HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

Cloudberry Apartment 100%

1. Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

17 Aug 2013 100%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

would recommend this property

16 Jun 2012 100%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

would recommend this property

Read all Cloudberry Apartment reviews
The Baxter 97%

2. The Baxter

Hostel
5/2 West Register Street

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 95%

12 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Baxter

30 May 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 41+

Everything from the breckfast to the bunk

would recommend this property

25 Mar 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Shopping Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Absolutely excellent stay!! I recommend everyone to stay here! It is direct in the city next to the biggest train station und you can achieve everything easily by foot.

would recommend this property

Read all The Baxter reviews
Code Hostel 96%

3. Code Hostel

Hostel
50 Rose Street North Lane

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 96%

Value 96%

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Code Hostel

04 Jul 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Nice place for sleep. I liked the dorm bed with privacy. Usually I cannot sleep well in hostel, but Code hostel was absolutely cozy. Staff are all friendly and nice. Breakfast is also good! Overall, I perfectly satisfied with this hostel.

would recommend this property

27 Mar 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

the very welcoming and helpful staff, the wooden beds and the cleanliness of the place.

would recommend this property

Read all Code Hostel reviews
ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel) 94%

4. ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 94%

Location 93%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

27 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

23 Sep 2015 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Work / volunteering

Atmosphere

would recommend this property

22 Aug 2015 80%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

central, safe, warm, no street noise, free WiFi, safe for valuables, late check-out, bag drop, easy-going, house-shoe-policy, reception hours fine, clear instructions how to get there, flexible in either paying £/€.

Read all ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel) reviews
Castle Rock Hostel 93%

5. Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrrace

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 88%

Location 99%

Safety 94%

Staff 93%

Value 91%

748 out of 780 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

22 Aug 2016 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

I liked the cozy atmosphere of the place. It was a surounding where you just felt comfortable. It was clean and the staff was nice.

would recommend this property

21 Aug 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 31-40

The location was absolutely amazing, within walking distance from almost anything of interest during Fringe and outside of it. Great views and building, very clean, friendly staff. Good wi fi connection. Great little patio out back (open 9am-9pm, I wish it would have opened a little earlier).

would recommend this property

Read all Castle Rock Hostel reviews
The Westend Hostel 92%

6. The Westend Hostel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 89%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

425 out of 458 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Westend Hostel

03 Jan 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner

I really enjoyed my stay here. For the price you will not find a better private room in the city.

would recommend this property

26 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers

One of the best stay locations in edinburgh.enjoyed my stay to fullest.highly recommended :)

would recommend this property

Read all The Westend Hostel reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers 91%

7. Royal Mile Backpackers

Hostel
105 High Street

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 96%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

155 out of 166 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Royal Mile Backpackers

07 Aug 2016 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Nice atmosphere, helpful staff. Brilliant location.

would recommend this property

23 Apr 2016 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Amazing location and the staff was super friendly. The beds were also really comfortable.

would recommend this property

Read all Royal Mile Backpackers reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel 90%

8. Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 88%

Location 99%

Safety 82%

Staff 95%

Value 93%

22 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

15 Nov 2015 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

One of the best hostels. Friendly and safe enviroment.

would recommend this property

08 Oct 2015 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Visiting friends or family

Friendly and helpful staff, small and well located, spotless bedrooms clean PRESSED sheets better than home!!!....really clean good bathrooms....so well located... Lots of good food places and little shops around and hostel had very reasonable rates!!!!!!!!!!

would recommend this property

Read all Malone's Old Town Hostel reviews
High Street Hostel 90%

9. High Street Hostel

Hostel
8 Blackfriars Street

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 99%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

338 out of 367 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend High Street Hostel

20 Aug 2016 77%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Close to the Royal Mile

would recommend this property

01 Jun 2016 83%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Was in a good location easy to find and stuff where helpful

would recommend this property

Read all High Street Hostel reviews
Kick Ass Hostels 90%

10. Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel
2 West Port, Grassmarket

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 85%

Value 90%

123 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kick Ass Hostels

05 Apr 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Location, modern rooms, great views!

would recommend this property

07 Feb 2016 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

For £7.5 a night and a great facilities, would rate it 10/10. Affordable and modern. Really hope they make a hostel chain franchise another city.

would recommend this property

Read all Kick Ass Hostels reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!