HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

97.1%
9 reviews Book Now 
2

Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel
2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kick Ass Hostels

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 95% Safety - 100%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Bruna de Franceschi Fiamoncini
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Bruna would recommend this property 14 April 2014

Almost everything! Really comfortable beds. Staff really friendly (except for 1 girl).

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 11 April 2014

We loved the pubcrawl on the weekdays. The bar is beautiful to hang out and meet new people. It was really good that you have to be over 18yo to stay there.

96.8%
153 reviews Book Now 
3

Light House Hostel

Hostel
20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

143 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Light House Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 96% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 96%
Anqi Wei
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Anqi would recommend this property 30 March 2014

The social atmosphere, the nice and clean rooms, various bathrooms, the location which is 20 min away from the Old Town, the friendly staff, the evening time in the common room, the free breakfast, the wonderful people I met there. It felt like home at the end. Basically everything.

Olaf Stando
Alone
Business / conference
97.1%
Olaf would recommend this property 30 March 2014

Honestly one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at! It's small but has a really friendly, cosy atmosphere - I felt welcome from the very start and made friends with some really cool people. It's also spotlessly clean and the bunk beds are amazingly comfy. There is a well-equipped kitchen with free tea and coffee, and they also provide a light breakfast in the morning. I'd definitely recommend it to everyone - it's a home away from home!

95.3%
1827 reviews Book Now 
4

Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

1757 out of 1827 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 91% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 96%
Pei Ling Gan
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Pei Ling would recommend this property 17 April 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. We love the hostel's decor! The reception staff were very friendly. We booked a double room with shared bathroom. It was an attic room at the top floor, there was no lift but it wasn't a problem for us. We love the different themes they have thought of for the rooms. The kitchen is huge, with sufficient refrigerators and cooking utensils, and even has CCTVs installed to prevent food theft. The lounges are spacious as well, with more than enough space for everyone.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2014

Really clean, in both the rooms and bathrooms. Great location by the castle and on the edge of the old town. Friendly staff greeted us on arrival.

94.9%
10 reviews Book Now 
5

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 94% Safety - 98%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 98%
Melissa Zee
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Melissa would recommend this property 12 April 2014

Feel at home. Friendly and safe environment. Clean and has everything a girl needs. Recommended especially if traveling alone or with girlfriends.

Runzhu Wang
Alone
City break
82.9%
14 March 2014

very helpful staff. hair-drier provided. convenient to cook by yourself with different cookers.

94.3%
858 reviews Book Now 
6

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

763 out of 858 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 92% Facilities - 94% Safety - 95%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 96%
Christopher PENNY
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Christopher would recommend this property 13 April 2014

Very clean, welcoming, ideally situated near Haymarket station and very good value.The breakfast for just £2 was excellent too.

Shih Wei Hsi
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Shih Wei would recommend this property 01 April 2014

Loved the stay! Perfect location, friendly staff and nice clean room. Definitely will stay again to see more of Edinburgh.

93.6%
1758 reviews Book Now 
7

Budget backpackers

Hostel
39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JR

1684 out of 1758 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Budget backpackers

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 96%
Katharina Keck
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Katharina would recommend this property 09 April 2014

they had a bar downstairs and were offering a free walking tour which was great the pub crawl wasn`t too bad either :)

Ritesh Jha
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Ritesh would recommend this property 07 April 2014

Very comfortable and worth for your money. Staff are very friendly and you feel like home.They arrange get together for everyone in evening @9pm which is really fun but as majority of guests are from US or Europe (White), Asian or African may not find it to enjoy maximum.

90.8%
14 reviews Book Now 
8

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

14 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 94% Safety - 92%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

Hazel Caine
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Hazel would recommend this property 05 December 2011

Really impressed. Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Parking space was a bonus. The sort of place you don't want to leave, because you feel so settled there.

90.5%
1067 reviews Book Now 
9

Argyle Backpackers

Hostel
14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH9 1JL

992 out of 1067 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Argyle Backpackers

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 88% Facilities - 92% Safety - 89%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 95%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 05 March 2014

It was clean and the kitchen facilities good. Having two kitchens really reduces the dinner time congestion. There was always enough space to cook. I liked having an all girls room. The carpets in the room reduced the noise of people going in and out. In the living room the sofas are normal and comfortable and a decent TV.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 February 2014

The hostel is in a quiet location, easily found and a direct walk from the centre.

89.6%
1445 reviews Book Now 
10

High Street Hostel

Hostel
8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

1343 out of 1445 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend High Street Hostel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 03 March 2014

This is seriously one of the best (if not THE best) hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was great... full kitchen that I barely used but was nice. Very good security system, and it's really nice that they allow guests to come and hang out with you in the lounge (though they obviously aren't allowed in the rooms with you).

Katarzyna Planeta
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Katarzyna would recommend this property 05 February 2014

Nice big rooms, daily cleaned by the people who lives there for years! (great teams), big lockers in the room, comfortable and cosy common area, great meal deal for breakfast and supertasty evening cuisine provided by a professional cook. I met amazing people who stayed in the hostel for a year or so. Some of them works as a maintenance or receptionists and that`s a great idea ever because I feel like living with friends from the first moment.

Edinburgh

82 Hostels from 14.93 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter