We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of McLays Guest House

Hostel | 264-276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TT

81.7% Overall Rating

1055 out of 1188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Michael Mckinley thinks…

"Cheap,cheerful, and clean rooms. Very old fashioned but if it's just a bed and breakfast for the night you want with no luxuries then it's perfect."

Read all McLays Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All group reservations (more than 5 people) will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit and, at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not. We don't accept stag parties, birthday parties or soccer related groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Charing Cross Guest House
28.40 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
39.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 112 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 63.8% 1397 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
26.52 USD

Hostel 89.9% 309 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
22.23 USD

Hotel 82.3% 36 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
16.23 USD

Hostel 74.9% 1760 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
15.42 USD

Hotel 73.5% 125 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
28.40 USD

Hostel 79.1% 217 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

1055 out of 1188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'McLays Guest House'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 848 of 916 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and helpful staff, no curfew, nice location right on the outskirts of the busy centre.

Disliked: Only real criticism is the lack of wifi access outside of the designated room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Green

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly, even when we had to make changes to our booking.

Disliked: Be very cautious with the parking in the area. Make sure you have a ticket (purchase from reception) and park in an area where the hotel staff agree is ok. Generally avoid single or double yellow lines and you should be ok, unless your parking warden is bored and gives you a ticket anyway,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Stephanie Staples

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 March 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast in the morning

Disliked: The halls smelled a bit, and it didn't seem like the most cleanly place

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali Shreif

Alone

Events / festivals

22 March 2012 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, generous breakfast.

Disliked: Beds could definitely be more comfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice calm bedroom, awesome breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nataliya Shipilova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Nataliya would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb - near the North Bridge and train station, so you're close to everything. There's also a very good live music bar just in the same building. The hostel is very clean and tidy and the staff is really nice and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura Götz

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 March 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: condition of the building (cracks in walls, sinks, on the floor)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronika Schubert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful receptionist who gave me a very useful city map on arrival lovely lovely cooked breakfast (plus the usual choice of muesli, and juice) served by lovely people my single room had a telly, a sink and everything to make yourself a cup of tea the shared bathroom was clean and well equipped

Disliked: --

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good breakfast and central location for access to city centre.

Disliked: Not really a dislike but the premises could have been done with freshen up decor wise and access for anyone disabled would have been a problem.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

jeremie lamart

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2012 jeremie would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was really kind, and the location is super convenient.

Disliked: Single rooms are way too small, the shared washroom was a mess, and the breakfast wasn't my taste.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diem Anh Le

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Diem Anh would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice breakfast. The bathroom (we had an ensuite room) was clean and in an unexpectedly good condition

Disliked: The walls were a little thin so that if you had neighbours that liked to argue the whole night (who we had), you could listen to their discussion precisely. And to everything else they were doing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing value for money - Great COOKED Breakfast all came included in the price. We were so over hostels and this was not much more than the cost of a dorm - Perfect for if you just want to chill out with a tv and a comfy bed! Very impressed with the young guy behind the counter who was so friendly and helpful and the lovely lady in the breakfast room who served us efficiently with a smile. DEFINATELY stay here if you are in Glasgow. Oh and early check-in/late check out is an absolute bonus. Thank-you so much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Hudson

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 February 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Location/staff

Disliked: Smell of smoke (from years gone by?)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location as well as that amazingly awesome shower on the first floor - best shower in the UK!! Staff were friendly & helpful and breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: WiFi was available only in the diningroom, which could be inconvenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really easy to find and was in a great location. It is right in one of the major shopping areas and also one of the major areas for night life. It is not too far from one of their underground stops which is convenient as well. The staff was very friendly while we were there. The room was quite nice and the bathroom was clean as well. We did not make it to breakfast because they stop serving at 9:30 but again, not hard to find a place to eat in the area. I highly recommend.

Disliked: The room was cold. The heater was on full blast but the room was still quite cold. There were enough blankets so that we were not cold while sleeping however.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: Slightly run-down

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

anthony kerrigan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2012

Liked: the location is the only thing i like about this shit hole never there is cheaper hotels then the price i paid for this

Disliked: very old inside breakfast very very basic for the price paid bed very hard ensuite room very small have stayed in nicer cheaper hostels

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! However I believe that the best part of this hostel is the location. Mclays is very close to nightclubs, centre and shopping areas of Glasgow.

Disliked: The room was very cold. The heaters are very close positioned to the doors so the room does not heat very well. The windows are probably not properly sealed so the cold comes in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was made to order and very delicious! The beds were comfy, the staff was friendly and helpful. A great value!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marc Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

07 December 2011 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff and the rooms, as well as the breakfast. I especially thought the shower was good. In fact the shower was brilliant.

Disliked: Needs a slight renovation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very reasonable price for good-sized ensuite bedroom and an excellent breakfast. Reception staff competent, friendly, and helpful. Brilliant central location near the Glasgow School of Art and Sauchiehall Street. Would happily recommend it to anyone wanting a cheap comfortable hotel.

Disliked: Our ground floor room was vulnerable to noise from passing residents and staff early in the morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

E Yang Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 E Yang would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were very kind, Breakfast was good. Excellent location, short walk to art museum and even People's Palace. Got ourselves a family room and we're very happy with the time spent in McLay's Guest House. High Value for money!! Highly recommended!!

Disliked: No free internet

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philipp Höhne

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2011 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: It was like I expected it.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance form the bus station. Nice and friendly staff. Quiet.

Disliked: View from the window but It's not a problem. Glasgow has much more offer than staring from the window.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, large and high quality breakfast, storage og bags after checking out was useful, map of Glasgow was provided.

Disliked: Walls and doors were a bit tattered