HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ossians Hotel

Guesthouse | High Street, Fort William, Scotland PH33 6DH

75.3% Overall Rating

46 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/06/2013)

andrew robertson thinks…

"Location was excellent , Clean bedding and towels and the bathroom was clean but a bit worn and in need of a bit of work."

Read all Ossians Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Pets are welcome here. No extra charge for them, but please keep them off the furniture and under control. There is a disco here every Friday and Saturday night, 10 till 2am. This is loud. Please do not book if you need a quiet night

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

Bank Street Lodge
28.42 USD

Hostel 84.8% 295 reviews
InverNevis B&B
52.67 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 22 reviews
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
22.57 USD

Hostel 81.6% 110 reviews
Farr Cottage Lodge
27.59 USD

Hostel 77.7% 167 reviews
Innseagan House Hotel
35.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
26.33 USD

Hostel 80.7% 272 reviews
Glen Nevis Hostel
33.44 USD

Hostel 86.5% 69 reviews
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
141.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

46 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ossians Hotel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brian Haywood

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 October 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Position

Disliked: Shabby

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VFM and location

Disliked: No hot water from the sink. No obvious place to drop the room key for early morning checkout..

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Dallas

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 July 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Location & handiness for town centre in the evening.

Disliked: Been there before. Nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andrew robertson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent , Clean bedding and towels and the bathroom was clean but a bit worn and in need of a bit of work.

Disliked: Bathroom was a bit worn and in need of replacement , The Carpark was a bit sparce and others that are not residents use the spaces.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norma Gibb

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Norma would recommend this property

Liked: You do yourselves a "HUGE", & in fact, a "GIGANTIC" disservice. Why "DO" you rate your hostelry from only "bad to good" ? How about "EXCELLENT & BRILLIANT". I found "The Ossians", perfect for what I required. Clean (i.e. spotless) requirements met, & treated also like an "ADULT". i,e. credited with common sense, & given the autonomy to use it. Without causing distress to my fellow residents. "THANKYOU, FOR MY STAY".

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet,clean place and very friendly staff. fair money/quality.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: shower and sink could use a bit of renewing, it takes a long time to get hot water running...

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hotel, value for money, very friendly staff and helpful, will sure recommend to friends!

Disliked: facilities is a bit out of date, yet enough for a complete rest.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephen Webster

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Centrality to activities in the area.

Disliked: Needs a little TLC inside and outside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the centre of Fort William. Comfortable and cheap accommodation.

Disliked: The Showers werent hot and were lukewarm at best.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Magda Pibilová

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 Magda would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for backpackers - train station with supermarket in walking distant. Friendly staff and fine view, lot of space in our room. Hotel says the true - "Inside, well, OK we’re a bit dated in places and well worn..." - so when you arrive there are no negative surprises in this matter.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find the hostel - the sign is easy to overlook. If we could have seen a clear big photo of the entrance on the website we would not have passed the hotel thrice without notice - the street view here on Hostelbookers is totally misleading. We missed hooks in our bathrom - simple and cheap thing to buy but helps a lot.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012

Liked: Good location on the main strip of Fort William. Price was ok, and I was pleased to see that we paid less with hostel-bookers than we would have by just turning up.

Disliked: The staff we spoke to were quite abrupt and not at all friendly, the room could have done with a re-fit. The advert says dated, but it was beyond dated.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rashed Huq

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012 Rashed would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cheap in a good location and room was huge

Disliked: A bit old n tired looking but for a cheap price it's not a big deal. Parking was all taken up by trucks.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jinheng Feng

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 June 2012 Jinheng would recommend this property

Liked: location is good, room is clean.

Disliked: it is actually a B&B, but the breakfast is not included in the room rate.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012

Liked: Hostal con muy pocas pretensiones, muy mediocre. Decoración vintage

Disliked: Baño. Lo nunca visto. Cortinas de plastico floreadas (Inicios serie del cuentame).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We did the West Highland Way and the location of the hotel is brilliant. Just 200m from the finish and 100m from the pub!

Disliked: Although the location is good it is very very dated. The price was also more than we payed for a premier inn at the beginning of our walk which was much cleaner and more comfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the size of the room and the view

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kenneth mcginlay

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2012 kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location friendly staff and it was clean

Disliked: This place needs a wee bit of face lift, very dated and not in the good way smelled a wee bit funky as well at first. But I did have a good night’s sleep and if you’re getting a good budget price for you room, I say go for it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011

Liked: The central location within Fort William.

Disliked: Everything else. I originally booked the single room which creeped me out with the bare, dimly lit furnishings. Of course there were no other singles so I had to upgrade to a double for a price I did not think was worthwhile at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The amability and location.

Disliked: The breakfast could be incluided for the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, nice staff and lovely breakfast~~

Disliked: in shower room there is no cloth hanger....