We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

69.6% Overall Rating

982 out of 1408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2015)

"The wifi was good-although it sometimes disconnected randomly. The floor we were on was very quiet most of the time and the staff was helpful and friendly. Clean room and linens."

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.51

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions! Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions. We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable. We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard. Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled. For security, each guest must have a key. Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
22.70 USD

Hostel 87.3% 319 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
22.70 USD

Hostel 76.9% 219 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
24.21 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
devoncove hotel
34.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
20.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 3 reviews
McLays Guest House
26.48 USD

Hostel 79.0% 1191 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
40.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
24.08 USD

Hostel 76.6% 197 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.6%

Overall Rating

982 out of 1408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 854 of 932 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014

Liked: Keenly priced, location convenient.

Disliked: Not enough showers - only 2 for 3 floors. I was directed to one shower which had the shower head missing, so useless. No proper storage for bags etc.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014

Liked: Nothing at all

Disliked: Paying that price to stay in a squat it's ridiculous and inadmissible

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rajat Jain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014

Liked: Nothing except the location.

Disliked: 1. It was so untidy and unclean that I didn't want to even walk there. the place stinks. 2. No doors on bathrooms separately, only curtain, what nonsense?? 3. Least friendly staff. I was to check out at 4AM and so wanted to just prepare a coffee and boil water, the drunk staff member whom I had to wake up for check out didn't let me saying only after 8 the kitchen is open. I still don't get what difference a cup of coffee would have made? 4. The dorm I reserved was not empty and even though I was allocated a different room, but this is nonsense. 5. Untidy kitchen, no charging points in room, at least none I can see.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014

Liked: Just bed room and bathroom

Disliked: Really rude staff. We were told the kitchen is free to use at any time but when we wanted to use it someone else told us it is not possible He also sweared so we could hear it and made us very uncomfortable by going around in the kitchen in a very grumpy way and throw things around It was ok for the price but I would exchange staff I have stayed in cheaper places but never experienced something comparable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price can't be beat!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Cheryl Teh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014

Liked: the staff are nice and the main hall area is rather hyped most of the time

Disliked: the security is low as the doors to the other buildings don't always close properly so anyone can enter, very run down rough type of place

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely close to the party area. Decently kept, value for money. A pretty decent place for a night out - a big common area which people do sometimes use (when I came in on Friday night, there were a huge number of people looking to go for a pub crawl). If you're here to party, this is probably where you want to go!

Disliked: On the other hand, this is not where you want to go if you want to sleep - incredibly thin walls mean that you can hear conversations not just in the corridors, but from the street! Pretty limited facilities - only enough room to store your valuables (locker rental for one pound), and only two showers in the entire building. But you get what you pay for.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014

Liked: Peter!

Disliked: unclean, shower = pathetic

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant staff friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: This was one of the worst hostels I ever stayed. There are no lockers in the room and the room and kitchen was not clean. I had to ask the stuff to remove a bunch of cloths/shoes that a person who doesnt stay there anymore left behind, so I have space for my backpack. The stuff when we arrived were not helpfull, I asked them to vaccum the room, but nobody did it. The doors are old and they slam very loudly, when people come in during the night, you are deff wide awake. I would not recomend this place and I will never come back.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Hsien-Chen Chin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014

Liked: Staff are friendly and helpful

Disliked: Mess everywhere and the entre door doesn't has lock

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joris van den Outenaar

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 May 2014 Joris would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great: they like a good time and are very helpful. Beforehand I'd read some terrible reviews about the rooms on the other side of the street; I was pleasantly surprised. The bunk beds were squeeky, otherwise, it was a fine place to sleep. What do you expect for the price?

Disliked: One thing particularly: one of the staff offered to order a cab for me, which was to take me to the airport at 4.30 in the morning. It didn't arrive and I had to get a cab a half hour later.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A short walk from the cente of town

Disliked: If you want to stay in some we're clean don't stay here , the internet does not work in some rooms . The directions on how you get from the bus stops to the hostel are incorrect

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maiwenn Puz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Other bed dorms on the other side of the street. BIG lack of cleanliness in this building, bathroom... Happy to leave this place after 1 night in spite of the kind staff !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katie Fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and welcoming. They made me feel like I was apart of their hostel family even though I was only there for 3 nights. The showers were always hot and at night i got a peaceful sleep. Bluesky hostel has a great atmosphere and I will definitely be back.

Disliked: The place does need a lot of work to it but you forget about it as soon as you settle in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Angela Walsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly

Disliked: Very dated. Not very organized, new or very clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at this hostel - the staff were super friendly and helpful and there was always drinking games and fun people hanging in the common area. Great for people travelling alone.

Disliked: The bathrooms were absolutely terrible - only 1 working HOT shower in one of the buildings, the others did not heat up or did not turn on at all. All bathrooms and sink areas stunk of piss and were in need of a solid clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap accommodation. The building is run down and old and the wifi wasn't very reliable but it was cheap. 20min walk into town but some good bars around the area.

Disliked: Run down, the place needs some work

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Muhammad Umar Mukhtar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014

Liked: Rooms was nice and cozy.

Disliked: Extremely rude male staff. Very dirty and unsafe laundry room. There are 2 buildings of this hotel. The kitchen in the building which houses reception is okay. But the kitchen in other building is very dirty and bugs can be found everywhere. General lack of cleanliness.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katharina Keck

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2014 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and location, this isn`t your typical annoying backpackers place but the people here are fun and it`s def a place where you can stay longer. It`s only 5 min walk to Sauchiehall street where all the bars are!

Disliked: there was 3 showers in the place and only 1 that was working properly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite convenient location and staff are super-friendly!

Disliked: Half of the electrical sockets weren't working in the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luan Bulgarelli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Luan would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and good atmosphere.

Disliked: The shower system is not very good, but is not a big problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a really fun atmosphere

Disliked: The building was clearly a little run down, but everything still seemed as clean as possible

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marie Jacot

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Bluesky hostel was wonderful! Very nice staff, always people to meet and to party with in the common room. Definitely the hostel to stay in if you are in Glasgow to party and meet people from all around the world!

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014

Liked: The location and the friendly staf.

Disliked: Noisly, people pre-drinking and singing, lack of cleanless, not confortable beds...

The property's response is...