We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of McLays Guest House

Hostel | 264-276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TT

81.7% Overall Rating

1055 out of 1188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Michael Mckinley thinks…

"Cheap,cheerful, and clean rooms. Very old fashioned but if it's just a bed and breakfast for the night you want with no luxuries then it's perfect."

Read all McLays Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All group reservations (more than 5 people) will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit and, at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not. We don't accept stag parties, birthday parties or soccer related groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Charing Cross Guest House
24.34 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
36.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 112 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 63.8% 1397 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
27.59 USD

Hostel 89.9% 309 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
22.72 USD

Hotel 82.1% 37 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
19.47 USD

Hostel 72.7% 1762 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
15.42 USD

Hotel 73.5% 125 reviews
devoncove hotel
31.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

1055 out of 1188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'McLays Guest House'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 848 of 916 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Mckinley

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap,cheerful, and clean rooms. Very old fashioned but if it's just a bed and breakfast for the night you want with no luxuries then it's perfect.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, clean room and bathroom.

Disliked: The curtains were thin, so in the morning it's light really early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building and room was charming. The breakfast was delicious. The reception very helpful with recommendations and directions. It's in an excellent location right by the Glasgow School of the Arts. Well worth the value!

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great; the front desk staff person Anne was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable; the dining room staff were wonderful. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was very close to a couple of museums we wanted to see and the Art School. The neighbourhood was nice.

Disliked: Walking up the hill :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

hana brenecki

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: No atmosphere. Never saw any other backpackers only weird homeless looking people. The place seemed like a halfway house. Whole place is really old, and smells like mothballs. Spent as little time there as possible. Do not recommend.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shankar Ram Lakshmanan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2014 Shankar would recommend this property

Liked: Very authentic and the city view was good. The beds were good.

Disliked: Sound is going out easily and other rooms are getting disturbed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Donohue

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, convenient and reasonable value considering I had a single room.

Disliked: Nothing, really. the killer hill when I've had a few beers, perhaps.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint and welcoming atmosphere. Clean with helpful staff. Excellent breakfast included. Decent location.

Disliked: Wifi only available in common area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather Cosby

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 March 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, the room was lovely, the bed comfy, the bathroom really clean.

Disliked: No internet or wifi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Callan Quigley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Callan would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and close to pub district, bus station and centre of town. Breakfast was good and location was secure

Disliked: I cannot really fault the place as I would definitely stay there again

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: It needs a little remodeling.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stacey Livingstone

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 November 2013 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: the room was warm and the beds were comfy

Disliked: the shower was freezing and when it heated it only ever heated for a couple of mins and went cold again. Also we only had 1 working tv channel in our room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013

Liked: Location, breakfast

Disliked: The carpet of the stairs to the rooms were really old and dirty The doors were old and therefore it was loud when somebody was opening or closing the door

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location, nice breakfast. Single room with shared bathroom was what I booked, but I got a double en suite for the same price.

Disliked: Poor décor in room, grubby, peeling paint and wallpaper. Electric wall socket not securely fixed to wall.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No adequate parking around and hotel a bit dated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was great, very clean and up to date. The location was fantastic as it was only a minute or two to the centre. Breakfast was decent and the dinning room was nice, if you like family style eating. The staff were very friendly. When we checked out, they let us leave our bags there so that we could run errands before leaving the city.

Disliked: For us it's not a deal breaker, but it is always nice when you can access wifi from your room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katharine Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 October 2013 Katharine would recommend this property

Liked: This was cheap and cheerful, very clean, very cheap, central. Staff were lovely. No curfew, breakfast included, very comfy beds. If you take this accommodation for what it is you won't be disappointed. Would defo stay here again. My American friend was also very happy with it. :) No complaints.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Buruhana jabang

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

07 October 2013 Buruhana would recommend this property

Liked: we liked the location of the property.also the size of the room was very good.bathroom was very spacious and modern. We were fully accommodated and the staff were very helpful in anything that we required . Was a very pleasant stay and very good value for money.would definitely go back to stay again

Disliked: The only thing would be the fact that you had to go into the dining room if you wanted to be connected to wifi which was a bit of an inconvenience

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable room, tv lounge, good english breakfast, friendly reception & we couls leave our luggage after checking out :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic Room. Friendly staff.

Disliked: -Nil-

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stuart Manson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 August 2013 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Could have been cleanier

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Bishop

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: As hostel travellers we were excited that this deceivingly large hostel provided individual rooms with private ensuite bathrooms. The facilities were quiet and with a late check-out time we were able to explore the necropolis in the morning prior to checking out. The security at the desk and leave-your-key policy made us feel safe knowing someone was always there.

Disliked: The only downside was the distance to walk with our luggage from the bus station late at night in an unfamiliar town. Otherwise this hostel was definitely worh the price paid - a good hostel for the basic traveller.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013

Liked: Good location, hot water, breakfast was included (though it was a more typical Scottish breakfast of beans, toast, sausage, pancake and fried egg that might not be everyone's favorite!).

Disliked: Everything was very average, almost no character in the hostel. If I didn't have another option, I wouldn't mind staying there again, especially for the price. But I would probably try something different. It was very average.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gytis Kulaitis

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Gytis would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, good value for money. Nice full breakfast.

Disliked: Gytis left no negative feedback.