HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Sky Hostel Glasgow Hostel

65 Berkeley street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 51%

Location 76%

Safety 66%

Staff 69%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.30USD

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions!

Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking

Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions.

We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable.

We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard.

Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled.

For security, each guest must have a key.

Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 51%

Location 76%

Safety 66%

Staff 69%

Value 68%

Showing 21-30 of 113 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: See q2

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lot's of spacenice bathroom right next to our bedroomgood staff

Disliked: creaky bedssmall kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very little.

Disliked: Having paid for a 3 single bed, but only received 1 double bed, which 2 of us had to share. The 3rd person had to sleep on the floor. The lady who served us on night shift was extremely polite and apologetic. But, the lady who served us at Check-out in the morning was rude and bullish. During the morning, there was water dripping from the ceiling through the bulb, making it extremely dangerous.


The property's response is

I am afraid you are mistaken. you booked a double room, if you look at your booking it says right on it double +1, that is a double bed plus a single bed.
Yes there was a flood, sorry about that.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice people, special atmosphere

Disliked: Little bit dirty

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap price. Good kitchen

Disliked: For the 50 odd guests there was only one functioning shower so I had to wait an hour for one.


The property's response is

there are 8 showers all you had to do is ask at reception where one was if you couldnt find it. but that would be too easy.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very nice mattresses and location

Disliked: Toilets could be nicer

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Lounge

Disliked: Dirty bathroom


The property's response is

The bathrooms are cleaned everyday. If the guests that use the bathrooms and showers would treat them like they do their own we wouldn't have people like you complaining.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was free wifi. The room I stayed in (Trainspotting) was fairly big, try grabbing one of the beds in the "niche" for more privacy. There were lockers so you could keep your belongings there BUT you have to have your own lock and there were only like 6 lockers in our 16 beds room. Stay here only if you have to! I don't know why I stayed here in the first place. And Glasgow really isn't something, go to Edinburgh and stay there :) The location isn't ideal, but there's a bus stop outside the hostel (I walked everywhere and it only took me maybe 15 minutes to the city centre so it was okay, but it would have been a lot better if the hostel was in a better location). Tesco is like 2 minutes away so that's good. When I checked-in, the person took me to my room and showed me where everything was, which was a very nice, but she had trouble speaking English and I had trouble understanding her.

Disliked: It's old and shabby, could do with a lot of remodelling. The common area is kind of this big room with the kitchen and the reception next to each other and some tables and chairs. The people were friendly, they had to be because everyone's right there. The room had only two freaking sockets for 16 people, each of whom needed to charge 5 different devices. The pillows are horrible, thin like a sheet of paper. There were only two working showers in the whole building and they leak and you have to mop the floor after you take a shower, but it's impossible so you're just moving dirty water from one side to the other. Half the buildings on the street look abandoned, and some of them are. Once you get used to it, it's not that bad, but seriously, don't expect much because you will be disappointed.


The property's response is

Old and shabby is why its a £12.50 bed you paid for in the cheapest place in town. if you want pretty pay £28 at the SYHA. This is not a phone charging station its a backpacker hostel. there are lots of plug sockets in the common room to charge.
the mops are buy the showers for you to wipe up your own water that you spill on the floor and so that the next person can have a nice floor to have a shower on, you know clean up your own mess, what your mommy does for you at home...

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was close to the Exhibition Centre, which is where I had to be every day.

Disliked: Everything else. It was dirty, it was hard to find a place to sit that wasn't grimy. There was no atmosphere at the place. It felt like I was staying at somebody's neglected basement. The staff was unhelpful and downright incompetent: I got conflicting information (about check-out times) during check-in and when I tried to ask which was correct I only got a bark back. Check-out was a 30 minute procedure because the receptionist couldn't figure out whether I was actually checked-in or not in the first place. A man who is presumably the owner of the hostel runs around all day swearing and complaining about everything being broken and done wrong by his staff (at least he's right about that...). I was housed in a different house to where the main reception is and there was no internet there. When I complained about it, I only got an indifferent shrug from the staff. One night, I was trying to go to the main building to use the internet there and it took me 20 minutes to be let in (the door was locked, the bell didn't work and the receptionist was too busy chatting with her friends to see me waving through the window). I actually checked-out early because I hated it so much.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean & freindly

Disliked: Second bilding is not better than main bilding.Main has kichin and other space.It was not good whether in Glasgow.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability