HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Glen Nevis Hostel

Hostel | Glen Nevis, Fort William, Scotland PH33 6SY

86.5% Overall Rating

61 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2013)

LIN FU thinks…

"It is located right at the foot of Ben Nevis which is great after a tired day of climbing the mountain. You can have a relaxed walk along the road and enjoy the good view of Ben Nevis in the evening.…"

Read all Glen Nevis Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.52
  • Towel USD 3.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that this Hostel does not have 24 hrs reception. If you are planning to arrive after 23:00 please inform the property in advance! Non members will have to pay £2.00 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fort William?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fort William

Bank Street Lodge
28.42 USD

Hostel 84.8% 295 reviews
Ossians Hotel
36.78 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 63 reviews
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
26.33 USD

Hostel 80.7% 272 reviews
InverNevis B&B
52.67 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 22 reviews
Innseagan House Hotel
35.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
22.57 USD

Hostel 81.6% 110 reviews
Farr Cottage Lodge
27.59 USD

Hostel 77.7% 167 reviews
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
141.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

61 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Glen Nevis Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 58 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located at the start-point for 'climbing' the Ben Nevis

Disliked: The Twin-Room we had was very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The area ist just beautiful and perfect for outdoor holidays.

Disliked: The showers were clean but the whole construction was a little bit weird.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIN FU

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2013 LIN would recommend this property

Liked: It is located right at the foot of Ben Nevis which is great after a tired day of climbing the mountain. You can have a relaxed walk along the road and enjoy the good view of Ben Nevis in the evening. Also, the staff there are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no plug in the room and only a few in the corridor. The name of the hostel is actually 'Glen Nevis Youth Hostel' which confused me a bit.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location excellent for climbing Ben Nevis. Very good showers, well equiped kitchen, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Rooms a bit small and hot . No mirror in the bedroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Walsh

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2013 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms with on-suite, excellent kitchen and dining area, friendly staff and atmosphere.

Disliked: Banging of doors when people head off very early to climb the Ben.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Lugton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 May 2013

Liked: Good location right next to Ben Nevis, would take you about 20 minutes to walk into Fort William. Good kitchen facilities for self catering.

Disliked: No power socket in private room, internet £3 a hour for wifi. As w ith all YHA hostels the atmosphere and character of the hostel is bland and dated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Rogler

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 May 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: larger lounge area would be nice

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tze Choong Charn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Tze Choong would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and accomodating staff.. in particular Derrick and Patrick!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, right near the Ben Nevis path, really clean and clm at this time of the year..couldn‘t be better!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The dorm had no furniture except the beds and was filthy. The staff was unfriendly. During the night it was very loud, both inside the dorm and outside, where somebody was having a party in a car right under our window. The fact that the window didn't close didn't help with the sound problem either. Because of that, the room was very cold, too. This was the worst hostel we stayed at during our entire trip to Scotland.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. The shared kitchen was great! Location is also fab.

Disliked: It was cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derren Jones

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 Derren would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap,clean,friendly helpful staff and right opposite the pony path up Ben Nevis

Disliked: Noisy ppl upstairs one night out of the 3 so may make sure next time I book a hostel Im on the 2nd floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorota Stefanicka

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Dorota would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere of this place was really great!!!

Disliked: The bed crackle.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ron Hardin

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2012 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful setting at the base of Ben Nevis with the trail head just outside the door of the hostel

Disliked: Small parking lot but you could park on the street outside the hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kenneth dickson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and a very pleasant atmosphere in the hostel.Great breakfast in the morning and all at a very keen price.I will visit again.

Disliked: Nothing at all really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is professional

Disliked: does not feel like at home.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Elliott

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful; Clean (and hot) showers; Excellent kitchen facilities; and Excellent drying room facilities

Disliked: Location slightly far from center of Fort William (but if you have a car then no problem or don't mind taxis or have time to walk) Could do with free wi-fi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carol Gilles

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Smashing location, friendly staff, very comfy bunks (a bit noisy) good availability of food, great facilities, lovely atmosphere.

Disliked: It was difficult to locate, at the end of a strip of Glen Nevis campsite, lofges, hotels etc!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stephen campbell

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2011 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Good showers,large dormitory *9 had plenty of space,not overfilled with too many beds. Good size kitchen and had all I needed at the time.The machine that has boiling water available all the time was great too and a proper multiple slice toaster too.Everyone was very considerate of others. Can get a good nights sleep for sure-no midnight revels!

Disliked: Interior is a bit worn in places but thats only a minor thing. Lighting a bit dim for my liking in some of the communal areas.Pity the bus service does not run on into the evening a bit longer-- a taxi from Fort William is only option after 5:10pm as that is the last bus!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i enjoyed the staff help

Disliked: a bit far from the centre but then again not far from ben nevis, the problem being the bus connection, one every two hour is not much

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Baines

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to return to after a miserable, wet climb up Ben Nevis. Warm showers and comfy beds in a quiet room, with the facilities to cook a proper meal - very much appreciated!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff! great location for hiking, good kitchen/ facilities in general; they have a drying room with a high efficiency dehumidifier for when your clothes and shoes are inevatibly soaked by the scottish weather

Disliked: a bit pricey, looong walk to the grocery store/ anything in fort william and the bus is pretty infrequent. this place not really a youth hostel, its used mostly by falimiles and older travellers, ie the place pretty dead after 10pm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ben Nevis is right across the road.

Disliked: The breakfast is too expensive. £4.5 for cereal and toast. Wifi is not free. No 3G signal inside room. No power socket inside room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

rosemary carsberg

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2011 rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: How closse it was to the main path up Ben Nevis

Disliked: It was pretty good overall, could you a little make over though, oh and a TV room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

EDWARD CLARKE

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2011 EDWARD would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to Ben Nevis/friendly and helpful staff/ good size kitchen

Disliked: If i'm really picky - having to use tokens for lunch/breakfast. I think it would be better to just have the names on a list. 1 or 2 of the fixtures were loose (reception toilet seat ). Evening menu seemed to repeat itself each night that i was there.