HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Safestay Edinburgh Edinburgh Hostel

50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 93%

Staff 89%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.25USD

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.
Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Safestay has a maximum stay policy of 1 month. You are welcome to come back to Safestay, but with a minimum 1 months rest period. Or why don’t you take advantage and visit one of our other locations in London, York or Edinburgh.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 93%

Staff 89%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The staff were all awesome. So friendly and helpful the food at the bar downstairs was great too. Nice to have a decent meal in a cool atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: It's clean, quiet. Breakfast area is great!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Atmosphere and staff

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: This hostel was clean and had a good atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful and although I only stayed for 1 night, it was a great.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: We enjoyed the common area with plenty of seating to offer, wifi, and a fully-stocked kitchen (including an oven!). It was a very clean hostel and the staff was helpful and accomodating. They provided towels which was greatly appreciated.

Disliked: It would have been helpful to have a communal computer as we only had our smartphones on us. It wasn't an ideal place to meet fellow backpackers as the common area doubles as a bar and since it is so big, it is quite easy to not make contact with others. But my friend and I were quite pleased with the hostel on the whole!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spotless well equipped,comfortable ,Good location,friendly Staff,Nice bathroom,so it's really Nice.Compare to orher Hostel I have stayed in City Smart Hostel is the best.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is excellent.Luggage storage.Individual lamps in bed.Quiet at night.

Disliked: Wifi is awful.You have to buy your own padlock for lockers.Broken entrance door.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location and facilities

Disliked: The breakfast was OK but not great

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Lots of windows and ventilation in the room and surrounding corridors.Nice central location but not very noisy.

Disliked: There were no sinks in the toilets off the rooms. This meant you had to run water /brush your teeth in the room whiles others were sleeping. There was only 1 sink (as far as I could see) for 3 bathrooms/8 people which was in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location in City Centre

Disliked: It's too warm in rooms

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability