HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Lodge Fort William

Hostel

Station Road, Corpach, Fort William, Scotland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel are available in bunkrooms of 4 or 6 persons or as full units of 10 or 14 persons.

CHECK IN is available only 15:00 – 20:00 hrs. We do not accept arrivals later than 20.00hrs. . Our office & reception is closed around 17.00 hrs. If you are arriving later than 17: 00 hr please call or e-mail us to let us know in advance – well before the day of your arrival.



CHECK OUT TIME on the day of departure is 10.00 am or before.



CANCELLATIONS We do not accept cancellations less than 4 weeks prior to your arrival irrespective of notifications from the booking agents HostelWorld and HostelBookers. If you cancel less than 4 weeks before your arrival date you are still liable for the payment in full.

DEPOSITS & PAYMENT. A 12% deposit is paid direct to HostelWorld and Hostelbookers – this is non refundable. The balance is due in full 4 weeks prior to arrival (or at the time of booking if you have made your booking less than 4 weeks before your arrival date). This is irrespective of notifications from the booking agents HostelWorld and HostelBookers. Payment can be made from our website or by online banking – please ask for our banking details. We reserve the right to re-let your room if the balance is not paid on time – 4 weeks before your arrival. We do not accept cancellations made less than 4 weeks prior to arrival.

BEDDING. Freshly laundered bedding is provided with bunk beds made up on arrival. Please make sure that your party does not bring any sleeping bags or other bedding into our accommodation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wifi poor

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: hostel is in a nice place, room was average, beds were okay. kitchen area is nice and well equipped, as well as the living-room area. bathrooms were okay, overall it was alright.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Tina the owner was very friendly a d helpful- particularly as hostel bookers double booked us!!!! She upgraded us for free and with 2 tired children and a sick husband I was very greatful!

Disliked: All good. Great location and the kids got to see the Hogworts Express up close as it passed by.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Very good service and located in a nice area. I can really recommend this accommodation to other guests. We really enjoyed our stay at the Bunk house.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was great

Disliked: We came late but we didnt find any disadvantages

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Wonderful location

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Comfortable bunkbeds, made up on arrival. Nice location, you can walk next to the canal & down to the loch. Having read some of the reviews (after booking!) I was a bit worried about what to expect but it was fine - we stay a lot in YHA accommodation and this was comparable to many of those.

Disliked: Communal areas a bit tired and could do with a really good clean.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was in a beautiful location and had a shop right round the corner. You could watch the fishermen, the steam train and near Ben Nevis and other beautiful walks.

Disliked: Mostly the welcome. I understand there are times people are under stress but one of the most amazing things about Scotland is the welcome you get. Here it was frosty until it became clear we were paying guests & not members of the public. It coloured the stay from the outset. If it hadn't been for the fact that I had 3 children and my mother with me who were all tired I would have lost the deposit and gone elsewhere.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Setting was lovely and very convenient for Ben Nevis.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its like a tin of ronseal does exactly what it says on the tin

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability