We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

67.0% Overall Rating

995 out of 1439 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Isabelle Stacey thinks…

"The staff were super friendly and helpful. Although they pack a lot of beds in a room there was a lot of space still. There was a kitchen."

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions! Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions. We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable. We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard. Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled. For security, each guest must have a key. Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
23.18 USD

Hostel 82.6% 323 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
27.05 USD

Hostel 78.9% 220 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
29.37 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
devoncove hotel
37.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
23.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.9% 4 reviews
McLays Guest House
27.05 USD

Hostel 77.8% 1192 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
37.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
28.10 USD

Hostel 78.2% 200 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.0%

Overall Rating

995 out of 1439 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
68.8%
Value
70.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 875 of 964 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brodie Gillieatt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2015

Liked: Cheap price. Good kitchen

Disliked: For the 50 odd guests there was only one functioning shower so I had to wait an hour for one.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice mattresses and location

Disliked: Toilets could be nicer

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 August 2015

Liked: Lounge

Disliked: Dirty bathroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LEE RANSOOK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015 LEE would recommend this property

Liked: clean & freindly

Disliked: Second bilding is not better than main bilding. Main has kichin and other space. It was not good whether in Glasgow.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Isabelle Stacey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and helpful. Although they pack a lot of beds in a room there was a lot of space still. There was a kitchen.

Disliked: The beds were outrageously squeaky. The showers were in a weird spot. It appears that some renovations were being done at some point but have since stopped. No wifi in the rooms across the road.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 August 2015

Liked: It was close to the Exhibition Centre, which is where I had to be every day.

Disliked: Everything else. It was dirty, it was hard to find a place to sit that wasn't grimy. There was no atmosphere at the place. It felt like I was staying at somebody's neglected basement. The staff was unhelpful and downright incompetent: I got conflicting information (about check-out times) during check-in and when I tried to ask which was correct I only got a bark back. Check-out was a 30 minute procedure because the receptionist couldn't figure out whether I was actually checked-in or not in the first place. A man who is presumably the owner of the hostel runs around all day swearing and complaining about everything being broken and done wrong by his staff (at least he's right about that...). I was housed in a different house to where the main reception is and there was no internet there. When I complained about it, I only got an indifferent shrug from the staff. One night, I was trying to go to the main building to use the internet there and it took me 20 minutes to be let in (the door was locked, the bell didn't work and the receptionist was too busy chatting with her friends to see me waving through the window). I actually checked-out early because I hated it so much.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2015

Liked: The location and price was fare for a hostel.

Disliked: Booked the triple room with 2 friends. The room itself was fine but the toilet/shower outside the room was broken gave off the most disgusting smell of sewage that leaked a little into the room. Plus the window in the room was broken and could not be opened! So glad we were only there for one night. The girl at reception even acknowledged the smell but couldn't do anything about it. After reading a review from the Wednesday (we stayed Saturday night) before our booking this smell was already there and they should have tried to fix it rather then nailing the door shut.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, met other great people and had a fantastic time. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good time.

Disliked: Shower was a little bit low pressure. Everything else was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Johnson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2015 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant social atmosphere! Comfy bed, spacious room, very clean, fun and friendly staff. Great location near to Sauchiehall Street and the West End. And it has a hot tub!!!

Disliked: Nothing much...I really liked staying here and will surely return.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chris stirling

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2015 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, safe and 2min walk from bars shops and cafes

Disliked: No curtans over window

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mary Killeen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: The hostel was largely filthy. The bathrooms were especially disgusting and the showers (only two for the entire building) were full of mildew and never dried out because there isn't proper ventilation. The oven in the kitchen is also a horrible fire hazard as both the top and bottom doors tend to randomly fall open. At one point when I was cooking on the stove top, an oven door, very hot from baking someone's dinner, actually hit me and burned my knee. The person at the front desk simply looked over and told me to kick it closed. Additionally there are no semblance of any rules for respecting fellow occupants. I like the rowdy hostel environment but when people are drinking and carrying on in the rooms at 2am, I am apt to be annoyed. Lastly, though the location is in fact good, the front desk people have zero recommendations for things to do in the area and are annoyed with questions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, stuff frienliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michaela Iglesia

Alone

City break

19 June 2015 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, friendly staff

Disliked: cold shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Fava

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2015 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chris Neitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2015

Liked: Staff was friendly

Disliked: Grungy feel Wall paper pealing graffiti on the walls

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Bernard Roberts

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 June 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bad place to stay and ruined our weekend staying here

The property's response is...

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 June 2015

Liked: Very little

Disliked: The staff management on arrival was extremely poor, booked a room for 4, was separated in a different building.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: None

Disliked: None

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015

Liked: Location isn't that bad.

Disliked: We arrived and were greeted by unfriendly staff who were reluctant to stop drinking and chatting with their friends then help us check in. The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms were dirty. They have only 2 acailable plugs in an 18 bed dorm room. They also do not have enough lockers for the amount of beds they provide, forcing us to carry our valuables all over town if we left the hostel.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 May 2015

Liked: Price

Disliked: Bunks make such noise every time you move, only 2 toilets for 3 or more rooms, noisy people complaining at 4am because their room got overbooked and they didn't have enough beds to stay, £5 deposit for the key, etc etc

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Merilovich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2015 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff like a little family. Great location!

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015

Liked: The wifi was good-although it sometimes disconnected randomly. The floor we were on was very quiet most of the time and the staff was helpful and friendly. Clean room and linens.

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny and only has one small stove with 4 burners. It was almost impossible to cook things at dinner times so we had to make dinner during lunch hours and then heat it up later. I had no idea how to turn on the bathroom stall lights so the majority of the time i was in the dark and the shower was also a mystery. You have to mop the floor when youre done showering because the water leaks out. The whole hostel seems to be under repair or half finished so it seems dirty.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rob Chilton

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2015 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fine - could walk both into the city centre and down to the river in about 25 minutes. Room was ok, beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The shower was awful. It had zero power and only had one temperature (boiling hot). Very unpleasant. The light in our room didn't work so we had to make do with a small lamp.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katja Palovaara

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 February 2015 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, cool people. Hostel was just the way I thought it would be. I hope they would fix the bathrooms tho.

Disliked: Both of the toilets were somehow broken - I got stuck in the other one. It was rather chilly in our room.