We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of McLays Guest House

Hostel | 264-276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TT

79.0% Overall Rating

1057 out of 1191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2015)

Bernard Fahey thinks…

"The staff (particularly Mary) were very friendly and were able to listen to my bad jokes which is always good. Very nice atmosphere and great service. Would recommend anyone to stay there."

Read all McLays Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All group reservations (more than 5 people) will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit and, at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not. We don't accept stag parties, birthday parties or soccer related groups.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Charing Cross Guest House
27.54 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
34.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
16.83 USD

Hostel 66.6% 1412 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
22.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 321 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
22.95 USD

Hostel 80.3% 1784 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
15.30 USD

Hotel 76.7% 146 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
22.95 USD

Hostel 76.9% 219 reviews
devoncove hotel
37.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

1057 out of 1191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'McLays Guest House'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 851 of 919 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shirley Oliver

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 Shirley would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast ticked all the boxes, I will use mcclays again

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Knights

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 April 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Was freindly and helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. Good choice

Disliked: There was nothing to complain about

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was nice. And is on a quiet street for those that don't want noise.

Disliked: Bathroom/Toilet has a big glass wall. Tinted glass, but still anyone can be seen from outside (room) when on the toilet or even shower. Not much privacy there. Ceiling bit moulded. Hot water is actually cold water tap, had to call someone to get it to work. One of the receptionist very not friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devendrakumar Muralimohan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Devendrakumar would recommend this property

Liked: Very good accomodation

Disliked: Devendrakumar left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Creffield

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

13 March 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and gave me great tips for meals out especially the Indian Rawlipandi (not sure of the spelling).....one of the best curries Ive ever had!!!

Disliked: The corridors were a bit drab and needed a lick of paint but that was a minor dislike. The room was lovely and had everything you would want.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013

Liked: Nice bed.

Disliked: WiFi did not work on the room and the lady was very rude

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, amazing value for money, great service, great location

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephen Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff were funny and helpful.

Disliked: No wireless internet in the rooms, and the internet in the lobby was very slow.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kari Jokelainen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Kari would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Kari left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Malins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and free cooked breakfast.

Disliked: Very old place however there was building going on when we stayed. Walls are paper thin, can hear everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the building is well located and within an easy 10 minute walk to the shops and bars. The rooms were clean and I would recommend choosing a room with a private toilet and shower.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helyn Long

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 January 2013 Helyn would recommend this property

Liked: Very handy location and very very friendly and helpful staff. Good value!

Disliked: Helyn left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The property could have been cleaner

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very kind and helpfull. The breakfast was includied and it was a real breakfast not just some toast.

Disliked: That we don't have a real keetchen to cook by ourselves (but the staff open the hostel keetchen for us so it was quite nice!). The clock of the breakfast was to short (7 to 9).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city & bars, the staff were nice. Great place to stay

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast Tv Large room Amazing private bathroom

Disliked: Wifi was broken

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Tinker

Alone

Business / conference

03 November 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, staff friendly, breakfast was fine.

Disliked: The desk staff didn't always ask for identity to reclaim your room key so it was a bit worrying. The main annoyance was that the internet was turned off during breakfast (6-9:30) everyday. I know we're all a bit too "plugged in" these days to the internet,mobiles etc, so I don't have a major issue with that, but more that the router is in the dining room, and it's about the only place you can get a signal. If you did need to check your e-mail etc in the morning you couldn't, when it could easily be put in the TV lounge where you wouldn't bother anyone.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, yum breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia A Kilby-Story

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 October 2012 Patricia A would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, wonderful and friendly staff who were always pleasant, interested and helpful!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, close to the city centre and some great pubs and restaurants. Try Kama Sutra Indian restaurant nearby (don't be put off by the name!). Rooms clean, comfortable and fairly spacious. Staff friendly. Wifi good, but only available in the dining room.

Disliked: The breakfast was great on our first morning, but on the second morning our breakfast was swimming in oil. Don't let this deter you from staying at Mclays, because this was a very minor detail. Everything else was great. Although, I would be happy to wait a little while for breakfast to be freshly cooked, rather than being pre cooked and kept warm.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2012

Liked: not much.

Disliked: staff very unfriendly and unhelpful.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

robert slight

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2012 robert would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and atmosphere were really great. It was quite peaceful which I really appreciated. The breakfast was good, the room very nice. The staff was amazingly friendly and I really enjoyed my stay there. I will stay there again next time I'm in Glasgow!

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good night sleep in an old house

Disliked: wifi only downstairs