HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

84.6% Overall Rating

1627 out of 1715 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

"Very central. the breakfast was cheap and very good. The staff were very helpful. There were 2 showers and 2 toilets in the 8 bed dorm I was in, so no queues!"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro
36.04 USD

Hostel 85.0% 227 reviews
High Street Hostel
18.44 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1445 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
15.09 USD

Hostel 76.7% 250 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
20.65 USD

Hostel 89.3% 366 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
66.22 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
75.44 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
33.53 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.76 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

1627 out of 1715 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 1225 of 1358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 48 | 49   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. perfect location - especially for Old Edinburgh. The staff were friendly, the bar is awesome and the rooms wre clear. Loved this place, it definitely sets the bar for other hostels.

Disliked: It was a little loud... but I like that kind of thing. My room was near the bar so I could hear a lot of drunken antics but I didn't mind at all as I was there to have a good time too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, clean rooms, staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, just off the royal mile. The bed was comfortable. The showers were great. The bar was really good, reasonably priced food and drinks and it had a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Absolutely no character. Was basically just a bed. Which is fine, but as a lone traveller, it would of been nice to have an area to sit and talk to people that wasn't the bar. The floors squeaked very badly. Also there was no free wifi unless in the bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Tolockaite

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2012 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: I like the clean room and showers. I also enjoyed quite nights, although they do have a bar near the reception.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well located and clean. The members of the staff were really friendly.

Disliked: I liked evrything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Finnerty

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 February 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Its location was perfect

Disliked: Check out time is a little early

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nathan Hudson

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 February 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean

Disliked: Noise of residents, lousy policing by staff, me and other guests had to have a go at a load of French arseholes shouting and bawling all night. Staff must have heard but did nothing. Pity.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, nice hostel-bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really clean and warm, lovely staff who helped me with advice when I was looking for a flat to move into. I would recommend this hostel to everyone, it is excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathalie Lüdicke

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: Cool bar, nice, clean rooms with showers.

Disliked: Nothing :-)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean

Disliked: no free wifi, even you pay for it the reception is not so great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Taylor

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location! I could walk everywhere and the is a taxi station on the main road which is a 30second walk away. Would definitely stay there again if I was wanting a hostel.

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in room was broken. But overall it felt safe so i didnt really worry about the broken locker.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excelent and very central. It was clean and pleasant.

Disliked: The floor was squeeky, and so woke others up when you were trying to move around silently. No girl only rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location with good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Browne

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

04 February 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, Great rooms and facilities! Went with a group of 28 people and we were well accommodating for. Would well recommend!

Disliked: Lovely bar but the evening bar staff refused to serve to all 28 people in the group the first night, we had a lively group in fairness but we were creating a good atmosphere which the bar was lacking and had spent money there all day! Could do with livening up particular bar staff!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

man hei NG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2012 man hei would recommend this property

Liked: clean and tidy, good location

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gissela Vorlei Lima Sales

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Gissela Vorlei Lima would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the place. It's well located, clean and everything you need you can have there. There is a pub in the low ground floor. It was perfect because we could have our dinner there as well. I strongly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The only thing I did not like was the bed. It was not as comfortable as I thought it should be.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, well set out and rooms were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HANG CHEN

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 HANG would recommend this property

Liked: facilities

Disliked: HANG left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerijus Seremeta

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 January 2012 Valerijus would recommend this property

Liked: It is perfect value for the best price. I was not expected such good service for cheap price!

Disliked: I like everything!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location, the bar was nice it had a good atmosphere

Disliked: We were put into a four bedded room when we had booked a triple private room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff, cleanliness.

Disliked: floor in my room was creaky

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cleanliness, towels for free.

Disliked: floor in my room was creaky.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff and only wifi in the bar (should be everywhere)