We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Farr Cottage Lodge

Hostel | Corpach, Fort William, Scotland PH33 7LR

77.8% Overall Rating

148 out of 193 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Abraham Molina Garcia thinks…

"La amabilidad del señor William, que no nos puso problemas a que llegaramos a las 11 de la noche, y fue muy amable en todo momento."

Read all Farr Cottage Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.90
  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation & Amendment Policy Unfortunately due to the nature of our business we do have to implement a strict cancellation & amendment policy. Any cancellation made within 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of the 1st nights fee being debited from the securing credit card. Any amendments must be made prior to the 7 day cancellation period. Any bookings made within 7 days of your arrival date will be subject to a cancellation period 24 hours prior to your arrival. Any no shows without prior notice will incur the full charge for their accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
24.98 USD

Hostel 83.1% 117 reviews
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
23.42 USD

Hostel 76.7% 284 reviews
Ossians Hotel
40.60 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 130 reviews
Bank Street Lodge
28.89 USD

Hostel 82.1% 315 reviews
Fort William Backpackers
28.89 USD

Hostel 89.3% 421 reviews
InverNevis B&B
50.75 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 31 reviews
Innseagan House Hotel
56.61 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
31.23 USD

Hostel 86.2% 81 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

148 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Farr Cottage Lodge'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 143 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brendan Petty

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2015 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Good for meeting other travellers

Disliked: Large dorm rooms and shared bathroom meant we were all on top of each other, not much privacy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value. Close to station. Bar downstairs.

Disliked: Bed quite small

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2015

Liked: I liked that there was a roof over my head, and that's about all.

Disliked: Had a room fill up with drunk 30 year old men at 12:30am and the staff was no help at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and homely feel.

Disliked: Small, a bit run down, but still a good nights sleep for a reasonable price

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014

Liked: Good and familiar atmosphere, clean and friendly stuff.

Disliked: Hostel is closed from 10am to 4:30pm!!!! SERIOUSLY? 6,5 hours for cleaning? Why can't guest at least stay in the common room while cleaning? Everyone needs a day off especially after climbing up Ben Nevis but we weren't allowed to stay in the hostel we had to leave and try to find something in that little town to keep ourselfes busy, dry and warm because it was a rainy day!!! Every other hostel can do it why not you?

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: Free wifi and the bar

Disliked: Very small and crowded

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abraham Molina Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Abraham would recommend this property

Liked: La amabilidad del señor William, que no nos puso problemas a que llegaramos a las 11 de la noche, y fue muy amable en todo momento.

Disliked: Es una casa de campo antigua. Pero eso ya lo sabíamos.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Faelmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing :) so helpful! Everything was spotlessly clean and beds were comfortable. Easy to get to from bus stop and close to everything.

Disliked: Only thing I disliked is that you had to be away between 10am and 2pm so beds could be changed and everything could be cleaned- but that's fair enough really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monika Kastnere

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2014 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: open and friendly rooms and atmosphere

Disliked: not enough sanitariy equipment, missing drying room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2014

Liked: It was clean and they had a nice kitchen.

Disliked: There is an on-site bar, which meant that we could not drink our own beer. They claim to be cheap, they arecheaper than the average bar, but still 3x more expensive than bringing your own. The hostel closes between 10 am and 4:30 pm, for cleaning (which was not very clear to me according to the website). During this time you are not even allowed to grab something from your room. This made us feel very unwelcome in the hostel.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2014

Liked: It was clean enough and the beds were not uncomfortable, though if you are big or tall they would be quite a squeeze

Disliked: The attitude of the staff was pretty peculiar. We were put in a 8-person room with no opening window - this despite that there were clearly empty rooms on our floor. The full licence is actually not a massive bonus - it is quite nice to stay in a hostel where you can drink your own beer when you want to. It is okay for one night if there are no other options, but I certainly wouldn't rush back. It was just generally a bit grim, though bareable for a short period.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place with great views!

Disliked: The wifi connection was patchy in our room upstairs

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly helpful and whole place has a lovely atmosphere. spotlessly clean excellent kitchen again spotless

Disliked: worst thing was having to leave to go home!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly atmosphere. Staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Not close enough to walk into town.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very nice and extra helpful with our questions about climbing Ben nevis.

Disliked: the showers were a little temperamental.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the hostel tidy and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and clean hostel

Disliked: Everything was good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donald Irwin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean place!

Disliked: Donald left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mark East

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2013

Liked: not alot

Disliked: moody unhelpful staff

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhea Sinar Mas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Rhea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and people in there is very friendly! Really feels like home.

Disliked: A bit far from the town center.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was reasonably good value. Ziemlich preisgünstig/poco costoso/buen precio/pas cher/niet duur

Disliked: There was no restaurant (only a bar, supermarket nearby) and the hostel is 6km from Fort William. Kein Restaurant (nur Bar, Supermarkt in der Nähe) und 6 km von Fort William / non c'è un ristorante (solo bar, supermercato vicino) e l'ostello è a 6 km di Fort William / no hay restaurante (solo bar, supermercado cercano) y el hostal está a 6 km de Fort William / il n'y a pas de restaurant (un bar seulement) et l'auberge est à 6 km de Fort William / 6 km van Fort William en geen restaurant (slechts een bar, supermarkt nabij)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Anja Himmelreich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013

Liked: location is ok, kitchen ok

Disliked: Unfriendly stuff, not really clean, hostel closes from 10a.m. to 5.30p.m for "cleaning" reasons, but isn´t really cleaner afterwards, we booked a twin room but they gave us a room with a 1,5 place bed. It´s not worth the money!!!

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, friendly staff, clean toilets and showers, bar in the hostel, nice kitchen ...

Disliked: That the hostel is closed between 10:00 and 16:30 and in that time, you must leave the hostel. So if the weather is really bad, you cannot just stay in the hostel and hang out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikas Kumar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Vikas would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Fellow room mates.. someone was snoring so hard that we were not able to sleep for full night

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2013

Liked: The kitchen with all the facilities.

Disliked: We stayed here for 3 days, and what I really don't understand is that check-out is 9.30am and check-in is 4.30pm! Do you really need 7 hours to clean a small hostel?? It wasn't a nice atmosphere at all after 10am. Just an empty dark quiet hostel and almost all the time nobody to see (not even the staff). The interior looks very outdated and messy. Like they didn't do anything about it for the last 15 years. Yes they do have a tv, but there is only one tv channel, almost all the dvd's are stolen..so basically nothing left. The second day our dorm room (5 bunkbeds) was empty except for me and my sister, and they just threw all the blankets and pillows on 1 bed. It looked very messy and we felt like we were just put in that room and they didn't really care anymore. At night the dorm room was freezing. We asked if they could turn on the heating. They said yes, but after an hour it was still not working so we asked it again, and it never went on. Extra blankets were not provided. The bathroom was very moldy and we found silverfishes in the shower. I also found it a bit strange that they provide free coffee and tea, but they would like you to donate some money for this facility?! In my opinion it's either free or not free. One morning we saw someone from the staff typing something on trip advisor. We were pretty sure it was a review..... I have stayed in a lot of hostels last years, in Central and South America, Europe and Australia, and I have to say that this was one of the worst places to stay. Most important to me is cleanliness and friendly and professional staff and especially the last one: we didn't experience that.

The property's response is...