HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 53%

Location 78%

Safety 66%

Staff 69%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.27USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 53%

Location 78%

Safety 66%

Staff 69%

Value 70%

Showing 51-60 of 105 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The wifi was good-although it sometimes disconnected randomly. The floor we were on was very quiet most of the time and the staff was helpful and friendly. Clean room and linens.

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny and only has one small stove with 4 burners. It was almost impossible to cook things at dinner times so we had to make dinner during lunch hours and then heat it up later. I had no idea how to turn on the bathroom stall lights so the majority of the time i was in the dark and the shower was also a mystery. You have to mop the floor when youre done showering because the water leaks out. The whole hostel seems to be under repair or half finished so it seems dirty.


The property's response is

If we had 20 burners in the kitchen it would be exactly the same. everyone wants to cook at the same time and nobody cleans up after themselves. If this trend starts to change i will make the kitchen better.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nice atmosphere, cool people. Hostel was just the way I thought it would be. I hope they would fix the bathrooms tho.

Disliked: Both of the toilets were somehow broken - I got stuck in the other one. It was rather chilly in our room.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Rooms were clean with a long extension cord to charge appliances.

Disliked: Only 3 showers in the building, which is not enough considering the number of people. Reception is closed from 4-8 am, I needed to leave at 6 so I didn't get my key deposit back.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff and the other guests were definitely the best part. Very friendly, they even treated everyone to an xmas dinner!The location a close second.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location near a lot of pubs and bars, friendly staff who knew the city which is helpful if you have some trouble understanding the Scottish language as I did, comfortable bed, great value for money and England beating Scotland 3-1 helped.

Disliked: Shower floods very easily to the point where you need a small boat at times to navigate it

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Poor celamins but good for the price and location.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Rooms and showers are dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's cheap. Within walking distance of city centre.

Disliked: Temperature in the roomBeds were extremely noisyMatrasses are really bad

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: N/A

Disliked: The 18 bed room is big enough to sleep 10 people comfortably. The room is horrendously cramped, no space to put your things and you're basically sleeping on the person next to you. Blood stains on mattress protectors and only a few showers and toilets between a lot of people - place wasn't very clean at all. Don't stay here.


The property's response is

Mate, thats why the 18 bed room is £10. Its the cheapest bed you can get in the city. if you want privacy and space you book a small dorm. We can only be as clean as the guests that are staying here. we are full all year round and its very hard to clean up after 85 people who dont clean up after them selves.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I love the style of house it has tall ceilings and is all around really cool. Also ot is super clise to the james joyce center and a block away from the ireland writers museaum and the park of remembrance. So if you are into writing or literature it is the perfect location!

Disliked: I disliked the smell of the hand soap, it smelled too much like glue.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability