HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

59.8% Overall Rating

972 out of 1391 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

"Internet included (no extra charge). Good internet connection. Very helpful staff."

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Backpackers only. No people under 18 will be allowed. Late cancellations or no shows will be charged the full price of the first day of the booking Property will charge the credit card for the full amount upon booking if the booking is for 5 or more people Please note that as of April 01, 2011 our prices include VAT of 20%. Please note that after you have made a booking on www.hostelbookers.com with a debit card, the property will charge the full amount of your stay on your card."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
27.71 USD

Hostel 88.7% 308 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
33.09 USD

Hostel 80.0% 214 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
37.23 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
devoncove hotel
41.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 3 reviews
Smiths Hotel
24.82 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
McLays Guest House
38.62 USD

Hostel 80.6% 1187 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
31.11 USD

Hotel 81.7% 35 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
38.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.1% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.8%

Overall Rating

972 out of 1391 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
60.8%
Value
60.0%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 842 of 916 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A short walk from the cente of town

Disliked: If you want to stay in some we're clean don't stay here , the internet does not work in some rooms . The directions on how you get from the bus stops to the hostel are incorrect

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maiwenn Puz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Other bed dorms on the other side of the street. BIG lack of cleanliness in this building, bathroom... Happy to leave this place after 1 night in spite of the kind staff !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katie Fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and welcoming. They made me feel like I was apart of their hostel family even though I was only there for 3 nights. The showers were always hot and at night i got a peaceful sleep. Bluesky hostel has a great atmosphere and I will definitely be back.

Disliked: The place does need a lot of work to it but you forget about it as soon as you settle in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Angela Walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly

Disliked: Very dated. Not very organized, new or very clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at this hostel - the staff were super friendly and helpful and there was always drinking games and fun people hanging in the common area. Great for people travelling alone.

Disliked: The bathrooms were absolutely terrible - only 1 working HOT shower in one of the buildings, the others did not heat up or did not turn on at all. All bathrooms and sink areas stunk of piss and were in need of a solid clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap accommodation. The building is run down and old and the wifi wasn't very reliable but it was cheap. 20min walk into town but some good bars around the area.

Disliked: Run down, the place needs some work

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Muhammad Umar Mukhtar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014

Liked: Rooms was nice and cozy.

Disliked: Extremely rude male staff. Very dirty and unsafe laundry room. There are 2 buildings of this hotel. The kitchen in the building which houses reception is okay. But the kitchen in other building is very dirty and bugs can be found everywhere. General lack of cleanliness.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katharina Keck

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2014 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and location, this isn`t your typical annoying backpackers place but the people here are fun and it`s def a place where you can stay longer. It`s only 5 min walk to Sauchiehall street where all the bars are!

Disliked: there was 3 showers in the place and only 1 that was working properly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite convenient location and staff are super-friendly!

Disliked: Half of the electrical sockets weren't working in the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luan Bulgarelli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Luan would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and good atmosphere.

Disliked: The shower system is not very good, but is not a big problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a really fun atmosphere

Disliked: The building was clearly a little run down, but everything still seemed as clean as possible

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marie Jacot

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Bluesky hostel was wonderful! Very nice staff, always people to meet and to party with in the common room. Definitely the hostel to stay in if you are in Glasgow to party and meet people from all around the world!

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014

Liked: The location and the friendly staf.

Disliked: Noisly, people pre-drinking and singing, lack of cleanless, not confortable beds...

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shelby Woods

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Shelby would recommend this property

Liked: This place is absolutely perfect for the people that it very clearly states that it caters to: backpackers looking to party. Based on some of the negative reviews, I was half expecting to show up at a dirty, unsafe, uncomfortable shithole and it was ABSOLUTELY the opposite. The staff went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good time, it was a totally respectable level of clean, and even though the lockers were next to the front door, I never worried about my stuff getting stolen (and I'm a bit paranoid on that front already). If you want mints on you pillow, BlueSky is not for you (so please don't come and stop leaving negative references that confuse the rest of us... I nearly missed out on an awesome experience because of other reviewers' overreacting and it would suck for that to happen to other people). But if you want a place to drop your things, lay your head, and party until 6AM if you so choose to (guilty as charged), then BlueSky is the place for you!

Disliked: I never made my way to the jacuzzi and shall forever regret it. :P

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fraser Ruseell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 March 2014 Fraser would recommend this property

Liked: Well I really enjoyed my stay there me and my party ( party of 4 ) and we read the reviews of the place and it was given a really bad review everywhere but for £50 for all of use we couldn't turn it down the location was a little walk but to be fair its a lot better then being near all the noise close to the center beds were comfy room was clean and there was a jacoosi ( dident get to try it out : ( ) and the staff where all friendly. Would Defo Stay Agein!! :)

Disliked: the only down side was we dident get told that we had to be out the room and keys on the desk for 10 O'clock so we lost half our Deposit.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shane Palmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful atmosphere, great people, warm and friendly staff. Fantastic value for money.

Disliked: Could do with more bathrooms & showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Czemerys

Alone

Events / festivals

23 February 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the city centre. Great staff, very kind and fun. Highly recommend. GIVE THEM A RAISE!

Disliked: A big small so it may be hard to book. So book in advance.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: None

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Pinheiro Nichele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Close to some bars and restaurants. Beds were confortable and shower was nice.

Disliked: We stayed in a building across the sreet from the hostel. The room was good, but we had no wifi in the room and had to fully dress if we wanted to go to the kitchen.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gigi Lee

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

14 December 2013 Gigi would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really nice, good location and it did its job well for the price.

Disliked: nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ITALO SOUZA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 ITALO would recommend this property

Liked: the bed

Disliked: no breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sasha Love

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2013 Sasha would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice little cosy hostel.

Disliked: Sasha left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpness of the staff.

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gareth Guyers

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Its a true backpacker place. Perfect for a couple of nights stay.

Disliked: Gareth left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hamidreza Moezivafa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Free Tea!

Disliked: Beds was old, rooms had bad smell, toilets and showers were not clean.