We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of McLays Guest House

Hostel | 264-276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TT

79.0% Overall Rating

1057 out of 1191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2015)

Bernard Fahey thinks…

"The staff (particularly Mary) were very friendly and were able to listen to my bad jokes which is always good. Very nice atmosphere and great service. Would recommend anyone to stay there."

Read all McLays Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All group reservations (more than 5 people) will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit and, at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not. We don't accept stag parties, birthday parties or soccer related groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Charing Cross Guest House
22.44 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
25.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
16.46 USD

Hostel 71.0% 1403 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
22.44 USD

Hostel 88.0% 317 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
22.44 USD

Hotel 82.4% 39 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
17.95 USD

Hostel 79.0% 1780 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
11.97 USD

Hotel 74.3% 142 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
22.44 USD

Hostel 76.9% 219 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

1057 out of 1191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'McLays Guest House'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 851 of 919 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

George Ivanoff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2012 George would recommend this property

Liked: People at the front desk were very helpful.

Disliked: Just that it seemed to be a little outdated.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irena Coufalova

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Irena would recommend this property

Liked: It was my fifth stay in this guest house and whenever I visit Glasgow in the future I intend to stay there. It is also the friendly atmosphere that I enjoy there.

Disliked: It is necessary to comprehend that for a low price you cannot expect a kind of "Ritz accomodation". The only thing I would mention is the fact that prices on weekend days are now the same as those for weekdays. which maybe a disadvantage for the guest house in the future.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is very delicious.

Disliked: The shower facilities are limited

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and organised. The breakfast is delicious.

Disliked: It is not exactly at the city centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lina Handyna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: very homey place.... clean old house

Disliked: u have to climb the street to get there....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Valinsky

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Family Holiday

09 July 2012 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, clean room.

Disliked: Nothing. It wasn't a palace, but you get what you pay for! Great bang for your buck.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and nice staff free breakfast in the morning was good as

Disliked: shower was horrible

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hongliang Chen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 June 2012 Hongliang would recommend this property

Liked: Staff there are very friendly and the location is quiet and nice.

Disliked: Not as clean as I expected, but clean enough. It is refurnishing, so not good smell at this moment.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012

Liked: Close to stations and shopping.

Disliked: No WiFi, limited tv channels, it is definitely uphill. The decor tired and in need of refurbishment. Definitely budget accomodation .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012

Liked: Perfect breakfast!

Disliked: A strange smell in the house!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location.

Disliked: Bathroom door did not lock properly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room, good Scottish breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alex Tizzard

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value, character, staff was very helpful, generally clean, well-located (max 20 minute walk from most sites + train/bus stations)

Disliked: Entire location was a bit 'tired' with musty smell (i.e. could use some updating..)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff went out of their way to help. very friendly and efficient. good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012

Liked: Fairly close to town,

Disliked: WiFi only works in dining room/ kitchen next to reception. Feels like living in a rabbit warren. Standard of accomodation is tired, old and basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a tiny-bit more expensive than a dorm room, you get a private with a tv/heater and huge free breakfast. Great for those who can share the costs of a private and are looking for a good/uninterrupted sleep (which can be difficult in hostel dorms). Good location, helpful staff. Was a much needed break from dorm-rooms, but still well in our budget!

Disliked: Doesn't have activities on offer or kitchen facilities. It's not really set up as a hostel, but is a great 'guesthouse'!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edit Kiraly

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Edit would recommend this property

Liked: It was superb! Close enough to city centre, easy to find following the instructions written on their web site. The room was great, a big airy single with everything necessary, warm and clean, fresh towels every day, shared bathroom right next door to the room, big and comfortable as well. Staff welcoming lovely and helpful, as I stayed for 4 days they even know just by looking at me in which room I was in. Breakfast was very delicious! After all it was more like a hotel than a hostel or guest house, was worth the price. I would definitely recommend to everyone who is searching for a great accomodation in Glasgow. p.s.: I marked yes at the 7th Q, but to be honest I didn't really pay attention to this detail so I'm just assuming that HostelBookers was promoted.

Disliked: The one thing that annoyed me a bit, that in the shared bathroom the bathtub wasn't cleaned properly. Though I think if I can remove my hair out of the plughole, others could do too after they finished...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is very near from the city centre!

Disliked: the parking space is very limited

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Price, solid location near a bunch of bars and clubs, though the main center is 15 minutes away. Breakfast is quite good.

Disliked: Breakfast between 7-9. Wifi only in dining room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mustafa YILDIZ

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

20 April 2012 Mustafa would recommend this property

Liked: everything was very nice..no problem at all..

Disliked: nothing..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise Berglund

Alone

Business / conference

16 April 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place and very good value for money. The staff is really sweet and helpful, the breakfast plentiful and served in nice dining rooms, and the location is very good. I think that from whichever room you look you have an attractive view. There is a nice terrace outside where people sat and had a drink or just reading. The rooms are very good as well. It's perfectly located.

Disliked: Perhaps a luggage storage room would be good. Otherwise I can't think of anything! Obviously at that price it isn't the Hilton, but the charm of that is undeniable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Murray

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, friendly staff, smashing location, clean room with good cleaning services.

Disliked: The shower in our room seemed to be connected to the supply for the next one, so when the 'neighbours' turned the cold tap on I was scalded. Only happened once though so no big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miaoqing Yang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Miaoqing would recommend this property

Liked: Good hotel, big room and delicious breakfast.

Disliked: Miaoqing left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Charles Chua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012

Liked: The lady that served me during breakfast was friendly, and the receptionist was quite friendly too.

Disliked: It was old and dirty, the location was really bad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the room

Disliked: location