HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Farr Cottage Lodge Fort William

Hostel

Farr Cottage, Corpach, Fort William, Scotland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 70%

Location 74%

Safety 73%

Staff 79%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.88USD
  • Towel 1.55USD

Important Information

Cancellation & Amendment Policy
Unfortunately due to the nature of our business we do have to implement a strict cancellation & amendment policy.
Any cancellation made within 7 days prior to your arrival will incur a charge of the 1st nights fee being debited from the securing credit card. Any amendments must be made prior to the 7 day cancellation period.
Any bookings made within 7 days of your arrival date will be subject to a cancellation period 24 hours prior to your arrival.
Any no shows without prior notice will incur the full charge for their accommodation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 09:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 70%

Location 74%

Safety 73%

Staff 79%

Value 76%

Showing 11-20 of 34 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good and familiar atmosphere, clean and friendly stuff.

Disliked: Hostel is closed from 10am to 4:30pm!!!! SERIOUSLY? 6,5 hours for cleaning? Why can't guest at least stay in the common room while cleaning? Everyone needs a day off especially after climbing up Ben Nevis but we weren't allowed to stay in the hostel we had to leave and try to find something in that little town to keep ourselfes busy, dry and warm because it was a rainy day!!! Every other hostel can do it why not you?

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free wifi and the bar

Disliked: Very small and crowded

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: La amabilidad del señor William, que no nos puso problemas a que llegaramos a las 11 de la noche, y fue muy amable en todo momento.

Disliked: Es una casa de campo antigua. Pero eso ya lo sabíamos.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: open and friendly rooms and atmosphere

Disliked: not enough sanitariy equipment, missing drying room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were amazing :) so helpful! Everything was spotlessly clean and beds were comfortable. Easy to get to from bus stop and close to everything.

Disliked: Only thing I disliked is that you had to be away between 10am and 2pm so beds could be changed and everything could be cleaned- but that's fair enough really.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was clean and they had a nice kitchen.

Disliked: There is an on-site bar, which meant that we could not drink our own beer. They claim to be cheap, they arecheaper than the average bar, but still 3x more expensive than bringing your own. The hostel closes between 10 am and 4:30 pm, for cleaning (which was not very clear to me according to the website). During this time you are not even allowed to grab something from your room.This made us feel very unwelcome in the hostel.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was clean enough and the beds were not uncomfortable, though if you are big or tall they would be quite a squeeze

Disliked: The attitude of the staff was pretty peculiar. We were put in a 8-person room with no opening window - this despite that there were clearly empty rooms on our floor. The full licence is actually not a massive bonus - it is quite nice to stay in a hostel where you can drink your own beer when you want to. It is okay for one night if there are no other options, but I certainly wouldn't rush back. It was just generally a bit grim, though bareable for a short period.


The property's response is

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We all know you can't please everybody, but the majority of our guests are happy and are coming back!
As for the beds, all our beds are standard size singles and the doubles are standard size too, exactly what you would buy in a shop for your home.
The windows in your room work fine, As we've checked.
Our bar is very popular from all our guests and we're very cheap! May I suggest next time you book a hotel with a queen size bed?

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Beautiful place with great views!

Disliked: The wifi connection was patchy in our room upstairs

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for you lovely review. Kirsty will be working on the wifi as soon as possible. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff friendly helpful and whole place has a lovely atmosphere. spotlessly clean excellent kitchen again spotless

Disliked: worst thing was having to leave to go home!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Your more than welcome back any time :)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean and friendly atmosphere. Staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Not close enough to walk into town.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you enjoyed you're stay, we welcome all good feedback! Yes, we're an hours walk into Fort William town, but we love our location and have plenty of local buses and taxis. Hope to see you all again soon.

Check Availability