HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

95.1%
22 reviews Book Now 
2

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 95% Safety - 94%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 97%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2014

It's location, easy to walk to the royal mile and main attractions, and close to the bus station

Customer review
Alone
Events / festivals
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2014

The cosy interior and the fact that they had loads of shampoos or beauty left overs that you could use if needed. The fact that the bed came with linen of its own.

94.4%
175 reviews Book Now 
3

Light House Hostel

Hostel
20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

165 out of 175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Light House Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 94%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 96%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2014

The staff were very friendly. They were able to provide direction of sites in the area. Also, the hostel was very clean.

Siew Shean Choong
With friends / other travellers
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Siew Shean would recommend this property 09 September 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and truly loved it. Felt really homey, especially with the indoor slippers. It's located in a very quiet area of the city, the only rowdy ones were the seagulls outdoors in the morning. Bathrooms, kitchen and rooms were very clean and well maintained, and there were lockers in every room. Very friendly and helpful staffs. WiFi was excellent. Easy to get to with #10 bus from Princess Street (the road next to Waverly train station), and bus stops less than 100 m away. Was surprised that breakfast was included, great selection of cereals & muesli, also breads with jam & spreads. Lots of places to eat out, as well as stores to buy food and other items nearby.

92.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
4

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2QN

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 85%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Oliver Haines
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Oliver would recommend this property 26 August 2014

Comfy bed and the hostel was very easy going., everyone was kind and helpful and the location was great for festival activity.

Customer review
Alone
City break
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 24 June 2014

Location is good and the kitchen and the bathroom are really clean and nice. No bad smells.

92.4%
3 reviews Book Now 
5

The Inn On The Mile

4 star Hotel
82 High Street, Royal Mile, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1LL

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Inn On The Mile

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 80%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 June 2014

Central location, easy to find, above baqr/restaurant with high quality food. There was a mix up with the bed situation in that as it was booked through hostel bookers was done as 2 single beds instead of a double, so they gave us a bottle of prosecco as an apology

RODRIGO DIAZ BAEZ
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway
100.0%
RODRIGO would recommend this property 14 November 2010

everything, I travel a lot, and this is a great hotel, right in the places you have to visit in edinburgh, great service, amazing free breakfast, the most nicest staff in any country, cable tv, 8 pillows in your bed, etc. amazing!!

90.7%
890 reviews Book Now 
6

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

794 out of 890 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 94% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 September 2014

One of the best hostels we've stayed at! Actually it was more of a hotel which was a pleasant surprise. Staff were great, dorm room was carpeted which was a nice change, washing service was super efficient and cheap (2.50 pounds for a huge load), downstairs is a bar that had a fantastic live singer the night we were there as well as very cheap drinks. All round a GREAT place to stay in a beautiful city!

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 September 2014

It was very close to the train station and the city center, and the staff was quite helpful.

90.5%
15 reviews Book Now 
7

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 94% Safety - 93%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

Hazel Caine
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Hazel would recommend this property 05 December 2011

Really impressed. Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Parking space was a bonus. The sort of place you don't want to leave, because you feel so settled there.

90.2%
1809 reviews Book Now 
8

Budget backpackers

Hostel
39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JR

1731 out of 1809 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Budget backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 92% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 87%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

Great central location, fun people yet everyone seemed to respect the 10pm to be quiet rule when we were there which is great to get a good night sleep

Luke Samuels
With my spouse / partner
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Luke would recommend this property 26 August 2014

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The bed linen was clean and fresh and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. The atmosphere was relaxed and calm and there were many different people there from places all over the world which I found very intriguing and interesting. I would definitely recommend Budget Backpackers to anyone looking for a friendly, affordable and memorable stay. Overall 10/10 for everything.

90.2%
1912 reviews Book Now 
9

Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

1840 out of 1912 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 93% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 86%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2014

It's a very convenient location. They offered free wifi and offered reasonably price fees to rent towels, etc. I felt very safe at all times.

Roslyn Stephens
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Roslyn would recommend this property 21 September 2014

Great location, easy to get everywhere. Staff are really friendly and give good tips on tours and sights to see. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms clean and provided with clean hand towels.

90.2%
375 reviews Book Now 
10

Royal Mile Backpackers

Hostel
105 High Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

344 out of 375 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Royal Mile Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 83% Safety - 91%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 91%
Lucie Duzbabova
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
Lucie would recommend this property 16 September 2014

I really liked its location in the very centre of Edinburgh. The satff was very friendly and helpfull and the place had a good atmosphere.

Krysty Dross
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Krysty would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Te location was unbeatable, and the rooms were charming, I loved the themed names of all the beds. Our room had a huge bay window that made me forget I was even staying in a hostel.

Edinburgh

81 Hostels from 12.98 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter