HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of McLays Guest House

Hostel | 264-276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TT

81.0% Overall Rating

1049 out of 1180 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"Quaint and welcoming atmosphere. Clean with helpful staff. Excellent breakfast included. Decent location."

Read all McLays Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All group reservations will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit & at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Bluesky Hostel
20.17 USD

Hostel 80.7% 1351 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
30.26 USD

Hostel 87.2% 302 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
23.03 USD

Hotel 81.8% 33 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
16.81 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1704 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
13.45 USD

Hotel 83.3% 85 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
33.62 USD

Hostel 82.3% 207 reviews
devoncove hotel
30.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Smiths Hotel
19.06 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

1049 out of 1180 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'McLays Guest House'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 843 of 908 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012

Liked: Close to stations and shopping.

Disliked: No WiFi, limited tv channels, it is definitely uphill. The decor tired and in need of refurbishment. Definitely budget accomodation .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012

Liked: Perfect breakfast!

Disliked: A strange smell in the house!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location.

Disliked: Bathroom door did not lock properly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room, good Scottish breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alex Tizzard

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value, character, staff was very helpful, generally clean, well-located (max 20 minute walk from most sites + train/bus stations)

Disliked: Entire location was a bit 'tired' with musty smell (i.e. could use some updating..)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff went out of their way to help. very friendly and efficient. good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012

Liked: Fairly close to town,

Disliked: WiFi only works in dining room/ kitchen next to reception. Feels like living in a rabbit warren. Standard of accomodation is tired, old and basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a tiny-bit more expensive than a dorm room, you get a private with a tv/heater and huge free breakfast. Great for those who can share the costs of a private and are looking for a good/uninterrupted sleep (which can be difficult in hostel dorms). Good location, helpful staff. Was a much needed break from dorm-rooms, but still well in our budget!

Disliked: Doesn't have activities on offer or kitchen facilities. It's not really set up as a hostel, but is a great 'guesthouse'!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edit Kiraly

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Edit would recommend this property

Liked: It was superb! Close enough to city centre, easy to find following the instructions written on their web site. The room was great, a big airy single with everything necessary, warm and clean, fresh towels every day, shared bathroom right next door to the room, big and comfortable as well. Staff welcoming lovely and helpful, as I stayed for 4 days they even know just by looking at me in which room I was in. Breakfast was very delicious! After all it was more like a hotel than a hostel or guest house, was worth the price. I would definitely recommend to everyone who is searching for a great accomodation in Glasgow. p.s.: I marked yes at the 7th Q, but to be honest I didn't really pay attention to this detail so I'm just assuming that HostelBookers was promoted.

Disliked: The one thing that annoyed me a bit, that in the shared bathroom the bathtub wasn't cleaned properly. Though I think if I can remove my hair out of the plughole, others could do too after they finished...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is very near from the city centre!

Disliked: the parking space is very limited

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Price, solid location near a bunch of bars and clubs, though the main center is 15 minutes away. Breakfast is quite good.

Disliked: Breakfast between 7-9. Wifi only in dining room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mustafa YILDIZ

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

20 April 2012 Mustafa would recommend this property

Liked: everything was very nice..no problem at all..

Disliked: nothing..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise Berglund

Alone

Business / conference

16 April 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place and very good value for money. The staff is really sweet and helpful, the breakfast plentiful and served in nice dining rooms, and the location is very good. I think that from whichever room you look you have an attractive view. There is a nice terrace outside where people sat and had a drink or just reading. The rooms are very good as well. It's perfectly located.

Disliked: Perhaps a luggage storage room would be good. Otherwise I can't think of anything! Obviously at that price it isn't the Hilton, but the charm of that is undeniable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Murray

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, friendly staff, smashing location, clean room with good cleaning services.

Disliked: The shower in our room seemed to be connected to the supply for the next one, so when the 'neighbours' turned the cold tap on I was scalded. Only happened once though so no big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miaoqing Yang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Miaoqing would recommend this property

Liked: Good hotel, big room and delicious breakfast.

Disliked: Miaoqing left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Charles Chua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012

Liked: The lady that served me during breakfast was friendly, and the receptionist was quite friendly too.

Disliked: It was old and dirty, the location was really bad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the room

Disliked: location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and a nice comfy room

Disliked: Nothing really, all good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really amazing value for the price, especially considering the location. One of the main streets in Glasgow is less than 5 mins away. Staff was generally helpful and very friendly, and the breakfast was way more than you would normally get as a free hostel breakfast. The building itself is pretty bizarre looking, and it´s definitely seen better days, but don´t let it put you off. It´s very charming in its own way and everything was spotlessly clean.

Disliked: We couldn´t seem to get into the lounge (but we also didn´t try very hard or ask the staff) and wireless is only available in the dining room. Not a big deal though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and helpful staff, no curfew, nice location right on the outskirts of the busy centre.

Disliked: Only real criticism is the lack of wifi access outside of the designated room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Green

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly, even when we had to make changes to our booking.

Disliked: Be very cautious with the parking in the area. Make sure you have a ticket (purchase from reception) and park in an area where the hotel staff agree is ok. Generally avoid single or double yellow lines and you should be ok, unless your parking warden is bored and gives you a ticket anyway,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Stephanie Staples

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 March 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast in the morning

Disliked: The halls smelled a bit, and it didn't seem like the most cleanly place

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali Shreif

Alone

Events / festivals

22 March 2012 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, generous breakfast.

Disliked: Beds could definitely be more comfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice calm bedroom, awesome breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.