HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Aite Cruinnichidh Fort William

Hostel

1 Achluachrach, By Roy Bridge, near Fort William, Fort William, Scotland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 78%

Safety 81%

Staff 92%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please Note:<br />
Cancellations later than 2 days prior to arrival or no-shows will be charged with 50% of the booking value.<br />
<br />
15 Miles northeast of Fort William on the A86 PLEASE READ DIRECTIONS<br />
<br />

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 78%

Safety 81%

Staff 92%

Value 89%

Showing 21-20 of 20 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is located in a nice wooded area with a nearby pond and waterfall. It is great for people looking to get into the outdoors.

Disliked: This property is NOT accessible without a car. The owners were kind enough to give is a lift after a 30 minute bus ride from Fort William, but without a car this is definitely not a feasible option.We also happened to be the only ones staying there for the weekend, and decided to move into Fort William to be closer to transportation.


The property's response is

Every year people stay here who do not have a car. Planning is required but Roy Bridge train station is on the main Glasgow/Fort William line and is only two miles away and buses stop in Roy Bridge.
We will collect folk from Roy Bridge if we can and if notified in advance. To say we are not accessible without a car is wrong!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Great Hostel & People.

Disliked: All Good.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Love the location, the area around it has loads to offer with a lovely mountainous river worth exploring

Disliked: Only thing i would have to say is because its a wooden lodge you tend to hear everyone and everything around you.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The lady in charge of the hostel was absolutely kind for her visitors, clearly willing to do all her best.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great place to stay. Friendly hosts. Great scenery

Disliked: Would have preferred locks on outside doors.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Es un refugio de montaña, hay que saber a que se va. Es barato.

Disliked: La sauna es de pago, la wi-fi no les funciona, y ese dia tenian estropeada el agua caliente (esto no es culpa suya, le puede pasar a culaquiera) No se, no les funcionaba nada!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi I am sorry that you found a few things at the hostel that you did not like. We cannot change our location and you do seem to have enjoyed where the hostel is, so I cannot understand why you have marked us down for location. We live in a fantastic location with wildlife and mountains all round us. We do charge for the sauna and we do not offer wifi as a service but most of the time it can be picked up, but not guaranteed. We are also a very clean hostel.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lugar muy tranquilo. Cocina equipada (platos, cubiertos, cazuelas, sartenes, nevera...) Cuarto para secar la ropa. Habitaciones con calefacción.

Disliked: Difícil acceso sin coche propio.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely getaway tucked away in the mountains. Great hostel and facilities (except wi-fi)

Disliked: The lack of a warm reception - our hosts have been in the business for a number of years which showed in the lack of enthusiasm and rushed introduction to the hostel.Non existent Wi-Fi - After reporting a problem with the internet, we were told to try elsewhere down the road and it was made very obvious that it was too much trouble for the hosts to try resolve the matter. We gave up waiting in the end and left. Such a shame to have such inhospitable hosts in the hospitality industry.


The property's response is

When I responded to this guest he acknowledged that he and his friend really liked our hostel and I had in fact given them a warm welcome!

He wanted wi-fi which we cannot guarantee and I suggested best places to try.
When he knocked on the door again suggesting we turn off computer and re-boot the system we were in the middle of trying to sort something out so I said no we couldn't and he took offence.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There's a little soccer field

Disliked: Baths in common, with no-doors showers: a dirty aquapark.Rooms too small.No cleanliness inside and outside

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff.Free Wifi.

Disliked: All doors are open. No keys.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability