We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of McLays Guest House

Hostel | 264-276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TT

79.3% Overall Rating

1058 out of 1193 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

Dylan Walker thinks…

"Great location, great breakfast, great staff. Nice chilled out atmosphere. Tasty breakfast and all-round good value for money."

Read all McLays Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All group reservations (more than 5 people) will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit and, at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not. We don't accept stag parties, birthday parties or soccer related groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Charing Cross Guest House
29.07 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
39.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
16.33 USD

Hostel 60.1% 1443 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
22.95 USD

Hostel 82.6% 323 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
18.36 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1803 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
20.91 USD

Hotel 66.3% 167 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
26.77 USD

Hostel 78.9% 220 reviews
devoncove hotel
37.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

1058 out of 1193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'McLays Guest House'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 853 of 921 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was AMAZING and FREE! Close to many restaurants and a grocery store.

Disliked: It was rather far away from the city center and about 15 minutes from a bus stop, in addition to being at the top of a hill. Overall, that meant a lot of walking, but it was well worth it!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is located directly between city center and kelvingrove park. to the center it is about 15 minutes walk (same for the park).

Disliked: I had a single room directly above the kitchen, which was unbelievably loud in the morning. So i had to sleep with ear plugs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tiago Esteves

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 June 2011 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, cooperative staff.

Disliked: No options for families with children.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marie Medenus

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good,beds comfy, overall very resonable value for money

Disliked: No negative aspects discovered

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast

Disliked: no hot water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice staff, value for price

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good price with breakfast incl. Worth spending the night there!

Disliked: Going by car can be a nightmare!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything very helpful and friendly staff, lovely big confertable rooms, very clean bedding and towels changed on a daily basis. Lovely hot breakfast with pleanty of choice. Would go back great place to stay.

Disliked: there was nothing to dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast

Disliked: Lots of stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in Glasgow, always stay here when I'm through. Would definitely recommend it. Staff are amazingly helpful and kind.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location for standard but cheaply priced accomodation. The bonus is really the lovely, helpful staff. I've stayed here a few times and would happily do so again.

Disliked: There are a couple of things that could do with imporvements, but they are regularly doing things up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, plus good Scottish breakfast. staff were friendly also

Disliked: property was fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and real easy to get to. It's right by a main drag of clubs, pubs and shops. To get to the main museums and university you have to take a taxi or bus because it's pretty far away from the hostel. The employees were super nice the whole time we were there and were nice about giving directions and giving us advice about what to do. The hot breakfast in the morning is really good and it comes free with your stay. This was our first hostel and we were extremely happy about it.

Disliked: Since it's by the clubs and stuff, it was kind of loud at night but only if you're a light sleeper.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that is not far away from pub`s, clubs and restaurants

Disliked: the early breakfast time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was phenomenal. Great value for your money, and you also get a full Scottish breakfast that was fantastic. So tasty! I wish all the hostels were this good :)

Disliked: nothing, it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janice Nash

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2011 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great. They were helpful and courteous. The place was very clean. The breakfasts were delicious with quick service. My room and the public rooms of the guest house were kept at a comfortable temperature regardless of the weather outside.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money and security

Disliked: May be the staff could be more friendly No TV, no soap to bath, no toothpaste

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011

Liked: The breakfast is included

Disliked: Rude people. My couple and I woke up at night because one of the workers was shouting at a client. It is also a really dirty place; someone entered to change the towels but didn't leave any, they didn't clean the room during the 2 days that we stayed and the TV didn't even work. AVOID.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011

Liked: xxx

Disliked: The breakfast, because I found several black hairs on my bacon and the staff did not give us any recompense.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

britelle humfrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 britelle would recommend this property

Liked: really comfy room, great security, awesome breakfast, nice staff, clean and comfortable.

Disliked: bit of a walk from train station, not much atmosphere but this could have been because i stayed in a single room. unsure if there were shared dorms?

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2011

Liked: Close to city center.

Disliked: Bathroom too small and not practical.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Edwards

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Low security

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faruk Uysal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Faruk would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and location

Disliked: no common facility room to chat and meet new people