HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 46%

Location 71%

Safety 65%

Staff 62%

Value 61%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.56USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 46%

Location 71%

Safety 65%

Staff 62%

Value 61%

Showing 71-80 of 133 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Peter!

Disliked: unclean, shower = pathetic


The property's response is

There is only one Peter, leaving us a bad rating because you didnt get him is not fair!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Pleasant staff friendly atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Definitely close to the party area. Decently kept, value for money. A pretty decent place for a night out - a big common area which people do sometimes use (when I came in on Friday night, there were a huge number of people looking to go for a pub crawl). If you're here to party, this is probably where you want to go!

Disliked: On the other hand, this is not where you want to go if you want to sleep - incredibly thin walls mean that you can hear conversations not just in the corridors, but from the street! Pretty limited facilities - only enough room to store your valuables (locker rental for one pound), and only two showers in the entire building. But you get what you pay for.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

its a 200 year old brick building. if you can hear through the walls you must have bionic ears... there will be noise in any dormitory.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: This was one of the worst hostels I ever stayed. There are no lockers in the room and the room and kitchen was not clean. I had to ask the stuff to remove a bunch of cloths/shoes that a person who doesnt stay there anymore left behind, so I have space for my backpack. The stuff when we arrived were not helpfull, I asked them to vaccum the room, but nobody did it. The doors are old and they slam very loudly, when people come in during the night, you are deff wide awake. I would not recomend this place and I will never come back.


The property's response is

Are you kidding me?
This is not a hotel. there is no maid service!
Its a backpacker hostel you need to read. You were in a dorm with 8 other people. of coarse they will be moving in and out.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Internet included (no extra charge). Good internet connection. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about it.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff are friendly and helpful

Disliked: Mess everywhere and the entre door doesn't has lock

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A short walk from the cente of town

Disliked: If you want to stay in some we're clean don't stay here , the internet does not work in some rooms . The directions on how you get from the bus stops to the hostel are incorrect

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

If you want to be antisocial and sit in your room on your computer get a hotel room and sit in the toilet on wifi!
We make the common rooms for wifi. Bed rooms are for sleeping.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was great: they like a good time and are very helpful. Beforehand I'd read some terrible reviews about the rooms on the other side of the street; I was pleasantly surprised. The bunk beds were squeeky, otherwise, it was a fine place to sleep. What do you expect for the price?

Disliked: One thing particularly: one of the staff offered to order a cab for me, which was to take me to the airport at 4.30 in the morning. It didn't arrive and I had to get a cab a half hour later.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry about the taxi, we did our best.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were really friendly and welcoming. They made me feel like I was apart of their hostel family even though I was only there for 3 nights. The showers were always hot and at night i got a peaceful sleep. Bluesky hostel has a great atmosphere and I will definitely be back.

Disliked: The place does need a lot of work to it but you forget about it as soon as you settle in.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were friendly

Disliked: Very dated. Not very organized, new or very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability