HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Safestay Edinburgh Edinburgh Hostel

50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.
Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Safestay has a maximum stay policy of 1 month. You are welcome to come back to Safestay, but with a minimum 1 months rest period. Or why don’t you take advantage and visit one of our other locations in London, York or Edinburgh.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

Showing 71-80 of 366 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The bedrooms were clean. The bathrooms were clean. There were enough bathrooms. It is located conveniently to a busy part of town. and to transportation.

Disliked: The luggage room did not seem very secure to me. They gave a key to anyone who said they were a guest without verifying they were a guest. People were constantly opening the door and everything was thrown in there haphazardly sometimes blocking the door.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms are clean and spacious, there are multiple lifts, the restaurant/bar downstairs is cheap and quite good, the location is wonderful, in short I want to live there full time

Disliked: The main elevator is possessed and speaks in tongues between floors... could be a feature?

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean.The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible.Other than that, i really recommend.

Disliked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean.The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible.Other than that, i really recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything wasn't just good it was REALLY good. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Brilliant location and VERY helpful and courteous staff.

Disliked: Street entrance could have been a little more inviting.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location is great.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean convenient

Disliked: really really noisy & stuffyNot recommendable if you are finding a place for a good night rest

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: City center location.

Disliked: Our room was changed from 3 bed to 4 bed. Therefore, instead of having one double and one single bed we've got four single beds. Our room was just up the bar so we could hear music as well as people in the bar.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location

Disliked: carpet wasn`t vacuumed, bathroom was`t cleaned properly before we moved in

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in a 4 person room. We had our own toilet and shower which was nice. I also liked having cabinet space and a desk in the room. Linens seemed to be clean. Nice kitchen facilities available.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the wifi never worked during our entire stay. Though they advertise free wifi in the commons area, none of the four people I stayed with were ever able to successfully access it and the hostel staff were of no help. However, the hostel conveniently had their own computers that charged a fee for internet.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very clean well kept

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability