We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

64.7% Overall Rating

975 out of 1398 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/12/2014)

Scott McCarthy thinks…

"Great location near a lot of pubs and bars, friendly staff who knew the city which is helpful if you have some trouble understanding the Scottish language as I did, comfortable bed, great value for…"

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

ID is required at check in. Passport or EU card are the only form of identification we accept. Driving licence student card or bank cards not accepted as I.D. Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions. For groups larger than 8 people we require full payment 1 week in advance. We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard. Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled. For security, each guest must have a key. Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required. All group bookings will be charged a security deposit of £300.00 to cover any damage that occurs during the stay, this will be refunded if no damage occurs

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
27.59 USD

Hostel 89.4% 310 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
28.40 USD

Hostel 77.8% 218 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
21.65 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
devoncove hotel
31.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
18.40 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
McLays Guest House
25.97 USD

Hostel 81.7% 1188 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
22.72 USD

Hotel 82.1% 37 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
28.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 113 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.7%

Overall Rating

975 out of 1398 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 848 of 923 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location to city centre, free wifi, large kitchen, helpfull staff, good beds

Disliked: a little dirty, cramped rooms, average atmosphere, only 1 shower on each floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

scott watters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 scott would recommend this property

Liked: very homely and welcoming

Disliked: that i wasn't staying longer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NAZANIN SHIRZADI

Alone

Business / conference

24 September 2011 NAZANIN would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and comfortable hostel, I like it, next time I prefer to go there again.

Disliked: I have not been told that the rooms in the hostel are mixed.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Cara Brighton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011

Liked: Friendly visitors, free breakfast and wifi

Disliked: Bunk beds stood on books to stabilize, beds were cheap, creaky metal, you could feel the springs through the mattress, shower did not work, holes in walls/ceiling, not well kept

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Noisy beds, not very clean, strange atmosphere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steven Lofthouse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen, free wifi, alright breakfast

Disliked: A bit of a walk from the train and bus stations but it is at least walkable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to the University and city centre, the clean showers and toilets, the fact that I could leave my laptop in my shared room without worries, the lovely doggy in the lobby, the wireless that I could access from my room, the nice Danish girl that went to get me a spare key when I locked myself out of my room while in a shower towel :D

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly and particularly the dark guy is very helpful and nice!!

Disliked: I liked everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the names of the rooms free internet access

Disliked: reception is small and dark a bit far from the bus station

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen, free internet, very nice and helpful staff...

Disliked: --

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. The showers have been new and clean and were a positive experience.

Disliked: There are no electrical sockets at all in the rooms.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Mendes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the kitchen

Disliked: Room was a bit small for 6 people and the window had no curtains.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011

Liked: The location is right, as it is not far from bus and railway stations and also near from University campus and commercial centers.

Disliked: Bathroom was deteriorated and old. Beds were also old and they made a lot of noise. When someone in the bedroom moved, everybody in the bed woken up!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Majed Yassine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2011 Majed would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere where i did not find myself odd at all ,the staff has been welcoming and caring and really helpful,I came without even planning for my trip in Scotland but i enjoyed it with their guidance for where i might go or do.

Disliked: the dorm's window and curtains as they were totally unstable and we were not allowed to open them

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Richardson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The individuality of the hotel. The staff. The common area. I had such a fun time staying in Glasgow and at Bluesky. I met someone new every single night, hardly got any sleep due to interesting conversation, drinking and just a dandy ol' time. Good times.

Disliked: ...cleanliness was alright. not the best, but easily livable.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The vibes. Very indie.

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011

Liked: free internet access

Disliked: it was quiet dirty. there seems to be staff living as well, played music till 5am very loudly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. Free internet and breakfast were both offered.

Disliked: We stayed in the hostel's second building which was separate from the main hostel, which whilst meaning we had plenty of space and no queues for the shower it meant we weren't part of the atmosphere.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly people and had adequate facilities

Disliked: Squeeky bedroom door and more stoves would be better but nothing fundamentally wrong

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alessandro Nicolo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: There is free wi-fi and is not too far from the center.

Disliked: The propriety is old and in renovation, we were guest in a room for 8 people to the other side of the way instead that in the hostel. Moreover, there was just a bathroom and there weren’t neither Wi-Fi nor a proper kitchen in the building we were in. When we asked to be moved our request was denied adding that all hostel was in the same conditions. If you don’t love animals avoid this hostel, there is a dog in the kitchen.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located close to the city centre and to public transport. Therefore advisable for backpackers.

Disliked: one small advise. put your nose into the microwave

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere and social areas

Disliked: n/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tristan RICHARD

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with a pleasant staff.

Disliked: Some locks aren't working.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emily Ralic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: There were two computers available for use, the rooms were comfortable, good place to meet other travelers

Disliked: It might have just been due to being in the midst of renovations, but the atmosphere felt like a construction site for the rooms across the street from the main building of the hostel.