HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 51%

Location 76%

Safety 66%

Staff 69%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.30USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 51%

Location 76%

Safety 66%

Staff 69%

Value 68%

Showing 41-50 of 113 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff was friendly

Disliked: Grungy feel Wall paper pealing graffiti on the walls

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Very little

Disliked: The staff management on arrival was extremely poor, booked a room for 4, was separated in a different building.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: None

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.


The property's response is

Again cheap people who wont pay for a hotel but book the cheapest bed in town then tear the place apart!

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location isn't that bad.

Disliked: We arrived and were greeted by unfriendly staff who were reluctant to stop drinking and chatting with their friends then help us check in. The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms were dirty. They have only 2 acailable plugs in an 18 bed dorm room. They also do not have enough lockers for the amount of beds they provide, forcing us to carry our valuables all over town if we left the hostel.


The property's response is

People respond in the way they are treated, you were nasty and you got nasty back. customer service people in europe do not just smile and take abuse like they do in the USA. After your attitude you are lucky we didnt ask you to leave.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Price

Disliked: Bunks make such noise every time you move, only 2 toilets for 3 or more rooms, noisy people complaining at 4am because their room got overbooked and they didn't have enough beds to stay, £5 deposit for the key, etc etc

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely staff like a little family. Great location!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was fine - could walk both into the city centre and down to the river in about 25 minutes. Room was ok, beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The shower was awful. It had zero power and only had one temperature (boiling hot). Very unpleasant. The light in our room didn't work so we had to make do with a small lamp.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The wifi was good-although it sometimes disconnected randomly. The floor we were on was very quiet most of the time and the staff was helpful and friendly. Clean room and linens.

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny and only has one small stove with 4 burners. It was almost impossible to cook things at dinner times so we had to make dinner during lunch hours and then heat it up later. I had no idea how to turn on the bathroom stall lights so the majority of the time i was in the dark and the shower was also a mystery. You have to mop the floor when youre done showering because the water leaks out. The whole hostel seems to be under repair or half finished so it seems dirty.


The property's response is

If we had 20 burners in the kitchen it would be exactly the same. everyone wants to cook at the same time and nobody cleans up after themselves. If this trend starts to change i will make the kitchen better.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nice atmosphere, cool people. Hostel was just the way I thought it would be. I hope they would fix the bathrooms tho.

Disliked: Both of the toilets were somehow broken - I got stuck in the other one. It was rather chilly in our room.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability