HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of McLays Guest House

Hostel | 264-276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TT

80.2% Overall Rating

1047 out of 1178 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"Quaint and welcoming atmosphere. Clean with helpful staff. Excellent breakfast included. Decent location."

Read all McLays Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All group reservations will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit & at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Bluesky Hostel
20.14 USD

Hostel 82.1% 1348 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
30.22 USD

Hostel 87.1% 301 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
23.00 USD

Hotel 81.8% 33 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
16.79 USD

Hostel 81.9% 1703 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
13.43 USD

Hotel 83.3% 85 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
33.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 207 reviews
devoncove hotel
30.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Merchant City Inn
44.77 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.0% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

1047 out of 1178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'McLays Guest House'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 841 of 906 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronika Schubert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful receptionist who gave me a very useful city map on arrival lovely lovely cooked breakfast (plus the usual choice of muesli, and juice) served by lovely people my single room had a telly, a sink and everything to make yourself a cup of tea the shared bathroom was clean and well equipped

Disliked: --

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good breakfast and central location for access to city centre.

Disliked: Not really a dislike but the premises could have been done with freshen up decor wise and access for anyone disabled would have been a problem.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

jeremie lamart

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2012 jeremie would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was really kind, and the location is super convenient.

Disliked: Single rooms are way too small, the shared washroom was a mess, and the breakfast wasn't my taste.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diem Anh Le

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Diem Anh would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice breakfast. The bathroom (we had an ensuite room) was clean and in an unexpectedly good condition

Disliked: The walls were a little thin so that if you had neighbours that liked to argue the whole night (who we had), you could listen to their discussion precisely. And to everything else they were doing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing value for money - Great COOKED Breakfast all came included in the price. We were so over hostels and this was not much more than the cost of a dorm - Perfect for if you just want to chill out with a tv and a comfy bed! Very impressed with the young guy behind the counter who was so friendly and helpful and the lovely lady in the breakfast room who served us efficiently with a smile. DEFINATELY stay here if you are in Glasgow. Oh and early check-in/late check out is an absolute bonus. Thank-you so much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Hudson

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 February 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Location/staff

Disliked: Smell of smoke (from years gone by?)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location as well as that amazingly awesome shower on the first floor - best shower in the UK!! Staff were friendly & helpful and breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: WiFi was available only in the diningroom, which could be inconvenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really easy to find and was in a great location. It is right in one of the major shopping areas and also one of the major areas for night life. It is not too far from one of their underground stops which is convenient as well. The staff was very friendly while we were there. The room was quite nice and the bathroom was clean as well. We did not make it to breakfast because they stop serving at 9:30 but again, not hard to find a place to eat in the area. I highly recommend.

Disliked: The room was cold. The heater was on full blast but the room was still quite cold. There were enough blankets so that we were not cold while sleeping however.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: Slightly run-down

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

anthony kerrigan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2012

Liked: the location is the only thing i like about this shit hole never there is cheaper hotels then the price i paid for this

Disliked: very old inside breakfast very very basic for the price paid bed very hard ensuite room very small have stayed in nicer cheaper hostels

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! However I believe that the best part of this hostel is the location. Mclays is very close to nightclubs, centre and shopping areas of Glasgow.

Disliked: The room was very cold. The heaters are very close positioned to the doors so the room does not heat very well. The windows are probably not properly sealed so the cold comes in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was made to order and very delicious! The beds were comfy, the staff was friendly and helpful. A great value!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marc Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

07 December 2011 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff and the rooms, as well as the breakfast. I especially thought the shower was good. In fact the shower was brilliant.

Disliked: Needs a slight renovation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very reasonable price for good-sized ensuite bedroom and an excellent breakfast. Reception staff competent, friendly, and helpful. Brilliant central location near the Glasgow School of Art and Sauchiehall Street. Would happily recommend it to anyone wanting a cheap comfortable hotel.

Disliked: Our ground floor room was vulnerable to noise from passing residents and staff early in the morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

E Yang Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 E Yang would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were very kind, Breakfast was good. Excellent location, short walk to art museum and even People's Palace. Got ourselves a family room and we're very happy with the time spent in McLay's Guest House. High Value for money!! Highly recommended!!

Disliked: No free internet

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philipp Höhne

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2011 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: It was like I expected it.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance form the bus station. Nice and friendly staff. Quiet.

Disliked: View from the window but It's not a problem. Glasgow has much more offer than staring from the window.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, large and high quality breakfast, storage og bags after checking out was useful, map of Glasgow was provided.

Disliked: Walls and doors were a bit tattered

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness of the property

Disliked: everything was great

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011

Liked: not clean, room smelly and people noisy in the hallway outside room at 3am in morning really loud!!!

Disliked: General Atmosphere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good breakfast, just one block from a party mile

Disliked: no free parking close by

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Cairns

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 October 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Good Breakfast

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service and the proximity of all the touristic places.

Disliked: Only shared bathrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011

Liked: no

Disliked: bathroom, TV

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty quiet and, at the same time, very convenient to the main thoroughfare and shopping area as well as many other places of interest.

Disliked: The hilly area that had to be negotiated to get to the Hotel is quite daunting, not for myself but my friend who experienced some difficulty.