HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 46%

Location 69%

Safety 61%

Staff 62%

Value 61%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.41USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 46%

Location 69%

Safety 61%

Staff 62%

Value 61%

Showing 1-10 of 117 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Nothing I can say I "liked". The beds were alright.

Disliked: The rooms were dirty as were the halls. Bathrooms were surprisingly decent compared to the rest of the living areas. I thought I would catch a disease from the shower. Would not recommend staying here even if you're looking for the cheapest place. Health hazard.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Romantic getaway

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: very easy going, and handy,.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Absolutely nothing. We were not allowed to stay as we did not have valid ID. They would not accept driving licence. The hostel then kept the deposit AND charged us for the room even though the receptionist made it very clear when I asked there would NO charge for the room and re assured me everything would be fine. This did not happen and when I emailed the hostel they told me I "created the problem".

Disliked: The fact that the staff lied to me and took my money when they said I would not be charged for the room. Very unprofessional and they obviously only care about money. We were stranded with no accomodation after this. The only thing that gave me some comfort was that I was told I would not be charged for the room which was a blatant lie as they took my money. The email reply I got from the hostel displayed no empathy for the situation. I would not nearly be as frustrated if the receptionist had not LIED.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: a real travellers hostel

Disliked: nuthin

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks mate! this is what we try for!

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: true seasoned traveler atmosphere, pretty cheap for Glasgow, a lot of board games, good wifi in all of the hostel. cool graffiti art on the walls.

Disliked: anything in the communal area(kitchen, showers, toilets living room) was dirty and the whole place just feels unclean. the communal area is cramped and i was there when the hostel was half empty,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

This is a hostel mate not a boutique hotel with bunk beds.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Cheap, not too far from citu center.

Disliked: Not clean at all!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It,s not very noise like others hostels. I stayed for 4 days (2 just bymyself) and 2 with a couple. The building was located in front of the main hostels. When I arrived a guy was making the beds.Toiletts were clean and always were paper there.

Disliked: It was o.k. for me but the kitchen is very small in front of reception. The microwave is very cheap and it takes a long time to heat food.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location. Soe people of the staff that were very friendly. The fact that they have a kitchen.

Disliked: I thought the room had an esuite bathroom but it didnt. we had a room on the ground floor and it had no curtain. They didnt have security lockers to put bags, we had to leave them in a corner o the kitchen. And I would have loved they had maps of glasgow.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good

Disliked: bad

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It wasn't too far from the centre of Glasgow.

Disliked: The washing and toilet facilities were appalling. It wasn't the cleanest either. Bed sheets were ripped.

Check Availability