HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Glen Nevis Youth Hostel Fort William Hostel

Glen Nevis,, Fort William, Fort William, Scotland

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.93USD
  • Towel 2.63USD

Important Information

Please note that this Hostel does not have 24 hrs reception. If you are planning to arrive after 23:00 please inform the property in advance!

Non members will have to pay £3.00 per person per night.
***Please note our Group booking policy:

• When booking for more than 9 persons, different policies and additional supplements will apply
• Please note that no stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel.
• Full payment will be required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled
• Full SYHA Hostelling Scotland Terms and Conditions will apply and be issued to all group bookings.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly. The place was very clean and the atmosphere was great. Great location for what we wanted, staff let us leave luggage on the last day as we climbed Ben Nevis and offered us tea and coffee when we returned, even though we were technically booked out. Would return here in a shot, with my daughters hopefully.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Good facilities in kitchen

Disliked: No security to bedroom as door lock was broken.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location for a hike up Ben Nevis is fabulous.

Disliked: No reading lamps above bunks.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: t

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This Hostel is clean and full of like minded people, I was never without someone to have a chat with. The staff are hard working because the hostel is clean and calm. I left my good hiking jacket in the drying room overnight. It was locked and scure ... this is wonderful to know my gear is safe.

Disliked: Between 10-11:30ish the staff clean and your in the way so make sure you either leave or stay out of the common areas (I was waiting for the weather to change on Ben Nevis so I had a later climb). A no entry sign could help vistors and limit people walking over washed floors !! I believe there was new staff, they could be more informed of walkins around the area ( have a map with the walks on the wall or something)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Beautiful location, price, self catering.

Disliked: Only same-sex dorm rooms. Possibility to rent mountaineering equipment would be nice (but it is more a "suggestion" than a "dislike").

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff excellent, kitchen supplies excellent.

Disliked: No tv or radio, limited and expensive wifi and limited electric sockets in the rooms (although this is due to be fixed in a forthcoming renevation I was told)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were so friendly especially Quinton who always had a joke or was whistling or singing while he worked. The best ever breakfasts ever were eaten at this hostel. The cleanliness of the kitchens and the shower areas were spotless. I will thoroughly recommend this hostel to any traveller.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Warm,clean,dry friendly kitchen facilities brilliant,continental breakfast very welcomed! Lacality for climbing,walking,cycling great!

Disliked: Needed power points for mobile phones. Most in use..

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability