HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow

Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 44%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 62%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.55USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 53%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 44%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 62%

Value 59%

Showing 21-30 of 136 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was free wifi. The room I stayed in (Trainspotting) was fairly big, try grabbing one of the beds in the "niche" for more privacy. There were lockers so you could keep your belongings there BUT you have to have your own lock and there were only like 6 lockers in our 16 beds room. Stay here only if you have to! I don't know why I stayed here in the first place. And Glasgow really isn't something, go to Edinburgh and stay there :) The location isn't ideal, but there's a bus stop outside the hostel (I walked everywhere and it only took me maybe 15 minutes to the city centre so it was okay, but it would have been a lot better if the hostel was in a better location). Tesco is like 2 minutes away so that's good. When I checked-in, the person took me to my room and showed me where everything was, which was a very nice, but she had trouble speaking English and I had trouble understanding her.

Disliked: It's old and shabby, could do with a lot of remodelling. The common area is kind of this big room with the kitchen and the reception next to each other and some tables and chairs. The people were friendly, they had to be because everyone's right there. The room had only two freaking sockets for 16 people, each of whom needed to charge 5 different devices. The pillows are horrible, thin like a sheet of paper. There were only two working showers in the whole building and they leak and you have to mop the floor after you take a shower, but it's impossible so you're just moving dirty water from one side to the other. Half the buildings on the street look abandoned, and some of them are. Once you get used to it, it's not that bad, but seriously, don't expect much because you will be disappointed.


The property's response is

Old and shabby is why its a £12.50 bed you paid for in the cheapest place in town. if you want pretty pay £28 at the SYHA. This is not a phone charging station its a backpacker hostel. there are lots of plug sockets in the common room to charge.
the mops are buy the showers for you to wipe up your own water that you spill on the floor and so that the next person can have a nice floor to have a shower on, you know clean up your own mess, what your mommy does for you at home...

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was close to the Exhibition Centre, which is where I had to be every day.

Disliked: Everything else. It was dirty, it was hard to find a place to sit that wasn't grimy. There was no atmosphere at the place. It felt like I was staying at somebody's neglected basement. The staff was unhelpful and downright incompetent: I got conflicting information (about check-out times) during check-in and when I tried to ask which was correct I only got a bark back. Check-out was a 30 minute procedure because the receptionist couldn't figure out whether I was actually checked-in or not in the first place. A man who is presumably the owner of the hostel runs around all day swearing and complaining about everything being broken and done wrong by his staff (at least he's right about that...). I was housed in a different house to where the main reception is and there was no internet there. When I complained about it, I only got an indifferent shrug from the staff. One night, I was trying to go to the main building to use the internet there and it took me 20 minutes to be let in (the door was locked, the bell didn't work and the receptionist was too busy chatting with her friends to see me waving through the window). I actually checked-out early because I hated it so much.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean & freindly

Disliked: Second bilding is not better than main bilding.Main has kichin and other space.It was not good whether in Glasgow.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were super friendly and helpful.Although they pack a lot of beds in a room there was a lot of space still.There was a kitchen.

Disliked: The beds were outrageously squeaky. The showers were in a weird spot. It appears that some renovations were being done at some point but have since stopped.No wifi in the rooms across the road.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location and price was fare for a hostel.

Disliked: Booked the triple room with 2 friends. The room itself was fine but the toilet/shower outside the room was broken gave off the most disgusting smell of sewage that leaked a little into the room. Plus the window in the room was broken and could not be opened! So glad we were only there for one night. The girl at reception even acknowledged the smell but couldn't do anything about it. After reading a review from the Wednesday (we stayed Saturday night) before our booking this smell was already there and they should have tried to fix it rather then nailing the door shut.


The property's response is

Why did you not say anything to reception? This problem could have been easily rectified. Everyone can type bad reviews but has everyone lost the gift of speech?

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Brilliant social atmosphere! Comfy bed, spacious room, very clean, fun and friendly staff. Great location near to Sauchiehall Street and the West End. And it has a hot tub!!!

Disliked: Nothing much...I really liked staying here and will surely return.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, met other great people and had a fantastic time. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good time.

Disliked: Shower was a little bit low pressure. Everything else was great.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Cheap, clean, safe and 2min walk from bars shops and cafes

Disliked: No curtans over window

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location

Disliked: The hostel was largely filthy. The bathrooms were especially disgusting and the showers (only two for the entire building) were full of mildew and never dried out because there isn't proper ventilation. The oven in the kitchen is also a horrible fire hazard as both the top and bottom doors tend to randomly fall open. At one point when I was cooking on the stove top, an oven door, very hot from baking someone's dinner, actually hit me and burned my knee. The person at the front desk simply looked over and told me to kick it closed. Additionally there are no semblance of any rules for respecting fellow occupants. I like the rowdy hostel environment but when people are drinking and carrying on in the rooms at 2am, I am apt to be annoyed. Lastly, though the location is in fact good, the front desk people have zero recommendations for things to do in the area and are annoyed with questions.


The property's response is

Hi
I am very sorry about our cooker attacking you. It randomly throws its doors open at people who are not looking at it. It getting on in years and its attitude is changing for the worse. It seems to be more aggressive to blondes or people cooking pasta. It hates pasta!
If you read the hostel description it clearly states that this is a party hostel. We cant be responsible for our guests bad behavior. our staff have many recommendations and i cant believe they never told you where to go!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, stuff frienliness

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability