HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Summer Hostels - Beaverbank

Hostel | 17 Beaverbank Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH7 4FB

79.1% Overall Rating

39 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2013)

"Other than that the room was comfortable enough if not for the ear-splitting bathroom fan - annoying but not the end of the world."

Read all Summer Hostels - Beaverbank reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.06
  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Newly refurbished flat city center
48.69 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Caravel Guest House
40.57 USD

Guesthouse 90.0% 4 reviews
ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)
12.98 USD

Hostel 95.1% 22 reviews
Unite 2- McDonald Road
48.69 USD

Apartment 79.3% 37 reviews
Ballantrae Hotel
51.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 11 reviews
City Stay Edinburgh
12.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Regent House Hotel
34.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 38 reviews
Victoria Park House Hotel
77.09 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

39 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Summer Hostels - Beaverbank'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really good, and value for money is excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Drbohlavova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, modern and cozy hostel

Disliked: Jana left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013

Liked: Other than that the room was comfortable enough if not for the ear-splitting bathroom fan - annoying but not the end of the world.

Disliked: Main complaint was cleanliness - the place was filthy - both the room and the shared kitchen. 'Reception' was a trestle table in the corridor - and when we arrived on the first day at 8am to the "24 hour reception" we waited for 45 mins before anyone appeared and we could drop our bags and go and find some breakfast - tiring after 8 hours on the London-Edinburgh Sleeper train... All in all - my recommendation to others would be spend a few extra quid and go somewhere that gets the basics right (i.e. its clean and there is some level of service). You expect a student hall of residence to be a bit sketchy but this wasn't worth the saving.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MERCEDES HERNANDEZ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 MERCEDES would recommend this property

Liked: El baño privado en la habitación, la limpieza y la relación calidad-precio.

Disliked: Las habitaciones tienen una única cama doble, no hay opción de literas o camas individuales.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like cleanliness

Disliked: One bed only in each room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: Facilities are great value for the money. Expect what you would from student housing in UK.

Disliked: Did not like the way my credit card was used to pay for the hostel. The lady typed down the number and didn't have a credit card reader. Also the location is ok but note that you will have to walk 25 min to downtown.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie Mayrova

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2013 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: the price and comfort, the bathroom inside and it was quied, I really can not say anything bad

Disliked: Lucie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sorcha Turner

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 Sorcha would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious clean room with lovely shower.

Disliked: When we paid the girl had no change! Balance was 58.45 and we gave sixty pounds. A small thing but kind of unprofessional.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola mcgowan

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 July 2013 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice,clean and very homely

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013

Liked: Location was adequate

Disliked: Extremeley long wait to check-in Staff were not knowledgeable and did not seem to be trained Staff were unhelpful and unfriendly Room was too hot Fan in bathroom stayed on for far too long (keeping us from sleeping) Water in kitchen tasted strange Kitchen utensils were not available No WiFi Parking could not be bought on arrival (our car had to be parked a fifteen minute walk away) Staff did not know city

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet I paid not much was good value for money. So facilities were basic as expected. You have secure parking for 5 pounds. All facilities ok and kitchen area for making dinner.

Disliked: Was clean but could do with an extra bit more. Maybe that's just me being fussy!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy, cheap and close to town.

Disliked: Room is quite small but ok as we only stayed one night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you want a good hostel on a budget, this is great. Private rooms, nice showers, good kitchen.

Disliked: a few kitchen items missing, but staff replaced them when asked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Lobsey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 June 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely time in Edinburgh. The building was just what we were looking for our group - a no frills private flat for our stay in the city. It was very clean, centrally located, and comfortably furnished. It was everything we needed and nothing we didn't need.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Teunissen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good and safe place. Tesco just around the corner. The shuttle bus to the city during fringe was very helpful.

Disliked: quite small rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flora Jenner

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 August 2012 Flora would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money Great mini bus service Very clean nice new rooms

Disliked: No kettle or toaster NO Wi-fi in the rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Noone

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

31 August 2012 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and kitchens were modern and well kept.

Disliked: Having arrived we had to pay an extra ten pounds for the use of sheets. It was a hidden cost that should have been stated during booking.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Zorzi

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The festival shuttle was very convenient and the drivers were always nice. The rooms were clean and the facilities met our expectations.

Disliked: No linens and no towels - we knew about this in advance, though, so it wasn't too much of a bother.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

28 August 2012

Liked: The accommodation was clean and safe and secure.

Disliked: Upon arrival I was informed it would cost £15 extra for bedding - totally excessive and not told me to me beforehand. It is a 25min walk from the city centre - not advertised on the site. The 'free shuttle to and from the city centre' amounted to an 8 seater van that left on the hour, every hour - I tried taking this 3 times and all three times it was completely full, with people disappointed and left on the side of the road - when we asked if they could make a second trip (10min drive) into the city centre they refused and insisted they would make only one trip an hour. No customer service.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There's a free bus each hour to the fringe. Also, a kitchen and apparently common room but we didn't use either.

Disliked: Mattress a bit sprung, but given the price and our last minute booking during the festival this was a good place to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Wright

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 August 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very new and clean. The kitchen and common room facilities were good. The hourly free minibus into town was very handy and it was only a 20 min walk back from town. The hostel was very good value for money considering we had a private double room with en suite. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We hardly saw anyone else during our stay so it's not the best if you're travelling alone and looking to socialise. My friend and I didn't realise the room would have a double bed but when we asked at reception they brought us an extra mattress free of charge. We had already seen that you have to pay 15 GBP extra for sheets and towels so we had brought our own. The kitchen could do with a kettle!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were a decent size and very clean. Good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Bedding and towels are not included in the price.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and it was quiet. The kitchen is very nice, everything is brand new.

Disliked: the staff, and the fact that they charge you for everything!! linen, internet, towels, late check in, and the fire alarm was activated several times during my stay. It´s very expensive in relation to the services it offers.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jakob Schelz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012

Liked: Its quite clean

Disliked: Pay for everything- dubious "night fee", lenon costs extra, no real wifi