HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

80.3% Overall Rating

1641 out of 1733 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

ESTEVAO CORREIA BATISTA ROSA thinks…

"Clse to the royal mile, comfy beds, good food at the bar downstairs and nice atmosphere."

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
35.66 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
23.22 USD

Hostel 88.7% 1483 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
14.93 USD

Hostel 75.2% 257 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
33.43 USD

Hostel 90.3% 373 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
103.62 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
74.63 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
33.17 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

1641 out of 1733 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 1236 of 1373 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 August 2014

Liked: Great location for the Fringe festival.

Disliked: Noisy music every night, sometimes until 2am coming from the hostel bar, hard to sleep even with windows closed and earplugs in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ESTEVAO CORREIA BATISTA ROSA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 ESTEVAO would recommend this property

Liked: Clse to the royal mile, comfy beds, good food at the bar downstairs and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Shower was smelly and not very comfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yi Ting Huang

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Yi Ting would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good. The room has lockers. It's clean

Disliked: The self kitchen is open from 8am to 11pm. But it's not a big problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Florian Ruosch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Almost a hotel :)

Disliked: Nothing specific

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KELLY TURNER

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 August 2014 KELLY would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable , great value for money, great location

Disliked: KELLY left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staffs. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: WiFi did not work at all... signal is so bad that it wouldn't even connect!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location amd bar as a meeting point.

Disliked: some staff were very off hand and struggled to raise a smile at any time.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: When I had a problem in the middle of the night, the night staff were very helpful, kind and understanding. It was sorted out immediately.

Disliked: I am a woman and was traveling alone. I booked into a mixed dorm with some hesitation as when I am traveling alone, I prefer to book into an all-female room. But it was a Saturday and I wasn't sure if I would be able to find a bed in an all feamle dorm. When I checked in I expressed my concerns about the mixed dorm, the staff looked up my room and told me I would be sharing with 5 females and 1 male, I was reassured. Later on however, I relaised i was the only woman. THere was one other lone male traveler and five blokes on a stag party. In the middle of the night, i was woken up by one of the stag party group rwho hadeturned alone to the dorm and started paying music, I was uncomfortable, but didn't want to get into an argument with the guy. He was very drunk and a tad agressive. I went to the reception and complained and they quickly moved me to another room. The staff handled the situation well, however I feel it was irresponsible to check a lone female traveler into the same drom as a stag party group.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bob ott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 bob would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good pub, clean and tidy

Disliked: Nothing bad to say

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, good value and clean

Disliked: Can be noisy

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: Below average. Not very good but not very bad.

Disliked: clean on bath room and shower room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014

Liked: The location was great and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: the showers and bathrooms were gross, the elevator was out of order so I had to climb the stairs with my bags. The wifi was out as well. The room smelled pretty awful and was so hot we were forced to keep the window (with no screen) open all night so it was very loud. It was also very noisy and you could hear doors slamming all night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central. the breakfast was cheap and very good. The staff were very helpful. There were 2 showers and 2 toilets in the 8 bed dorm I was in, so no queues!

Disliked: The room smelt dusty - and there was quite a lot of dust under the bunks. Aprt from that - the room was very clean

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014

Liked: Good location to everything

Disliked: Our room was not very clean. Felt like sleeping in a rat maze

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jo Hall

Alone

City break

12 February 2014 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Bar very noisy at night in your room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central and cool

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Williams

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: communal bar, clean toilet/bathroom, nice modern building. friendly staff/guests

Disliked: wifi was quite poor. bed was uncomfy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianna Ford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Brianna would recommend this property

Liked: Location couldn't be better. it's on the royal mile, surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. it's really clean. tons of bathrooms, AND there are toilets and showers in the room. Cabinets for your things in the room, but they don't lock, which was fine for us because there was only one other couple in the room. Restaurant downstairs is good. I don't remember them going out of there way to help us, but no one was rude, either. price is good for the quality of the hostel.

Disliked: Not a ton of character. If you are looking for a place to meet other travelllers there isn't really a space for that here. the bar is very large and spaced out and it was more "group" than smaller hostel bars where you feel comfortable striking up conversation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So clean, stuff for self-catering is perfect, and well-organized!! excellent location and not noisy. room has 2 shower booths and toilets and 2 more basins. the room i stayed for 12 but spacious.

Disliked: the floor made noises when people were wallking. in the early morining, it was so irritated.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan José Lunghi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 January 2014 Juan José would recommend this property

Liked: Locación was good. Toilet are individuals There es a bar to drink something when you want Very clean

Disliked: Breakfast not included, costa 5 pounds, like any bar. Kitchen. The kitchen área es shared with the hostel's bar, open to anyone from street, and you are not allowed to drink nothing with alcohol in the area. Internet. Too slow in the rooms. You have to pay if you want a faster connection.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Neat and tidy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Boyle

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast buffet for £4.95 has great bacon (everybody loves bacon!) and is convenient Good location- right off the royal mile (far enough to be quiet) 2 toilets and 2 bathrooms in an 8 bed doorm which was great- no queues for public showers

Disliked: Only minor first-world problems- Wifi only works in the bar for 20 mins then kicks you off- no chance of it working in your room Our room card stopped working an hour before we were due to check out There were power points over each of the bunks except ours, which made charging our devices and phones a bit of a nightmare because it felt like an intrusion into other people's personal space

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place in a great location

Disliked: Very good place and cheap. students go there to go to the party and could be a little noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & central

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.