HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 48%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 63%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.31USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 48%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 63%

Value 62%

Showing 71-80 of 113 reviews

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing at all

Disliked: Paying that price to stay in a squat it's ridiculous and inadmissible


The property's response is

your taste out weighs your wallet my friend book a hotel next time.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Just bed room and bathroom

Disliked: Really rude staff. We were told the kitchen is free to use at any time but when we wanted to use it someone else told us it is not possible He also sweared so we could hear it and made us very uncomfortable by going around in the kitchen in a very grumpy way and throw things around It was ok for the price but I would exchange staff I have stayed in cheaper places but never experienced something comparable

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff are nice and the main hall area is rather hyped most of the time

Disliked: the security is low as the doors to the other buildings don't always close properly so anyone can enter, very run down rough type of place


The property's response is

the doors close fine! its up to you to make sure you close them when you leave the room. its not a complicated system.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and price can't be beat!

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Peter!

Disliked: unclean, shower = pathetic


The property's response is

There is only one Peter, leaving us a bad rating because you didnt get him is not fair!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Pleasant staff friendly atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Definitely close to the party area. Decently kept, value for money. A pretty decent place for a night out - a big common area which people do sometimes use (when I came in on Friday night, there were a huge number of people looking to go for a pub crawl). If you're here to party, this is probably where you want to go!

Disliked: On the other hand, this is not where you want to go if you want to sleep - incredibly thin walls mean that you can hear conversations not just in the corridors, but from the street! Pretty limited facilities - only enough room to store your valuables (locker rental for one pound), and only two showers in the entire building. But you get what you pay for.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

its a 200 year old brick building. if you can hear through the walls you must have bionic ears... there will be noise in any dormitory.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: This was one of the worst hostels I ever stayed. There are no lockers in the room and the room and kitchen was not clean. I had to ask the stuff to remove a bunch of cloths/shoes that a person who doesnt stay there anymore left behind, so I have space for my backpack. The stuff when we arrived were not helpfull, I asked them to vaccum the room, but nobody did it. The doors are old and they slam very loudly, when people come in during the night, you are deff wide awake. I would not recomend this place and I will never come back.


The property's response is

Are you kidding me?
This is not a hotel. there is no maid service!
Its a backpacker hostel you need to read. You were in a dorm with 8 other people. of coarse they will be moving in and out.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Internet included (no extra charge). Good internet connection. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about it.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff are friendly and helpful

Disliked: Mess everywhere and the entre door doesn't has lock

Check Availability