We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

95.1%
22 reviews Book Now 
2

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 95% Safety - 94%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 97%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2014

It's location, easy to walk to the royal mile and main attractions, and close to the bus station

Customer review
Alone
Events / festivals
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2014

The cosy interior and the fact that they had loads of shampoos or beauty left overs that you could use if needed. The fact that the bed came with linen of its own.

94.4%
175 reviews Book Now 
3

Light House Hostel

Hostel
20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

165 out of 175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Light House Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 94%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 96%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2014

The staff were very friendly. They were able to provide direction of sites in the area. Also, the hostel was very clean.

Siew Shean Choong
With friends / other travellers
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Siew Shean would recommend this property 09 September 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and truly loved it. Felt really homey, especially with the indoor slippers. It's located in a very quiet area of the city, the only rowdy ones were the seagulls outdoors in the morning. Bathrooms, kitchen and rooms were very clean and well maintained, and there were lockers in every room. Very friendly and helpful staffs. WiFi was excellent. Easy to get to with #10 bus from Princess Street (the road next to Waverly train station), and bus stops less than 100 m away. Was surprised that breakfast was included, great selection of cereals & muesli, also breads with jam & spreads. Lots of places to eat out, as well as stores to buy food and other items nearby.

92.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
4

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2QN

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 85%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Oliver Haines
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Oliver would recommend this property 26 August 2014

Comfy bed and the hostel was very easy going., everyone was kind and helpful and the location was great for festival activity.

Customer review
Alone
City break
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 24 June 2014

Location is good and the kitchen and the bathroom are really clean and nice. No bad smells.

90.5%
891 reviews Book Now 
5

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

795 out of 891 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 94% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 October 2014

I loved the atmosphere and great the staff were! Everything was so beautiful and I felt like I was walking into a hotel!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 September 2014

One of the best hostels we've stayed at! Actually it was more of a hotel which was a pleasant surprise. Staff were great, dorm room was carpeted which was a nice change, washing service was super efficient and cheap (2.50 pounds for a huge load), downstairs is a bar that had a fantastic live singer the night we were there as well as very cheap drinks. All round a GREAT place to stay in a beautiful city!

90.5%
15 reviews Book Now 
6

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 94% Safety - 93%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

Hazel Caine
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Hazel would recommend this property 05 December 2011

Really impressed. Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Parking space was a bonus. The sort of place you don't want to leave, because you feel so settled there.

90.2%
1914 reviews Book Now 
7

Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

1842 out of 1914 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 92% Facilities - 89% Safety - 91%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 86%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 November 2014

Very well-located. The atmosphere is fun and safe. Definitely a hostel, but one of the best I've stayed at. Would definitely recommend.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 October 2014

Free lockers. Assigned bunk beds so since I arrived at midnight it was easier to find my bed, and the linen was already placed. Wished I could have stayed longer.

90.1%
1811 reviews Book Now 
8

Budget backpackers

Hostel
39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JR

1733 out of 1811 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Budget backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 89% Facilities - 87% Safety - 91%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 87%
Ashley Johnson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Ashley would recommend this property 21 November 2014

The staff was awesome and the facilities were great. Clean, spacious rooms, multiple options for food (could purchase or cook) and something going on every night! The location was close to pretty much everything. When I arrived the first day completely exhausted from my overnight bus they allowed my to put my bag in the lockers for FREE and use their hang out room to take a nap. I loved this hostel!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

Great central location, fun people yet everyone seemed to respect the 10pm to be quiet rule when we were there which is great to get a good night sleep

90.0%
4 reviews Book Now 
9

Caravel Guest House

Guesthouse
30 London Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 6NA

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Caravel Guest House

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 90% Safety - 90%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 85%
Zuleika Wyman
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Zuleika would recommend this property 12 September 2014

This place is soo clean and spacious! They staff are soooo friendly and the manager of the place is so accomadating. I highly recommend this place for everyone.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 June 2014

The owner and staff were so helpful and friendly it made for a wonderful stay also the rooms were spotless!

90.0%
4 reviews Book Now 
10

Drummond Street Apartments

Apartment
5 Drummond Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH8 9TT

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Drummond Street Apartments

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 90%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
65.7%
Customer would recommend this property 26 May 2014

Very central location. Food shops only a few minutes away on main road which is ideal for self catering. Very nice towels provided.

Amber Clemente
With my spouse / partner
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Amber would recommend this property 01 April 2014

The location was great - there are bars and restaurants close by and it's an easy walk to Princes Street and the sights of the city. It was clean, modern and spacious - great value for money.

Edinburgh

75 Hostels from 11.20 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter