We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Edinburgh, Scotland

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Cloudberry Apartment

Apartment
26 Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5BS

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cloudberry Apartment

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
As a family with children
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2013

The apartment was marvelous and far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was very clean, had all the modern amenities and was well located for attending the Fringe Festival. The owners were extremely helpful and attentive -- they even ran to the store to get some clothes for my 83-year old father when the airlines misplaced our luggage.

Shaunee Hepburn
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Shaunee would recommend this property 17 June 2012

Our stay at the Cloudberry Apartment was great. It was children friendly as a cot was provided and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was easy to wheel the pram and the suitcases in and out. It was very clean and the kitchen had everything in it and it was great preparing our lunches for our day trips into the city. We walked to the Royal Mile and got the bus back - it dropped us off just outside the apartment. Thanks to Natalie who was a very welcoming host!!

97.1%
5 reviews Book Now 
2

The Baxter

Hostel
5/2 West Register Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 2AA

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Baxter

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 100%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 92%
Lorraine Bellerby
As a family with children
Events / festivals
100.0%
Lorraine would recommend this property 24 August 2015

I loved everything about this Hostel: The decor, location, staff, cleanliness. Aparently this hostel is only a year old and it was really fresh, not tired or shaby. I booked the four bed dorm with private bathroom. It was located at the back, which would add to being a quieter room. The staff were full of advice coupled with a warm approach. My fourteen year old daughter, said it was her favourite place she had ever stayed, including any five star hotels.

Leah Lothringer
Alone
Events / festivals
91.4%
Leah would recommend this property 23 August 2015

Scrambled eggs for breakfast, rare to get in a hostel. Beautiful interior, nicely decorated, real investment in the appearance of the place. Very friendly, cool staff. Taps and showers produced hot water quickly and the toilets were always clean.

94.7%
28 reviews Book Now 
3

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Hostel
30a Dublin Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH36NN

26 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 94% Safety - 95%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
25 August 2015

central, safe, warm, no street noise, free WiFi, safe for valuables, late check-out, bag drop, easy-going, house-shoe-policy, reception hours fine, clear instructions how to get there, flexible in either paying £/€.

Jungki Hong
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Jungki would recommend this property 26 April 2015

Clean and good location and I like fresh bread in the morning everything was perfect.

94.1%
1994 reviews Book Now 
4

Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel
15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

1920 out of 1994 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castle Rock Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 96% Facilities - 91% Safety - 96%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 89%
Gabriella D'Amico
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Gabriella would recommend this property 17 August 2015

Staff, building, location, atmosphere, facilities, breakfast, free coffee and milk, everything is great in this hostel! I definitely recommend it as one of the best hostel you could stay at! And I have been at many..

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 August 2015

Castle Rock was an excellent hostel, the location is great especially if you are visiting for the fringe festival. There is a large kitchen with a number of fridges so there is plenty of room for your food. The rooms are all very well kept and the beds are clean and comfortable, I was staying in a 16 bed dorm however the rooms are set up to still allow you some privacy which was great. The showers and bathrooms are regularly cleaned and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Castle Rock is definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

94.1%
904 reviews Book Now 
5

Westend Hotel

Hostel
35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

808 out of 904 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Westend Hotel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 17 August 2015

Old building with all new facilities it has just been refurbished and everything is clean and new

Dane Kirk
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Dane would recommend this property 02 July 2015

This place is awesome. I stayed in a 18 person room, the place is so clean and the staff are amazing. I

93.3%
3 reviews Book Now 
6

Code Hostel

Hostel
50 Rose St North Lane, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 2NP

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Code Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 01 June 2015

Pod beds with curtains made it easy to sleep for a full night which is usually made hard in Scotland during the summer due to the extended hours in which the sun is up for.

Cara Isaacs
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Cara would recommend this property 21 January 2015

Great location, all the facilities feel very new and well thought through. Comfortable beds with reading light and power point, modern clean bathroom, great common room and kitchen. It feels like you are in a modern apartment as opposed to a hostel. Breakfast was simple but very good to be included in the price.

91.6%
15 reviews Book Now 
7

Malone's Old Town Hostel

Hostel
14 Forrest Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2QN

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Malone's Old Town Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 93% Facilities - 92% Safety - 86%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
SEONGSIK HWANG
Alone
City break
88.6%
SEONGSIK would recommend this property 30 June 2015

Not bad, in city center. Security is also not bad. But felt a little uncomfortable and no living room for guest.

Claire Malone
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Claire would recommend this property 20 June 2015

Great location and half price food in the bar is a winning combination. The bar had a great atmosphere.

91.4%
3 reviews Book Now 
8

City Centre Hostel

Hostel
28 Gilmore Place, Midlothian, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9NQ

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Centre Hostel

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 93%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 100%
Charlotte Bonhoure
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Charlotte would recommend this property 19 August 2015

The best thing about this hostel was the atmosphere which was very relaxed and friendly, mostly due to the staff Elliot and Alan who made us feel very welcome. There is a great space in the centre of the hostel perfect for hanging out and meeting fellow travelers and the rooms were very comfortable.

Louraine Oanes
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Louraine would recommend this property 24 July 2015

The property is nice, clean and quiet at a very cheap price. the staffs Alan and Elliot were very warm and has accommodated us very well. they were both very friendly and made our stay in the hostel pleasant. I would definitely recommend the hostel to anyone and is looking forward to booking with them again when I'm back to visit Edinburgh.

91.1%
16 reviews Book Now 
9

Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Apartment
5 Dalry Gait, Edinburgh, Scotland EH11 2AU

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 88% Facilities - 95% Safety - 93%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 90%
Bianca Panlook
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Bianca would recommend this property 21 January 2015

Gorgeous, private and clean apartments walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh, for us it was cheaper than a Hostel and Neil was so helpful before and after the stay

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Spacious enough for 6 of us to stay very comfortably, clean, full compliment of kitchen equipment etc. everything you could need for the weekend. very happy.

90.6%
385 reviews Book Now 
10

Royal Mile Backpackers

Hostel
105 High Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

354 out of 385 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Royal Mile Backpackers

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 93% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 92%
Elenya Daley
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
100.0%
Elenya would recommend this property 25 August 2015

The location on the Royal Mile was perfect for the Fringe Festival. The hostel was clean and very cozy and comfortable. I was really happy with the friendly staff, who were always there to help and chat to.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2015

The staff was really friendly and helpful, the bed were comfortable, and everything was clean. The location was perfect for us, as we were here only 2 days.

Edinburgh

64 Hostels from 12.36 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Edinburgh hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Edinburgh. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Edinburgh

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Edinburgh. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter