We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

96.3%
1944 reviews Book Now 
2

Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

1871 out of 1944 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 97%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 April 2015

The hostel itself is in a really nice, old building thats a short walk from the city centre and the surrounding attractions. Edinburgh is an amazing city and the Castle Rock Hostel made the trip very enjoyable. Theres many opportunities to meet new people and everyone is friendly. The hostel staff are helpful and kind, and the pub crawl on Thursday nights is a great way to meet others. Would definitely stay here again.

michael semer
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
michael would recommend this property 22 April 2015

My only complaint was that I had to leave so soon. If I didn't already have my flight booked I might have never left.

95.7%
25 reviews Book Now 
3

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

24 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 98% Facilities - 96% Safety - 95%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 97%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 April 2015

I arrived in the morning and had to wait for my bed to be ready nevertheless I was immediately offered tea and breakfast. Zoe, the girl working there, is really nice. She helped me with some directions and always made me feel welcome. The hostel itself has a good location (really close to the bus station and waverly station). It was clean and warm. Their kitchen was well equipped and always clean. I definitely recommend staying there if you want to have a relaxed and homely stay in Edinburgh!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2014

It's location, easy to walk to the royal mile and main attractions, and close to the bus station

94.2%
187 reviews Book Now 
4

Light House Hostel

Hostel
20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

177 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Light House Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 93% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 96%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 21 April 2015

A great place to stay and also to meet fellow travellers. The hostel has a homey feel and relaxed atmosphere.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 06 April 2015

No-shoe policy, very clean and comfortable kitchen and common room, very helpful staff, great atmosphere

93.9%
93 reviews Book Now 
5

Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel
2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

90 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kick Ass Hostels

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 97%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Denisa Marinovova
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
97.1%
Denisa would recommend this property 23 April 2015

The hostel was really nice and clean all the time.. every night there was something going on at the bar which was great. Very friendly staff and great location..

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 April 2015

I loved everything about this hostel - the location, the staff as well as the cleanliness! Especially the cleanliness! The shared bathrooms were always neat and tidy. The rooms are quite spacious and you get enough personal space. The lockers next to each bed are a great feature - you are never worried about safe-keep of your belongings. The staff is superbly nice and always ready to help. The only negative is that since the hostel is right on the main road of a popular area, you keep hearing noises from people on the road till late at night, which can create disturbance if you are a light sleeper. Also, while getting to the hostel, there is a small walk uphill from the train station. So if you're carrying slightly heavy bags, it can be demanding! But everything else makes up for this small inconvenience. Would definitely come back here on my next trip to Edinburgh!

92.1%
8 reviews Book Now 
6

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2QN

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 85%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Oliver Haines
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Oliver would recommend this property 26 August 2014

Comfy bed and the hostel was very easy going., everyone was kind and helpful and the location was great for festival activity.

Customer review
Alone
City break
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 24 June 2014

Location is good and the kitchen and the bathroom are really clean and nice. No bad smells.

91.9%
6 reviews Book Now 
7

City Stay Edinburgh

Hostel
6 Queen Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 1JE

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Stay Edinburgh

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 90%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Gerhard Reese
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Gerhard would recommend this property 14 April 2015

very nice and helpful caring staff, generally a nice place, close to most amenities

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 06 April 2015

I really loved the helpfull staff and the atmosphere in the hostel. I was starting to panic, because I was a bit late for booking my stay and most of the other Hostels were allready booked, but everything went grand ;)

91.8%
895 reviews Book Now 
8

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

799 out of 895 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 93%
Thomas Selleck
Alone
Business / conference
100.0%
Thomas would recommend this property 05 March 2015

I stayed here for a 1 night visit for a conference at Murrayfield stadium. The location is good for both city centre, airport and close to Murrayfield and Edinburgh Zoo. Rooms are clean and comfortable and staff go out of their way to help you. I was pleased at the discount you get at the bar for food and drinks as the food was amazing. I stayed in an 18 bed dorm which I don't normally stay in big rooms but this one is not cramped and there is allot of space to keep your things. I will recommend the hostel to anyone travelling through Edinburgh.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 March 2015

Loved everything about this place. Home from home. Very close to Murrayfield for Six nations rugby and central for city centre. Staff very polite and helpful. All in all a great stay! Well done

91.3%
382 reviews Book Now 
9

Royal Mile Backpackers

Hostel
105 High Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

351 out of 382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Royal Mile Backpackers

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 95% Facilities - 85% Safety - 89%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2015

The staff was really friendly and helpful, the bed were comfortable, and everything was clean. The location was perfect for us, as we were here only 2 days.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 October 2014

The room themes were whimsical and fun, there was SO much space, multiple power outlets for every bunk and enough space to get the actual adapters in, clean linen changed each day, armchairs and space in the centre of the rooms, clean bathrooms, great common room, cheap water behind the desk. The free pub crawl on Thursday night was also amazing!

91.1%
16 reviews Book Now 
10

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 95% Safety - 93%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 90%
Bianca Panlook
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Bianca would recommend this property 21 January 2015

Gorgeous, private and clean apartments walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh, for us it was cheaper than a Hostel and Neil was so helpful before and after the stay

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

Edinburgh

67 Hostels from 12.15 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter