HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 46%

Location 69%

Safety 61%

Staff 62%

Value 61%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.41USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 46%

Location 69%

Safety 61%

Staff 62%

Value 61%

Showing 61-70 of 117 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: the location is excellent- very nearby to two trainstations. a 24h tescos very nearby also, and with a full self catering kitchen at the hostel this is very convenient. I stayed in a double private room; it was basic but what more could you ask for considering the price! The staff where super friendly and accommodating. I would not hesitate to recommending this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: There were few drawbacks during my stay. It does what it says on the tin!The rooms were reasonably clean, as were the bathrooms. The bed however was incredibly squeaky! one small movement during the night and you woke yourself up.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Convenience, location, and extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Broken toilet and shower. Loud 5:00 a.m. roommates.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Grotty, uncomfortable, wires coming out of walls everywhere, mouldy bathrooms, only 1 working shower in the building, aggressive, foul mouthed staff & at 2am there were people having to change beds & rooms about which woke everyone else up. No light switch in the room nevermind a plug socket! Bed was a foam mattress which didn't even cover the springs. Place is a health hazard. AVOID. AVOID. AVOID! (And I paid £100 for the 'pleasure' of renting out 1 bunkbed for 2 of us in a shared dorm)


The property's response is

Here we have a embellished complaint. the people who were moved in the room was the night before you were here so why are you talking about it? There are no springs in the bed the foam hospital quality mattresses were just bought new for the games we replaced all mattresses in the hostel... there is at least 1 shower on every floor in the building. because you didn't ask were they were don't assume if you cant ask. £100 for one bunk is total fiction! Thanks for making me famous!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Liked that the bathroom was seperate

Disliked: The kitchen area was quite small and unfortunately access to some of the rooms was through the kitchen first

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free use of computers, pretty good location

Disliked: It was very dirty, used tissues and other rubbish strewed under my bed. Filthy bathrooms, the whole place smelled disgusting.


The property's response is

Sorry about that, we are looking for new cleaning staff, the current staff have really let us down over the games.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was ok

Disliked: Dirty, unfriendly staff, awful showers, NO POWERPOINTS IN THE ROOMS!!, dirty kitchen & nothing in the hostel had been cleaned


The property's response is

hmmm? you had a private room so if your room was a mess its not our fault. There are no maid service in a backpacker hostel. |Its self catering kitchen so again, there is no maid service. Self catering means you cook your own food you wash your own dishes. We clean the hostel every morning, thats it. guests are required to be tidy.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Keenly priced, location convenient.

Disliked: Not enough showers - only 2 for 3 floors. I was directed to one shower which had the shower head missing, so useless. No proper storage for bags etc.


The property's response is

You are mistaken, there are 5 showers for 3 floors 48 beds.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing except the location.

Disliked: 1. It was so untidy and unclean that I didn't want to even walk there. the place stinks.2. No doors on bathrooms separately, only curtain, what nonsense??3. Least friendly staff. I was to check out at 4AM and so wanted to just prepare a coffee and boil water, the drunk staff member whom I had to wake up for check out didn't let me saying only after 8 the kitchen is open. I still don't get what difference a cup of coffee would have made?4. The dorm I reserved was not empty and even though I was allocated a different room, but this is nonsense.5. Untidy kitchen, no charging points in room, at least none I can see.


The property's response is

You should not travel. you were upgraded to a 8 bed dorm for free. We actually did our best to answer you 1000 questions that you took turns asking every staff member over and over and over again and again and again then one more time after that. What answer you were looking for i dont know? You checked out when reception was closed, 0300 to 0600, you were told this also 1000 times. you need to bring your mother with you next time. she can change your pants because we dont offer that here

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing at all

Disliked: Paying that price to stay in a squat it's ridiculous and inadmissible


The property's response is

your taste out weighs your wallet my friend book a hotel next time.

Check Availability