We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of McLays Guest House

Hostel | 264-276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TT

81.7% Overall Rating

1055 out of 1188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Michael Mckinley thinks…

"Cheap,cheerful, and clean rooms. Very old fashioned but if it's just a bed and breakfast for the night you want with no luxuries then it's perfect."

Read all McLays Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All group reservations (more than 5 people) will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit and, at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not. We don't accept stag parties, birthday parties or soccer related groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Charing Cross Guest House
29.78 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
40.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 112 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
17.86 USD

Hostel 63.8% 1397 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
30.85 USD

Hostel 89.9% 309 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
27.61 USD

Hotel 82.3% 36 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
16.24 USD

Hostel 77.0% 1755 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
17.86 USD

Hotel 72.8% 122 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
32.48 USD

Hostel 79.7% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

1055 out of 1188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'McLays Guest House'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 848 of 916 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Das Personal war äußerst zuvorkommend und hilfsbereit. Außerdem wurden wir jeden Tag mit neuen Handtühcern versorgt bzw. es wurde sich erkundigt, ob wir bspw unsere Bettwäsche ausgetauscht haben wollen etc. Zusätzlich nahm man sich für Informationen rund um Glasgow eine Menge Zeit. Das Frühstück war sehr gut und man konnte zwischen verschiedenen Möglichkeiten wählen. Das PreisLeistungVerhältnis war absolut in Ordnung im Vergleich zu anderen Unterkünften in anderen Städten in England bzw. Schottland (23 € p. P. pro Nacht in einem Doppelzimmer ohne Bad).

Disliked: Ich war vollkommen zufrieden, Zuvor hatte ich in verschiedenen Hostels genächtigt. Einer Person, die normalerweise Hotels o. ä. gewohnt ist, würde dieses Guest House eventuell nicht so gut gefallen wie mir. Jemand, der eine Alternative zu den teilweise doch recht teuren Hostels sucht, würde ich diese Unterkunft sehr empfehlen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really nice, and cheap for what it is. there is big bedrooms, very clean, they provide a huge breakfast. I have travelled all over scotland, it's the best hotel I have been (and the cheapest) i recommand everyone to go there!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location kindness of the staff

Disliked: noisy

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and great breakfast

Disliked: No lift

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, value for money

Disliked: no free wifi

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

antoine delpech

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 antoine would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Very good location, many things around, like shops, restaurants.

Disliked: The shared-bathroom wasn't clean. It was hard to draw the curtains whereas this was necessary because of the proximity of the building on the other side of the street which does not favour the intimacy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was scrumptious

Disliked: Just a general hostel experience

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agnes Dudas

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Agnes would recommend this property

Liked: i loves the breakfast there,and the stuff was nice too:)

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: how close it was to the centre of town

Disliked: My room was tiny & felt it should have been a bit cleaner.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful. Great downtown location.

Disliked: Slightly noisy at night because it is so close to downtown.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 July 2011

Liked: Big room, washbasin in room.

Disliked: Noisy, couldn't sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and a beautiful girl to serve your complimentary breakfast! Would book again happily.

Disliked: Nothing bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

freya moran

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 June 2011 freya would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the night life and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing, it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: charming look of the room and the friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

simon towers

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 June 2011 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: steps!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juris Rotbergs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Juris would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very helpful,the morning meal great

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Martin

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: the room was awesome, got a free upgrade which is always great

Disliked: giant hill to walk up, which is specified in detail. staff member not very welcoming at start but warmed up and was great after

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean room, comfy bed and great shower. Also great cooked breakfast in the morning. Would definately stay there again.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good accessability

Disliked: bedding

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was AMAZING and FREE! Close to many restaurants and a grocery store.

Disliked: It was rather far away from the city center and about 15 minutes from a bus stop, in addition to being at the top of a hill. Overall, that meant a lot of walking, but it was well worth it!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is located directly between city center and kelvingrove park. to the center it is about 15 minutes walk (same for the park).

Disliked: I had a single room directly above the kitchen, which was unbelievably loud in the morning. So i had to sleep with ear plugs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tiago Esteves

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 June 2011 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, cooperative staff.

Disliked: No options for families with children.