We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

85.1% Overall Rating

1651 out of 1743 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi. Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben…"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
34.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1497 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 70.6% 263 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
19.99 USD

Hostel 89.4% 377 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.03 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
18.94 USD

Apartment 90.0% 4 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
55.18 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1651 out of 1743 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1246 of 1385 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well located and clean. The members of the staff were really friendly.

Disliked: I liked evrything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Finnerty

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 February 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Its location was perfect

Disliked: Check out time is a little early

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nathan Hudson

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 February 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean

Disliked: Noise of residents, lousy policing by staff, me and other guests had to have a go at a load of French arseholes shouting and bawling all night. Staff must have heard but did nothing. Pity.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, nice hostel-bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really clean and warm, lovely staff who helped me with advice when I was looking for a flat to move into. I would recommend this hostel to everyone, it is excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathalie Lüdicke

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: Cool bar, nice, clean rooms with showers.

Disliked: Nothing :-)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean

Disliked: no free wifi, even you pay for it the reception is not so great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Taylor

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location! I could walk everywhere and the is a taxi station on the main road which is a 30second walk away. Would definitely stay there again if I was wanting a hostel.

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in room was broken. But overall it felt safe so i didnt really worry about the broken locker.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excelent and very central. It was clean and pleasant.

Disliked: The floor was squeeky, and so woke others up when you were trying to move around silently. No girl only rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location with good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Browne

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

04 February 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, Great rooms and facilities! Went with a group of 28 people and we were well accommodating for. Would well recommend!

Disliked: Lovely bar but the evening bar staff refused to serve to all 28 people in the group the first night, we had a lively group in fairness but we were creating a good atmosphere which the bar was lacking and had spent money there all day! Could do with livening up particular bar staff!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

man hei NG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2012 man hei would recommend this property

Liked: clean and tidy, good location

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gissela Vorlei Lima Sales

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Gissela Vorlei Lima would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the place. It's well located, clean and everything you need you can have there. There is a pub in the low ground floor. It was perfect because we could have our dinner there as well. I strongly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The only thing I did not like was the bed. It was not as comfortable as I thought it should be.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, well set out and rooms were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HANG CHEN

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 HANG would recommend this property

Liked: facilities

Disliked: HANG left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerijus Seremeta

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 January 2012 Valerijus would recommend this property

Liked: It is perfect value for the best price. I was not expected such good service for cheap price!

Disliked: I like everything!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location, the bar was nice it had a good atmosphere

Disliked: We were put into a four bedded room when we had booked a triple private room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff, cleanliness.

Disliked: floor in my room was creaky

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cleanliness, towels for free.

Disliked: floor in my room was creaky.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff and only wifi in the bar (should be everywhere)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Tulloch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how close the hostel was to everything. The bar was a really nice place to hang out and served a really nice breakfast!

Disliked: The reception staff were a little cold and disinterested at times

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serafin Patiño

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Serafin would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and people, one safety and light by each bed. All the details are perfect Awesome location !

Disliked: Pay for wifi, no shoower gel for the first two day

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bart Ripperda

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2012 Bart would recommend this property

Liked: The location!! The bar (/common room) as well, the guest kitchen, there's a luggage room, the beds were okay, actually everything was good!

Disliked: Nothing! It wasn't noisy at all when we where there, but I can imagine in the summer it could be (when the terrace is open and people are having drinks there).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Hardy

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 January 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Funky vibe and awesome bar staff, room was clean and very cosy. Breakfast is EPIC by hostel standards... 2 min walk to the best folk bars in town and 24 hour reception... Will definitely go back if I'm 'tup north again.

Disliked: expensive internet access