We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bluesky Hostel

Hostel | 65 Berkeley Street, Charing Cross, Glasgow, Scotland G3 7DX

65.3% Overall Rating

996 out of 1441 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2015)

Marko Mravunac thinks…

"There was free wifi. The room I stayed in (Trainspotting) was fairly big, try grabbing one of the beds in the "niche" for more privacy. There were lockers so you could keep your belongings…"

Read all Bluesky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Identification is required. Passports or EU cards are the only accepted forms of identification. photo copies, bus passes, student cards bank cards will not be accepted as identification. No exceptions! Cancellations must be made 48 hours before the arrival date. Any late cancellations or no shows will be charged for the full booking Backpackers only - Age restriction: 18 to 35 years. All guests must adhere to our age restrictions. We do not accept bookings for groups over 8 guests. Any bookings over 8 guests will be cancelled and the deposit is non refundable. We accept payment by Visa and MasterCard. Any booking guaranteed with a card that expires before arrival date will be cancelled. For security, each guest must have a key. Key and bed sheet deposit of £5 per person in cash is required.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Glasgow Youth Hostel
23.03 USD

Hostel 82.6% 323 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
26.87 USD

Hostel 78.9% 220 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
29.17 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
devoncove hotel
37.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
39.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.9% 4 reviews
McLays Guest House
26.87 USD

Hostel 79.3% 1193 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
39.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
Bunkum Hostel
27.91 USD

Hostel 78.2% 200 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.3%

Overall Rating

996 out of 1441 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bluesky Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
67.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 878 of 967 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015

Liked: The wifi was good-although it sometimes disconnected randomly. The floor we were on was very quiet most of the time and the staff was helpful and friendly. Clean room and linens.

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny and only has one small stove with 4 burners. It was almost impossible to cook things at dinner times so we had to make dinner during lunch hours and then heat it up later. I had no idea how to turn on the bathroom stall lights so the majority of the time i was in the dark and the shower was also a mystery. You have to mop the floor when youre done showering because the water leaks out. The whole hostel seems to be under repair or half finished so it seems dirty.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rob Chilton

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2015 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fine - could walk both into the city centre and down to the river in about 25 minutes. Room was ok, beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The shower was awful. It had zero power and only had one temperature (boiling hot). Very unpleasant. The light in our room didn't work so we had to make do with a small lamp.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katja Palovaara

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 February 2015 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, cool people. Hostel was just the way I thought it would be. I hope they would fix the bathrooms tho.

Disliked: Both of the toilets were somehow broken - I got stuck in the other one. It was rather chilly in our room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean with a long extension cord to charge appliances.

Disliked: Only 3 showers in the building, which is not enough considering the number of people. Reception is closed from 4-8 am, I needed to leave at 6 so I didn't get my key deposit back.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the other guests were definitely the best part. Very friendly, they even treated everyone to an xmas dinner! The location a close second.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Scott McCarthy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near a lot of pubs and bars, friendly staff who knew the city which is helpful if you have some trouble understanding the Scottish language as I did, comfortable bed, great value for money and England beating Scotland 3-1 helped.

Disliked: Shower floods very easily to the point where you need a small boat at times to navigate it

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2014

Liked: It's cheap. Within walking distance of city centre.

Disliked: Temperature in the room Beds were extremely noisy Matrasses are really bad

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Rooms and showers are dirty.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 September 2014

Liked: Poor celamins but good for the price and location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014

Liked: N/A

Disliked: The 18 bed room is big enough to sleep 10 people comfortably. The room is horrendously cramped, no space to put your things and you're basically sleeping on the person next to you. Blood stains on mattress protectors and only a few showers and toilets between a lot of people - place wasn't very clean at all. Don't stay here.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Husar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I love the style of house it has tall ceilings and is all around really cool. Also ot is super clise to the james joyce center and a block away from the ireland writers museaum and the park of remembrance. So if you are into writing or literature it is the perfect location!

Disliked: I disliked the smell of the hand soap, it smelled too much like glue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew edwards

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, Clean n Tidy Gr8 location

Disliked: Nothing all was excellent

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Long reception hours, friendly staff, international feel.

Disliked: A bit noisy, as people hang out outside late at night, below dorm windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Internet included (no extra charge). Good internet connection. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about it.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2014

Liked: The only good thing was that the bed linen was clean.

Disliked: The bedrooms and bathrooms were really dirty. We were in the 'extension' across the road, with only 2 toilets. The the toilet on the ground level floor was a mixed toilet for 3 bedrooms (each with 8 beds) so up to 24 people are using it and it didn't lock meaning we have to take it in turns to watch the door for each other. The carpet in the bedroom was disgusting and ceiling and windows are falling apart. It was one general key for the front door and bedroom so it didn't feel very secure at all. You have to walk through the laundry room to get to the showers. Both nights we were there there was a guy sleeping on the floor in this room (even though the 2nd night we had 3 spare beds in our room. I have travelled round the world staying in hostels and never had such bad accommodation. We tried to complain about the security and cleanliness/state of the room but the girl working said that it wasn't a good week to talk to the manager due to the bad press the hostel had received. To be honest, the girl how complained wasn't wrong! We asked the girl working to speak to the manager but she wouldn't. We got the impression that she was scared of him. Now that the Commonwealth Games have finished, I would recommend to look at other hostels in Glasgow and only use the Blue Sky hostel as a last resort. Yes, it's a hostel and for under 35s, but you still need to have somewhere clean and safe to sleep.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly.

Disliked: The shower wasn't great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent- very nearby to two trainstations. a 24h tescos very nearby also, and with a full self catering kitchen at the hostel this is very convenient. I stayed in a double private room; it was basic but what more could you ask for considering the price! The staff where super friendly and accommodating. I would not hesitate to recommending this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: There were few drawbacks during my stay. It does what it says on the tin! The rooms were reasonably clean, as were the bathrooms. The bed however was incredibly squeaky! one small movement during the night and you woke yourself up.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience, location, and extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Broken toilet and shower. Loud 5:00 a.m. roommates.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Grotty, uncomfortable, wires coming out of walls everywhere, mouldy bathrooms, only 1 working shower in the building, aggressive, foul mouthed staff & at 2am there were people having to change beds & rooms about which woke everyone else up. No light switch in the room nevermind a plug socket! Bed was a foam mattress which didn't even cover the springs. Place is a health hazard. AVOID. AVOID. AVOID! (And I paid £100 for the 'pleasure' of renting out 1 bunkbed for 2 of us in a shared dorm)

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: Free use of computers, pretty good location

Disliked: It was very dirty, used tissues and other rubbish strewed under my bed. Filthy bathrooms, the whole place smelled disgusting.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked that the bathroom was seperate

Disliked: The kitchen area was quite small and unfortunately access to some of the rooms was through the kitchen first

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014

Liked: Location was ok

Disliked: Dirty, unfriendly staff, awful showers, NO POWERPOINTS IN THE ROOMS!!, dirty kitchen & nothing in the hostel had been cleaned

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014

Liked: Keenly priced, location convenient.

Disliked: Not enough showers - only 2 for 3 floors. I was directed to one shower which had the shower head missing, so useless. No proper storage for bags etc.

The property's response is...