We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

64.1% Overall Rating

987 out of 1421 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2015)

"The wifi was good-although it sometimes disconnected randomly. The floor we were on was very quiet most of the time and the staff was helpful and friendly. Clean room and linens."

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.57

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions! Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions. We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable. We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard. Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled. For security, each guest must have a key. Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
23.59 USD

Hostel 83.9% 322 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
27.52 USD

Hostel 76.9% 219 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
23.59 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
devoncove hotel
38.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
23.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.9% 4 reviews
McLays Guest House
27.52 USD

Hostel 79.0% 1191 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
40.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
25.02 USD

Hostel 78.5% 198 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.1%

Overall Rating

987 out of 1421 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
71.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 865 of 945 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Long reception hours, friendly staff, international feel.

Disliked: A bit noisy, as people hang out outside late at night, below dorm windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Internet included (no extra charge). Good internet connection. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about it.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2014

Liked: The only good thing was that the bed linen was clean.

Disliked: The bedrooms and bathrooms were really dirty. We were in the 'extension' across the road, with only 2 toilets. The the toilet on the ground level floor was a mixed toilet for 3 bedrooms (each with 8 beds) so up to 24 people are using it and it didn't lock meaning we have to take it in turns to watch the door for each other. The carpet in the bedroom was disgusting and ceiling and windows are falling apart. It was one general key for the front door and bedroom so it didn't feel very secure at all. You have to walk through the laundry room to get to the showers. Both nights we were there there was a guy sleeping on the floor in this room (even though the 2nd night we had 3 spare beds in our room. I have travelled round the world staying in hostels and never had such bad accommodation. We tried to complain about the security and cleanliness/state of the room but the girl working said that it wasn't a good week to talk to the manager due to the bad press the hostel had received. To be honest, the girl how complained wasn't wrong! We asked the girl working to speak to the manager but she wouldn't. We got the impression that she was scared of him. Now that the Commonwealth Games have finished, I would recommend to look at other hostels in Glasgow and only use the Blue Sky hostel as a last resort. Yes, it's a hostel and for under 35s, but you still need to have somewhere clean and safe to sleep.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly.

Disliked: The shower wasn't great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent- very nearby to two trainstations. a 24h tescos very nearby also, and with a full self catering kitchen at the hostel this is very convenient. I stayed in a double private room; it was basic but what more could you ask for considering the price! The staff where super friendly and accommodating. I would not hesitate to recommending this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: There were few drawbacks during my stay. It does what it says on the tin! The rooms were reasonably clean, as were the bathrooms. The bed however was incredibly squeaky! one small movement during the night and you woke yourself up.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience, location, and extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Broken toilet and shower. Loud 5:00 a.m. roommates.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Grotty, uncomfortable, wires coming out of walls everywhere, mouldy bathrooms, only 1 working shower in the building, aggressive, foul mouthed staff & at 2am there were people having to change beds & rooms about which woke everyone else up. No light switch in the room nevermind a plug socket! Bed was a foam mattress which didn't even cover the springs. Place is a health hazard. AVOID. AVOID. AVOID! (And I paid £100 for the 'pleasure' of renting out 1 bunkbed for 2 of us in a shared dorm)

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: Free use of computers, pretty good location

Disliked: It was very dirty, used tissues and other rubbish strewed under my bed. Filthy bathrooms, the whole place smelled disgusting.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked that the bathroom was seperate

Disliked: The kitchen area was quite small and unfortunately access to some of the rooms was through the kitchen first

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014

Liked: Location was ok

Disliked: Dirty, unfriendly staff, awful showers, NO POWERPOINTS IN THE ROOMS!!, dirty kitchen & nothing in the hostel had been cleaned

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014

Liked: Keenly priced, location convenient.

Disliked: Not enough showers - only 2 for 3 floors. I was directed to one shower which had the shower head missing, so useless. No proper storage for bags etc.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014

Liked: Nothing at all

Disliked: Paying that price to stay in a squat it's ridiculous and inadmissible

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rajat Jain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014

Liked: Nothing except the location.

Disliked: 1. It was so untidy and unclean that I didn't want to even walk there. the place stinks. 2. No doors on bathrooms separately, only curtain, what nonsense?? 3. Least friendly staff. I was to check out at 4AM and so wanted to just prepare a coffee and boil water, the drunk staff member whom I had to wake up for check out didn't let me saying only after 8 the kitchen is open. I still don't get what difference a cup of coffee would have made? 4. The dorm I reserved was not empty and even though I was allocated a different room, but this is nonsense. 5. Untidy kitchen, no charging points in room, at least none I can see.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014

Liked: Just bed room and bathroom

Disliked: Really rude staff. We were told the kitchen is free to use at any time but when we wanted to use it someone else told us it is not possible He also sweared so we could hear it and made us very uncomfortable by going around in the kitchen in a very grumpy way and throw things around It was ok for the price but I would exchange staff I have stayed in cheaper places but never experienced something comparable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price can't be beat!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Cheryl Teh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014

Liked: the staff are nice and the main hall area is rather hyped most of the time

Disliked: the security is low as the doors to the other buildings don't always close properly so anyone can enter, very run down rough type of place

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely close to the party area. Decently kept, value for money. A pretty decent place for a night out - a big common area which people do sometimes use (when I came in on Friday night, there were a huge number of people looking to go for a pub crawl). If you're here to party, this is probably where you want to go!

Disliked: On the other hand, this is not where you want to go if you want to sleep - incredibly thin walls mean that you can hear conversations not just in the corridors, but from the street! Pretty limited facilities - only enough room to store your valuables (locker rental for one pound), and only two showers in the entire building. But you get what you pay for.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014

Liked: Peter!

Disliked: unclean, shower = pathetic

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant staff friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: This was one of the worst hostels I ever stayed. There are no lockers in the room and the room and kitchen was not clean. I had to ask the stuff to remove a bunch of cloths/shoes that a person who doesnt stay there anymore left behind, so I have space for my backpack. The stuff when we arrived were not helpfull, I asked them to vaccum the room, but nobody did it. The doors are old and they slam very loudly, when people come in during the night, you are deff wide awake. I would not recomend this place and I will never come back.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Hsien-Chen Chin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014

Liked: Staff are friendly and helpful

Disliked: Mess everywhere and the entre door doesn't has lock

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joris van den Outenaar

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 May 2014 Joris would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great: they like a good time and are very helpful. Beforehand I'd read some terrible reviews about the rooms on the other side of the street; I was pleasantly surprised. The bunk beds were squeeky, otherwise, it was a fine place to sleep. What do you expect for the price?

Disliked: One thing particularly: one of the staff offered to order a cab for me, which was to take me to the airport at 4.30 in the morning. It didn't arrive and I had to get a cab a half hour later.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A short walk from the cente of town

Disliked: If you want to stay in some we're clean don't stay here , the internet does not work in some rooms . The directions on how you get from the bus stops to the hostel are incorrect

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maiwenn Puz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Other bed dorms on the other side of the street. BIG lack of cleanliness in this building, bathroom... Happy to leave this place after 1 night in spite of the kind staff !