HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

96.4%
4 reviews Book Now 
2

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2QN

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 95%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
City break
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 24 June 2014

Location is good and the kitchen and the bathroom are really clean and nice. No bad smells.

Donna Holland
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Donna would recommend this property 04 June 2014

Central location easy to get to all the sites of Edinburgh. Staff were fun and helpful. Dorms were spacious and clean.

95.9%
18 reviews Book Now 
3

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 95% Safety - 95%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 97%
Anita Bazogias
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Anita would recommend this property 02 July 2014

It is a small and cosy hostel, good location, less than 10 minutes walk to the city and Edinburgh train station. Dorm I stayed in was quite spacious, bed comfy . Kylie was amazing, so friendly and helpful. Its a great relaxed atmosphere, loved my stay here!

Pam Donald
Alone
City break, Events / festivals
100.0%
Pam would recommend this property 10 May 2014

Excellent hostel, very central, great value for money and easy to find. Lovely warm welcome and really nice atmosphere. Well eqipped and clean and tidy. Comfy bed and everyone gets a key so they can come and go when they want. The home-made cookies were an added bonus! Kylie is very knowledgable about the city and can help you find what you want to do/see. I will definitely be back! :)

95.3%
48 reviews Book Now 
4

Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel
2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

48 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kick Ass Hostels

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 91% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 94%
Fabio Capotosti
Alone
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Fabio would recommend this property 31 July 2014

I like that the hostel is new, clean, beautiful, with friendly multilingual staff

Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 July 2014

early book in time good comfortable bunk, bunk reservation system and storage lift luggage lockers free access 24/7

93.6%
162 reviews Book Now 
5

Light House Hostel

Hostel
20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

151 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Light House Hostel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 95% Safety - 95%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 30 May 2014

The hostel staff were very friendly and made me feel at home when I visited. The hostel is also very clean, the staff take great care to make it so. The beds were quite comfy too. I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone in Edinburgh.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 21 April 2014

very clean house and helpful staff. slippers provided as you can't wear shoes indoors. spacious rooms with lockers and bed sheets provided. they even have a projector and a list of movies you can watch on a rainy day!

92.4%
3 reviews Book Now 
6

The Inn On The Mile

4 star Hotel
82 High Street, Royal Mile, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1LL

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Inn On The Mile

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 80%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 June 2014

Central location, easy to find, above baqr/restaurant with high quality food. There was a mix up with the bed situation in that as it was booked through hostel bookers was done as 2 single beds instead of a double, so they gave us a bottle of prosecco as an apology

RODRIGO DIAZ BAEZ
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway
100.0%
RODRIGO would recommend this property 14 November 2010

everything, I travel a lot, and this is a great hotel, right in the places you have to visit in edinburgh, great service, amazing free breakfast, the most nicest staff in any country, cable tv, 8 pillows in your bed, etc. amazing!!

92.2%
1882 reviews Book Now 
7

Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

1811 out of 1882 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 97% Facilities - 90% Safety - 91%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 90%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 29 July 2014

This charming hostel has great staff and location. Facilities were exactly what we needed, nothing more. For that price no one can complain.

Shiloh Hodges
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals
94.3%
Shiloh would recommend this property 28 July 2014

Spacious dorms, large well organised kitchen and really friendly and knowledgable staff.

91.1%
874 reviews Book Now 
8

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

778 out of 874 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 93% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 92%
Ruth Lancaster
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Ruth would recommend this property 14 July 2014

Stay very friendly, stayed in the 18 bed dorm, room still felt spacious and very clean. Best hostel I have stayed at so far on my travels. Really good value for money.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 June 2014

This place is up there with the best hostels I've stayed in while travelling for the last 2 years. On the West End of the city but within walking distance to all attractions.

90.8%
14 reviews Book Now 
9

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

14 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 94% Safety - 92%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

Hazel Caine
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Hazel would recommend this property 05 December 2011

Really impressed. Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Parking space was a bonus. The sort of place you don't want to leave, because you feel so settled there.

90.3%
373 reviews Book Now 
10

Royal Mile Backpackers

Hostel
105 High Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

342 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Royal Mile Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 90%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 91%
Krysty Dross
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Krysty would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Te location was unbeatable, and the rooms were charming, I loved the themed names of all the beds. Our room had a huge bay window that made me forget I was even staying in a hostel.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 01 April 2014

small common area let you make friends easily. cute names for rooms and beds. friendly staff. great location.

Edinburgh

83 Hostels from 25.34 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter