We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Glen Nevis Youth Hostel

Hostel | Glen Nevis, Fort William, Scotland PH33 6SY

85.1% Overall Rating

72 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

Simone Mcilgorm thinks…

"This Hostel is clean and full of like minded people, I was never without someone to have a chat with. The staff are hard working because the hostel is clean and calm. I left my good hiking jacket in…"

Read all Glen Nevis Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.03
  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that this Hostel does not have 24 hrs reception. If you are planning to arrive after 23:00 please inform the property in advance! Non members will have to pay £3.00 per person per night. ***Please note our Group booking policy: • When booking for more than 9 persons, different policies and additional supplements will apply • Please note that no stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel. • Full payment will be required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled • Full SYHA Hostelling Scotland Terms and Conditions will apply and be issued to all group bookings.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

Fort William Backpackers
27.33 USD

Hostel 88.8% 426 reviews
Bank Street Lodge
27.33 USD

Hostel 82.3% 317 reviews
Ossians Hotel
40.61 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 139 reviews
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
23.43 USD

Hostel 76.7% 284 reviews
InverNevis B&B
50.76 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 31 reviews
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
24.99 USD

Hostel 85.9% 120 reviews
Farr Cottage Lodge
25.77 USD

Hostel 75.0% 197 reviews
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
263.94 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

72 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Glen Nevis Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location for a hike up Ben Nevis is fabulous.

Disliked: No reading lamps above bunks.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philippa Robinson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2015 Philippa would recommend this property

Liked: t

Disliked: Philippa left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone Mcilgorm

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2015 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is clean and full of like minded people, I was never without someone to have a chat with. The staff are hard working because the hostel is clean and calm. I left my good hiking jacket in the drying room overnight. It was locked and scure ... this is wonderful to know my gear is safe.

Disliked: Between 10-11:30ish the staff clean and your in the way so make sure you either leave or stay out of the common areas (I was waiting for the weather to change on Ben Nevis so I had a later climb). A no entry sign could help vistors and limit people walking over washed floors !! I believe there was new staff, they could be more informed of walkins around the area ( have a map with the walks on the wall or something)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location, price, self catering.

Disliked: Only same-sex dorm rooms. Possibility to rent mountaineering equipment would be nice (but it is more a "suggestion" than a "dislike").

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Hardwick

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2015 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff excellent, kitchen supplies excellent.

Disliked: No tv or radio, limited and expensive wifi and limited electric sockets in the rooms (although this is due to be fixed in a forthcoming renevation I was told)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maureen Vidler

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2014 Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly especially Quinton who always had a joke or was whistling or singing while he worked. The best ever breakfasts ever were eaten at this hostel. The cleanliness of the kitchens and the shower areas were spotless. I will thoroughly recommend this hostel to any traveller.

Disliked: Maureen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wheeler mary

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014 wheeler would recommend this property

Liked: Warm,clean,dry friendly kitchen facilities brilliant,continental breakfast very welcomed! Lacality for climbing,walking,cycling great!

Disliked: Needed power points for mobile phones. Most in use..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

David mackanic

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 July 2014

Liked: the other travelers were cool and the beds were nice. also great kitchen

Disliked: I did not like that it was expensive and seemed like they were trying to rip me off. They charged 2 quid for a towel and no free wifi? also no outlets in the rooms which was a bummer. Also breakfast was a ripoff. The whole thing seemed like a scam.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient with bus stop.

Disliked: No plugs in rooms, and the members of staff were nowhere to be found. Far too expensive for what it was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, large communal areas, friendly helpful staff, comfortable & clean bedrooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located at the start-point for 'climbing' the Ben Nevis

Disliked: The Twin-Room we had was very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The area ist just beautiful and perfect for outdoor holidays.

Disliked: The showers were clean but the whole construction was a little bit weird.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIN FU

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013 LIN would recommend this property

Liked: It is located right at the foot of Ben Nevis which is great after a tired day of climbing the mountain. You can have a relaxed walk along the road and enjoy the good view of Ben Nevis in the evening. Also, the staff there are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no plug in the room and only a few in the corridor. The name of the hostel is actually 'Glen Nevis Youth Hostel' which confused me a bit.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location excellent for climbing Ben Nevis. Very good showers, well equiped kitchen, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Rooms a bit small and hot . No mirror in the bedroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Walsh

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms with on-suite, excellent kitchen and dining area, friendly staff and atmosphere.

Disliked: Banging of doors when people head off very early to climb the Ben.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Lugton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 May 2013

Liked: Good location right next to Ben Nevis, would take you about 20 minutes to walk into Fort William. Good kitchen facilities for self catering.

Disliked: No power socket in private room, internet £3 a hour for wifi. As w ith all YHA hostels the atmosphere and character of the hostel is bland and dated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Rogler

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 May 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: larger lounge area would be nice

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tze Choong Charn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Tze Choong would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and accomodating staff.. in particular Derrick and Patrick!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, right near the Ben Nevis path, really clean and clm at this time of the year..couldn‘t be better!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The dorm had no furniture except the beds and was filthy. The staff was unfriendly. During the night it was very loud, both inside the dorm and outside, where somebody was having a party in a car right under our window. The fact that the window didn't close didn't help with the sound problem either. Because of that, the room was very cold, too. This was the worst hostel we stayed at during our entire trip to Scotland.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. The shared kitchen was great! Location is also fab.

Disliked: It was cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derren Jones

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 Derren would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap,clean,friendly helpful staff and right opposite the pony path up Ben Nevis

Disliked: Noisy ppl upstairs one night out of the 3 so may make sure next time I book a hostel Im on the 2nd floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorota Stefanicka

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Dorota would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere of this place was really great!!!

Disliked: The bed crackle.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ron Hardin

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2012 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful setting at the base of Ben Nevis with the trail head just outside the door of the hostel

Disliked: Small parking lot but you could park on the street outside the hostel