HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Charing Cross Guest House

Hostel | 310 Renfrew street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6UW

78.4% Overall Rating

214 out of 275 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2013)

Jeff Pan thinks…

"That they were kind enough to use the f world only less than a dozen times when talking to us."

Read all Charing Cross Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you are making bookings for arrival on a Friday or Saturday please note that there is a minimum stay period of 2 days for the weekend.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

McLays Guest House
38.76 USD

Hostel 80.6% 1187 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
38.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.1% 111 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
18.27 USD

Hostel 59.8% 1391 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
27.82 USD

Hostel 88.7% 308 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
31.22 USD

Hotel 81.7% 35 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
33.22 USD

Hostel 80.0% 214 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
29.90 USD

Hostel 79.2% 1751 reviews
devoncove hotel
41.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

214 out of 275 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Charing Cross Guest House'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 193 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaeyoung Park

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Jaeyoung would recommend this property

Liked: It was good

Disliked: noting

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jeff Pan

As a family with children

City break

23 June 2013

Liked: That they were kind enough to use the f world only less than a dozen times when talking to us.

Disliked: It's one of those old, run-down mom-and-pop type places. Be prepared to be nickle-and-dimed. A day after we had checked in and paid, the owner came running after us and tried to tell us that we had to pay another £3 for a credit card surcharge (a full day after we had arrived). We had to tell him to get his hands off us and that we would file a chargeback with our credit card company (who immediately returned our money - so I encourage others to do the same). Do yourself a favor and book one of the twelve other B&B's that are door-to-door with each other.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Margaret Crook

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 June 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Lighting in the room very dim - given there was only 1 small window better lighting would be helpful

Disliked: It was value for money so was not expecting the Ritz - no dislike other than lighting in my room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013

Liked: The bed was really confortable. And the bedroom was clean despite the bad impressive that the reception give us (the personnal the night we arrived, was not really kind compare with what we had during our journey over Scotland for the same price).

Disliked: It's not cosy enought. It's basic.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was really good! And we got another towel when we asked for it.

Disliked: They don't ask for ID when you get your keys back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room, bed, staff, quietness, breakfast were all great.

Disliked: Wit our luggage, the stairs leading up to the site and the stairs up to the rooms seemed daunting after a long day of traveling.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rene Gontijo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Rene would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and breakfast

Disliked: For what you're paying there's nothing to complain about..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Kearney

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It's, as described, readily walkable from the City Centre in 10-15 minutes straight up Renfrew Street or Sauchiehall St and puts you within a stonesthrow of key nightlife on with lots of bars and clubs within 5 minutes walk. The hotel lacks any real trimmings but is also missing nothing. The staff were absolutely great, there's full free cable TV selection, tea, coffee and free wifi which worked perfectly right up on the top floor, where my room was. I got a Saturday night for £25! I'd say BOOK IT

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Bianka Büchner

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012

Liked: The Bed&Breakfast was very good reachable. It takes about 3 minutes to reach the next trainstation. The center and Glasgow West End are in good walking distance. The breakfast was also good.

Disliked: The bedroom was badly equipped (a too small mirror, only one towel and one cup for two persons) And the bathroom was hardly usable. The shower was mildew infested and it was not possible to take a shower without flooding the whole room. The breakfast is until 9 a.m. and not later. The staff tried its best to get rid of us, when we were sitting there at 9 a.m. Eventually, they succeeded and we left without having finished our breakfast. Overall, one could say there was no heart and soul.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Helpful staff at desk. Good breakfast. Clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason lee

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 February 2012 jason would recommend this property

Liked: nice dark quiet rooms, ideal as i was here for laser eye surgery and this place was litterally 100 yards from the surgery. cooked breakfast in the morning was good also, more then you get in most hostels, however i wud rate this more of a cheap B&B rather then hostel, in my mind excellent value considering. also staff were very helpful during my stay here, the understood i needed peace and quiet, and thats what i got, on a side note, the rooms are a little run down and tired, and the decor is also quite run down, but to be honest i didnt pay 50 pounds to stay in a posh htotel. i slept here and ate here and thats all i needed from this place, so no complaints

Disliked: nothing wrong.....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very nice, good breakfast, rooms and facilities quite basic but if you do not expect too much, it's great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacob McCauley

Alone

Business / conference

09 February 2012 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly enough staff, good internet, good breakfast, nice enough rooms.

Disliked: Bed was a little hard.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing! you get great value for money. The location is great and the staff were so lovely.

Disliked: There is no where to self cater - but in saying that they let us use their microwave so it was great!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Erickson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: B&B accommodation at Hostel Prices!!! The room was spacious and well heated, soap and towels were provided and the full Scottish Breakfast was delicious. Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The hall smelled vaguely of cigarettes, but as the smell did not filter into the room this was not a big issue.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james dailly

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 January 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: clean centrally located basic friendly

Disliked: what i expected

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ross Honour

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 December 2011 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: full breakfast, clean bathroom. good location. not far from Queens st rail station. friendly staff

Disliked: old run down room, smells like old people. old bed and decor. reading light in room broken

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Philippe St-Cyr

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was really good

Disliked: I found a passport under the bed........and other dirty stuff, but the sheets and the rest of the room was clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lasse Sinding Kristensen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 November 2011 Lasse Sinding would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: Dont know

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sofie Sandback

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2011 Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly nice staff, good value for money. Big room.

Disliked: Breakfast only until 9 am. No soap or towels in the shared bathrooms, although we had a sink, soap and towel in our room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011

Liked: The location of this guest house is good

Disliked: I found the staff to be a little unfriendly. The cleanliness of the room was probably what made me dislike my experience. There was a horrible smell & the carpet was somehow wet at two places in the room. There was also a wooden cabinet that, thought useful, appeared old & on the verge of decomposing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hugh Fisher

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 October 2011 Hugh would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location for Charing Cross station and Sauchiehall Street

Disliked: Mirror lights not working

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Breakfast and toilets are kept clean at all times.

Disliked: the room I got was not the best room, it had some odour and lighting was too dim.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anthony Ives

Alone

Business / conference

12 September 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, price, and full breakfast.

Disliked: Room smelled a little of smoke and was somewhat old and shabby, though comfortable enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room had everything I needed - coffee, tv, wifi, clean bathroom handy and clean comfy bed. Staff were friendly and breakfast delicious.

Disliked: A lot of steps to my room and noisy from main road traffic but ok with the window closed.