HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

96.4%
4 reviews Book Now 
2

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2QN

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 95%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
City break
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 24 June 2014

Location is good and the kitchen and the bathroom are really clean and nice. No bad smells.

Donna Holland
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Donna would recommend this property 04 June 2014

Central location easy to get to all the sites of Edinburgh. Staff were fun and helpful. Dorms were spacious and clean.

94.6%
20 reviews Book Now 
3

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

19 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 95% Safety - 94%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 97%
Anita Bazogias
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Anita would recommend this property 02 July 2014

It is a small and cosy hostel, good location, less than 10 minutes walk to the city and Edinburgh train station. Dorm I stayed in was quite spacious, bed comfy . Kylie was amazing, so friendly and helpful. Its a great relaxed atmosphere, loved my stay here!

Pam Donald
Alone
City break, Events / festivals
100.0%
Pam would recommend this property 10 May 2014

Excellent hostel, very central, great value for money and easy to find. Lovely warm welcome and really nice atmosphere. Well eqipped and clean and tidy. Comfy bed and everyone gets a key so they can come and go when they want. The home-made cookies were an added bonus! Kylie is very knowledgable about the city and can help you find what you want to do/see. I will definitely be back! :)

93.7%
1901 reviews Book Now 
4

Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

1830 out of 1901 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 99% Facilities - 92% Safety - 94%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 August 2014

Ideal location for touring the city and Frindge festival, friendly and laid back atmosphere in the hostel with very helpful staff.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 August 2014

Friendly staff, good atmosphere. Lots of places to hangout, a pool table and other fun stuff.

93.0%
168 reviews Book Now 
5

Light House Hostel

Hostel
20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

157 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Light House Hostel

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 96% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 94%
sirajul islam
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
sirajul would recommend this property 10 August 2014

If you want a relaxed peaceful place to stay, (like I did) then this is the place. The people that generaly stay here seems really friendly and mature & by that I don't mean they are old!, shame that I was unable to spend more time with them as I had things of my own to do. The staff are really freindly and helpful and you really felt liked a valued guest. Next tym Im in the city this place will be my first choice.

Devin Leslie
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals, Relaxation/spa, Shopping
97.1%
Devin would recommend this property 07 August 2014

Ricky, the owner seemed to really love Edinburgh. When we asked for any advice about what to do or where to go, he always had a suggestion and was quick to tell us how to get to where we needed to go - he also helped us book our bus tour of the Highlands. There were a bunch of movies that were available to watch and with use of a projector,the common 'relaxing' area, turned into a small movie theater - this was awesome. For night-time, there is a campfire area in the back, all you have to do is ask! The room we stayed in had 6 bunk beds, and the one I slept in was super comfortable - I'm 6'3" and I had no issues stretching out on one of them! The room itself was a good size, and even though there were 6 people in the room, it never felt small or claustrophobic. The location was a bit away from the city center (about a 10 minute walk) but this is absolutely fine, it lends to a quiet sleep.

92.4%
3 reviews Book Now 
6

The Inn On The Mile

4 star Hotel
82 High Street, Royal Mile, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1LL

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Inn On The Mile

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 80%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 June 2014

Central location, easy to find, above baqr/restaurant with high quality food. There was a mix up with the bed situation in that as it was booked through hostel bookers was done as 2 single beds instead of a double, so they gave us a bottle of prosecco as an apology

RODRIGO DIAZ BAEZ
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway
100.0%
RODRIGO would recommend this property 14 November 2010

everything, I travel a lot, and this is a great hotel, right in the places you have to visit in edinburgh, great service, amazing free breakfast, the most nicest staff in any country, cable tv, 8 pillows in your bed, etc. amazing!!

90.5%
15 reviews Book Now 
7

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 94% Safety - 93%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

Hazel Caine
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Hazel would recommend this property 05 December 2011

Really impressed. Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Parking space was a bonus. The sort of place you don't want to leave, because you feel so settled there.

90.5%
57 reviews Book Now 
8

Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel
2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

55 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kick Ass Hostels

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 87%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Business / conference
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 August 2014

The bedrooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the location is amazing. You can have breakfast in the hostel and it fairly cheap .

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2014

Super new, extremely clean, contemporary style, has its own bar with good selection of food, fair priced beer, lots of activities, large tv, games, pool table........... list goes on

90.3%
883 reviews Book Now 
9

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

787 out of 883 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 95% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 89%
Joseph Murphey
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Joseph would recommend this property 19 August 2014

My first visit to Edinburgh and I loved every minute and the hostel was fab. Staff are so helpful and could not do more for you. I will be back with my family soon!

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 14 August 2014

The staff (barman) were very helpful and knew the answers to whatever questions were asked of them.

90.3%
373 reviews Book Now 
10

Royal Mile Backpackers

Hostel
105 High Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

342 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Royal Mile Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 90%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 91%
Krysty Dross
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Krysty would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Te location was unbeatable, and the rooms were charming, I loved the themed names of all the beds. Our room had a huge bay window that made me forget I was even staying in a hostel.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 01 April 2014

small common area let you make friends easily. cute names for rooms and beds. friendly staff. great location.

Edinburgh

83 Hostels from 9.93 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter