HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Glen Nevis Youth Hostel Fort William Hostel

Glen Nevis,, Fort William, Fort William, Scotland

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 79%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

SYHA is a charity aiming to inspire all, especially young people, to broaden their horizons, gain knowledge and independence through new experiences of adventure and discovery. In support of this aim, all bookings will include a temporary membership fee per person per night which is displayed as an inclusive rate. (Full, existing members of SYHA and HI using this booking engine are not entitled to a membership refund).

Glen Nevis Youth Hostel reception is open 07.00-10.00 and 15.00-23.00, with check-in from 15.00 and checkout by 10.00. Day access to some parts of the hostel will be available – please check on the day.

Late arrival and access outside opening hours by pre-arrangement only.

From the age of 5 to 15 years, young people must be accompanied by a parent or guardian and may be accommodated in a single-gendered shared room with the parent or guardian and other guests, at the discretion and responsibility of the parent or guardian. The young person/people, the parent/guardian and the other occupants of the room must be of the same gender.

SYHA advise that additional notice be given to the destination youth hostel when travelling with children, to ensure that suitable accommodation is available. Contact details can be found on your booking confirmation.

Parties with young children (under 5 years) will only be accommodated in designated family rooms, where available. There is no capacity for extra beds or cots in a shared dormitory or private accommodation.

When booking for more than 9 people:
• Full prepayment is required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled
• The following cancellation charges will apply to the entire booking:
57 days or more - 20% of total cost
56 to 29 days - 55% of total cost
28 to day of arrival - 100% of total cost

No stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel.

SYHA does not accept American Express cards as payment or guarantee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 78%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Location, Friendly staff etc.

Disliked: Nothing it provided everything we required.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly. The place was very clean and the atmosphere was great. Great location for what we wanted, staff let us leave luggage on the last day as we climbed Ben Nevis and offered us tea and coffee when we returned, even though we were technically booked out. Would return here in a shot, with my daughters hopefully.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Good facilities in kitchen

Disliked: No security to bedroom as door lock was broken.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location for a hike up Ben Nevis is fabulous.

Disliked: No reading lamps above bunks.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: t

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This Hostel is clean and full of like minded people, I was never without someone to have a chat with. The staff are hard working because the hostel is clean and calm. I left my good hiking jacket in the drying room overnight. It was locked and scure ... this is wonderful to know my gear is safe.

Disliked: Between 10-11:30ish the staff clean and your in the way so make sure you either leave or stay out of the common areas (I was waiting for the weather to change on Ben Nevis so I had a later climb). A no entry sign could help vistors and limit people walking over washed floors !! I believe there was new staff, they could be more informed of walkins around the area ( have a map with the walks on the wall or something)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Beautiful location, price, self catering.

Disliked: Only same-sex dorm rooms. Possibility to rent mountaineering equipment would be nice (but it is more a "suggestion" than a "dislike").

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff excellent, kitchen supplies excellent.

Disliked: No tv or radio, limited and expensive wifi and limited electric sockets in the rooms (although this is due to be fixed in a forthcoming renevation I was told)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were so friendly especially Quinton who always had a joke or was whistling or singing while he worked. The best ever breakfasts ever were eaten at this hostel. The cleanliness of the kitchens and the shower areas were spotless. I will thoroughly recommend this hostel to any traveller.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability