We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Snowgoose Mountain Centre, Station Road, Corpach Fort William, Scotland PH33 7JH

80.3% Overall Rating

100 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

"Comfortable bunkbeds, made up on arrival. Nice location, you can walk next to the canal & down to the loch. Having read some of the reviews (after booking!) I was a bit worried about what to expect but it was fine - we…"

Read all The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel are available in bunkrooms of 4 or 6 persons or as full units of 10 or 14 persons. CHECK IN is available only 15:00 – 20:00 hrs. We do not accept arrivals later than 20.00hrs. . Our office & reception is closed around 17.00 hrs. If you are arriving later than 17: 00 hr please call or e-mail us to let us know in advance – well before the day of your arrival. CHECK OUT TIME on the day of departure is 10.00 am or before. CANCELLATIONS We do not accept cancellations less than 4 weeks prior to your arrival irrespective of notifications from the booking agents HostelWorld and HostelBookers. If you cancel less than 4 weeks before your arrival date you are still liable for the payment in full. DEPOSITS & PAYMENT. A 12% deposit is paid direct to HostelWorld and Hostelbookers – this is non refundable. The balance is due in full 4 weeks prior to arrival (or at the time of booking if you have made your booking less than 4 weeks before your arrival date). This is irrespective of notifications from the booking agents HostelWorld and HostelBookers. Payment can be made from our website or by online banking – please ask for our banking details. We reserve the right to re-let your room if the balance is not paid on time – 4 weeks before your arrival. We do not accept cancellations made less than 4 weeks prior to arrival. BEDDING. Freshly laundered bedding is provided with bunk beds made up on arrival. Please make sure that your party does not bring any sleeping bags or other bedding into our accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

Farr Cottage Lodge
26.78 USD

Hostel 77.4% 189 reviews
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.9% 279 reviews
Ossians Hotel
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 117 reviews
Bank Street Lodge
19.47 USD

Hostel 83.7% 312 reviews
InverNevis B&B
52.74 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 31 reviews
Innseagan House Hotel
31.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
25.43 USD

Hostel 84.3% 78 reviews
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
153.36 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

100 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bunkbeds, made up on arrival. Nice location, you can walk next to the canal & down to the loch. Having read some of the reviews (after booking!) I was a bit worried about what to expect but it was fine - we stay a lot in YHA accommodation and this was comparable to many of those.

Disliked: Communal areas a bit tired and could do with a really good clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014

Liked: It was in a beautiful location and had a shop right round the corner. You could watch the fishermen, the steam train and near Ben Nevis and other beautiful walks.

Disliked: Mostly the welcome. I understand there are times people are under stress but one of the most amazing things about Scotland is the welcome you get. Here it was frosty until it became clear we were paying guests & not members of the public. It coloured the stay from the outset. If it hadn't been for the fact that I had 3 children and my mother with me who were all tired I would have lost the deposit and gone elsewhere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Setting was lovely and very convenient for Ben Nevis.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its like a tin of ronseal does exactly what it says on the tin

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, we weren't there long.

Disliked: nil.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a unit of 14 beds which had a large kithcen and social area to ourselves . the space available was also better than other hostels we had stayed in and it was particularly quiet.

Disliked: There wasn't anything we particularly disliked but it would have maybe been better to have another bathroom or spearate showers as there was quite a queue in the morning with only 2 between 13 of us.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NEIL CHAPMAN

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2012 NEIL would recommend this property

Liked: Great for the adventurer, clean and comfortable with supportive hosts (we turned up at 11.30pm after a horrendous drive).

Disliked: Not for couples it does what it says on the tin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iain Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2012 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: The location is beautiful. The hostel is homely and a great place to relax with your friends after the long trek up Ben nevis.

Disliked: Please put a note to let people know to bring towels, utensils etc as if you have never been to a hostel before would not know that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Cunnington

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very functional fro getting out and about in the hills, excellent location.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff offering advice about the area, great location, much quieter than central Fort William & 2 minutes from the shop.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large kitchen

Disliked: old frying pan

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Linda Frampton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2011 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fairly comfy. Wash/drying room very handy.

Disliked: Family Room shower - water flow could be better please?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: view

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, well equipped kitchen, nice living room for socializing

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent position

Disliked: kitchen appliances very dated and very few pans to cook with. Also one of toilets leaking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamas Krasznai

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2011 Tamas would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Ft William

Disliked: The fact that you have to check in before 5pm only. The office phone was not reachable - nobody picks up the phone when I tried to call.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marloes van Breugel

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

19 August 2010 Marloes would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything!Warm, cosy and friendly.Not to mention the beautiful surroundings...

Disliked: nothing! Maybe it could have been made a bit clearer in the bookingform that you can arrive until 5 pm. We were just in time, but that was sheer luck:)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 July 2010

Liked: ok

Disliked: only 2 toilets for 14 residents.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: being warm and cosy after a cold day out in the mountains

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

sue welch

30 September 2009 sue would recommend this property

Liked: close to ben nevis

Disliked: sue left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place around was beautiful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

24 August 2009

Liked: Ample parking space

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was ok, but not clean. The sheets were not clean, they had clearly been used by someone else before.The location is good only if you go by car, and if you arrive later than 17.00 you will have to phone the person in charge because there is nobody at reception.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.