HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

79.9% Overall Rating

1634 out of 1724 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

"When I had a problem in the middle of the night, the night staff were very helpful, kind and understanding. It was sorted out immediately."

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
47.75 USD

Hostel 85.0% 227 reviews
High Street Hostel
18.76 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1474 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
15.35 USD

Hostel 77.7% 256 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
24.83 USD

Hostel 90.7% 372 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
88.64 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
76.74 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
27.29 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
17.05 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

1634 out of 1724 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 1230 of 1366 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Murphy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Everythinng, central location, friendly staff, facilities and cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RITU RAJ ARYA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 RITU RAJ would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedroom with ensuite was spacious and clean. Location very central and quiet. Staff friendly and competent. Breakfast included in price was a bonus. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Hammond

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

05 March 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Location,

Disliked: Too hot

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the carpet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. perfect location - especially for Old Edinburgh. The staff were friendly, the bar is awesome and the rooms wre clear. Loved this place, it definitely sets the bar for other hostels.

Disliked: It was a little loud... but I like that kind of thing. My room was near the bar so I could hear a lot of drunken antics but I didn't mind at all as I was there to have a good time too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, clean rooms, staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, just off the royal mile. The bed was comfortable. The showers were great. The bar was really good, reasonably priced food and drinks and it had a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Absolutely no character. Was basically just a bed. Which is fine, but as a lone traveller, it would of been nice to have an area to sit and talk to people that wasn't the bar. The floors squeaked very badly. Also there was no free wifi unless in the bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Tolockaite

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2012 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: I like the clean room and showers. I also enjoyed quite nights, although they do have a bar near the reception.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well located and clean. The members of the staff were really friendly.

Disliked: I liked evrything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Finnerty

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 February 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Its location was perfect

Disliked: Check out time is a little early

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nathan Hudson

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 February 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean

Disliked: Noise of residents, lousy policing by staff, me and other guests had to have a go at a load of French arseholes shouting and bawling all night. Staff must have heard but did nothing. Pity.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, nice hostel-bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really clean and warm, lovely staff who helped me with advice when I was looking for a flat to move into. I would recommend this hostel to everyone, it is excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathalie Lüdicke

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: Cool bar, nice, clean rooms with showers.

Disliked: Nothing :-)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean

Disliked: no free wifi, even you pay for it the reception is not so great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Taylor

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location! I could walk everywhere and the is a taxi station on the main road which is a 30second walk away. Would definitely stay there again if I was wanting a hostel.

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in room was broken. But overall it felt safe so i didnt really worry about the broken locker.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excelent and very central. It was clean and pleasant.

Disliked: The floor was squeeky, and so woke others up when you were trying to move around silently. No girl only rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location with good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Browne

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

04 February 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, Great rooms and facilities! Went with a group of 28 people and we were well accommodating for. Would well recommend!

Disliked: Lovely bar but the evening bar staff refused to serve to all 28 people in the group the first night, we had a lively group in fairness but we were creating a good atmosphere which the bar was lacking and had spent money there all day! Could do with livening up particular bar staff!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

man hei NG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2012 man hei would recommend this property

Liked: clean and tidy, good location

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gissela Vorlei Lima Sales

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Gissela Vorlei Lima would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the place. It's well located, clean and everything you need you can have there. There is a pub in the low ground floor. It was perfect because we could have our dinner there as well. I strongly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The only thing I did not like was the bed. It was not as comfortable as I thought it should be.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, well set out and rooms were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HANG CHEN

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 HANG would recommend this property

Liked: facilities

Disliked: HANG left no negative feedback.