We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1744 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi. Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben…"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department. Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
34.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1499 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 70.6% 263 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
19.99 USD

Hostel 89.4% 377 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.03 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
21.65 USD

Apartment 90.0% 4 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
55.18 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1744 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 1247 of 1386 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and value for money

Disliked: the noisy floorboard in dorms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was unbelievelible helpful and nice, which totally made up for noise and lift not working

Disliked: lift not working

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was near to all shops/pubs that we needed, great location. The room was a good size for two however we booked for two as we're a couple but the room was bunkbeds.

Disliked: Our room was also right next to an outdoor area where other people were sitting next to our window and could see us. It was also very noisy at night but this was not the hostel itself's fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelley Malloy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Kelley would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in. The location was perfect right of the royal mile. It was incredibly clean and well kept (both the rooms and social areas). The lounge/bar was very nice with loads of very comfortable chairs and couches and was perfect for hanging out while we waited to check in. More than worth the cost!

Disliked: The cabinets they provide in the room don't come with locks, so you can either bring your own or buy one there. We went without though and it wasnt a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic and the 12 bedroom facilities were good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Pickton

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

28 April 2012 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: modern, clean and good value.

Disliked: nothign to dislike, really.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: Stayed in private room - no shower curtain in bathroom, whole bathroom and floor gets wet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Clean and tidy rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gencer Tacali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2012 Gencer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of hostel is really good.. It's close to everywhere.. I booked for 8 beds room but they gave me 4 beds room without extra payment..Also there was a free DJ party / special event - which they do this kind of things for their guests frequently - lot's of young people got fun.. Hostel is clean and newly decorated and totally safe..Everyone has own card to access own floor and room door. Also you can hire safe box ( it vaires depends on size and time, but the medium size - quite enough - for 24 hrs costs 3.5£) but you can use your locker on your room with a small lock.. it's secure..

Disliked: Internet access on internet cafe is really expensive.. 1£ for 20 mins / 3£ for 1hr Check-in time is so late; not before 15:00 and also not possible for early check-in if you won't stay in a private room.. besides early check-in is expensive; 13£..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Donaldson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere and the staff were amazing, really helpful and friendly, even at 4am!! Would definately stay there again and have already recommended it to my friends. Brill :)

Disliked: It was quite noisy at night but that was to be expected as the bar below our room was packed!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It’s central - and the quality of the Hostel is very good compared with others I’ve stayed at in Edinburgh

Disliked: Nothing - well, they charge you for WiFi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JIAO WANG

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 April 2012 JIAO would recommend this property

Liked: it easy to found, just near the royal mile....really convenient to the castel and railway station, good for shopping, no matter souvenir or living goods.

Disliked: I am not happy at the first day....because of the housekeeping and front office, they don't have a good communication, so they forgot offer us the bed sheet, quilt cover and pillowslip , even we need to ask and take by ourselves.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the down-stairs bar (well-priced decent food and not noisy), the en-suite facilities.

Disliked: Internet access is not free of charge.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ryan Maudlen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Location Free wi-fi

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's so worth the money considering the things you get...free wifi, towels, showergel, and a great bar.

Disliked: It's hard to be dissatisfied...maybe the creaky floors?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location; facilities; cleanliness

Disliked: Stayed on 1st floor, and was kept awake by music from the bar....Not good for an early start.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Davey

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

28 March 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly reception staff. Great bar. Top class breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Murphy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Everythinng, central location, friendly staff, facilities and cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RITU RAJ ARYA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 RITU RAJ would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedroom with ensuite was spacious and clean. Location very central and quiet. Staff friendly and competent. Breakfast included in price was a bonus. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Hammond

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

05 March 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Location,

Disliked: Too hot

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the carpet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. perfect location - especially for Old Edinburgh. The staff were friendly, the bar is awesome and the rooms wre clear. Loved this place, it definitely sets the bar for other hostels.

Disliked: It was a little loud... but I like that kind of thing. My room was near the bar so I could hear a lot of drunken antics but I didn't mind at all as I was there to have a good time too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, clean rooms, staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, just off the royal mile. The bed was comfortable. The showers were great. The bar was really good, reasonably priced food and drinks and it had a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Absolutely no character. Was basically just a bed. Which is fine, but as a lone traveller, it would of been nice to have an area to sit and talk to people that wasn't the bar. The floors squeaked very badly. Also there was no free wifi unless in the bar.