HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Safestay Edinburgh Edinburgh Hostel

50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 93%

Staff 89%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.25USD

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.
Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Safestay has a maximum stay policy of 1 month. You are welcome to come back to Safestay, but with a minimum 1 months rest period. Or why don’t you take advantage and visit one of our other locations in London, York or Edinburgh.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 93%

Staff 89%

Value 83%

Showing 61-52 of 52 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - Perfect location. Not a far walk from Waverley station, and on a side street right in the centre of the Royal Mile. - Clean rooms with a washroom and shower room for each dorm (6 bed I stayed in anyway) - Great bar! Beer and food were great and reasonably priced for Edinburgh

Disliked: - They say you get 'slow' wifi in the rooms and you can upgrade and pay for 'fast' wifi. I got zero wifi in the room, which was annoying.- There was a huge line out of the building just to check in! Not impressed after a day of travelling that I had to wait 45 minutes outside with my backpack waiting to get into my room. 2 people working need to work faster or hire someone else to work at the desk. The line should NEVER be that long... - Really huge place, anyone can walk in an out. As there is an obvious second entrance from the bar to the hostel, non-hostel stayers could easily access all floors and luggage room

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the Fringe events that were going on, and the staff was definitely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that you couldn't take a shower without getting the toilet seat wet. A curtain between the two at the very least would be nice. Also, I know that it was Fringe and probably the most expensive time to go, but I felt like I was paying far too much for what I was actually getting.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This property had a great feel to it. The facilities that were there were very beneficial for backpackers - especially during the Edinburgh Festival. The staff were extremely helpful and the food and drink were cheap.

Disliked: The room that we stayed in was extremely hot. To a point where it was unbearable at times.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean , helpfull and friendly staff, great location very good food at a great price.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Best point: excellent location.

Disliked: Slow Internet and only in the bar

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The bedrooms were clean. The bathrooms were clean. There were enough bathrooms. It is located conveniently to a busy part of town. and to transportation.

Disliked: The luggage room did not seem very secure to me. They gave a key to anyone who said they were a guest without verifying they were a guest. People were constantly opening the door and everything was thrown in there haphazardly sometimes blocking the door.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms are clean and spacious, there are multiple lifts, the restaurant/bar downstairs is cheap and quite good, the location is wonderful, in short I want to live there full time

Disliked: The main elevator is possessed and speaks in tongues between floors... could be a feature?

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean.The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible.Other than that, i really recommend.

Disliked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean.The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible.Other than that, i really recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything wasn't just good it was REALLY good. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Brilliant location and VERY helpful and courteous staff.

Disliked: Street entrance could have been a little more inviting.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability