HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 48%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 63%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.31USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 48%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 63%

Value 62%

Showing 51-60 of 114 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location near a lot of pubs and bars, friendly staff who knew the city which is helpful if you have some trouble understanding the Scottish language as I did, comfortable bed, great value for money and England beating Scotland 3-1 helped.

Disliked: Shower floods very easily to the point where you need a small boat at times to navigate it

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Poor celamins but good for the price and location.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Rooms and showers are dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's cheap. Within walking distance of city centre.

Disliked: Temperature in the roomBeds were extremely noisyMatrasses are really bad

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: N/A

Disliked: The 18 bed room is big enough to sleep 10 people comfortably. The room is horrendously cramped, no space to put your things and you're basically sleeping on the person next to you. Blood stains on mattress protectors and only a few showers and toilets between a lot of people - place wasn't very clean at all. Don't stay here.


The property's response is

Mate, thats why the 18 bed room is £10. Its the cheapest bed you can get in the city. if you want privacy and space you book a small dorm. We can only be as clean as the guests that are staying here. we are full all year round and its very hard to clean up after 85 people who dont clean up after them selves.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I love the style of house it has tall ceilings and is all around really cool. Also ot is super clise to the james joyce center and a block away from the ireland writers museaum and the park of remembrance. So if you are into writing or literature it is the perfect location!

Disliked: I disliked the smell of the hand soap, it smelled too much like glue.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly Staff, Clean n Tidy Gr8 location

Disliked: Nothing all was excellent

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Long reception hours, friendly staff, international feel.

Disliked: A bit noisy, as people hang out outside late at night, below dorm windows.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: -

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The only good thing was that the bed linen was clean.

Disliked: The bedrooms and bathrooms were really dirty. We were in the 'extension' across the road, with only 2 toilets. The the toilet on the ground level floor was a mixed toilet for 3 bedrooms (each with 8 beds) so up to 24 people are using it and it didn't lock meaning we have to take it in turns to watch the door for each other. The carpet in the bedroom was disgusting and ceiling and windows are falling apart. It was one general key for the front door and bedroom so it didn't feel very secure at all. You have to walk through the laundry room to get to the showers. Both nights we were there there was a guy sleeping on the floor in this room (even though the 2nd night we had 3 spare beds in our room. I have travelled round the world staying in hostels and never had such bad accommodation. We tried to complain about the security and cleanliness/state of the room but the girl working said that it wasn't a good week to talk to the manager due to the bad press the hostel had received. To be honest, the girl how complained wasn't wrong! We asked the girl working to speak to the manager but she wouldn't. We got the impression that she was scared of him. Now that the Commonwealth Games have finished, I would recommend to look at other hostels in Glasgow and only use the Blue Sky hostel as a last resort. Yes, it's a hostel and for under 35s, but you still need to have somewhere clean and safe to sleep.


The property's response is

there are 3 toilets for 24 people in that building and 2 showers. why are you snooping in my laundry room at night? you are complaining about having to go through the laundry room to get to the showers? are you serious? who cares where the showers are as long as they work! as for the keys, the keys work on the main door and on your room, it was very expensive to get this system of locks. Your ignorance to how they work doesn't mean they are not safe. we have cameras everywhere and locked doors!

Check Availability