We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

67.8% Overall Rating

983 out of 1411 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2015)

"The wifi was good-although it sometimes disconnected randomly. The floor we were on was very quiet most of the time and the staff was helpful and friendly. Clean room and linens."

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions! Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions. We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable. We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard. Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled. For security, each guest must have a key. Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
23.22 USD

Hostel 87.0% 321 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
23.22 USD

Hostel 76.9% 219 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
24.77 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
devoncove hotel
35.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
21.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.9% 4 reviews
McLays Guest House
27.09 USD

Hostel 79.0% 1191 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
35.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
24.63 USD

Hostel 76.6% 197 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

983 out of 1411 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 858 of 936 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2012

Liked: Close to the main rail stations.

Disliked: Dirty, run-down. No soap in the toilets, only one shower working for the whole hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really friendly and helpful, bathrooms really clean

Disliked: no plugs in the bedrooms

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. staff were friendly. easy to find.

Disliked: the room and cleanliness was just average. the room was a private room with shared shower literally just outside door which was a little weird. No toilet on same floor as room whi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lillian Pham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 Lillian would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy walking distance into Glasgow even though wasn't really in the city centre. Really helpful staff.

Disliked: Rooms a bit too small and stuffy, couldn't really open my suitcase properly. Bathrooms weren't particularly nice, didn't take a shower there.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marco Aurélio Arruda de Moraes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012

Liked: Free internet.

Disliked: There is this impression of and old and unkempt property, had to try two showers before finding one that worked. Even the staff saying that the reception stays closed only from midnight to 8 am, there was nobody at 8:45 am, when i checked out, and i lost my key deposit (five pounds per person). Also, i don't know what cleaning product they use, but we kept coughing from the first moment we arrived there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bridget Caplice

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Bridget would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Quite close to the city centre and easily accessable by public transport. The resident dog!

Disliked: I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was only accessable through the 12 bed dorm room. Bathrooms seemed to not be checked so often.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Maher

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 January 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: a Dog

Disliked: Accent!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in general. Todd, the owner of this hostel, is an extremely interesting character. The rest of the staff is all amazingly helpful. My train left 7 hours after the check out time of the day, the staff let me use one of the locker (with lock) for free for that 7 hours, smiling all the time. If I ever come back to this hostel, it is for those amazing people.

Disliked: Actually it would be the location. But seemed like it only bothered me (others were totally satisfied with the location tho). Nothing else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Farrell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: A very agreeable dog lives in the lobby. Friendly staff. Free towels to use. Close to a Tesco and a McDonalds.

Disliked: Electrical outlets are scarce in the dorms. Not really a complaint, just an observation.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty clean and quiet.

Disliked: Ceaning failities weren't the best.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 December 2011

Liked: its bed bugs....

Disliked: the bed bugs....and that my ipod touch got stolen...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Kirsty Shanks

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 December 2011 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre

Disliked: Wasn't very clean, blood on the sheets on one bed in the room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Helen Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 December 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, helpful staff, hostel is also in a great location. No public transport necessary!

Disliked: Very shabby, room was very small, no furnishings. Noise from street (and rain!) all through the night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elaine Silvester

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were friendly, wifi, kitchen for travellers use!

Disliked: to get to teh 4 bed room, u had to go through the 12bed room. not enough toilets/showers. but i guess u get what u pay for

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-fi available at reception area

Disliked: 2nd floor does not have toilets, only a bathroom.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Williamson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are awesome - really friendly - the dog is huge and cute - needs a bath though.

Disliked: No TV or sofa - considering it rains a bit, somewhere to chill out a bit more would be good. Also that you have to take your key everywhere when you leave your room - the doors are really heavy and bang - I could feel them slamming downstairs. Also my bed was so squeaky!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to the city centre

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, and value for money next time I am in Glasgow i will defiantly stay here. The showers were being redone when I was there so it was a bit hard to get a shower but I am sure that is all fixed up soon. Easy to get to the airport and easty place to chat to people.

Disliked: a bit messy in the kitchen, no curtain on the window in the room I was in so up bright and early, squeaky bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Simon

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and a really great social area downstairs.

Disliked: Beds are a little uncomfortable, especially the lower bunks with a double bed below. Ours sloped sideways and I nearly rolled out of bed on several occassions! And remember to have photo ID with you, they are really strict about this, even for locals.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The common area / kitchen is big and is good for everyone to hang out for a few drinks. Sheffy (the dog) is great.

Disliked: There were a few odd characters staying at the place. Lockers in the room would be nice.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Great friendly reception staff, decent location from city centre.

Disliked: Terrible interior - not sure if there's some kind of refurbishment going on, but wallpaper, furniture, flooring etc. is all over the place. Only one toilet per floor. Main security door leading to dorms is not always locked.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

02 November 2011

Liked: Character, a small hostel, big common area, free internet access

Disliked: it was not clean, the bedrooms have too many beds so everything is just squeezed and there is no room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, friendly people, free internet, close to clubs/bars and supermarket

Disliked: Not enough showers/toilets plus not always clean, had food stolen from the fridge (not hostel's fault), not much space in the room for bags

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy enough to navigate

Disliked: Just a little bit cold and curtains would have been nice

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

dominique saffigna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 dominique would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and close to everything!

Disliked: It was slightly dirty, with only one good shower. I booked a 4 bedroom dorm that was actually located through the 12 bedroom dorm so it was practically like sharing with 16 people but it was cheap so you get what you paid for!