We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ossians Hotel

Guesthouse | High Street, Fort William, Scotland PH33 6DH

75.7% Overall Rating

90 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2015)

"Friendly and very helpful staff. Hotel is centrally located and room was nice and bright."

Read all Ossians Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Pets are welcome here. No extra charge for them, but please keep them off the furniture and under control Please be aware that this is a town centre location, good to access shops, restaurants and pubs and transport, but not the quietest location since some nearby bars have late night music.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

Bank Street Lodge
28.31 USD

Hostel 82.1% 315 reviews
Fort William Backpackers
29.09 USD

Hostel 90.1% 420 reviews
InverNevis B&B
51.11 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 31 reviews
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
23.59 USD

Hostel 83.1% 117 reviews
Farr Cottage Lodge
25.95 USD

Hostel 75.5% 191 reviews
Innseagan House Hotel
57.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
23.59 USD

Hostel 76.7% 284 reviews
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
26.73 USD

Hostel 86.2% 81 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.7%

Overall Rating

90 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ossians Hotel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
70.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 86 of 125 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and price

Disliked: Nothing, was exactly what I expected for £36 a night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and very helpful staff. Hotel is centrally located and room was nice and bright.

Disliked: Very noisy at night. Bathroom was very dark as the light bulb was quite weak inside. Also, there was no pressure on the shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient, in the centre of Fort William. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Slightly run down, but quite acceptable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location; clean, comfortable room with everything we needed at a very reasonable price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy, big rooms, own shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

PAUL HERBERT

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2015 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: it was on main high street in town, close to all amenities, view of town from window, reasonably priced. Better than camping! reception really helpful too.

Disliked: nothing really, just needs a bit of a refurbishment.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cara Low

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2015

Liked: Good location although not well signposted and difficult to find.

Disliked: Poor car parking, had to park on double yellow lines and be shown a 'space' between a van and a cherry picker which had a sign for ossians hidden behind the van. My partner was unable to get out of the passenger side of the car as the space was so small. Shower water was warm at best and only cold water from both sink taps.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to restaurants in the welcome center. Very close to train station. Great view of the mountains.

Disliked: Beds were pretty uncomfortable as they seemed to be the old spring style and there was not a lot of padding. Could only access WiFi in registration area.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Emanuele Dolce

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2015 Emanuele would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leong Shean Lee

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

20 April 2015 Leong Shean would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: A bit noisy at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Clean.

Disliked: A bit damp and dark.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2014

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: see above

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sharyn Gordon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Sharyn would recommend this property

Liked: Ossians is an easy walk from the bus station/train station, even with a large suitcase. It is right on the High Street so easy access to everything. Basic breakfast items available if required but there are plenty of eateries out in the town so you won't starve. My room was advertised as a basic/small single and it was certainly that. And it had its own bathroom. Overall it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The reception is a couple of flights of stairs up from the street and no lift that I could find. There was a lift from the reception floor to the rooms above, but it was a bit of a maze to find it and it ended up being easier to drag the suitcase up the stairs. If you're travelling light then no worries. Carpet in the bathroom was a bit odd. Also the bathroom contained the only wardrobe and was the only place to put the suitcase. Free wifi only available in public areas so no privacy for Skype etc. but ok for emails and the like.

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Damian Bevan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2014

Liked: Price

Disliked: We stayed here Friday night before starting the 3 peaks challenge on the Saturday. Worst mistake ever. There is no possibility of getting any sleep before 2am because of the loud bar and music blaring out. Avoid at all costs.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonnardo Avila

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2014 Leonnardo would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place!!!!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That they described themselves as honestly as possible on their website and that was a good basic selection of light breakfast food on offer in the morning.

Disliked: The windows could have done with a bit of a clean!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from my room overlooking the loch. Right in the main street for meals. Walking distance to the railway station

Disliked: The bathroom was not ventilated and the towels didn't dry, however the towels were replaced every day. Pets were allowed to stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Marrs

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, I was a bit anxious at first but it's value for money, good nights sleep and just off the main high street, with great access to superb restaurants such as the Ben Nevis Inn.

Disliked: The shower in the room wasn't hot enough, not a major criticism.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff very central + with a lift sufficient space in the room

Disliked: bathroom was not so nice though food was announced to be available, it was not

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014

Liked: Centre of Fort William

Disliked: Even on a Sunday night there was a lot of noise coming from other bars/pubs on the high street that kept us awake.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014

Liked: Great location, nice smelling bedding.

Disliked: Very run down and brown. Over a nightclub although our room was on the 3rd floor and with earplugs I couldn't hear anything.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the friendliest lounge/bar area of any hotel I've ever used.

Disliked: Use of Comic Sans for all official notices. Dear Lord, my eyes...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steve limb

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 steve would recommend this property

Liked: everthing it was very very good.. we plan to stay there again soon as possible..

Disliked: nothing it was first class

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great room

Disliked: none

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Avila

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 August 2014 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and friendly, they kept our luggage for a few hours after the check out with a smile, rooms very well isolated so the noise from the street or other rooms was not a nuisance at all, clean and comfortable in a magnificent location and with very affordable prices. Would go back to it indeed.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about. Maybe the lack of breakfast, but that´s easily compensated with the amount of pubs and cafes nearby.