We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

99.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
2

Alba Hills Guest House

3 star Hotel
33 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland EH9 2BX

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Alba Hills Guest House

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
sharon graham
As a family with children
Events / festivals
97.1%
sharon would recommend this property 13 January 2015

what a lovely place to stay, the hosts were so welcome, we communicated via email before my stay and they always responded. They had our room ready early. It is easy access to princes street roughly 25 min walk or a bus stops just across the road and down you can get a day ticket or they even do a family day ticket for £7.50. breakfast was amazing full English, or cold buffet, cereals, buns etc. we would def go back

Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 May 2014

Really helpful and went out of their way to cater for both myself and my daughters dietery needs

95.1%
22 reviews Book Now 
3

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 95% Safety - 94%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 97%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2014

It's location, easy to walk to the royal mile and main attractions, and close to the bus station

Customer review
Alone
Events / festivals
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2014

The cosy interior and the fact that they had loads of shampoos or beauty left overs that you could use if needed. The fact that the bed came with linen of its own.

93.8%
184 reviews Book Now 
4

Light House Hostel

Hostel
20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

174 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Light House Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 94% Facilities - 92% Safety - 95%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 96%
VITOR AMATO ZANIN
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
VITOR would recommend this property 30 January 2015

Definitey the best hostel I've ever been! Confortable, nice, great place and great breakfast too. Nice, clean and big rooms. A great atmosphere, hospitality like I've never seen! Great staff.

Customer review
Alone
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 28 December 2014

The hostel is excellent. A big locker for every single one. Very good location (quite close that you can walk to the castle and royal mile) with bus stop just outside of the hostel (the bus routes are thru princes st and royal mile, so is easy to get to the hostel from coach or train station). Extremely clean, free breakfast and a kitchen with everything. Quite, so is good for people like me that are not looking for a party hostel but one that you can spend time in the lounge to meet some new friends and talk to each other for hours and hours. Staffs are extremely friendly, helpful; they and the hostel together would give you a home-like feeling.

93.5%
84 reviews Book Now 
5

Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel
2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

81 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kick Ass Hostels

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 92% Facilities - 90% Safety - 98%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 92%
Catherine dee
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Catherine would recommend this property 19 February 2015

Rooms very spacious, big locker to store your stuff and cool bar upstairs. Location is also good, can walk to everywhere in Edinburgh.

ellen tattam
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
ellen would recommend this property 12 February 2015

Rooms and bathrooms always clean and tidy. Fun bar with activities always on and cheap drinks and meals :-)

92.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
6

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2QN

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 85%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Oliver Haines
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Oliver would recommend this property 26 August 2014

Comfy bed and the hostel was very easy going., everyone was kind and helpful and the location was great for festival activity.

Customer review
Alone
City break
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 24 June 2014

Location is good and the kitchen and the bathroom are really clean and nice. No bad smells.

91.1%
16 reviews Book Now 
7

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 95% Safety - 93%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 90%
Bianca Panlook
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Bianca would recommend this property 21 January 2015

Gorgeous, private and clean apartments walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh, for us it was cheaper than a Hostel and Neil was so helpful before and after the stay

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

90.7%
380 reviews Book Now 
8

Royal Mile Backpackers

Hostel
105 High Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

349 out of 380 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Royal Mile Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 October 2014

The room themes were whimsical and fun, there was SO much space, multiple power outlets for every bunk and enough space to get the actual adapters in, clean linen changed each day, armchairs and space in the centre of the rooms, clean bathrooms, great common room, cheap water behind the desk. The free pub crawl on Thursday night was also amazing!

Lucie Duzbabova
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
Lucie would recommend this property 16 September 2014

I really liked its location in the very centre of Edinburgh. The satff was very friendly and helpfull and the place had a good atmosphere.

90.4%
1507 reviews Book Now 
9

High Street Hostel

Hostel
8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

1403 out of 1507 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend High Street Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 89%
amanda hutapea
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
amanda would recommend this property 18 February 2015

The location is just perfect. Most tourist attractions are accesible on foot! Very convenient!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 10 February 2015

The hostel was very close to all center of the city and right along all the clubs and pubs. The reception was nice and helped us find things to do. The lockers were also good in the rooms, as well as the wifi.

90.4%
892 reviews Book Now 
10

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

796 out of 892 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 94% Facilities - 87% Safety - 91%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Tan Guek Li
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Tan would recommend this property 25 February 2015

Despite it is a 18 mixed dormitory, the room is so spacious that you don't feel like you are sharing with so many people. The room has no smell too with so many people which normally others dorm does. Happy to cook in the kitchen too. The common area has a tv , a computer and about eight PowerPoint for you to recharge your it gadgets. Is less than 10 mins walk to the train station . supermarket and convenient stores are just around the corners.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 October 2014

I loved the atmosphere and great the staff were! Everything was so beautiful and I felt like I was walking into a hotel!

Edinburgh

72 Hostels from 10.01 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter