HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Fort William Backpackers Fort William Hostel

Alma Road, Fort William, Scotland

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 84%

Location 86%

Safety 85%

Staff 93%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2.51USD
  • Towel 1.26USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:
Please bring photographic identification with you – you will need it to check-into our hostel.
If any guest within your booking is under the age of 18 please contact us before making the reservation online.
As our accommodation is mainly comprised of dorm rooms, we can only accept families with children if the whole room has been booked for sole occupancy. We cannot accommodate children in dorm rooms with other guests and the maximum number of people allowed to sleep in our twin room is 2.
The hostel reception is open from 7am-12pm and then from 5pm-10.3opm. If you arrive in the afternoon feel free to make yourself at home and use the hostel facilities. Check-in is available again between 5pm & 10.30pm.
Fort William Backpackers is available for sole occupancy. To check availability & get a quote, please contact us.
Unfortunately, due to past experiences, we do not accept stag or hen parties

Cancellation Policy:
Cancellations made more than 24 hours prior to arrival will receive a 90% refund.
Cancellations made less than 24 hours prior to arrival are non-refundable.
(Please note that in order to receive a 90% refund; you must cancel prior to 12.00 noon the day before your booking is due to commence)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 84%

Location 86%

Safety 85%

Staff 93%

Value 87%

Showing 31-33 of 33 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not to much tables in the dining room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really helpfull and friendly stuff, gave me advise for further destinations in Scotland. Free Wifi. Good location.

Disliked: I was in a really small room with up to 5 people, that was ok but the heating was so hot that it was bad for a good night and you couldn't open the windows properly. I guess the other rooms are way better. The fridge was so full that you could hardly put anything in there. But that was in all hostels of Macpackers, don't know why.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Andy the manager was friendly without being invasive, very knowledgeable about the local area. Helpful with weather forecast. Helpful to a lonely chap on his own.

Disliked: only two toilets for all the guests, sometimes a queue. Some of the guests were less than clean in the bathroom...

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it was very sociable atmospherestaff was really nice and kind.the town is not very big so you can go coach or train station in 10~15 minutes

Disliked: room which i stayed was very called.road to hostel was quite rough(?)kitchenwares were not that clean

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Przytulny salon z kominkiem. Robert i jego pozytywne nastawienie :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything! From the names of the dorm beds to the open fire in the evening to the great kitchen!

Disliked: The only thing I can fault this place with is that it is on a small hill, which is murder after a day of hiking with a full pack :D

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice, fun staff. Wifi throughout. Five minute walk to grocery store, bus station, train station. NIce seating areas. Cozy. Clean.

Disliked: Kitchen is very small. Bed was extremely uncomfrtable with springs poking me all night.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to out to comment on your stay with us:)
Glad to hear you enjoyed our company and that you enjoyed the cosy atmosphere.
Understandably when it gets very busy the kitchen can seem hectic and we do our best to make sure things our being cleaned along the way so that it is ready for the next person, hopefully this helps:)
Again thanks for the feedback and we do hope that you will come and visit us again in the near future:)
Safe Travelling:)

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's close to train station

Disliked: Kitchen is too small, it is busy during dinner time

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great place for a short stay. Friendly staff.. lovely view from the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything,including;beautefull location/views,the friendly+warmness of the Fantastic!!staff!I would like to thanks all of them,to make me feel do welcome!with such TLC,they would walk not just a mile to help U,but much more...very genuine+down to earth!Extremelly helpfull+knowlegeble.feel since the first day,that we know each other for a life time!wonderfull people+place...Really Love it!thank you all..already plan to come back.they also treat every single one of the guest igually good,Robert is a very hard work+commited+helpfull+nice gentlemen.

Disliked: Absolutelly Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Joso,

Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time in our wee hostel:)
We look forward to seeing you again again and hearing more tales of your epic adventures in the Scottish highlands.
Also a big thanks for sharing your delicious home made cooking with us....must get your recipe:)

So safe travelling and we look forward to seeing you soon in the neat future:)

Robert
Fort William Backpackers

Check Availability