HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

McLays Guest House Guesthouse

264-276, Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 84%

Safety 79%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Cots available
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Important Information

All group reservations (more than 5 people) will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit and, at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not. We don't accept stag parties, birthday parties or soccer related groups.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 84%

Safety 79%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

Showing 71-14 of 14 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was good and close to pub district, bus station and centre of town. Breakfast was good and location was secure

Disliked: I cannot really fault the place as I would definitely stay there again

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good value for money, close to the city centre and some great pubs and restaurants. Try Kama Sutra Indian restaurant nearby (don't be put off by the name!). Rooms clean, comfortable and fairly spacious. Staff friendly. Wifi good, but only available in the dining room.

Disliked: The breakfast was great on our first morning, but on the second morning our breakfast was swimming in oil. Don't let this deter you from staying at Mclays, because this was a very minor detail. Everything else was great. Although, I would be happy to wait a little while for breakfast to be freshly cooked, rather than being pre cooked and kept warm.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Central location, wonderful and friendly staff who were always pleasant, interested and helpful!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: not much.

Disliked: staff very unfriendly and unhelpful.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: location

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location and atmosphere were really great. It was quite peaceful which I really appreciated. The breakfast was good, the room very nice. The staff was amazingly friendly and I really enjoyed my stay there. I will stay there again next time I'm in Glasgow!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good night sleep in an old house

Disliked: wifi only downstairs

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was my fifth stay in this guest house and whenever I visit Glasgow in the future I intend to stay there. It is also the friendly atmosphere that I enjoy there.

Disliked: It is necessary to comprehend that for a low price you cannot expect a kind of "Ritz accomodation". The only thing I would mention is the fact that prices on weekend days are now the same as those for weekdays. which maybe a disadvantage for the guest house in the future.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: People at the front desk were very helpful.

Disliked: Just that it seemed to be a little outdated.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very homey place.... clean old house

Disliked: u have to climb the street to get there....

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability