We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Farr Cottage Lodge

Hostel | Corpach, Fort William, Scotland PH33 7LR

75.0% Overall Rating

150 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Abraham Molina Garcia thinks…

"La amabilidad del señor William, que no nos puso problemas a que llegaramos a las 11 de la noche, y fue muy amable en todo momento."

Read all Farr Cottage Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.86
  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation & Amendment Policy Unfortunately due to the nature of our business we do have to implement a strict cancellation & amendment policy. Any cancellation made within 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of the 1st nights fee being debited from the securing credit card. Any amendments must be made prior to the 7 day cancellation period. Any bookings made within 7 days of your arrival date will be subject to a cancellation period 24 hours prior to your arrival. Any no shows without prior notice will incur the full charge for their accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
24.73 USD

Hostel 85.9% 120 reviews
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
23.18 USD

Hostel 76.1% 285 reviews
Ossians Hotel
40.19 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 139 reviews
Bank Street Lodge
28.59 USD

Hostel 81.6% 318 reviews
Fort William Backpackers
27.05 USD

Hostel 88.8% 426 reviews
InverNevis B&B
50.23 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 31 reviews
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
30.91 USD

Hostel 85.1% 83 reviews
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
261.21 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

150 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Farr Cottage Lodge'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 146 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2013

Liked: The kitchen with all the facilities.

Disliked: We stayed here for 3 days, and what I really don't understand is that check-out is 9.30am and check-in is 4.30pm! Do you really need 7 hours to clean a small hostel?? It wasn't a nice atmosphere at all after 10am. Just an empty dark quiet hostel and almost all the time nobody to see (not even the staff). The interior looks very outdated and messy. Like they didn't do anything about it for the last 15 years. Yes they do have a tv, but there is only one tv channel, almost all the dvd's are stolen..so basically nothing left. The second day our dorm room (5 bunkbeds) was empty except for me and my sister, and they just threw all the blankets and pillows on 1 bed. It looked very messy and we felt like we were just put in that room and they didn't really care anymore. At night the dorm room was freezing. We asked if they could turn on the heating. They said yes, but after an hour it was still not working so we asked it again, and it never went on. Extra blankets were not provided. The bathroom was very moldy and we found silverfishes in the shower. I also found it a bit strange that they provide free coffee and tea, but they would like you to donate some money for this facility?! In my opinion it's either free or not free. One morning we saw someone from the staff typing something on trip advisor. We were pretty sure it was a review..... I have stayed in a lot of hostels last years, in Central and South America, Europe and Australia, and I have to say that this was one of the worst places to stay. Most important to me is cleanliness and friendly and professional staff and especially the last one: we didn't experience that.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ronald Bailey

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the individual and slightly quirky character of this hostel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The loch and start of the Caledonian Canal are five minutes walk away and make an attractive spot to hang around. We had a self contained double room and the bed was spacious and comfortable. The self catering kitchen is well equipped and clean. We will probably return for a longer stay as they do good discounts.

Disliked: Not a lot really! But we were the only guests that night. It could be a bit cramped when full.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zhilian Huang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Zhilian would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cosy little cottage with great mountainous views. The place is also away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The place is also very clean and the beds were really cosy.

Disliked: It was not located at Fort William and was actually 2 train stops away or 10 mins apart by train. It almost fooled us into getting to Fort William. The place is also hard to find though its 5 mins away from Corpach train station but there were no directions given and the search on google map wasn't thay clear too.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Gonzalez Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Helpuful and friendly staff. They are a licensed bar, so you can enjoy a nice drink without having to go out. Good kitchen and facilities. Private parking.

Disliked: As it is located about 4 miles from Fort Williams you better have a car to get there. As it was my case, it was perfect for my purposes!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalia Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2013 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the people

Disliked: the time of check-in / out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard short

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2013 richard would recommend this property

Liked: The people are friends easter access to ben nevis

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cest tranquille et tres rustique

Disliked: Le fait de ne pouvoir apporter de l alcool parce qu il y avait un bar et que ce soit loin de fort william a pied

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amélie Fillouzeau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 Amélie would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: a little expensive for the service

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, good kitchen, nice room

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Agnese Bianchi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012

Liked: for us was useful to be outside of Fort William, so we can easily park the car, and go to visit what we prefer, but probably other people would dislike the distance with the village (especially who is without the car).

Disliked: dirty.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ian Gerrard

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012

Liked: Room was clean on arrival.

Disliked: Room and ensuite very small. TV not working in room or lounge. Only saw staff on arrival after phoning her. Bar closed due to water leak which created a smell, not fixed during our stay. Front door never locked so only the room had security.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2012

Liked: Indeling slaapzalen en gedrag medegasten.

Disliked: Slechte ervaring met manager en eigenaar. Intake manager verliep wat verkeerd door onze haast vanwege voetbaluitzending EK. Daardoor kennelijk verkeerde indruk gewekt, waarna eigenaar (Cliff) zich zeer onprofessioneel opstelde door ons een dag later niet meer te willen bedienen en zelfs dreigde ons het hostel uit te trappen..... Manager accepteerde onze versie van het verhaal en de lucht was geklaard, echter de eigenaar bleef op een asociale manier aanwezig en weigerde eigenlijk alle medewerking. Toppunt was dat hij ons niet meer aan de bar wilde bedienen, terwijl hij zelf aan het bier zat. Gaan er nooit meer terug, wat een vreselijke man.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mattie Baljet

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012

Liked: Nothing, except that it was cheap

Disliked: The attitude of the staff, The smell (sewaeage?) in the common room/bar that spread through the rest of the building when bar was open, The lack of tables in the kitchen, only 8 persons out of 30 (when hostel full) can sit at table at breakfast at the same time, Size of the double rooms; no room at all to put luggage, just a double bed with space of 1 metre at only 2 sides (but room was cheap).

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012

Liked: The room was nice and clean.

Disliked: It's completly outside of the city center, you can reach it by bus, but still, it's 4 miles away from the main activities!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is to date the best hostel I have stayed in! The staff is amazing and helpful the location is great, and they offer anything you could need!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Kirsty - the girl that I dealt with was really helpful and really easy to get on with - I found her very personable. The bathrooms were nice, really hot showers, my bed was comfortable, the licensed bar was good and all the rooms seemed clean and tidy. Also, free wifi that actually works!

Disliked: He might have been having a bad day - but I did over hear the owner being really quite rude to a group of German lads - it made me cringe if I'm honest. Very early check out - 9.30am.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, it is 2 miles from Fort William though.

Disliked: no internet available in the bedrooms upstairs

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tv at the room

Disliked: there was dirt left in the toilet of our room

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Durie

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly place, somewhere to kick back and get a good nights sleep..... Or go party and come back late, nice that it's flexible as long as you respect the place!

Disliked: Nohing

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: It was empty and we had the living room for ourselves.

Disliked: It wasn't clean, it smelt bad, some showers didn't work, it's not really near Ben Nevis.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica Bittroff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011

Liked: The Hostel is located quite nice ... good for just passing through to the north or the outer hebridges

Disliked: The bed we had was like hell, we literally could feel every bedspring

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Full licenced bar! Wifi! very clean rooms! Very valuable!

Disliked: Dorms situations: being waken up by your neighbour during the nights... Room temperature going up when everybody's sleeping: muggy ambiance! No locker/shelf in the room!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barbara Lucas

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2011 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean

Disliked: A little small