HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 51%

Location 76%

Safety 66%

Staff 69%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.30USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 51%

Location 76%

Safety 66%

Staff 69%

Value 68%

Showing 31-40 of 113 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were super friendly and helpful.Although they pack a lot of beds in a room there was a lot of space still.There was a kitchen.

Disliked: The beds were outrageously squeaky. The showers were in a weird spot. It appears that some renovations were being done at some point but have since stopped.No wifi in the rooms across the road.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location and price was fare for a hostel.

Disliked: Booked the triple room with 2 friends. The room itself was fine but the toilet/shower outside the room was broken gave off the most disgusting smell of sewage that leaked a little into the room. Plus the window in the room was broken and could not be opened! So glad we were only there for one night. The girl at reception even acknowledged the smell but couldn't do anything about it. After reading a review from the Wednesday (we stayed Saturday night) before our booking this smell was already there and they should have tried to fix it rather then nailing the door shut.


The property's response is

Why did you not say anything to reception? This problem could have been easily rectified. Everyone can type bad reviews but has everyone lost the gift of speech?

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Brilliant social atmosphere! Comfy bed, spacious room, very clean, fun and friendly staff. Great location near to Sauchiehall Street and the West End. And it has a hot tub!!!

Disliked: Nothing much...I really liked staying here and will surely return.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, met other great people and had a fantastic time. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good time.

Disliked: Shower was a little bit low pressure. Everything else was great.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Cheap, clean, safe and 2min walk from bars shops and cafes

Disliked: No curtans over window

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location

Disliked: The hostel was largely filthy. The bathrooms were especially disgusting and the showers (only two for the entire building) were full of mildew and never dried out because there isn't proper ventilation. The oven in the kitchen is also a horrible fire hazard as both the top and bottom doors tend to randomly fall open. At one point when I was cooking on the stove top, an oven door, very hot from baking someone's dinner, actually hit me and burned my knee. The person at the front desk simply looked over and told me to kick it closed. Additionally there are no semblance of any rules for respecting fellow occupants. I like the rowdy hostel environment but when people are drinking and carrying on in the rooms at 2am, I am apt to be annoyed. Lastly, though the location is in fact good, the front desk people have zero recommendations for things to do in the area and are annoyed with questions.


The property's response is

Hi
I am very sorry about our cooker attacking you. It randomly throws its doors open at people who are not looking at it. It getting on in years and its attitude is changing for the worse. It seems to be more aggressive to blondes or people cooking pasta. It hates pasta!
If you read the hostel description it clearly states that this is a party hostel. We cant be responsible for our guests bad behavior. our staff have many recommendations and i cant believe they never told you where to go!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, stuff frienliness

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Convenient location, friendly staff

Disliked: cold shower

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and the friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bad place to stay and ruined our weekend staying here


The property's response is

If you could tell us why? maybe if you read the accommodation description next time instead of booking for the price you will understand that a backpacker hostel is not a hotel. We describe our place the best we can, tell the booking site not to market hostels to people who will not be happy in this type of accommodation. The booking sites need to stop this! they dont understand that antisocial people dont like to share their space with other people and make friends and have fun.

Check Availability