HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

McLays Guest House

Guesthouse

264-276, Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 84%

Safety 79%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Cots available
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Important Information

All group reservations (more than 5 people) will be contacted by the property to determine the nature of their visit and, at that stage, the property will decide if it wishes to accept the reservation or not. We don't accept stag parties, birthday parties or soccer related groups.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 84%

Safety 79%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

Showing 21-30 of 57 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This was cheap and cheerful, very clean, very cheap, central. Staff were lovely. No curfew, breakfast included, very comfy beds. If you take this accommodation for what it is you won't be disappointed. Would defo stay here again. My American friend was also very happy with it. :) No complaints.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: we liked the location of the property.also the size of the room was very good.bathroom was very spacious and modern. We were fully accommodated and the staff were very helpful in anything that we required . Was a very pleasant stay and very good value for money.would definitely go back to stay again

Disliked: The only thing would be the fact that you had to go into the dining room if you wanted to be connected to wifi which was a bit of an inconvenience

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean, comfortable room, tv lounge, good english breakfast, friendly reception & we couls leave our luggage after checking out :)

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Could have been cleanier

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Basic Room. Friendly staff.

Disliked: -Nil-

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: As hostel travellers we were excited that this deceivingly large hostel provided individual rooms with private ensuite bathrooms. The facilities were quiet and with a late check-out time we were able to explore the necropolis in the morning prior to checking out. The security at the desk and leave-your-key policy made us feel safe knowing someone was always there.

Disliked: The only downside was the distance to walk with our luggage from the bus station late at night in an unfamiliar town. Otherwise this hostel was definitely worh the price paid - a good hostel for the basic traveller.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, hot water, breakfast was included (though it was a more typical Scottish breakfast of beans, toast, sausage, pancake and fried egg that might not be everyone's favorite!).

Disliked: Everything was very average, almost no character in the hostel. If I didn't have another option, I wouldn't mind staying there again, especially for the price. But I would probably try something different. It was very average.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place, good value for money. Nice full breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a 5-10 minute walk from the Glasgow bus station. Reasonable prices.

Disliked: Wifi only available in the lounge and not in rooms. Staff were nice but could have been warmer

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice rooms for the price. Great breakfast included, and friendly staff. Tough to get a cheaper double room in Glasgow. Simple, as advertized, and quiet.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability