HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Farr Cottage Lodge

Hostel | Corpach, Fort William, Scotland PH33 7LR

77.7% Overall Rating

129 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2013)

"The hostel was reasonably good value. Ziemlich preisgünstig/poco costoso/buen precio/pas cher/niet duur"

Read all Farr Cottage Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.55
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation & Amendment Policy Unfortunately due to the nature of our business we do have to implement a strict cancellation & amendment policy. Any cancellation made within 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of the 1st nights fee being debited from the securing credit card. Any amendments must be made prior to the 7 day cancellation period. Any bookings made within 7 days of your arrival date will be subject to a cancellation period 24 hours prior to your arrival. Any no shows without prior notice will incur the full charge for their accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
22.65 USD

Hostel 81.6% 110 reviews
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
29.36 USD

Hostel 80.7% 272 reviews
Ossians Hotel
36.91 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 63 reviews
Bank Street Lodge
28.52 USD

Hostel 85.5% 296 reviews
InverNevis B&B
52.85 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 22 reviews
Innseagan House Hotel
35.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Glen Nevis Hostel
33.56 USD

Hostel 86.5% 69 reviews
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
141.78 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

129 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Farr Cottage Lodge'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 117 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mark East

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2013

Liked: not alot

Disliked: moody unhelpful staff

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhea Sinar Mas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Rhea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and people in there is very friendly! Really feels like home.

Disliked: A bit far from the town center.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was reasonably good value. Ziemlich preisgünstig/poco costoso/buen precio/pas cher/niet duur

Disliked: There was no restaurant (only a bar, supermarket nearby) and the hostel is 6km from Fort William. Kein Restaurant (nur Bar, Supermarkt in der Nähe) und 6 km von Fort William / non c'è un ristorante (solo bar, supermercato vicino) e l'ostello è a 6 km di Fort William / no hay restaurante (solo bar, supermercado cercano) y el hostal está a 6 km de Fort William / il n'y a pas de restaurant (un bar seulement) et l'auberge est à 6 km de Fort William / 6 km van Fort William en geen restaurant (slechts een bar, supermarkt nabij)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Anja Himmelreich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013

Liked: location is ok, kitchen ok

Disliked: Unfriendly stuff, not really clean, hostel closes from 10a.m. to 5.30p.m for "cleaning" reasons, but isn´t really cleaner afterwards, we booked a twin room but they gave us a room with a 1,5 place bed. It´s not worth the money!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, friendly staff, clean toilets and showers, bar in the hostel, nice kitchen ...

Disliked: That the hostel is closed between 10:00 and 16:30 and in that time, you must leave the hostel. So if the weather is really bad, you cannot just stay in the hostel and hang out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikas Kumar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Vikas would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Fellow room mates.. someone was snoring so hard that we were not able to sleep for full night

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2013

Liked: The kitchen with all the facilities.

Disliked: We stayed here for 3 days, and what I really don't understand is that check-out is 9.30am and check-in is 4.30pm! Do you really need 7 hours to clean a small hostel?? It wasn't a nice atmosphere at all after 10am. Just an empty dark quiet hostel and almost all the time nobody to see (not even the staff). The interior looks very outdated and messy. Like they didn't do anything about it for the last 15 years. Yes they do have a tv, but there is only one tv channel, almost all the dvd's are stolen..so basically nothing left. The second day our dorm room (5 bunkbeds) was empty except for me and my sister, and they just threw all the blankets and pillows on 1 bed. It looked very messy and we felt like we were just put in that room and they didn't really care anymore. At night the dorm room was freezing. We asked if they could turn on the heating. They said yes, but after an hour it was still not working so we asked it again, and it never went on. Extra blankets were not provided. The bathroom was very moldy and we found silverfishes in the shower. I also found it a bit strange that they provide free coffee and tea, but they would like you to donate some money for this facility?! In my opinion it's either free or not free. One morning we saw someone from the staff typing something on trip advisor. We were pretty sure it was a review..... I have stayed in a lot of hostels last years, in Central and South America, Europe and Australia, and I have to say that this was one of the worst places to stay. Most important to me is cleanliness and friendly and professional staff and especially the last one: we didn't experience that.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ronald Bailey

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the individual and slightly quirky character of this hostel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The loch and start of the Caledonian Canal are five minutes walk away and make an attractive spot to hang around. We had a self contained double room and the bed was spacious and comfortable. The self catering kitchen is well equipped and clean. We will probably return for a longer stay as they do good discounts.

Disliked: Not a lot really! But we were the only guests that night. It could be a bit cramped when full.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zhilian Huang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Zhilian would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cosy little cottage with great mountainous views. The place is also away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The place is also very clean and the beds were really cosy.

Disliked: It was not located at Fort William and was actually 2 train stops away or 10 mins apart by train. It almost fooled us into getting to Fort William. The place is also hard to find though its 5 mins away from Corpach train station but there were no directions given and the search on google map wasn't thay clear too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Gonzalez Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Helpuful and friendly staff. They are a licensed bar, so you can enjoy a nice drink without having to go out. Good kitchen and facilities. Private parking.

Disliked: As it is located about 4 miles from Fort Williams you better have a car to get there. As it was my case, it was perfect for my purposes!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalia Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2013 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the people

Disliked: the time of check-in / out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard short

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2013 richard would recommend this property

Liked: The people are friends easter access to ben nevis

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cest tranquille et tres rustique

Disliked: Le fait de ne pouvoir apporter de l alcool parce qu il y avait un bar et que ce soit loin de fort william a pied

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amélie Fillouzeau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 Amélie would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: a little expensive for the service

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, good kitchen, nice room

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Agnese Bianchi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012

Liked: for us was useful to be outside of Fort William, so we can easily park the car, and go to visit what we prefer, but probably other people would dislike the distance with the village (especially who is without the car).

Disliked: dirty.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ian Gerrard

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012

Liked: Room was clean on arrival.

Disliked: Room and ensuite very small. TV not working in room or lounge. Only saw staff on arrival after phoning her. Bar closed due to water leak which created a smell, not fixed during our stay. Front door never locked so only the room had security.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2012

Liked: Indeling slaapzalen en gedrag medegasten.

Disliked: Slechte ervaring met manager en eigenaar. Intake manager verliep wat verkeerd door onze haast vanwege voetbaluitzending EK. Daardoor kennelijk verkeerde indruk gewekt, waarna eigenaar (Cliff) zich zeer onprofessioneel opstelde door ons een dag later niet meer te willen bedienen en zelfs dreigde ons het hostel uit te trappen..... Manager accepteerde onze versie van het verhaal en de lucht was geklaard, echter de eigenaar bleef op een asociale manier aanwezig en weigerde eigenlijk alle medewerking. Toppunt was dat hij ons niet meer aan de bar wilde bedienen, terwijl hij zelf aan het bier zat. Gaan er nooit meer terug, wat een vreselijke man.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mattie Baljet

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012

Liked: Nothing, except that it was cheap

Disliked: The attitude of the staff, The smell (sewaeage?) in the common room/bar that spread through the rest of the building when bar was open, The lack of tables in the kitchen, only 8 persons out of 30 (when hostel full) can sit at table at breakfast at the same time, Size of the double rooms; no room at all to put luggage, just a double bed with space of 1 metre at only 2 sides (but room was cheap).

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012

Liked: The room was nice and clean.

Disliked: It's completly outside of the city center, you can reach it by bus, but still, it's 4 miles away from the main activities!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is to date the best hostel I have stayed in! The staff is amazing and helpful the location is great, and they offer anything you could need!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Kirsty - the girl that I dealt with was really helpful and really easy to get on with - I found her very personable. The bathrooms were nice, really hot showers, my bed was comfortable, the licensed bar was good and all the rooms seemed clean and tidy. Also, free wifi that actually works!

Disliked: He might have been having a bad day - but I did over hear the owner being really quite rude to a group of German lads - it made me cringe if I'm honest. Very early check out - 9.30am.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, it is 2 miles from Fort William though.

Disliked: no internet available in the bedrooms upstairs

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tv at the room

Disliked: there was dirt left in the toilet of our room

The property's response is...