HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Aite Cruinnichidh Fort William Hostel

1 Achluachrach, By Roy Bridge, near Fort William, Fort William, Scotland

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 80%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 91%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please Note: If you are a no show or cancel after 7 days, you may be charged the full booking amount


15 Miles northeast of Fort William on the A86 PLEASE READ DIRECTIONS<br />
<br />

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 80%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 91%

Value 88%

Showing 21-17 of 17 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great atmosphere, welcoming staff, clean and honest throughout.Location although rural, stunning. I would recommend a car, though it would not be essential.Huge garden and the staff were kind enough to let us a have BBQ whilst we stayed.

Disliked: Walls are very thin... Not a problem if you're a heavy sleeper, if you're a light sleeper, maybe pack a pair of earplugs, lest you want to hear everything being said by your neighbours.Aaaaand, the midges! but it was mid-July in Scotland, these were expected anywhere in Scotland and the staff did warn us to keep windows closed, etc. to minimise their annoyance.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your positive feedback and delighted you all enjoyed your stay.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely area

Disliked: A bit remote

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice and quiet hostel, lovely stay!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: In a really picturesque location. Looks lovely (even in the rain). Facilities are also very good and what I would expect from a youth hostel. Kitchen is larger than quite a few hostels I have stayed in which is a real benefi when the hostel is at capacity.Also staff are excellent. Our event didn't finish until 11:30 and we had no mobile reception until after midnight. The staff ensured we could still get into the hostel. Also we required jump leads in the morning to get our car started and go home. Nothing is a problem for them. I'd definately visit again.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your kind words which mean a lot!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is located in a nice wooded area with a nearby pond and waterfall. It is great for people looking to get into the outdoors.

Disliked: This property is NOT accessible without a car. The owners were kind enough to give is a lift after a 30 minute bus ride from Fort William, but without a car this is definitely not a feasible option.We also happened to be the only ones staying there for the weekend, and decided to move into Fort William to be closer to transportation.


The property's response is

Every year people stay here who do not have a car. Planning is required but Roy Bridge train station is on the main Glasgow/Fort William line and is only two miles away and buses stop in Roy Bridge.
We will collect folk from Roy Bridge if we can and if notified in advance. To say we are not accessible without a car is wrong!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Great Hostel & People.

Disliked: All Good.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Love the location, the area around it has loads to offer with a lovely mountainous river worth exploring

Disliked: Only thing i would have to say is because its a wooden lodge you tend to hear everyone and everything around you.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The lady in charge of the hostel was absolutely kind for her visitors, clearly willing to do all her best.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great place to stay. Friendly hosts. Great scenery

Disliked: Would have preferred locks on outside doors.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Es un refugio de montaña, hay que saber a que se va. Es barato.

Disliked: La sauna es de pago, la wi-fi no les funciona, y ese dia tenian estropeada el agua caliente (esto no es culpa suya, le puede pasar a culaquiera) No se, no les funcionaba nada!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi I am sorry that you found a few things at the hostel that you did not like. We cannot change our location and you do seem to have enjoyed where the hostel is, so I cannot understand why you have marked us down for location. We live in a fantastic location with wildlife and mountains all round us. We do charge for the sauna and we do not offer wifi as a service but most of the time it can be picked up, but not guaranteed. We are also a very clean hostel.

Check Availability