HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alba Hostel Glasgow

Hostel | 6 Fifth Avenue, Anniesland, Glasgow, Scotland G12 0AT

69.7% Overall Rating

88 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2014)

Laura Branitsch thinks…

"The rooms are spacious and the en-suite bathroom was luxurious compared to normal hostel standards. The beds were probably one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in. There is free Wifi in…"

Read all Alba Hostel Glasgow reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please let us know your estimated time of arrival to ensure someone will be there to welcome you. If you don't let us know your arrival time there might be nobody there to welcome you. Thanks. please note that our normal check in time 4pm-10pm

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Kelvin Hotel West End
30.22 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.9% 8 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
22.90 USD

Hostel 78.5% 182 reviews
Lomond Hotel
36.93 USD

Hostel 42.9% 47 reviews
devoncove hotel
30.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
33.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 207 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
30.22 USD

Hostel 87.1% 301 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
20.14 USD

Hostel 82.1% 1348 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
23.00 USD

Hotel 81.8% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

88 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alba Hostel Glasgow'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
61.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 100 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Branitsch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014

Liked: The rooms are spacious and the en-suite bathroom was luxurious compared to normal hostel standards. The beds were probably one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in. There is free Wifi in the rooms and a really cozy tv room downstairs.

Disliked: When we arrived at the hostel, our first impression was that it was unnaturally quiet. There are not a lot of people staying there, we hardly met anyone in the kitchen or common room. No breakfast (and tea/coffee) is included in the price, although you can purchase it extra. The hostel is about an hour's walk away from the city centre, so you'd have to take the bus or train to get there (train station is right across the street).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Blythe

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and its proximity to a very nice Wetherspoons pub

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old world charm

Disliked: One long-term tennant which would not sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 jason would recommend this property

Liked: considering the hostel was very busy, it was actually still very quiet, i think a lot of people stayed here because of the city hostels were full due to a concert, but it was still nice and relaxed, I have been constantly moving hostels currently due to travelling around and it was nice to get one to stay for a few days for some much needed R&R, so i have booked an extra nights stay, also showers were very good with lots of hot water and good pressure, breakfast is extra but its only £2 and is the standard continental stuff, which is fine.

Disliked: the check in is very late, i think in 14 years of traveling i have never seen anywhere with check in times from 4PM onwards, I even called in advance to check about early arrival as advised on the web page only to be told no! considering check out is 10AM that is a very long turn around time, for me it was not really a problem, but if i had been traveling a lot before hand and had to wait around in the city it could be a pain, so this is not a so much a complaint but rather a warning to check times :-)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is a residential area, so peaceful. The shower was good with lots of hot water.

Disliked: Odd/musty smell in the corridors. Only 3 lockers between 6 beds.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013

Liked: the owner was friendly

Disliked: no heating, cold and freezing all night.. dirty bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: Staffs are nice

Disliked: No hoter from chicken tap and mold dishes were everywhere in cabord

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012

Liked: My dorm was spacious and had a very nice ensuite. The lounge was spacious and attractive. All of the hostel that I saw had quality decor and was in excellent condition. Hostellers told me the wifi was available everywhere in the hostel - my computer wouldn't connect to it, probably my computer's fault. There is free parking. I was told there was a good bus service into town - didn't use it.

Disliked: When I arrived the receptionist tried to charge me the full amount avertised on Hostelbookers although I owed only 90% of it. His English improved tremendously and he backed down when I pulled out my computer to show him my Hostelbookers receipt. If you stay there be prepared to haggle for your rights. The hostel is quite a walk from the city centre, took me over an hour, ok if you want to get fit.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

olga nadyeina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012

Liked: Small cosy house, close to train station, just 3 stops to citycenter

Disliked: too limited space in a room, pure facilities for breakfast (no real coffe, just powdered "coffe", spread instead of butter, not-natural jam...)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find from the station,all shops and ATMs nearby,quiet area.Comfortable lounge.Carparking ample.Owner/manager is good guy.

Disliked: Kitchens a little dirty,depressing.No locks on the dormitory doors.Could do with better,less gloomy lighting.Especially now that rainy Autumn approaches.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Georg Hinterecker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Georg would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ive ever been to. Really comfortable beds, nice and helpful stuff and nice rooms.

Disliked: kitchen wasnt clean

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice House, good matresses, clean!

Disliked: Further outside, but did not bother as bus runs every couple minutes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well-equipped, tidy and clean. And, most importantly, the stuffs are friendly! Secure and home-feel like.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely accomodation! Transport links are great with a train station just across the road and bus stops within 100 yds. The owner and staff is very welcoming and helpful. I noticed receiption open for almost all the day till late night. Rooms been clean everyday. Next door is Weatherspoon pub and restaurant which offer meals and drinks at cheaper rates compare to city centre. Also open till 11pm which is great. Great victorian Building, although a bit away from city centre.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessica Daviot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Calm and friendly atmosphere. Kitchen to cook. Big lockers. Clean bathrooms. Warm rooms.

Disliked: Kitchen was left in a bit of a state by some guests and was not tended to as promptly as desirable. Was a bit out of town, but station is VERY close and it's only a 5-10 mins train ride in. Anything that made my stay in any way unpleasant was caused by other guests, not the actual property.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and excellent kitchen area. Comfortable beds, quiet neighborhood. Free wi-fi.

Disliked: Staff not on duty 24/7. Nearby pub stops serving drinks around 11pm each day. Lack of fun activities to do in the hostel when pub is closed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

10 March 2012

Liked: POSITION, NEXT TO WETHERSPOONS BRILLIANT........ OFF ROAD PARKING

Disliked: LACK OF HYGEINE IN KITCHEN AREA AND 1ST ROOM WE HAD, PILLOW AND BED COVERED IN HUMAN HAIR.....................

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Van Weersel

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff. Quiet and relaxing location and environment. Comfortable. Warm

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Elisha Friedman

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011

Liked: The train is across the street and there is a friendly pub next door

Disliked: Too far from town, but might be a nice base of operations for those touring the country by car

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well equipped, very nice bathroom facilities. Really helpful staff.

Disliked: Snoring of other guests... otherwise nothing to complain about!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eddie Nimmo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 November 2011 Eddie would recommend this property

Liked: Pleased to get a room when other places were fully booked. Nice set up more character than the euro hostel in town. Found it clean, and the staff were friendly and went out of there ay to help.

Disliked: Its quite a long way from the city centre.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Aside from the locker situation, the people who worked there were helpful and very friendly. I enjoyed chatting with them.

Disliked: Just the locker situation described above.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, clean, friendly, free wifi, kitchen.

Disliked: Location. It was in Anniesland, which requires a 20+min train ride into central Glasgow.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leia Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Leia would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice and quiet

Disliked: it was far away from everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhognming Jin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Zhognming would recommend this property

Liked: clean and nice staff

Disliked: location