We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

96.8%
1973 reviews Book Now 
2

Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

1899 out of 1973 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 97% Facilities - 95% Safety - 98%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 97%
Beatrice Soucy
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Beatrice would recommend this property 12 July 2015

HUGE hostel! Friendly staff and 24-hour reception. The lockers are quite big which is very useful, and you don't need to bring your own lock. The breakfast is quite cheap and alright. Centrally located for all the attractions. Beds were pretty good

Stacey Farley
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Stacey would recommend this property 04 July 2015

Beautiful views from the common area; nice showers; art everywhere!; good charictor; other guests were really friendly; good location

95.7%
26 reviews Book Now 
3

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

25 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 98% Facilities - 96% Safety - 95%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 97%
Jungki Hong
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Jungki would recommend this property 26 April 2015

Clean and good location and I like fresh bread in the morning everything was perfect.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 April 2015

I arrived in the morning and had to wait for my bed to be ready nevertheless I was immediately offered tea and breakfast. Zoe, the girl working there, is really nice. She helped me with some directions and always made me feel welcome. The hostel itself has a good location (really close to the bus station and waverly station). It was clean and warm. Their kitchen was well equipped and always clean. I definitely recommend staying there if you want to have a relaxed and homely stay in Edinburgh!

94.1%
195 reviews Book Now 
4

Light House Hostel

Hostel
20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

185 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Light House Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 95% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 94%
Rebecca Liaw
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Rebecca would recommend this property 22 June 2015

Super clean, friendly staff. Directions provided at booking (via email) were clear and detailed. A little removed from the "heart" of Old Town, but in a quiet neighbourhood it's only a 10 minute walk to the castle at an average pace. Lockers are spacious Mattress was soft and comfortable

Nawini Perera
Alone
City break
100.0%
Nawini would recommend this property 04 May 2015

What a fabulous stay I had. I stayed there for a night. The hostel is very pleasant , clean and tidy . Staff were so friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was also included. So it was easy to wake up bit late and enjoy a nice cup of tea with breakfast. Bed is so comfortable. Staff was very helpful. I was even given information about sight seeing Edinburgh. Which was really helpful. They will go that extra mile to satisfy there guests. I had a very good stay at light house hostel. If I go there again I will definitely stay there and will recommend to anyone. And very importantly it's very safe for female travellers if you are very concern about the safer environment. Bathrooms were very cleaned too. Nicely managed hostel .

93.3%
3 reviews Book Now 
5

Code Hostel

Hostel
50 Rose St North Lane, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 2NP

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Code Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 01 June 2015

Pod beds with curtains made it easy to sleep for a full night which is usually made hard in Scotland during the summer due to the extended hours in which the sun is up for.

Cara Isaacs
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Cara would recommend this property 21 January 2015

Great location, all the facilities feel very new and well thought through. Comfortable beds with reading light and power point, modern clean bathroom, great common room and kitchen. It feels like you are in a modern apartment as opposed to a hostel. Breakfast was simple but very good to be included in the price.

92.8%
899 reviews Book Now 
6

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

803 out of 899 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 92% Safety - 93%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Dane Kirk
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Dane would recommend this property 02 July 2015

This place is awesome. I stayed in a 18 person room, the place is so clean and the staff are amazing. I

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 14 June 2015

I enjoyed the live music at night, it was nice when I didn't have a car to drive into the heart of the town but still could have a good time right below where k was sleeping! The room was nicely lit, day or night, and I felt very comfortable here. The staff was immensely helpful when it came to making taxi accommodations and just being around in general.

91.6%
15 reviews Book Now 
7

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2QN

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 93% Facilities - 92% Safety - 86%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
SEONGSIK HWANG
Alone
City break
88.6%
SEONGSIK would recommend this property 30 June 2015

Not bad, in city center. Security is also not bad. But felt a little uncomfortable and no living room for guest.

Claire Malone
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Claire would recommend this property 20 June 2015

Great location and half price food in the bar is a winning combination. The bar had a great atmosphere.

91.5%
105 reviews Book Now 
8

Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel
2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

101 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kick Ass Hostels

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 90% Facilities - 89% Safety - 96%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 09 July 2015

Really enjoyed staying at this hostel. It's in a great location, staff was super helpful and friendly, rooms were ok-sized (8 bed dorm), and there are big lockers and space under the beds to store your luggage. Bathrooms were always clean and there were plenty of toilets and showers, so you never had to wait. Would definitely recommend staying here if you are coming to Edinburgh :)

Callum Snell
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Callum would recommend this property 16 June 2015

Clean, well-presented, efficient check in and out process. Comfortable. Only had a fleeting overnight stay but it seemed keen to promote social activity within the premises. Very good location as well, just off the Royal Mile and walking distance to within everything.

91.3%
383 reviews Book Now 
9

Royal Mile Backpackers

Hostel
105 High Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

352 out of 383 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Royal Mile Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 86% Safety - 89%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2015

The staff was really friendly and helpful, the bed were comfortable, and everything was clean. The location was perfect for us, as we were here only 2 days.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 October 2014

The room themes were whimsical and fun, there was SO much space, multiple power outlets for every bunk and enough space to get the actual adapters in, clean linen changed each day, armchairs and space in the centre of the rooms, clean bathrooms, great common room, cheap water behind the desk. The free pub crawl on Thursday night was also amazing!

91.1%
16 reviews Book Now 
10

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 95% Safety - 93%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 90%
Bianca Panlook
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Bianca would recommend this property 21 January 2015

Gorgeous, private and clean apartments walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh, for us it was cheaper than a Hostel and Neil was so helpful before and after the stay

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

Edinburgh

66 Hostels from 10.91 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter