HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 49%

Location 74%

Safety 63%

Staff 66%

Value 65%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.30USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 49%

Location 74%

Safety 63%

Staff 66%

Value 65%

Showing 81-90 of 112 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff are friendly and helpful

Disliked: Mess everywhere and the entre door doesn't has lock

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A short walk from the cente of town

Disliked: If you want to stay in some we're clean don't stay here , the internet does not work in some rooms . The directions on how you get from the bus stops to the hostel are incorrect

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

If you want to be antisocial and sit in your room on your computer get a hotel room and sit in the toilet on wifi!
We make the common rooms for wifi. Bed rooms are for sleeping.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was great: they like a good time and are very helpful. Beforehand I'd read some terrible reviews about the rooms on the other side of the street; I was pleasantly surprised. The bunk beds were squeeky, otherwise, it was a fine place to sleep. What do you expect for the price?

Disliked: One thing particularly: one of the staff offered to order a cab for me, which was to take me to the airport at 4.30 in the morning. It didn't arrive and I had to get a cab a half hour later.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry about the taxi, we did our best.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were really friendly and welcoming. They made me feel like I was apart of their hostel family even though I was only there for 3 nights. The showers were always hot and at night i got a peaceful sleep. Bluesky hostel has a great atmosphere and I will definitely be back.

Disliked: The place does need a lot of work to it but you forget about it as soon as you settle in.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were friendly

Disliked: Very dated. Not very organized, new or very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I had a great time at this hostel - the staff were super friendly and helpful and there was always drinking games and fun people hanging in the common area. Great for people travelling alone.

Disliked: The bathrooms were absolutely terrible - only 1 working HOT shower in one of the buildings, the others did not heat up or did not turn on at all. All bathrooms and sink areas stunk of piss and were in need of a solid clean.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap accommodation. The building is run down and old and the wifi wasn't very reliable but it was cheap. 20min walk into town but some good bars around the area.

Disliked: Run down, the place needs some work

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms was nice and cozy.

Disliked: Extremely rude male staff. Very dirty and unsafe laundry room. There are 2 buildings of this hotel. The kitchen in the building which houses reception is okay. But the kitchen in other building is very dirty and bugs can be found everywhere. General lack of cleanliness.


The property's response is

You arrived a day late then demanded that the first day be deleted from the price you had to pay. The staff member you say was rude, was following the rules when he told you that you had to pay for the day. Why were you in the laundry room? It is clearly marked STAFF ONLY and you are certainly not staff. Your rating is based on Spite, because you didn't get your own way.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Quite convenient location and staff are super-friendly!

Disliked: Half of the electrical sockets weren't working in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Other bed dorms on the other side of the street. BIG lack of cleanliness in this building, bathroom... Happy to leave this place after 1 night in spite of the kind staff !

Check Availability