HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow

Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 44%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 62%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.56USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 44%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 62%

Value 59%

Showing 51-60 of 138 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I love the style of house it has tall ceilings and is all around really cool. Also ot is super clise to the james joyce center and a block away from the ireland writers museaum and the park of remembrance. So if you are into writing or literature it is the perfect location!

Disliked: I disliked the smell of the hand soap, it smelled too much like glue.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly Staff, Clean n Tidy Gr8 location

Disliked: Nothing all was excellent

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Long reception hours, friendly staff, international feel.

Disliked: A bit noisy, as people hang out outside late at night, below dorm windows.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: -

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The only good thing was that the bed linen was clean.

Disliked: The bedrooms and bathrooms were really dirty. We were in the 'extension' across the road, with only 2 toilets. The the toilet on the ground level floor was a mixed toilet for 3 bedrooms (each with 8 beds) so up to 24 people are using it and it didn't lock meaning we have to take it in turns to watch the door for each other. The carpet in the bedroom was disgusting and ceiling and windows are falling apart. It was one general key for the front door and bedroom so it didn't feel very secure at all. You have to walk through the laundry room to get to the showers. Both nights we were there there was a guy sleeping on the floor in this room (even though the 2nd night we had 3 spare beds in our room. I have travelled round the world staying in hostels and never had such bad accommodation. We tried to complain about the security and cleanliness/state of the room but the girl working said that it wasn't a good week to talk to the manager due to the bad press the hostel had received. To be honest, the girl how complained wasn't wrong! We asked the girl working to speak to the manager but she wouldn't. We got the impression that she was scared of him. Now that the Commonwealth Games have finished, I would recommend to look at other hostels in Glasgow and only use the Blue Sky hostel as a last resort. Yes, it's a hostel and for under 35s, but you still need to have somewhere clean and safe to sleep.


The property's response is

there are 3 toilets for 24 people in that building and 2 showers. why are you snooping in my laundry room at night? you are complaining about having to go through the laundry room to get to the showers? are you serious? who cares where the showers are as long as they work! as for the keys, the keys work on the main door and on your room, it was very expensive to get this system of locks. Your ignorance to how they work doesn't mean they are not safe. we have cameras everywhere and locked doors!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly.

Disliked: The shower wasn't great.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: the location is excellent- very nearby to two trainstations. a 24h tescos very nearby also, and with a full self catering kitchen at the hostel this is very convenient. I stayed in a double private room; it was basic but what more could you ask for considering the price! The staff where super friendly and accommodating. I would not hesitate to recommending this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: There were few drawbacks during my stay. It does what it says on the tin!The rooms were reasonably clean, as were the bathrooms. The bed however was incredibly squeaky! one small movement during the night and you woke yourself up.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Convenience, location, and extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Broken toilet and shower. Loud 5:00 a.m. roommates.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Grotty, uncomfortable, wires coming out of walls everywhere, mouldy bathrooms, only 1 working shower in the building, aggressive, foul mouthed staff & at 2am there were people having to change beds & rooms about which woke everyone else up. No light switch in the room nevermind a plug socket! Bed was a foam mattress which didn't even cover the springs. Place is a health hazard. AVOID. AVOID. AVOID! (And I paid £100 for the 'pleasure' of renting out 1 bunkbed for 2 of us in a shared dorm)


The property's response is

Here we have a embellished complaint. the people who were moved in the room was the night before you were here so why are you talking about it? There are no springs in the bed the foam hospital quality mattresses were just bought new for the games we replaced all mattresses in the hostel... there is at least 1 shower on every floor in the building. because you didn't ask were they were don't assume if you cant ask. £100 for one bunk is total fiction! Thanks for making me famous!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Liked that the bathroom was seperate

Disliked: The kitchen area was quite small and unfortunately access to some of the rooms was through the kitchen first

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability