We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

89.1% Overall Rating

1657 out of 1749 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2015)

RICHARD GRANT thinks…

"the staff are excellent, there is never any hassle just a warm friendly atmosphere. love meeting new people which this hostel offers in abundance. is always clean and warm."

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department. Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
32.96 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
15.33 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1507 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
12.26 USD

Hostel 69.1% 265 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
18.88 USD

Hostel 90.7% 380 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
68.98 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
17.89 USD

Apartment 88.6% 5 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.33 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
52.12 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

1657 out of 1749 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 1250 of 1390 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Pigatto

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathroom not so good smelling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICHARD GRANT

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 RICHARD would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are excellent, there is never any hassle just a warm friendly atmosphere. love meeting new people which this hostel offers in abundance. is always clean and warm.

Disliked: nothng all is excellent

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kellie Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2015 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, cheap drinks at bar downstairs. Great location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Check out was 10am. It could have been 11am at least. Breakfast was a bit confusing and a let down. We were late though so maybe in peak times it would be better. We were also super hung over haha.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

felicity curwen-reed

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2015 felicity would recommend this property

Liked: It was really near the city centre and easily accessible. The breakfasts were yummy and good value for money.

Disliked: The wifi was really slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Liam Bednarski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Good lobby and clean and crisp dining and chill out area

Disliked: Wifi was not as strong as I would have liked in the rooms themselves

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

EDUARDO HORACIO ARISMENDI

Alone

Partying / nightlife

04 September 2014 EDUARDO HORACIO would recommend this property

Liked: NEAR THE ROYAL MILE...!!

Disliked: THE PUB DOWNSTAIRS.....VERY CORWDED PLACE... NO PLACE TO REST, TO LOUNGE...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Valentina De Palo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi. Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben servita. Staff cordiale e disponibile 24h/24h

Disliked: La connessione wi-fi era a scadenza, ma comunque presente non come in altri ostelli inglesi.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Padraic Cooney

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 August 2014 Padraic would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, good location

Disliked: Fire alarm went off 4 mornings in a row, staff told us check out was 11 then tried to bill us when they said it was actually at 10

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, clean and light...in contrast to some dingier hostels in edinburgh. Great and reasonable restaurant menu with a bar that was lively but friendly and not rowdy. Staff lovely.

Disliked: Guest kitchen seemed small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

subhash keshri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 subhash would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel situated on main city centre. very good for traveller to exploring the city. Neat and clean with good facility of wifi.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICHARD SILVESTER

Alone

City break

26 August 2014 RICHARD would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just off the Royal Mile, lockers in rooms, good breakfast, showers and toliets in room.

Disliked: RICHARD left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just off the royal mile. Everything seemed clean, especially compared to other hostels I've been in. It was nice to have en suit showers and toilets. Shower gel was provided with a dispenser in the showers which was handy. Breakfast was good - the usual deal for a cooked breakfast - up to 6 items , plus unlimited toast. Free wifi is provided throughout the hostel.

Disliked: It had a slightly more 'hotel' rather than hostel feel to it, it seemed to be missing some of the atmosphere I often expect with a hostel. It would've been useful for more power sockets in the dorms. I had booked a 6 bed dorm but was put in an 8 bed, with free breakfast provided as compensation. The free breakfast was good but I would be wary about booking here again in case I got placed in a bigger form than expected. The rooms aren't carpeted so it can be difficult to move around quietly if you come back later at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Kearney

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

25 August 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location was perfect and close to the places we needed to be near the pubs 👍 the room was perfect for our group of 10. The bar had a lot of character. Great place 10/10

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nathan Hudson

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

23 August 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Central, clean, popular, many facilities.

Disliked: I bumped into a gorgeous girl late Mon night in the lift and barely chatted her up, what an idiot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wendy Vassallo

Alone

Business / conference
City break

21 August 2014 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff locker in room lifts spacious room wifi very central! kitchen n laundry facilities! Bar serving food!

Disliked: Noisy in the evening if you happen to hv a room overlooking the bar.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 August 2014

Liked: Great location for the Fringe festival.

Disliked: Noisy music every night, sometimes until 2am coming from the hostel bar, hard to sleep even with windows closed and earplugs in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ESTEVAO CORREIA BATISTA ROSA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 ESTEVAO would recommend this property

Liked: Clse to the royal mile, comfy beds, good food at the bar downstairs and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Shower was smelly and not very comfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yi Ting Huang

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Yi Ting would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good. The room has lockers. It's clean

Disliked: The self kitchen is open from 8am to 11pm. But it's not a big problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Florian Ruosch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Almost a hotel :)

Disliked: Nothing specific

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KELLY TURNER

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 August 2014 KELLY would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable , great value for money, great location

Disliked: KELLY left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staffs. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: WiFi did not work at all... signal is so bad that it wouldn't even connect!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location amd bar as a meeting point.

Disliked: some staff were very off hand and struggled to raise a smile at any time.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: When I had a problem in the middle of the night, the night staff were very helpful, kind and understanding. It was sorted out immediately.

Disliked: I am a woman and was traveling alone. I booked into a mixed dorm with some hesitation as when I am traveling alone, I prefer to book into an all-female room. But it was a Saturday and I wasn't sure if I would be able to find a bed in an all feamle dorm. When I checked in I expressed my concerns about the mixed dorm, the staff looked up my room and told me I would be sharing with 5 females and 1 male, I was reassured. Later on however, I relaised i was the only woman. THere was one other lone male traveler and five blokes on a stag party. In the middle of the night, i was woken up by one of the stag party group rwho hadeturned alone to the dorm and started paying music, I was uncomfortable, but didn't want to get into an argument with the guy. He was very drunk and a tad agressive. I went to the reception and complained and they quickly moved me to another room. The staff handled the situation well, however I feel it was irresponsible to check a lone female traveler into the same drom as a stag party group.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bob ott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 bob would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good pub, clean and tidy

Disliked: Nothing bad to say

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, good value and clean

Disliked: Can be noisy