HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

59.0% Overall Rating

961 out of 1374 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2014)

"Definitely close to the party area. Decently kept, value for money. A pretty decent place for a night out - a big common area which people do sometimes use (when I came in on Friday night, there were a huge number of…"

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Backpackers only. No people under 18 will be allowed. Late cancellations or no shows will be charged the full price of the first day of the booking Property will charge the credit card for the full amount upon booking if the booking is for 5 or more people Please note that as of April 01, 2011 our prices include VAT of 20%. Please note that after you have made a booking on www.hostelbookers.com with a debit card, the property will charge the full amount of your stay on your card."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
42.43 USD

Hostel 88.0% 307 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
33.94 USD

Hostel 78.7% 212 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
33.94 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
devoncove hotel
112.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Smiths Hotel
38.19 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
McLays Guest House
91.65 USD

Hostel 80.6% 1187 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
20.37 USD

Hotel 81.7% 35 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
48.22 USD

Hostel 77.9% 188 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.0%

Overall Rating

961 out of 1374 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
52.8%
Refine your results Showing 832 of 903 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The vibes. Very indie.

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011

Liked: free internet access

Disliked: it was quiet dirty. there seems to be staff living as well, played music till 5am very loudly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. Free internet and breakfast were both offered.

Disliked: We stayed in the hostel's second building which was separate from the main hostel, which whilst meaning we had plenty of space and no queues for the shower it meant we weren't part of the atmosphere.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly people and had adequate facilities

Disliked: Squeeky bedroom door and more stoves would be better but nothing fundamentally wrong

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alessandro Nicolo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: There is free wi-fi and is not too far from the center.

Disliked: The propriety is old and in renovation, we were guest in a room for 8 people to the other side of the way instead that in the hostel. Moreover, there was just a bathroom and there weren’t neither Wi-Fi nor a proper kitchen in the building we were in. When we asked to be moved our request was denied adding that all hostel was in the same conditions. If you don’t love animals avoid this hostel, there is a dog in the kitchen.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located close to the city centre and to public transport. Therefore advisable for backpackers.

Disliked: one small advise. put your nose into the microwave

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere and social areas

Disliked: n/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tristan RICHARD

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with a pleasant staff.

Disliked: Some locks aren't working.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emily Ralic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: There were two computers available for use, the rooms were comfortable, good place to meet other travelers

Disliked: It might have just been due to being in the midst of renovations, but the atmosphere felt like a construction site for the rooms across the street from the main building of the hostel.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Its dirty, smelly, far from the centre, the doors have no lock, no curtains,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

McKenzie Pesnell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 McKenzie would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed this hostel so much that we extended our visit by several nights! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and they are always around to help with whatever is needed. Really great music is played too which makes of a nice atmosphere. Kitchen is extremely accessible. Highly recommend that anyone going to Glasgow stay here!

Disliked: Everything was good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Doreen Chia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Doreen would recommend this property

Liked: location was good and shower facilities were good

Disliked: lockers didn't work so it didn't feel very safe, and alot of the hostel was undergoing renovation so had to step over pots of paint to get to the shower area.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very Friendly.

Disliked: none

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Juliet Mann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Juliet would recommend this property

Liked: Place has character and the staff were friendly. Great kitchen and also has washer and dryer. Common room is a good spot too especially with the internet

Disliked: beds were pretty average and some parts look like half finished projects otherwise could be a great hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

haruyo nakamura

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 haruyo would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff& cute dogs!! we are very relax in hostel!!

Disliked: we like!!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011

Liked: Loved the hostel dog.

Disliked: The hostel was filthy and there was visible mold (at least in the shower room we used). The mattress in our bed was broken which caused my back to ache, and I got a rash from the sheets. We weren't allowed to open the window in our double room and there was no air conditioning, which was very uncomfortable. There was no toilet in our floor. Some staff members came to our room without knocking, and they couldn't even explain why they came there due to their bad English. The wi-fi internet connection didn't work most of the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Comrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, great breakfast, brilliant location, friendly guests, unbeatable atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011

Liked: its cheap... beds are pretty comfy... internet is free!

Disliked: shower is small, no toilet on first floor, only on second.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly and accommodating, great location near nightlife.

Disliked: Not the cleanest/most modern property.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Colt Thibodeaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2011

Liked: Descent location

Disliked: Breakfast was simple, only 2 showers, guy punched through the window in the middle of the night n was rowdy, couldn't get online, etc...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price and cleaniliness

Disliked: maintenance work

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly guy at the reception made everything a lot more comfortable

Disliked: only one toilet worked

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfy, our room was clean, nice staff

Disliked: would have been cool with a common room for people to chat in

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 May 2011

Liked: near to the city centre and to the main bus/train stations

Disliked: toilets really really dirty, room...minimal

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011

Liked: Free internet and breakfast.

Disliked: - rooms, toilets, kitchen, location

The property's response is...