We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aite Cruinnichidh Hostel

Hostel | 1 Achluachrach, By Roy Bridge, Fort William, Scotland PH31 4AW

81.4% Overall Rating

101 out of 107 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

"Overall a really nice homestay style place with a friendly owner. Good facilities and we LOVED the sauna! Tucked away from the main backpacker route which we didn't mind for a bit of peace and quiet, and would be…"

Read all Aite Cruinnichidh Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note:
Cancellations later than 2 days prior to arrival or no-shows will be charged with 50% of the booking value.

15 Miles northeast of Fort William on the A86 PLEASE READ DIRECTIONS

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

Fort William Backpackers
28.40 USD

Hostel 91.0% 408 reviews
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
129.02 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
27.59 USD

Hostel 84.3% 78 reviews
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
23.53 USD

Hostel 77.9% 279 reviews
Bank Street Lodge
19.47 USD

Hostel 83.7% 312 reviews
Ossians Hotel
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 77.7% 116 reviews
Farr Cottage Lodge
26.78 USD

Hostel 77.4% 189 reviews
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 80.3% 114 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

101 out of 107 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aite Cruinnichidh Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 86 of 100 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a really nice homestay style place with a friendly owner. Good facilities and we LOVED the sauna! Tucked away from the main backpacker route which we didn't mind for a bit of peace and quiet, and would be perfect for those looking to enjoy the adventure activities in the area and come home to somewhere to relax in the evenings. Would definitely recommend having a car if you're planning to stay here.

Disliked: No plugs in the room that we could see, but that didn't really matter.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali Haider

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice kitchen and rooms

Disliked: No locks to rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john fossey

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 August 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: good cheap overnight accomodation.

Disliked: no locks on doors

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly,helpful owners

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MANUELA STENTO

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 July 2014 MANUELA would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location, grounds and building. Very good facilities provided, though would benefit from a laundry room for longer term guests and in bad weather. Run by friendly helpful people in a friendly area.

Disliked: Main road access dangerous for walkers especially in the dark for 2 miles from the village and station.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen was huge and well equiped

Disliked: the room was a bit humid

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stay made better by friendly guests. Facilities were not the best we've seen at a hostel but perfectly adequate.

Disliked: Lack of plug sockets in our room was a shame.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jillian Bishop

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2013

Liked: It was quite

Disliked: The cleanliness was questionable in some areas

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Darby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Nice surroundings, remote

Disliked: Not a very good wifi signal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, welcoming staff, clean and honest throughout. Location although rural, stunning. I would recommend a car, though it would not be essential. Huge garden and the staff were kind enough to let us a have BBQ whilst we stayed.

Disliked: Walls are very thin... Not a problem if you're a heavy sleeper, if you're a light sleeper, maybe pack a pair of earplugs, lest you want to hear everything being said by your neighbours. Aaaaand, the midges! but it was mid-July in Scotland, these were expected anywhere in Scotland and the staff did warn us to keep windows closed, etc. to minimise their annoyance.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely area

Disliked: A bit remote

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and quiet hostel, lovely stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Smith

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: In a really picturesque location. Looks lovely (even in the rain). Facilities are also very good and what I would expect from a youth hostel. Kitchen is larger than quite a few hostels I have stayed in which is a real benefi when the hostel is at capacity. Also staff are excellent. Our event didn't finish until 11:30 and we had no mobile reception until after midnight. The staff ensured we could still get into the hostel. Also we required jump leads in the morning to get our car started and go home. Nothing is a problem for them. I'd definately visit again.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jason Royal

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012

Liked: The hostel is located in a nice wooded area with a nearby pond and waterfall. It is great for people looking to get into the outdoors.

Disliked: This property is NOT accessible without a car. The owners were kind enough to give is a lift after a 30 minute bus ride from Fort William, but without a car this is definitely not a feasible option. We also happened to be the only ones staying there for the weekend, and decided to move into Fort William to be closer to transportation.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michel Lubrano

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 August 2012 Michel would recommend this property

Liked: The lady in charge of the hostel was absolutely kind for her visitors, clearly willing to do all her best.

Disliked: Michel left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel & People.

Disliked: All Good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shane McHugh

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2012 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Love the location, the area around it has loads to offer with a lovely mountainous river worth exploring

Disliked: Only thing i would have to say is because its a wooden lodge you tend to hear everyone and everything around you.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Friendly hosts. Great scenery

Disliked: Would have preferred locks on outside doors.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Es un refugio de montaña, hay que saber a que se va. Es barato.

Disliked: La sauna es de pago, la wi-fi no les funciona, y ese dia tenian estropeada el agua caliente (esto no es culpa suya, le puede pasar a culaquiera) No se, no les funcionaba nada!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lugar muy tranquilo. Cocina equipada (platos, cubiertos, cazuelas, sartenes, nevera...) Cuarto para secar la ropa. Habitaciones con calefacción.

Disliked: Difícil acceso sin coche propio.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Grenville White

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011

Liked: Lovely getaway tucked away in the mountains. Great hostel and facilities (except wi-fi)

Disliked: The lack of a warm reception - our hosts have been in the business for a number of years which showed in the lack of enthusiasm and rushed introduction to the hostel. Non existent Wi-Fi - After reporting a problem with the internet, we were told to try elsewhere down the road and it was made very obvious that it was too much trouble for the hosts to try resolve the matter. We gave up waiting in the end and left. Such a shame to have such inhospitable hosts in the hospitality industry.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Free Wifi.

Disliked: All doors are open. No keys.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011

Liked: There's a little soccer field

Disliked: Baths in common, with no-doors showers: a dirty aquapark. Rooms too small. No cleanliness inside and outside

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kiera Grierson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Kiera would recommend this property

Liked: The location, while a little out of the way, was just incredible - looking out of the dorm window to see the mist rolling in over a forest-covered mountain, sunset fully in swing... Just mazing. And the hosts were very helpful - picking me up and dropping me off to the local train/bus stations. Loved it.

Disliked: Just make sure you bring dinner AND breakfast for the next morning... But the place is amazing. No dislikes : )