is clean, stuff are kind and helpful. Otherwise the hostel's location is good. I give full mark for this hostel.

Disliked: Everything is good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fay Freeman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Fay would recommend this property

Liked: Internet search

Disliked: Nothing. Make sure though if you ask if we want a newspaper that we actually get a newspaper!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fiona Read

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2014 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Each room had it's own bathroom and there was a big kitchen

Disliked: The manager was friendly to clients but extremely rude to his staff even if you were standing there. The bathrooms need to be aired a bit more and the beds are really squeaky!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean, with lots of showers and toilets available.

Disliked: I know it was a busy period but the staff didn't seem to know which bed had been allocated to whom. I was asked if I would mind moving to a room in the owners house down the road. Luckly this never happend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the bus stop from Glasgow to Edinburg, very easy to find.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. It was nicely maintained, great security, and a central location.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

denise morrow

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2014

Liked: Close to train line and bus routes

Disliked: In Glasgow for the commonwealth games. Upon arrival the manager mahamud Malik was rude and disinterested. He charged us to leave our cases as we were not allowed to check in until 4pm!! So had to leave and hang around city for 3 hours to return to "check in" which consisted of us getting a code for our dorm on a post it note. Totally inconvenienced our stay as had a 1hour return trip just to check in when it was not necessary. We did explain we had games events to attend but we're basically told not his problem and reception closed at 11pm so if we weren't back by then it's our fault. Totally unnecessary way to look after guests who had paid in full, in advance at double the normal rate. Unfriendly from the off set, which dampened our experience of Glasgow. Did not help with our cases either. 2 girls had to struggle up and down stairs while he and a staff member stood and watched. Rude and disrespectful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: quite far from city centre

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location near a bus stop.

Disliked: No towel in the kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erin Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Large locker space for storage. Not the best or worst stay, average hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Branitsch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014

Liked: The rooms are spacious and the en-suite bathroom was luxurious compared to normal hostel standards. The beds were probably one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in. There is free Wifi in the rooms and a really cozy tv room downstairs.

Disliked: When we arrived at the hostel, our first impression was that it was unnaturally quiet. There are not a lot of people staying there, we hardly met anyone in the kitchen or common room. No breakfast (and tea/coffee) is included in the price, although you can purchase it extra. The hostel is about an hour's walk away from the city centre, so you'd have to take the bus or train to get there (train station is right across the street).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Blythe

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and its proximity to a very nice Wetherspoons pub

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old world charm

Disliked: One long-term tennant which would not sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 jason would recommend this property

Liked: considering the hostel was very busy, it was actually still very quiet, i think a lot of people stayed here because of the city hostels were full due to a concert, but it was still nice and relaxed, I have been constantly moving hostels currently due to travelling around and it was nice to get one to stay for a few days for some much needed R&R, so i have booked an extra nights stay, also showers were very good with lots of hot water and good pressure, breakfast is extra but its only £2 and is the standard continental stuff, which is fine.

Disliked: the check in is very late, i think in 14 years of traveling i have never seen anywhere with check in times from 4PM onwards, I even called in advance to check about early arrival as advised on the web page only to be told no! considering check out is 10AM that is a very long turn around time, for me it was not really a problem, but if i had been traveling a lot before hand and had to wait around in the city it could be a pain, so this is not a so much a complaint but rather a warning to check times :-)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is a residential area, so peaceful. The shower was good with lots of hot water.

Disliked: Odd/musty smell in the corridors. Only 3 lockers between 6 beds.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013

Liked: the owner was friendly

Disliked: no heating, cold and freezing all night.. dirty bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: Staffs are nice

Disliked: No hoter from chicken tap and mold dishes were everywhere in cabord

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012

Liked: My dorm was spacious and had a very nice ensuite. The lounge was spacious and attractive. All of the hostel that I saw had quality decor and was in excellent condition. Hostellers told me the wifi was available everywhere in the hostel - my computer wouldn't connect to it, probably my computer's fault. There is free parking. I was told there was a good bus service into town - didn't use it.

Disliked: When I arrived the receptionist tried to charge me the full amount avertised on Hostelbookers although I owed only 90% of it. His English improved tremendously and he backed down when I pulled out my computer to show him my Hostelbookers receipt. If you stay there be prepared to haggle for your rights. The hostel is quite a walk from the city centre, took me over an hour, ok if you want to get fit.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

olga nadyeina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012

Liked: Small cosy house, close to train station, just 3 stops to citycenter

Disliked: too limited space in a room, pure facilities for breakfast (no real coffe, just powdered "coffe", spread instead of butter, not-natural jam...)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find from the station,all shops and ATMs nearby,quiet area.Comfortable lounge.Carparking ample.Owner/manager is good guy.

Disliked: Kitchens a little dirty,depressing.No locks on the dormitory doors.Could do with better,less gloomy lighting.Especially now that rainy Autumn approaches.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Georg Hinterecker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Georg would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ive ever been to. Really comfortable beds, nice and helpful stuff and nice rooms.

Disliked: kitchen wasnt clean