We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Glasgow Youth Hostel

Hostel | 7-8 Park Terrace, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6BY

89.9% Overall Rating

278 out of 309 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

Celina Büttgen thinks…

"When we entered this hostel we liked the atmosphere and the friendly staff so much, we booked an extra night right away. The location is perfect, in a very pretty neighbourhood and super central,…"

Read all Glasgow Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Glasgow Youth Hostel requires 72 hours (3days) notice for free of charge cancellations. For this purpose arrival time is deemed to be 1800hours on the first night of the booking. Deposits paid are non refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Bluesky Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 63.8% 1397 reviews
devoncove hotel
35.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
21.65 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Bunkum Hostel
25.82 USD

Hostel 76.0% 196 reviews
Clifton Hotel
18.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 6 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
23.81 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
McLays Guest House
32.46 USD

Hostel 81.7% 1188 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
28.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

278 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Glasgow Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 213 of 233 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Celina Büttgen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Celina would recommend this property

Liked: When we entered this hostel we liked the atmosphere and the friendly staff so much, we booked an extra night right away. The location is perfect, in a very pretty neighbourhood and super central, close to west end, a quarter with bars, little cafes and restaurants and shops.

Disliked: The hostel is quite expensive, but very comfy with big rooms and bathrooms en suite. Wifi has to be paid extra and the kitchen is in the basement with no natural light and is not very cosy. Other hostels always offered free tea and coffee, none of this is provided in Glasgow Youth Hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, comfortable common rooms, clean bathrooms, good kitchen, good location

Disliked: You had to pay for tea and wifi....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sofronis Sofroniou

Alone

Relaxation/spa

09 June 2014 Sofronis would recommend this property

Liked: Friendness of the staff

Disliked: 30min walking from the center toilets noise not insulated

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly reception staff, lovely high ceilings in room, very clean and well looked after, extremely quiet.

Disliked: Lack of electrical sockets in room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff ultra friendly and helpful Great location, super clean

Disliked: not so much of a character

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014

Liked: Clean, and upgrade to 4 bed bunk from 8 bed bunk

Disliked: No free wifi Limited paid wifi Spoilt shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful, good facilities on offer onsite.

Disliked: Location was not near the centre of town. I didn't mind the walk into town, but other traveler's may prefer to be closer to the heart of town. Also the hostel charges for everything, internet, breakfast etc, which can eat up the budget quite quickly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looked lovely. I booked a 8 bed dorm and got a 4 bed one with only three people. Was able to leave my stuff there all day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and safety.

Disliked: beds creak. may cause disturbance at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Warren

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location between the centre and the thriving west end, really friendly staff and good facilities.

Disliked: Have to pay for wi-fi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Sanford

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super helpful, friendly and professional - but not in a stuffy way! Knew lots about the city and were always there if you had a question. Location was great (we walked everywhere) and our room had a nice view. Kitchen downstairs was also really nice and kept very clean. Big common room/lounge area with comfy couches - also nice and clean. Building had lots of character and was quite old. I would stay here again.

Disliked: No free wifi, costs 1 pound an hour which I think is very expensive. Couldn't drink the tap water in the rooms and the kitchen (where there was tap water for drinking) was 5 floors down from our room and a very far walk away! As the building is old (and has super tall ceilings!), there was no elevator and we had to carry our super heavey suitcases up 4 long flights of stairs. Of course we didnt mind using the stairs when we had no luggage to haul though. Bathrooms were pretty out dated (but nice and clean!) and the taps had seperate taps for hot & cold water (no warm) which I find quite behind the times! Small but honest dislikes! I know it's a hostel and I don't expect it to be a 5 star hotel :).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and builbding

Disliked: The rooms could have been a little bigger

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Athanasios Frangoudis

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 September 2013 Athanasios would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere mostly. The place has really a lot of character and I'm planning on visiting again with my girlfriend this time so she can enjoy the fantastic view from the rooms looking south and the cozy and warm interior. A big plus is the friendliness of the staff. Makes you feel you are amongst good friends.

Disliked: Really the only thing I didn't like was that the wi-fi wasn't free. I can understand not having wi-fi in the rooms but paying for it in the lounge is a little bit much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely location and lots of information with friendly staff

Disliked: The light in the toilet took 10mins to come on and the toilet wasn't flushing brilliantly. the shower was very noisy with only a shower curtain accross the doorway hence waking up the whole room was virtually impossible.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location being close to Kelvinhall, the park and the botanical gardens. Good views across the city.

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a lovely place, beautiful big spacious building on the edge of a lovely park. Really helpful staff, super facilities. Also I arrived early off an overnight coach before the officual checkin time but they kindly let me shower , make lunch, and hang out in the lounge. Thanks!

Disliked: Could have done with an extra bathroom somewhere along a corridor or something. As most of us in my room were attending the same event. Early in the morung, there was a bit of a queue to shower- but I doubt that happens often. Also only one plug socket per 6 person room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the building

Disliked: i couldn't sleep because the room was freezing, the heating was turned off, probably by another person in the room, and i could not turn it on again since the radiator was situated behind a bunk bed and unreachable for anyone other than the people in that bunk bed!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Austin Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly.

Disliked: Having to pay for the wifi was annoying, especially when it doesn't work in the majority of rooms,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vi Dang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

29 December 2012 Vi would recommend this property

Liked: great facilities, loved the self catered kitchen.

Disliked: Vi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAHUL VADJE

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 November 2012 RAHUL would recommend this property

Liked: Service provided was excellent,very friendly n helpful staff,good food,Glasgow city view from the hostel is awesome. Overall thumbs up for this hostel.......loved it :)

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the upper floors was very nice!

Disliked: I did not like the fee for wifi (£1/hr)... The room I was in also had only 2 electricity plugs for 8 beds, so they were always taken. The breakfast was not very nice, but as it was free (because I booked through here), it was acceptable. I wouldn't pay for breakfast there. It was weird how the toilet and shower were straight from the room, not in the corridor, so just a small door between people's beds and the loo haha

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff. Clean and large lounge room and kitchen facilities. Good location in West End and close enough to City Centre. It's a quiet and peaceful hostel, not really a place to party.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely, friendly staff; super-clean and tidy; warm; lovely old building full of character; location was convenient for the west end and centre; very good value for money

Disliked: Very little, I thought it was great overall. The one comment I would have is that the location made me wary of walking home late as I'd have liked and I felt obliged to take a taxi instead - the park is beautiful, but seemed a bit lonely.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Raghavendra Andagi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Raghavendra would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed playing billiards. The hostel has a very good view and easy accesibility to other parts of the city.

Disliked: As the kitchen and dining is at the basement the air circulation may be poor at the Kitchen and dining.