HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

59.0% Overall Rating

961 out of 1374 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2014)

"Definitely close to the party area. Decently kept, value for money. A pretty decent place for a night out - a big common area which people do sometimes use (when I came in on Friday night, there were a huge number of…"

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Backpackers only. No people under 18 will be allowed. Late cancellations or no shows will be charged the full price of the first day of the booking Property will charge the credit card for the full amount upon booking if the booking is for 5 or more people Please note that as of April 01, 2011 our prices include VAT of 20%. Please note that after you have made a booking on www.hostelbookers.com with a debit card, the property will charge the full amount of your stay on your card."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
42.70 USD

Hostel 86.9% 306 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
34.16 USD

Hostel 78.9% 211 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
42.70 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
devoncove hotel
84.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Smiths Hotel
42.27 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
McLays Guest House
42.70 USD

Hostel 82.4% 1185 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
20.50 USD

Hotel 81.7% 35 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
48.52 USD

Hostel 77.9% 188 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.0%

Overall Rating

961 out of 1374 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
52.8%
Refine your results Showing 830 of 900 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Florence Lince

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013

Liked: There are two guys who work the late shift - Yaddish and Streuhan - and they were awesome. It was less than one block from the main library in Glasgow.

Disliked: My bed was missing a rung so the mattress sagged. The place was packed and therefore we didn't have a lot of flexibility. One of the ladders for the beds was missing two screws and it swung away from the bed making it entirely unsafe to use so that cut that sleeping arrangement out of the mix for safety reasons. The kitchen was filthy and the personal hygiene habits of so many people makes a communal kitchen dicey at best - had to wash everything before I used it and there were no paper towels to use (hand towels spread germs and disease so I won't use them). Most of the staff (except those noted) don't interact with clients and they are not friendly. The place is decayed and falling apart. There were two broken tiles in the bathroom downstairs and instead of replacing them they were just getting more and more broken. The owner does as little maintenance as possible in this place. There are cigarette butts all over the front stoop which makes it look more sloppy. Most of the buildings around it are completely empty. For the price breakfast items should be served but aren't.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

rowan hayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Unhelpful staff. Was left waiting at check in for 10mins while off duty staff drank. Whist checking out I had to wait 15mins while the staff had a smoke. Was not told the kitchen area was closed for a certain time a day so I was rebuffed by staff when I tried to get food from the fridge, before a tour. Not enough showers to go around or power sockets In the rooms. Good place to lay your head but don't expect a warm welcome or advice on what to do. I will NEVER stay here again.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

dor shwartz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere for this little place is great, we received a warm welcome, and the guys there know how to party ;)

Disliked: The rooms smelled like dog. (The dog was nice though)

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the killer black dog

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

bob hazell

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 July 2013 bob would recommend this property

Liked: Good nights sleep, free net

Disliked: Not so much character, thought it may be a bit more party orientated

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: simple but in a very good location

Disliked: rooms are not nice at all

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good location, friendly staff and people.

Disliked: could have had better facilities for bicycle storage, although relatively safe if precautions taken such as decent locks and removing seats.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathan Fisher

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Can't complain with this hostel considering it only cost around £10 for a night. All mod cons as well as friendly staff. Will use this hostel again.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

ashley mcgregor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 June 2013

Liked: Close to the city centre

Disliked: I booked for female room and ended up with 2 guys in my room one that slepted naked! No one was veryhhelpfulwe waited to be seen for at least 20min. Was my 1st time staying in a hostel but will be my last

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Alegre

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great! People were easy to talk to and respectful. The neighbourhood was very quiet and safe. Also one really good thing is that the airport bus is located really close like a corner away.

Disliked: There is no adequate place to put your luggage in the room such as under the bed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and quite cheap for rooms that were shared between only 4 people

Disliked: There were no powerpoints in the room that we were in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLGA MOUZAKI

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 June 2013 OLGA would recommend this property

Liked: Its location pretty convenient, so near city center, but quiet and safe. Staff were really friendly and helpful and I could say there is family atmosphere. Fresh coffee and tea every morning or any time, free. Local shops in a walking distance. Well only good thoughts and memories from BLUE SKY Hostel. Thank you!

Disliked: Not dislike, sometimes at the showers water was too hot!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher forster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: nice place

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yunru Xu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Yunru would recommend this property

Liked: close to city

Disliked: bad wifi

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

YUK CHING CHAN

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013

Liked: the atmosphere is very nice. the staff are helpful

Disliked: There's no electric shock in my room and there's no hot water in the shower room on the ground floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice big kitchen facitlities, friendly helpful staff. laidback atmosphere and a nice common room. free use of computers, tea and coffee.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alan Cook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Was close to town and everything that I needed, plus the staff were awesome :)

Disliked: Couple of ants in the kitchen but nothing to put me off my meal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frederico Gollo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 Frederico would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and close to city center

Disliked: Frederico left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helen Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful, going above and beyond. Big kitchen and social area, a little walk from the bars and stuff.

Disliked: There were no outlets on our room for charging phones or what ever which was a little annoying. No breakfast other than sundays.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 March 2013

Liked: the price

Disliked: The bed sheets were all stained, room was too small, the owner was standing at the front door drunk and refusing to let paying guests in, he also looked as if he was under the influence of drugs, also the internet connection was crap, also a chinese girl used our shower. The decor was not very desirable, looked like some night time hoodies broke into the hostel and used spray cans. The kitchen facilities were not up standard, oh and don't get me started on the fricking hot tub, i was looking forward to blowing bubbles. Our overall experience was not good, we know it was cheap but still we don't expect to arrive to a place that is more suited to the krankies.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Guillermo Luppi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Guillermo would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were ok, the staff was nice and made and made an event for St. Patrick. The location was good also.

Disliked: No plugs in my room! Unbelieveable! The bathroom next to my room was awful: the shower was really bad (either you got burned or died frozen), smeeled badly, the door of the bathroom was always open so if you had to shave or something everybody at the hall could see you. Still I say it wasn't bad and it was ok for the moey I think.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love everything.

Disliked: Too hot.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ALEXANDER CULLENS

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

16 February 2013 ALEXANDER would recommend this property

Liked: Been down for a couple of gigs recently. Loved the staff, they're great, and the hot-tub was immense too. If you know where to go in Glasgow it's great night out!

Disliked: ALEXANDER left no negative feedback.