We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Glasgow Youth Hostel

Hostel | 7-8 Park Terrace, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6BY

87.8% Overall Rating

284 out of 316 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2015)

Catherine dee thinks…

"Was a big hostel with spacious rooms, kitchen had everything you need and easy walking distance of attractions."

Read all Glasgow Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Glasgow Youth Hostel requires 72 hours (3days) notice for free of charge cancellations. For this purpose arrival time is deemed to be 1800hours on the first night of the booking. Deposits paid are non refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Beersbridge Lodge
26.68 USD

Hostel 76.9% 219 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
16.77 USD

Hostel 69.9% 1402 reviews
devoncove hotel
32.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Smiths Hotel
16.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Bunkum Hostel
24.25 USD

Hostel 76.0% 196 reviews
Clifton Hotel
27.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 7 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
22.87 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
McLays Guest House
26.68 USD

Hostel 79.0% 1190 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

284 out of 316 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Glasgow Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 220 of 240 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, peace and quiet

Disliked: Limited wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine dee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Was a big hostel with spacious rooms, kitchen had everything you need and easy walking distance of attractions.

Disliked: Mattresses were thin and no atmosphere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Debbie Haynes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015 Debbie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and space

Disliked: Debbie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old building! 2 showers and toilets to share between 8 people. Comfy bed and toasty warm. Amazing view of city.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2015

Liked: It was a clean and quiet hostel with a comfortable lounge and decent kitchen

Disliked: Internet access is archaic. It was necessary to pay per the hour. Hostels in this day and age generally have free unlimited wifi access (even those with lower rates!?!). For the amount you pay for a dorm bed it really should be included. It really made me reconsider staying a 2nd night as I needed internet to do work that day. I am unlikely to come back again for this reason.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was cosy comfortable and homely

Disliked: Had to pay for internet, It was only available in downstairs lounge and kept cutting out

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Watson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Not too far out of town if you don't mind a bit of a walk. Very nice interior in the hostel, felt much more welcoming and secure compared to many hostels I've been to. Pretty quiet, I only had 1-2 other people in my 6 bed dorm which was nice! Staff were very helpful and friendly too, particularly the young woman with the short hair and the bloke with the black beard.

Disliked: No free WiFi, no free breakfast (a continental breakfast was £4.50), and phone reception was almost non existent within the building for me.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Celina Büttgen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Celina would recommend this property

Liked: When we entered this hostel we liked the atmosphere and the friendly staff so much, we booked an extra night right away. The location is perfect, in a very pretty neighbourhood and super central, close to west end, a quarter with bars, little cafes and restaurants and shops.

Disliked: The hostel is quite expensive, but very comfy with big rooms and bathrooms en suite. Wifi has to be paid extra and the kitchen is in the basement with no natural light and is not very cosy. Other hostels always offered free tea and coffee, none of this is provided in Glasgow Youth Hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, comfortable common rooms, clean bathrooms, good kitchen, good location

Disliked: You had to pay for tea and wifi....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sofronis Sofroniou

Alone

Relaxation/spa

09 June 2014 Sofronis would recommend this property

Liked: Friendness of the staff

Disliked: 30min walking from the center toilets noise not insulated

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly reception staff, lovely high ceilings in room, very clean and well looked after, extremely quiet.

Disliked: Lack of electrical sockets in room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff ultra friendly and helpful Great location, super clean

Disliked: not so much of a character

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014

Liked: Clean, and upgrade to 4 bed bunk from 8 bed bunk

Disliked: No free wifi Limited paid wifi Spoilt shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful, good facilities on offer onsite.

Disliked: Location was not near the centre of town. I didn't mind the walk into town, but other traveler's may prefer to be closer to the heart of town. Also the hostel charges for everything, internet, breakfast etc, which can eat up the budget quite quickly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looked lovely. I booked a 8 bed dorm and got a 4 bed one with only three people. Was able to leave my stuff there all day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and safety.

Disliked: beds creak. may cause disturbance at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Warren

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location between the centre and the thriving west end, really friendly staff and good facilities.

Disliked: Have to pay for wi-fi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Sanford

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super helpful, friendly and professional - but not in a stuffy way! Knew lots about the city and were always there if you had a question. Location was great (we walked everywhere) and our room had a nice view. Kitchen downstairs was also really nice and kept very clean. Big common room/lounge area with comfy couches - also nice and clean. Building had lots of character and was quite old. I would stay here again.

Disliked: No free wifi, costs 1 pound an hour which I think is very expensive. Couldn't drink the tap water in the rooms and the kitchen (where there was tap water for drinking) was 5 floors down from our room and a very far walk away! As the building is old (and has super tall ceilings!), there was no elevator and we had to carry our super heavey suitcases up 4 long flights of stairs. Of course we didnt mind using the stairs when we had no luggage to haul though. Bathrooms were pretty out dated (but nice and clean!) and the taps had seperate taps for hot & cold water (no warm) which I find quite behind the times! Small but honest dislikes! I know it's a hostel and I don't expect it to be a 5 star hotel :).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and builbding

Disliked: The rooms could have been a little bigger

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Athanasios Frangoudis

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 September 2013 Athanasios would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere mostly. The place has really a lot of character and I'm planning on visiting again with my girlfriend this time so she can enjoy the fantastic view from the rooms looking south and the cozy and warm interior. A big plus is the friendliness of the staff. Makes you feel you are amongst good friends.

Disliked: Really the only thing I didn't like was that the wi-fi wasn't free. I can understand not having wi-fi in the rooms but paying for it in the lounge is a little bit much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely location and lots of information with friendly staff

Disliked: The light in the toilet took 10mins to come on and the toilet wasn't flushing brilliantly. the shower was very noisy with only a shower curtain accross the doorway hence waking up the whole room was virtually impossible.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location being close to Kelvinhall, the park and the botanical gardens. Good views across the city.

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a lovely place, beautiful big spacious building on the edge of a lovely park. Really helpful staff, super facilities. Also I arrived early off an overnight coach before the officual checkin time but they kindly let me shower , make lunch, and hang out in the lounge. Thanks!

Disliked: Could have done with an extra bathroom somewhere along a corridor or something. As most of us in my room were attending the same event. Early in the morung, there was a bit of a queue to shower- but I doubt that happens often. Also only one plug socket per 6 person room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the building

Disliked: i couldn't sleep because the room was freezing, the heating was turned off, probably by another person in the room, and i could not turn it on again since the radiator was situated behind a bunk bed and unreachable for anyone other than the people in that bunk bed!